Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Puralã - Wool Valley Hotel & SPA 4 stars

Acesso à Variante 6200, 6200-507 Covilhã, Portugal

#7 of 22 hotels in Covilhã

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1025 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the minor inconvenient of the sauna area being apart from the pool everything was nice and likable.

    First fthings first, as We knew for a prior experience (a last minute cancelation that was managed in the most professional way) , staff was extremely nice and helpful being a real asset for the Hotel. As for the location, this is not a central facility but also just two km from the University (small town) and benefitting from good access close to commercial areas and the hospital. The hotel itself is quite new, clean and somehow minimalistic with a nice restaurant (very good breakfast and recommendable dinner buffet) and modern and functional rooms. Wifi works well all around the place. There are some nice public places like bar and reading halls apart from the spa. Spa itself is OK: Good pool bigger than usual ideal for swimming but with no water circuit or streams. jacuzzi is close to the pool and works well. There is a little sauna and turkisk bath but there's a catch and it's theyare located a hall and stairs away. Nothing so bad anyway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked out and paid the bill they had charged us 28 euros for a bottle of wine when we had ordered and drunk a 12 euro one, the receptionists comment was don't blame me and as there was no way of proving it we had to pay, its silly little things like this that really p*** you off so only 4 out of 10 from me and my advice is pay as you go don't sign for anything.

    Very nice comfortable hotel was going to give it a big thumbs up BUT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome! From the staff, to the rooms, spa, livingroom, everything was fantastic! The breakfast is an excellent buffet with all you can possible want to eat in the morning! The pool and jacuzzi are great and all the areas of the hotel are beautiful, clean and huge. Very impressed, definitely i'll come back to Puralã!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Liked everything about this place.The rooms are excellent the staff are so helpful... and the restaurant and facilities are exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no outside seating area to relax in the sun. The pool was closed outside and there was no terrace or garden area available. Only 1 key card allowed for the room, so when you went out the air conditioning switched off and you could not leave your phone on charge.

    The Staff in the restaurant were really helpful. The buffet dinner was fantastic value for money and beautifully prepared. The shower was great and they left a really nice body wash.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Jacuzzi was great, massage excellent,squash court was great just expensive for rental. Seriously need to consider to open the gym at 7.00am. Reason if you go at 9am limited time for breakfast. Need a mirror in the room.Overall add great experience. Your staff is very friendly especially in the restaurant.Well done

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible layout of the bedroom. Noisy rooms. There weren’t even a decent shampoo available in the room, only shower gel and soap.

    Good breakfast. Clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our arrival there was horrible smell in our room - the staff explained that they have some plumbing problems and the cleaning lady forgot to put some special liquid in the shower drainage. It was quickly fixed. Unfortunately, the next day the same thing happened again and we had to remind the staff to fix it again. The hotel is situated quite far from the city centre so you need a car or a taxi to get to restaurants and shops.

    A big modern hotel with everything you need inside - nice cozy bar, tasty breakfast, clean spacious rooms, beautiful heated swimming pool, quite small gym but well equipped, friendly staff, kids playroom (!) with a great lady who looks after and entertains little (and big) kids. We enjoyed nice cocktails at the bar and a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is new, but there's something missing, pictures in the walls or ... i don't know, we felt we were in a budget room. The room didn't match with the rest of the hotel. The hotel is not in the city center.

    The restaurant at the hotel was a surprise, nice service, excelent buffet dinner, cozy dinner room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The schedule for spa and interior pool started too late, so if you wanted to have an early swim before breakfast, this was not possible. My partner had an allergy to egg and gluten, which i gave the information to reception at time of check in and again at dinner, and always the staff said it was not necessary to inform the kitchen as they would already be prepared. When i arrived for breakfast, there was no bread or cereals that would be suitable. Despite the best efforts of staff in the kitchen, they said they needed the information before hand, which i tried, but was just not passed on. So terrible lack of organisation and communication. Incredibly at checkout, the PR of the hotel tried to lecture me on how to pass on information about allergies, was incredibly rude and patronising. I would not stay here again. Also the breakfast coffee and cappuccino were appalling. Overall was very disappointed.

    The decoration of the hotel was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Recent refurbishment and it shows, excellent room, excellent buffet evening meal (à la carte available) and a good hot and cold breakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find. GPS could not match up with listed address and sign was not visible from Road we were on.

    Also had great pool and fitness area. Plus a free Turkish Wrap. It was an awesome place with a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner. we actually ate at the bar, not at the restaurant. The bartender was superb in his recommendations, always attentive, helpful and he certainly knew what he was doing. The lady at the swimming pool desk was ultra nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower went all over the floor as screen not in the right place although staff are aware of this. Need to ensure plenty of towels available for the floor!!

    Restaurant on site excellent value good food and breakfast selection. Room clean and tidy nice relaxing facilities. Excellent value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would enjoy more outdoor space and green vegetation, but that's due to the location and the fact that it's not a new hotel, but great remodeling!!!

    Very comfortable room. Amazing dinner a La Carte. Delicious breakfast. Good indoor and outdoor pools. Nice decoration and thematic in all common areas.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner a la carte took to long, had to wait for 45min after ordering both times i had dinner there. Outside pool small in terms of swimming area and chairs to lie down. No direct access to the inside pool/jaccuzzi from the outside pool. Unable to have light food for lunch at the bar, only in the pool.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food and drinks very good. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety. The rooms were comfortable enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms and arrived after a long and quite tiring day, just a decent dinner and a comfortable bed, that's all we wanted. It was not what we get, I don't wanna write the full story just a summary: it took almost 2 HOURS to be able to enter to our room. For some reason, one of the key was not working, so we left all our stuff in the other room and went to have dinner, meanwhile the dinner we needed something from the room we went to pick up, but at that time that key was not functioning (so all our stuff was locked now in the room and the staff was not able to do anything). After at least 4 times of reprogram the key, the staff asked the cleaning lady key to open our room. So our walletts and clothes got free but we could not close our room, finally the 5th time the reprogram worked. ABSOLUTELY amazing. Next day we wanted to write to the claim book and talk with a manager, BUT NO ONE was there, all the managers went on vacation AT THE SAME TIME IN JULY. Seriously I wanna change my profession and go there to be a hotel manager. So it was already a month ago, still we didn't receive any news from them (in the end we wrote to the claim book). AWFUL MANAGEMENT.

    Although after the drama from the previous night the breakfast was great and the room was comfortable, I wish the staff could handle the situation way better or one of the manager would have a courage to show up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massage was not that good.

    Nice hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast. Perfect to spend a relaxing day with a book by a pool. Had good time overall :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • People with friends
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not much sound isolation between the rooms as you can hear each others bathroom like they are usimg yours but not much noise to disturb your sleep no worries and breakfast could be improved since there are no veggies or olives and the egg was cold.

    General design, breakfast and staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was closed on the 1st day One of the ladies in the Spa was a little strict, when it came to the inside pool, even though we were the only ones in.

    Brilliant hotel, we stayed as part of a motorcycle group - Castaway riders. Very welcoming and the facilities are fantastic, its huge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    This is a superb hotel exceptional value for money. The staff office class cannot do enough to support you . I will certainly return again with another tour party . Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent for motoring, but not so good for after-dinner walks - one can't have everything.

    This was our second visit - our first was in 2016 since when the hotel, which we liked, has had a complete make-over to make it more externally attractive and internally modern. What hadn't changed was the friendly and helpful staff. We originally chose this hotel, some way out from the centre, because of its ease of parking and access - we hire a car and use the hotel as a base for excursions (this won't suit everybody). The food was excellent and cleanliness superb, typical of Portuguese hotels we've used. Covilha, and this hotel, makes an excellent base for the Serra de Estrela and gems such as Sortelha and Monsanto. The landscape and scenery of the region are fascinating. My wife enjoyed the generously-sized indoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave the hotel

    Everything. Great staff. Great salads. Great swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect. The staff was super friendly, great room, great spa, great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Location was misleading on booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, swimming pool and the restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful breakfast and dinner! Great spa!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good spacious hotel with great facilities. Food was good and prices were reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As aulas de hidroginástica na piscina do hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the bar was inexistant ....

    I liked the room designs , the breakfast and breakfast facilities in general

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and good variety. Room was clean and had a comfy bed. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pressure on the room (321) shower, could have better soundproofing

    Staff room breakfast and nice pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not very easy to fined

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel. room was modern and good size. breakfast was rich and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly, room was really comfortable and the food was tasty

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    nothing to report?!

    Great friendly staff. very helpful too! lovely food, especially the wine. beautiful spa facilities. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa and massage!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was very large and comfortable. There was no noise. Staff was very nice and with good sense of humor!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely tour at the beginning and the a la carte dinner was delicious. Also nice to have a pool table!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant very nice and cozy. The food cooked very well.

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: