Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Troia Design Hotel 5 stars

Tróia - Carvalhal, 7570-789 Troia, Portugal

#1 of 19 hotels in Troia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3269 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    A great place for a family vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit too big. The extra coffee pod costs seemed petty.

    The rooms are beautifully designed and very spacious. Incredible views. The staff were really great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, but a bit pricey and a few details in need of sharpening
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey. The room had a balcony with a huge gap which meant that, with a toddler in the room, we basically had to have the balcony closed for most of the time. Piping was also not perfect as there was a odd smell in the kitchen.

    Excellent location. Super friendly and professional staff. Breakfast was very good. The view over the sado river was absolutely gorgeous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    The location , the staff and the facility are amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner environment especially for a venue for proper dinner with bright white light is strange and food is not so delicious

    The location , the staff and the facility are amazing !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful, comfortable and exciting hotel with lots of design, quality and nice personnel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a luxury hotel, modern and beautiful, and very comfortable. The situation on the TROIA Peninsula is excellent and you arrive to the stairs of the hotel by catamaran from Setubal. The surroundings of the hotel are very beautiful. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The panorama lifts were enjoyable. We had wonderful views from the top of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    all was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the dinner started relatively late for the kids.. so waiting till 20h was a little tiring, but we got accustomed to.

    all was great. although the weather was not excellent, we enjoyed a lot!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    lovely walk along the nearby beach; outstanding sea view ; close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception desk was too slow when asked for late check-in. we had to ask 3 times to get 1 hour more

    very spacious room; soft pillows; nespresso machine in the room; welcome drink; outstanding beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Great escape from Lisbon to relax and enjoy the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly worn it could use an upgrade within the year.

    Great escape from Lisbon to relax and enjoy the beach! When we checked in they upgraded us to a massive suite with a hot tub on the deck overlooking the ocean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The best hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was wonderful!

    The hotel is incredible, grate, clean, verry well positioned.The beach near, tasty and varied breakfast.The personal verry polite and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Very pleased with everything we found.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little smelly and destroyed a bit the magic of the place.

    Very pleased with everything we found. Massive room very comfortable. The staff very polite and ready to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    A stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having loved the hotel and the beach area the resort itself is quite soulless and probably could do with a couple decent nightime bars and some more upmarket restaurants. The casino is really only a glorified slot machine area.

    A stunning location. A fabulous resort area and a very well designed hotel experience. The room was one of the best we ever stayed in a hotel, the staff were all friendly efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing view & comfortable rooms. Great outdoor pool and nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa was not completely open and the part which was open was not in a great state.

    Amazing view and big comfortable rooms. Great outdoor pool and very good breakfast. It is located directly at the port, there are no many restaurant over there but great place to rest from the crowds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful beach, kind staff, always a clean room to be found
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was dirt cheap for a five star hotel, the location is inconvenient, the toilet for the ground floor is very inconveniently located (basement)

    Beautiful beach, kind staff, always a clean room to be found

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    The view, the Beach, the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was only ok. Fresh juice was not really fresh. eggs for omelett where not made out of fresh eggs. There was a lot to choose from, but it was all not best quality. Same with roomservice. We ordered Burger and it was just ok. Meat was cooked too long. Taste was just average. Spa was included, but two rooms were damaged and not useable, only sauna and turkish bath. The indoor swimming pool wasn't heated too much and if you pressed massage showers in the pool, it was freezing cold water coming out. not that comfortable. Overall very expensive for a hotel saying it has 5 stars. In my opinion overrated and not worth 5 stars nor this money.

    The view, the Beach, the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was empty on arrival, however it was too cold to be using it whilst we were staying at the hotel. That was the only negative aspect to our stay.

    The hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the room we stayed in was very big and spacious. The views were incredible. Breakfast was also really good, good selection of food and drinks to chose from. The bar had amazing cocktails, and a food range of snacks to chose from. The boat from trioa to setubal ran every hour which was very handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Perfect for a weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room was sadly out of order but sauna and indoor pool were good.

    Very attentive staff. Stylish hotel with great views all around. Best location in the resort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in a great accommodation
    • Couple
    • Standard Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was huge (278m2) and because it was cold outside and the apartment big, it was difficult to heat it (the airco has a standard limit)

    Very friendly employees in the hotel, beautiful big room(s). We got a free upgrade for the room; a nice gesture! Here they give you real service, nothing is to much. We liked it so much that we booked an extra night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Super nice Hotel, very comfy, nice view, huge room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking at the Hotel is paid, which I thought was a bit inelegant.

    Super nice Hotel, very comfy, nice view, huge room. Staff were very very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel ruined by poor caterng. Make sure your room is not facing West!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to leave the window open due to the noise of the Casino's air conditioning units. Only limited snacks available for lunch at the bar, no restaurants open. Dinnner was just ok: no fresh fish on the menu, unacceptable on a marina... The nice waiters made it tolerable.

    Fantastic views, valet parking, nice staff, room comfortable with Nepresso machine. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Up sides more than made up for the down sides and we would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We didn't feel it was properly cleaned at all though and a wipe of the floor with a towel after apparent cleaning came up black! The pools are v disappointing and the spa needs a refresh big time.

    Room was amazing, view stunning, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    Good Design...that's all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Family hotel, which is good for families but not so suitable for a romantic or quiet trip. Very noisy in the evenings when live music is playing on the ground floor and the sound goes up towards the 7th floor. Breakfast is OK but it is impossible to have a quiet meal due to the fact that all the food is in one place and guests almost fight to reach the buffet area... Big mess. The fitness center is basically a samll room with a couple fo cardio machines...

    Excellent location right by Troia Marina and main beaches. The hotel has perfect indoor parking facilities (free) which is perfect for the ones arriving by car. Nice rooms with good areas and balconies with views towards the beach or Sado river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful alone time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with everything.

    Amazing views, rooms are spacious and comfortable. Young, brilliant, extremely professional staff. Great spa, great massages. Casino is fun.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Great accommodation, location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that I eventually had to leave!!! Hope to be back soon!!

    Superb hotel worthy of 6 stars but that's not available as a benchmark!!! Helpful, polite and professional staff who dealt with a number of issues I put to them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Interesting in its difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange place is Troia so Hotel is at a disadvantage from the start. It is like Milton Keynes on the beach. Some parts are quite basic in contrast to the exuberance of other zones. Small dresssing / beach robes. Premium suites worth the extra,...

    Proximity to beach and ability to enjoy a walk before breakfast. Interesting hybrid of interior design ideas. Attentive staff. Excellent range of breakfast options..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful views but lacks some details to be a 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The armchair had some stains on it, it needs some maintenance.. At breakfast the dirty dishes remained on the table to the end of the meal.

    The check in was fast and the staff very polite. Our room was in the 10th floor and had an amazing view, with a balcony to enjoy the beautiful sunset. It was a great way to commemorate our 1st year of marriage. The beach is right in front of the hotel and it is simply one of the most beautiful beaches of Portugal. The singer at night at the hotel bar had a beautiful voice, its worth to stop and listen! The breakfast was good, it would be very good if it had more traditional food, like different cheeses, tradicional cakes, home made jams and so on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    If you don't mind the "isolation" it's a great hotel on a great little island!
    • Group
    • Master Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    you can see that hotel is getting older, it was clean but not "up to date" anymore. You need to wait until water is getting hot for a shower or bath. Master Suite had 2 befrooms but only closet was in floor which wasn't very helpful as I want to change my cloths in private. You cant lock bathroom.. was ok for us but overall weird. Biggest minus is that local shops on island can be very expensive f.e. Sun cream 20 €!!

    Breakfast had a good variety! Our view was awesome (9th floor). Also pool was very nice and you can reach beach in 5 min. Our balcony was huge(!!) and interesting designed. Stuff was really friendly. We would come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    I'll come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical and sanitary equipment in the room were badly maintained. Breakfast could have been better.

    Great location, beautiful views, quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Love the area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit ran down ... and pool area is not nice which is a shame in such beautiful surroundings

    Love the area .... close to Setubal by boat, dolphin tours etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Four and a half stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is very family friendly, so there are always lots of kids running around. If this brings some excitement to the place, it can also be very annoying for those who just want to rest and listen to the sound of silence. The week we were at the hotel, it was difficult to stay in the pool area because of the strong wind. The hotel's "a la carte" restaurant fell far short of our expectations. We dined the first night, but we did not repeat the experience because outside the hotel you can eat better and cheaper. Our room always had a smell of sewage in the afternoon, despite the effort of house keeping to disguise it with scented cleaning products. A problem, they told us at the reception desk, the mannagement is "trying to solve".

    The hotel lives up to its name as it breathes design all around. The staff is very professional and friendly, always available to satisfy the wishes of the client or provide information about the services of the hotel and what the region has to offer. Excellent breakfast with a great variety of products and replacement right just until the end of the breakfast hour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    very pleasant surroundings, the restaurants were excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel lacked some essential maintenance, plugs that didn't work, remotes that needed replacement, dust under the room desks.

    very pleasant surroundings, the restaurants were excellent, i had dinner outside and enjoyed the live music being played. The food was also excellent and the staff always helpful and extremely nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To improve the work of elevators in order to avoid long waiting for the lift

    The breakfast was delicious. Massage/treatments in the SPA were excellent. The room was spacious and comfy. It had everything I needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I rented a 3 bedroom suite with a huge living area however, the window from the living area to the terrace was broken. We did not have direct access to the splendid terrace. I asked twice the reception to fix it but nothing was done. The windows and the terrace could have used some cleaning. We had a kitchenette with oven, dishwasher, stove top etc... but not one single dish or silverware or anything at all that could permit us to have a snack if we had wanted to. At those rates and beeing a 5 star hotel it is missing some perks.

    Fantastic views, great breakfast, very spacious suite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.4
    Great for families but hotel needs better upkeep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - cleanliness of rooms. We stayed in the master suite and it was falling apart. - hotel needs to be updated. Maintenance of this hotel is little or none - food was average

    Beds were very comfy, service was impeccable and very family friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    The location close to the ferry, and close to the beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather - not the hotel's fault!

    The location close to the ferry, and close to the beaches. The excellent service and food. Family's friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.6
    Room was good with a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was far from a 5 star hotel. Carpets in the halls not clean Facilities weren't what we expect from a 5 star hotel specially this expensive. Very small pools, especially the indoor ones.

    Room was good with a comfortable bed. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    However we just spent one night in the Troia Design Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However we just spent one night in the Troia Design Hotel during our trip to Portugal, everything was perfect and over-exceed our expectations. Room was very large with great spacious terrace and an awesome sea view, outdoor pool was the best one we saw in hotels (water is clean, deep enough to enjoy swimming). Location is very nice, close to a Lisbon, hotel situated at very beautiful place, surrounded by a picturesque, charming nature landscape with a flat long sand beach, we've enjoyed it at the morning while it's not so crowded. Definitely will stay here again on the next trip to Portugal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    OK - but far below expectations for a 5-stars-ressort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    please see all ratings in the context that you booked officially a 5-Star-Hotel. Our comments - No warm welcome, just the must-dos. - Kitchen: We had a kitchen without equipment, even after we have asked for it. That really reduced the joy of having it. - Sleeping room: there was a pair of sandals under one of the beds. Equipment was quite old/ out-dated. - Staff: very friendly, but not everyone was prepared to work in a five-star-hotel. - Breakfast: Way too crowded, way too small to have a relaxed start in the day. e.g. for an omelet, they did not use fresh eggs, but some kind of processed stuff. - Restaurant/ room service: Very poor quality of the 5 different meals we ordered.

    - Room: The suit was a nice place to stay. Great views!! - Staff: Outstanding friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    It is a perfect experience in this hotel. Strongly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outdoor pool is not that clean, they should recycle pool water frequently. They actually give us some chocolate and asking if you want some water by ringing the room bell, it is nice and kind but somehow disturbing people's rest. Beach is not part of the hotel and it's charged 20EUR per two beds and an umbrella on the beach, which we did not notice at any place.

    I was here three days just for relaxing. Facilities are nice, spa is great and is free for using sauna etc.. Tried one of the message yin-yang and is perfect. Staff is friendly and really offering help. Some of the cleaning lady do not speak English, but still, nice and friendly. Room is clean and you can ask for extra cleaning kit or order from app or reception. Breakfast and dinner is super nice, we spent two times at the restaurant B&G (if I remember correctly). Walking distance (5min) to the beach. Nice hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Large hotel with beach in waking distance .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large hotel with beach in waking distance . Beach is not private and two beds and an umbrella cost 20 euros/day. Good breakfast. Room is exceptionally large, specially for Europe, with balcony. Not a lot around at night. We took a ferry to Setubal every night for dinner and some shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    First, the beach was far from the hotel not in front of the hotel. The hotel did not have beds or umbrellas in the beach or a private beach. They only gave towels. The pool inside was for kids (i think it was 0.6 m). The pool outside was pretty to look at, but small and not deep (1.2 m). The food in the restaurant was nice but expensive. The food in the bar near the pool was not good. The cleaning in the room was average, not what you would expect in a five star hotel. Water from the shower overflew into the rest of the floor all the time. I would not recommend it for couples. It was more for families and elder people. Also, arrange with the hotel for a taxi to pick you up from the airport - otherwise the taxi from the airport to the hotel costs 140 euros. Best route go with a taxi to Setubal port and take a ferry which will take you to troia 2 minutes near the hotel (which will be approximately 70 euros by taxi or 50 euros by Uber)

    The room was very nice. The bathtub and showerhead was amazing. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Great staff and hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great. It was a real 5 star hotel, and the staff was nice and kind. The breakfast was good and you can choose among a lot of different food. We got a cake and champagne as present for my boyfriend's birthday. Lovely experience!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Hotel with stunning pool and perfect location for gold sandy beaches!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do not feel the warmth, the connection in the hotel. Entrance of hotel is not welcoming. I would say hotel is not 5 star even has everything.

    Stunning pool and private beaches. Romantic view from our room to the port)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    superb stay in a superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tempura shrimps from the bar could be better

    The staff were very kind and professional, everything was perfect, the rooms were very comfortable, the swimming pool and the spa were great and relaxing, the view to Arrabida and marina was amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.9
    Tours to other parts of the peninsular and adjacent parts of Portugal would be welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The quality of food and service in the al a carte restaurant was very variable.

    The staff at most levels were very obliging and helpful. The view from the room was stunning on a very large balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue with the bath and water however this was rectified by staff and no longer effected us.

    Second visit to Tróia design hotel and defiantly not the last. The staff were very helpful and efficient. We had a few problems with our room initially, they rectified this very quickly by upgrading us to a better room which was even bigger and the view was even better. Best breakfast compared to any other hotel i have been to, everything fresh! Beach nearby and stunning view! Easy accessible facilities to be used e.g swimming pool and gym. Best getaway for me and also very easy to travel by catamaran to Setúbal to get some cheaper, good quality, traditonal Portuguese tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    the place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - swimming pool too cold

    - location - view - troia beaches - the fact that director found a solution to change my initial room that we didn t like - room - breakfast - champagne break

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was excellent hotel with great view and very friendly personnel, as i mentioned that this trip was birthday present for my boyfriend they surprised us in a room with cake and cava, was excellent! Troia beaches are perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Great room with fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We spent a week at the hotel. The first half was quiet and excellend. At the fourth day, a very loud group arrived to the hotel that was attending an event. This spoiled our experience in the second half of the week, since the group was loud and filled the breakfast room. I would not rate this experience as 5 stars for the reasons above.

    Great room with fantastic view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    If you fly to Lisbon, be sure to get a taxi to Setubal and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you fly to Lisbon, be sure to get a taxi to Setubal and catch the ferry to Troia. Do not get a taxi all the way as it takes about 2 hours. Little did I know : )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed everything but the bar at the pool was unattended when I wanted to have a drink by the pool ... apart from that it was an excellent hotel and i will definitely visit again ! Loved the hote from start to finish

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Exceptional, a blissful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional customer service, Tiago at the front desk was very kind, professional and helpful in every detail. I highly recommend my this hotel all amenities interior and exterior swimming pool, parking, jacuzzi, gym are perfect. This is a beautiful hotel one of the best I've been and i travel very often.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    one night stand with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner buffet was a little too expensive for what it offered. The food was good, but not 5 stars good.

    I really enjoyed the room. The fact that you could be laying in bed and still have a great view was the icing on the cake. I liked the staff also: very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor issues: lack of maintenance on one door of a bathroom (it didn't lock). For a Five star hotel, the offers were poor (no tea, as an example).

    The suite was definitely worth the price. Staff was impecable all the time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION for TRÓIA DESIGH HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fantastic property in a unique environment of natural beauty and of longest white beaches. Excellent staff, large comfortable rooms and beds, perfect breakfast, really nice bar and a high class restaurant. Other facilities available (restaurants, bars) nearby. Excellent transport by catamaran to/from the city of Setúbal (20 min.). HIGHLY recommendable. Even during the low season, in November, it was revelation. The perfect hotel for beach tourism for whom also enjoys elegance and design, just one hour away from Lisbon by car.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Quick luxury, off season getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others have mentioned, the lobby and hallways are black which makes it very dark. Very serene though. We booked two rooms and they were not next to each other. Three rooms separating them.

    Unique room with fantastic view! Outstanding breakfast. Indoor pool was warm.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    expected better from a 5-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    booked a room with sea/river view but ended up in a room with a view to the back of the hotel, with the sea barely visible on the horizon. If the room does not have a sea view, it shouldn't be advertised as such. Our booking was upgraded upon complaint but still was not expecting this from a 5-star hotel.

    awesome location with an outstanding view over the mountains. Friendly staff. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Design experience inside and out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Troia is not to everyone's taste and is an extremely labrythtine and modern concrete jungle with no old town charm or buildings.

    Hotel amenities and central location near beaches, marina and ferry

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Luxury in Troia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small details: robes and slippers were not in the room as expected. Nothing important.

    Great staff, even thought overwhelmed by various requests. We stayed during a convention and the hotel was packed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Stunning view in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff was nice but I expected more warmth. The stairs into the pool were broken at one side, potentially a health and safety issue.

    Most wonderful location, amazing view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    A well designed hotel in a stunning location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor points but we found the reception service a little slow. So when asking the Reception for something from Housekeeping nobody came so we just found a chambermaid ourselves which worked. It also took ages to get our car brought up from the car park - ask about 15 mins before you need it! Lastly, checking out was very slow and we were glad we weren't rushing to get to the airport! Other than that most of the staff were pretty good.

    This is a lovely hotel in a really splendid location. The beaches next to the Hotel are really great and the swimming pool area is very nice and well looked after. Overall we had an excellent stay and would certainly return again.,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    A good place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ferry timetable received at the reception was wrong😔.

    Beautiful place! The beach is amazing!! The hotel is located in a natural reserve! Regarding the hotel: the room was really big, the breakfast is amazing and the bar near the swimming pool serve wonderful drinks!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    The accommodation had several unforgettable surprises to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-In / -Out could have been better organised. Preparing cards for arriving visitors in advance.

    The accommodation had several unforgettable surprises to offer (e.g. Spa area, view to the seaside, breakfast menu, friendly personal)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Great stay with amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bath/shower room was great , there was very visible mould in the corner of shower.

    The room and the view were excellent, so was costumer service and room service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Great stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room booked had kitchen facilities, but no crockery or cutlery. Being a "luxury" Hotel maintenance of the facilities should be better (hanging cables/wires, exposed wiring - in common areas; doors peeling, smelly bins - in room).

    Friendly staff Good breakfast and buffet meals Pool bar has excellent Daiquiris and food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location , beautiful hotel in front Troia Marina .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location , beautiful hotel in front Troia Marina . Front desk availability and professionalism of Filipa Santos and David in the swimming pool area / breakfast will make your stay memorable and easy .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.8
    Has potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very dark and gloomy in the interior. For a beach resort I would expect light colors not black interior walls. Also housekeeping needs an overhaul. Place has potential but they really need to work on it.

    The staff at thr front desk were always very helpful with any issues or needs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.0
    Not up to the level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a room with view and balcony, and got confirmation of this, at check in no such room was available, yet still paid full price. Emergency exit full of extra beds and boxes, no changes even after I told them. Short summary is a five star wanna-be that is more of 3++

    The design aspect and overall setting was nice and sober, the rooms fairly sized and clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel overlooking the harbor, really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My biggest criticism would have to be the outdoor pools which were simply too cold to enjoy. They even have a kiddie pool which was so cold our 2 year toddler didn't even want to get near it.

    A wonderful hotel overlooking the harbor, really nice comfortable rooms, amazing staff and delicious/plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location - very short walk to beach, restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly but everything was slow. E.g. The extra bed for our child was only installed at 11pm, despite us reminding them at 7pm and after she had fallen asleep in our bed. The wifi was free but very weak signal in our room. Great everywhere else.

    Excellent location - very short walk to beach, restaurants and shops. Friendly staff. Kids club to mind the kids. Free wifi. Nice modern furnishings and equipment. Plenty of activities available on doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    The place to stay in Troia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the lobby there were every night until late kids screaming and running. You could hear them in the room because the lobby atrium is open to the rooms. I think the management should be more carefull with this kind of behavior.

    The place to stay in Troia. A beautiful design hotel with friendly staff, nice modern comfortable rooms with fantastic ocean views. A place to return. Troia is a great choice for a romantic getaway. I spent 3 fantastic romantic days here with my girlfriend. Enjoying the beach, kayak and dolphin watching. The hotel is a perfect place to stay if you search for a nice romantic beach getaway. With a good location right on the marina and a short walk to the beach to enjoy what troia has to offer without needing a car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    5.8
    Too expensive for too less
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, this hotel should not be rated with 5 stars, never! Service, rooms, style, facilities, max 4 stars and way too expensive, redicolous. I booked a 3 room suite for a family of 4 because the 2 room suites were sold out. When I checked in the staff was surprised I wasn't showing up with 6 persons. I than asked another time for a 2 bedroom suite but they said those were sold out. The room next to me was a 2 bedroom suite and nobody stayed there during my stay. When I mentioned this to the staff I got different excuses......

    Location is nice, view from the suites is fantastic

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Best hotel we've stayed in and kids loved it to bits
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I could say is it was quite expensive

    Beautiful views, comfy beds and lovely swimming pools. Also very close to beach for small kids to walk to.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.1
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a 5 star hotel much needs to be updated. The curtains are getting old and damaged, the railings in need of painting, bathrooms in need of some update. Our AC did not work properly,no garbage can in the room. A 5 star hotel should be more attentive to those issues and details.

    Great breakfast. Great staff. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    5.4
    Better have a look at the room before accepting it - or stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gave us a room with 3 panorama elevators cruising up and down directly in front of the window. Lots of elevator noise and no privacy at all. Safe not working. Had to complain to get a room as described and as we had booked on booking.com. They charged 20 Euros more than the price agreed on booking.com. Found out later on the credit card statement. Synthetic linens, uncomfortable.

    The shoe, a piece of art in the center courtyard. That we only stayed one night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    It was clean friendly and comfortable - we were hardly in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean friendly and comfortable - we were hardly in the hotel as we had golf commitments.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Da tranquilidade do sitio e hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Da tranquilidade do sitio e hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: