Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of TroiaResidence - Apartamentos Turísticos Praia 4 stars

Tróia, Carvalhal, Grândola, 7570-789 Troia, Portugal

#4 of 19 hotels in Troia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 978 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    I think people at the check in desk should take care more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Extra bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think people at the check in desk should take care more about the appearance details like clean and nicely made hair and aesthetic hands. For the price and the quality of the resort I was expecting something more from the personnel. Also the restaurant Azimute. I am not sure if it has something to do with the Touristic Apartments but the quality of the service this year was very poor. There was some problems with the system so we could not pay at the entrance. After the machine was repaired the waitress came and requested immediate payment not letting us to finish the dinner. Unfortunately it was the last dinner there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.0
    great potential, poor outcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stayed in a nice 2 bedroom apartment, however we didn't enjoy our stay at all: received the apartment after 5pm while check out is 11am, so when staying 2 nights only this is critical seems like the apartment construction (or renovation) was not completed. water pressure in the showers was very low so we had to take turns, couldn't use the 2 showers in parallel wifi didn't work even with the portable hotspot provided, the oven didn't function properly and the result was a short circuit and dinner thrown away without being cooked, no beach towels had to pay for sunbeds at the beach , 20 euros for 1 umbrella + 2 beds per day!

    the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Perfect beach and resort for a family vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals were not the greatest for the value. WiFi never worked in our room.

    Perfect beach and resort for a family vacation. We had a great time. Staff was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.2
    Troia is a great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aqualuz reception is a chaotic. After waiting from 16:00 to 17:30 because apartment wasn’t ready, they gave us an occupied apartment!!! After claiming, at 18:00, we’ve been placed in another apartment... and invited us to dinner, but buffet was quite poor. Infrastructure is nice but management isn’t at same level. Really disappointing.

    Troia is a great place.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Nothing, it is devoid of atmosphere and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It sucks the life out of you on entering.

    Nothing, it is devoid of atmosphere and character. we left immediately on checking in. Felt like we were in some sort of compound. It was our own fault for not realizing on booking that this is a “resort”.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.0
    Frustratingly poor and not up to usual Portuguese standards of our experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit difficult to find not helped by one-way road system. Allocated underground car parking space very awkward and used another but probably best avoided by parking along road outside.. Flat disappointing - large dining area but cramped sitting space. Huge TVs with only Portuguese - not that we bother but still. Burglar alarm was on for several hours and had to be deactivated by staff. Wi-fi password was incorrect. Kitchen good size/plan but not best equipped. Only 1 electric point! Troia is a strange development with limited eating/shopping choices and seemed rather soulless apart from area near marina. Hotel restaurant was a disaster. Reception staff initially pleasant enough but soon got fed up with our grumbles! Extensive beach/sand with boardwalks to outer areas. Interesting to watch some big ships come and go to Setubal but otherwise... Some might like the place but, sorry, it was not for us.

    Views from balcony. Thought the nearby golf course was an absolute joy - being purpose of visit and well worth trip up from the Algarve.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Maybe nice for the long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Extra bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in place was at an another hotel, that we did not be informed. Very difficult to find out. The parking place is so tiny, our car was not enter. In the appartment, the water is not enough hot for the shower. There are nothing in the kitchen even a coffee nor tea. There are only little shop near by, so not convenient. There was a washing machine, but no place to put for drying... Many mosquitos also.

    Very big appartment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Just perfect for a chill out weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was amazing! The whole apartment was just perfect! Troia is a bit deserted during Winter but that's ideal for a chill out weekend and this is the right place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Apartment floor heat was down, very cold inside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apartment floor heat was down, very cold inside the apartment. Windows were making big metallic noise due to the wind, we didn0t rest the entire nights. With so low occupations apartments should be better prepared to receive hosts, is not our fist time, but it was very bad. Don´t know if we will return...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in a quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has a transparent window, didn’t find any way to close it. So you get zero privacy.

    A very nice hotel, stylish, comfortable, right on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toaster, bedding was made of two small sheets covering a double bed(!), safe wasn't working and took a day to get it fixed, building fire alarm going off 4 times on our last night (got 50% refund after complaining).

    Location, layout of the apartment, the area is absolutely beautiful and peaceful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    They were very kind at the check-in and check-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment had views to the garden with a noisy engine from the hotel when practically almost all the apartments were available and I think it would not have cost them anything to give us a quieter apartment over looking the beach

    They were very kind at the check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Close to Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fire alarm set off and there was no information on what was happening. Stayed for a while outside of house, no one appeared and the alarm kept ringing. After calling the reception and confirming it was a false alarm went back to the room but the fire alarm kept ringing. Ultimately we left for a walk.

    Amazing place! 2nd time here in 2 years and I see me coming back. Love the view, the balcony, the set of the room and the proximity to the beaches.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    wonderful view, It's a shame they grew trees in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite bathroom flooded the bathroom and the bedroom after my first shower. The staff didn't look surprised after I told them, I guess they already knew it would happen, had to use all the towels in the house to try to dry the place. Considering that point I think it's its overpriced.

    wonderful view, It's a shame they grew trees in front of the sea line, otherwise it would be perfect view over the river and the mountain. The house is modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Excelent for relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some moskitos that beat you, but no big deal. We booked a apartment with a private pool in the ground flooor: its small for swimming but nice to relax; you dont have privacy ( other guests can see you from their balcony); water is not heated. The checkin time at 16h00 and checkout at 11h00. Sometimes the weather can get windy, even in sun days.

    Good location (front beach) and from the 1floor and upper you have sightview to the sea . Modern design and confortable, fast wifi. You have a supermarket and restaurants 5min walking. Usually the sea doesnt have waves, and there is a lot of space for everybody, because you have a lot of sand and its long (many kms). The kitchen is good and complete, but no microwave. The windows have blinds if you like to sleep without light. The colective pool is panoramic and cool, and at least in low season (until june) you can use a big indoor pool and jacuzzi 3min walking in the hotel next from the same group. Safe environment and peaceful area. There is a golf camp 8 min by car, and some shops where you can rent bikes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Good choice for families with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not clear where you should go to do the check-in or how to get to the apartment itself

    Near the beach and the apartment facilities where great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful apartment close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find the check in location.

    Wonderful apartment in a great location close to the beach. The apartment was modern and fully equipped. Great beaches in the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.0
    Great beach, terrible buildings, over built
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complex is Stalinist - huge and ugly. Several things in the room didn't work.The beach, though, is lovely. Would not recommend this place to anyone in spite of the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.7
    Nice view, but not very romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hot water runs out, not even allowing you to fill up the hot tub. made the big bathroom with a bathtub totally redundant. It would also be nice to have some nibbles which i would not mind paying for already in the flat, or the option to order some room service.

    The view is lovely and the apartment was generally very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.7
    wonderful beach for children, modern roomy apartment, but not well kept in the details
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dish washer, but no cleaning tabs, which where also not available at the reception. luxury expensive apartment, but poor maintanenance

    location, space in the apartment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.7
    Too expensive considering the fact you pay only for the apartment without any services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would make sense to include at least breakfast into the price, because the value for money was below my expectations. Dining options are very limited, therefore the service quality also suffers. The Marina area dining options also suffer from mosquitoes. You have to pay during a check-in process that is not really a welcoming attitude. The bed was bit hard/uncomfy and it can be noisy in the morning if your bedroom facing to the parking when cleaning ladies are unloading bedding with trolleys. For a similar price you can start looking at all inclusive options elsewhere.

    It was a great big and modern apartment with a sea view only 5 minutes walk from the water. Good Wi-Fi, open parking near the building.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay!! Only feedback was the bed was a bit uncomfortable but other than that I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Extra bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of service room

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Kitchen well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen well equipped. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice apartment. Better in Summer. Too quiet in winter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Few facilities close by. Closed for winter

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen could have been a little better equipped.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Everything was just perfect, apartment was great, big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect, apartment was great, big and clean. Very nice staff. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great choice!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice apartment, has everything a family needs, private pool, quick checkin and check out, great beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Definitely a place to return...Soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd like to have had the bathroom warm as the room

    Modern, warm and clean facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we stayed there, but the apartment is great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Great place to spend holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Extra bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to declare.

    Apartments almost on top of the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    excellent luxury apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Troia Beach
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minimal kitchen equipment and no basics (cloths or washing up liquid for example )

    Peaceful and spacious close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    excellent locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    late checkin and early check out

    excellent locations. Additional bonus of being able to use the aqualuz facilities. Indoor & outdoor pools, spa, sauna, steam room. Great restaurant also. room was very comfortable and well positioned.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice kitchen but poorly equipped for actual cooking. 20 euro more of kitchen gadgets would make the difference. Colander, cheese grater, citrus juicer, spatula ,etc.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.3
    I liked to have the swimming pool and beach at short walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Paid almost €400 for 2 nights for September which was a bit high considering that it wasn't busy also, room wasn't cleaned during our stay!

    I liked to have the swimming pool and beach at short walking distance

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Th location of the property is amazing, but .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Also, even during soviet times hotel staff would never clean the apartment while guests were inside. In Troia reaidence, despite my request, cleaning staff just couldn't come 40 minutes later!!!!

    Th location of the property is amazing, but .... Sleeping with ants is not tha great even when you are right next to the coast. Seriously, if you are paying 150 euros/night, your accommodations ahouldng be filled with ants at anytime.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were told that we were going to have garden view and in the end we did not. The staff asked us to go next morning and talk to the manager. They should have provided a solution upfront.

    Excellent location. Modern apartment.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    8.3
    The apartment was of a good standard and we particularly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of wifi in the apartments was a surprise as I tend to see this as 'the norm'. The terrace was lovely but did not afford as much privacy between neighbouring apartments as desirable.

    The apartment was of a good standard and we particularly enjoyed the generous outside terrace. It was well furnished throughout and had fabulous sea views. The kitchen was well stocked although some condiments (basics like salt, pepper & oil, washing powder & washing up liquid for example) would have been a good addition to minimise waste. I do not tend to stay on 'resorts' however we are keen to return to this beautiful area of Portugal. The local beaches are fabulous and the access from Lisbon is really easy.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Close to the beach, clean and friendly cleaning staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There no stocks in the apartment, dish / washing soap etc. You need to take everything with you. No beach towels as well, only bath towels are provided. The small grocery store is fairly expensive for most items and the sizes are too large for a week's stay. Underground parking for the apartments are small and has a lot of support beams.

    Close to the beach, clean and friendly cleaning staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.3
    Lcation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Apartment had ants. For a price tag like this and overall luxury goal, its very disapointing. They should not put the appartments for rent untill problem is solved. They allow us to change but for a short stay it was too much hassle. They didnt allow guest to use the spa facilities of the chain, not even with a extra payment, strange....

    Lcation

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.0
    The location is beautiful and the apartment was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no daily housekeeping for the apartment, they do every other day or every third day. There is only 1 ATM/cash machine for the entire resort and it ran out of money early in the morning. Many of the hotel and restaurant staff do not speak English or have limited English so there was a considerable amount of misinformation given to us which led to a lot of frustration. No beach/pool towels are provided for people who stay in the apartments. Our assigned parking space in the garage was tiny so using the car was difficult. There was no information given to us about the restaurant options/hours, wifi passcodes, apartment amenities. They do provide a small pamphlet on how to work the major appliances.

    The location is beautiful and the apartment was spacious and clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    The apartment was massive and looked pretty new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The underground parking is weird - the lights are on a timer and it's nearly impossible to get them to turn back on again (jumping up and down, waving your arms, running around does't work), leaving you in complete and utter darkness - there are no lights anywhere. Thankfully each time we were left in darkness, I was able to use the torch on my iphone to find the switch. But surely the switches should be illuminated so you know where they are? When the wifi worked, it was great, but it only worked about 40% of the time.

    The apartment was massive and looked pretty new. The view was amazing. Could easily have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    All the facilities that you would need in a holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach it is located on is incredibly busy at the weekends, but a walk along the beach offers a much more private setting. Can be quite pricey in the area for supermarket and eating out, so need to plan ahead.

    All the facilities that you would need in a holiday apartment, clean and new building. Nice modern layout with contemporary fittings. Located on the beach with private parking. Would definitely stay longer.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.5
    We liked the view and the quiet and modern apartment, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The apartment was well furnished but without anything on the walls giving it a bit unhomely feeling. And a bit expensive (250euro/night).

    We liked the view and the quiet and modern apartment, the different pools of the hotel we could use, and the flexibility of the staff. We could enter early and exit late. The sandy beach was at walking distance and really nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    6.7
    Localization is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -No additional bed was provided for 4 years old kid. -Every request had to be asked twice (additional pillow for the kid / router password for wifi). -50 minutes waiting for one sandwich, a burger and a salad. - Car parking slot didn't fit a regular car

    Localization is very good

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.9
    location, views and confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reserved room with hot tub which was unusable. It was covered in green mold because of lack of maintenance. The hotel did however refund the diference to a standard room.

    location, views and confort

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.8
    Very comfortable apartment and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We did have to pay 3.5€ for a tea cup we broke.

    Very comfortable apartment and modern. The view is very nice...and since Troia is small, it's close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bottle opener in kitchen. Poor facilities for self catering accommodation

    Location and views. Helpful bar staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed Availability of restaurants A bit late in the season

    Apartment Pool View Location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    Cleanliness, the windows were dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cleanliness, the windows were dirty

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one supermarket and as a result it was quite expensive as a self catering option.

    The location was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    5.4
    The staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole complex reminds of an suburb concrete agglomeration. You have to like that in order to feel good at this place.

    The staff was friendly.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: