Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tivoli Lagos 4 stars

Rua António Crisógono Santos, 8600-678 Lagos, Portugal

#39 of 51 hotels in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1815 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, carpet was dirty, hair dryer came apart, the door to the balcony didn’t lock, the fridge leaked because the door wouldn’t close properly & the extractor fan didn’t work in the bathroom.

    Breakfast food was good as too was the Italian Resteraunt upstairs.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value - would like to come back for a longer stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable. Property appears to be in process of being updated so work was underway and a bit noisy. There was a 2 euro charge per coffee in room - typically is no charge at comparable hotels.

    Great location and amenities. Fantastic breakfast. Staff helpful regarding property offerings and local restaurants. Only had one night at hotel so unable to take advantage of all that hotel had to offer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    very friendly staff, nice hotel excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not good for anyone with mobility issues, hotel very spread out and no lift access to some floors

    Staff very helpful, Portuguese restaurant on site was excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    We loved the location, cleanliness and spaciousness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location, cleanliness and spaciousness of the apartment. Our French balcony overlooked a main road but when we closed the doors it was pure silence.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.1
    Not for people with walking difficulties
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic rooms were badly in need of modernization. Long corridors and lots of steps to walk to get to rooms in A block. Pool area needs modernization also.

    Bed was v comfortable. Reception areas were clean and modern.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Bedroom clean and comfortable -Balcony dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sat in the bar area and waited to be served a drink for over 25 mins - decided not wait any longer and returned to my room.

    Bedroom clean and comfortable -Balcony dirty

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    we enjoyed our self no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The location was great we stayed in the new rooms and the older ones and they were clean and tidy the new refurbed rooms had walk in showers and new beds coffee machines etc but all in all its a nice hotel the bar staff could be a bit more friendly but the check in staff st the front desk were all ways nice and happy to help you.The hotel swimming pool and is very nice and gets all day sun. Cant fault the Breakfast you will eat well

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    I would stay there again but would insist on being moved if I got the same size room again. ☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of our bedroom was the main issue, our friends have stayed there many times and said our room was the smallest they had seen ! Plus the amount of stairs with no lift option was a pain.

    The public rooms were all lovely

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.4
    good breakfast but poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When arrived had no booking from booking .com , the room I was going to be put in was very tired had not being refurbished for years and I was led to believe all rooms had been refurbished but all the classic rooms had not

    I upgraded my room extra 30 euros comfortable but small

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.8
    Lived up to its usual standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor would need updating. A long walk with stairs from reception to my room. Would be a problem for anyone with mobility difficulty. A very pleasant stay.

    I stayed for only one night while passing through. Hotel staff were very pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice and Warm!! A very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.1
    Make the most of your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue I have here was the value for money with the older rooms. Try your luck and book or just ask for one of the newer rooms. Everything else was great.

    We booked a double classic room which isn’t one of the rooms that has been refurbished and the pictures make it look better than it is. It was big but very dated, the balcony was huge with a great view of the rest of the hotel and beach however, all they gave us was two plastic chairs and a table that looked fairly old and the balcony itself looked like it hadn’t been clean much at all in its lifespan. We still made the most of it though and sat out and watched the beautiful sunset most nights with a couple of drinks. The bed was comfortable but we had major issues with the pillows (I don’t think they have changed them in a long while), the bathroom was decent although we did have problems with the water pressure and temperature. In all honesty the feel we got from our room and some other guests staying in the older rooms was that they have been a little neglected in terms of what you pay for them to what you get. The breakfast is ok if you prefer quantity over quality we had it included so made the most of it during our stay. The pool area is great we went almost every day for a swim and some days spent the day by the pool. I suggest getting down early if you wish to spend the whole day there as people even though they aren’t supposed to reserve seats by leaving their stuff on them and returning later in the day, so if you want a decent spot with an umbrella head down around 9-10am. Apart from all that we made the most of the hotel and our stay and had the best time. The location of the hotel is fantastic so close to everything and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well after reading some not very reviews, I was a bit worried, but as being in the hospitality trade as well never believe all that is wrote. After arriving at 2am tired, I was met with smiling happy staff. That was a great start, shown to our room, and it was a Classic room , which people have been unhappy with in some reviews. It was great very big comfy bed nice tv fridge lovely big walk in shower and champagne and chocolates,,, thank you 😃. Breakfast experience excellent too. Swimming pool area good. Shuttle bus to beach, and beach excellent. Restaurants at hotel excellent. All I can is thank you Tivoli. We will be back ,, Lagos is a beautiful and friendly place. And I would recommend to friends our room was no 1423

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.0
    Could not fault the place as far as its star rating was concerned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A better selection of LAGOS guide brochures would have been useful and a large signpost at the nearby corner would save petrol running around looking for the place.

    The decor was imaginative and different. The restaurant staff were eager to help and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced for a crap room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was overpriced for what we got. Our room was ancient and the bathroom was a shoebox. Nothing like the refurbished rooms in the pictures. As all the rooms were allocated we were stuck with it. It's very annoying when you feel you have been duped. Had u seen the room we were given beforehand, I would definitely NOT have booked it. reception wernt bothered really.

    Breakfast was nice, good variety.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    It was like an apartment close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Pool Views
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool at their bar on the beach is very small not at all what we expected.

    It was like an apartment close to the city. Very cozy beds I didn’t want to wake up! Staff was very helpful even when we made dumb mistakes

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointment on arrival at our accomation in the Tivolr Hotel, Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room like a box Room, not 4☆, loads of stairs, not suitable for older customers or very young /family. Pool small for number of people in hotel, few choices for breakfast . Not enough entertainment.

    Staff very helpfull and polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi in our room was very poor and often no signal at all. We had to go out to a communal area to use our phones or laptop. No bananas for breakfast !! (my favourite!) Although plenty of other choices.

    We liked the gym and pool as we like to workout, even on holiday. The beach club was great; a regular shuttle bus and free sunbeds on a stunning beach. Our room was the biggest we've ever had, although within our budget, and we had a fab sun terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Quick stay in Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was not worth it: way too crowdy, standing in line to grab some coffee and when eating outside pigeons stealing your food. For a hotel of this level they should provide an "anti-pigeon" machine because this was not relaxing in the morning.

    Staff friendly and the renovated rooms are cosy. Beds super.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Shabby for a Tivoli Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stayed here at the beginning of September for four nights. According to the website rooms have been upgraded and renovated. I had requested an earlier than normal check in (2 hours) but was told the room would not be ready til 3pm. At 3 we went to collect our keys but the room was still not ready. Eventually we got our keys for our room which was in block a. The receptionist did not direct us to our room and it took us 30 mins to find it through long corridors and stairs with no lift access. On opening the door it was apparent that this room was in no way refurbished. There is a musty unused smell which seems to be from the carpet unusually we actually do have a living area with two sofa beds and separate bedroom. The fridge does not work properly and the hairdryer is broken. Reception did send up another hairdryer. I asked reception about the room and was told I booked a classic room which was not renovated. Very misleading on their opulent website. The food and drink prices are expensive hence the nearly empty bar. There are a lot of issues that need to be addressed at this hotel. It is indeed very shabby. It's certainly not up to the usual high standard of Tivoli. Avoid block A

    Location was fine and had stayed here before but certainly not up to the standard of Tivoli Hotels in general

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location, pretty property but arcane wifi access process
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor is kind of old-fashioned and in need of a facelift, but the sheets are clean. The bathroom probably has been re-done more recently and looked better. The wifi access process was a pain in the ass. You have to pick up the password in person at the reception (I didn't get the password when checking in as I was earlier than the room was ready). It was one ID and password for each of your device. Is this really necessary??

    The location is just amazing. It is literally 5-10 min by foot to the marina, the main square/ restaurants and shopping area, and the bus station, a little longer to the beaches. It gives access to a private beach too. Too bad I didn't have enough time to go but the pictures are amazing. The property is pretty and there are lots of spaces outside the room to lounge around, especially if travelling in groups. Breakfast was provided and decent. There are several different restaurants available in the hotel so you don't have to go out if tired.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room key stopped working 6 separate times during our 5 day stay. Never an apology from the staff. Apart from the bar staff all other staff we found to be quite rude and very unhelpful.

    Great location and good facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Great selection for breakfast, newly renovated rooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little expensive for what you get and it’s only a little thing but it would be nice to just be given ice when you request it or have a free coffee in the room instead of being charged.

    Great selection for breakfast, newly renovated rooms are clean and comfortable, the shuttle bus to the beach was brilliant for us and you are within easy walking distance to the busy streets of Lagos.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    The included buffet breakfast was great value for money with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we stayed in did Have a balcony, and an ocean view... but behind other buildings obstructing the view and next to an apartment that was littered with rubbish. It was a little disappointing. Also the fact that the fitness centre was closed Monday's. Was only open from 9am in the morning until midday and then from 4-8 Was inconvenient. And only 9-1pm on the weekends. Don't expect to get your workout done unless you want to cut into your breakfast time or your day.

    The included buffet breakfast was great value for money with a very good selection! Also the pool area had a really nice atmosphere. The price for parking was reasonable and the free shuttle service to duna beach club was very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the hotel. It's more a holidays club, than a hotel. There are too many people everywhere, you have to wait each time you want to ask for a service. Pool is ugly and you have to cross daybed around the pool to access your room. It's not serious. If you want a daybed in the pool, you have to wake-up at 6AM to put your towel, because at 6.30/7AM, all daybed are occupied. Very disappointed by this hotel.

    Just the situation and the parking...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    great location, great staff. rooms need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the original room was awful, it was a 10 minuet walk away from the main reception and we had to be shown how to get there. we would never have found the room by ourselves.

    The staff were amazing, very friendly and extremely helpful. we had a problem with the room and they were quick to rectify the situation without any fuss.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach club did not meet my expections. We did not expect to have to pay for the sun chairs there. Drink and food was over priced at the resort.

    Breckfast was great. Alot of varity and options to choose from. Pool at the hotel was fantastic. The bus to the beach was very convienent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    well-located, breakfast is great (dont miss it), nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is small, balcony was useless

    well-located, breakfast is great (dont miss it), nice swimming pool, they have a beach club with transfers for guests all day long

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Happy with the stay we just didn't get our room we payed for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a bath and a double bed.Our first room had no bath and twin beds so my husband spoke to them and they said it's not guaranteed but my paper work said a bath and a double bed and it was not stated anywhere that it was only upon availability.So lucky for us they did find a room with a double bed no bath but a bed.Then we asked for some ice as there was no ice machine and to buy it for $1 outside the resort at 35 it would of been water before we got back .They charged $7.50 for a bucket of ice and it took the second night to get it.Its a shame as the hotel is so cute

    Breakfast is fantastic and a very pretty hotel to walk around in

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Pool area was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staff did not speak well English, which led to misunderstanding regarding towels at the beach (= without towels...). Problems with key card, elevator broken, power outage all during our 4 night stay. Extra charge for almost everything, minibar prices ridiculous. Warnings, like "if you take anything out of breakfast room you will charged 20€", do not fit in 4-star hotel "tone of voice", in my opinion.

    Pool area was nice. Shuttle to beach great extra! Breakfast good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    Many better places with better value to be found in Lagos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charging 5 euros for ice, dark dingy room, tiny fridge, no glasses or tea spoons in the room, shampoo not replaced, lousy internet, unless you pay an extra 15 euro per day! buffet breakfast very poor, chewy fatty bacon, cold overcooked scrambled eggs, boiled eggs like bullets, poor coffee, wasps, cranped parking unless you pay another 5 euros per day

    the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach club was not for free, only the actual beach was.

    Room service. Also celebrated my birthday and came back from a long day out to find a birthday cake and a bottle of champagne in my room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for a couple or family holiday - plus Lagos is lovely and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good and decent hotel with a lovely beach club (transfer by hotel bus - only 5 mins) and a fabulous breakfast. Rooms are good but it is true that due to the nature of the building and hotel it can be a bit tricky to get to some of them and the one we got was facing a not very pleasant street but apart from that it was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    The pool area had a nice atmosphere and the air conditioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded to a premium room as the first room was a little dated. The staff were really helpful and everything was done very smoothly

    The pool area had a nice atmosphere and the air conditioning was great !! Beds were very comfortable also

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location but hotel is still a little rough around the edges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has had an overhaul recently, but there are still some pretty tired areas. The newly decked pool area looks good but already has some damage with loose and missing boards. Overall still needs some investment to be a top hotel.

    It’s right in the heart of Lagos, a 5 minute walk from the old town and similar to the marina for boat trips. The staff were friendly and helpful, if at a Portuguese pace. Breakfast had a wide selection of options and was re-stocked regularly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel has a great location and it has a walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was bad, and for the price that’s paid you expect to be able to have a more solid connection. The person in charge of our checkin wasnt the friendliest (the girl on the side was definitely more energetic and provided much more information to the guests she was attending). We had to park in an open air lot, and finding a spot was not easy because it was already full.

    The hotel has a great location and it has a walking distance to everything. Having a shuttle to a more private beach is also a great plus. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful property, I stayed in a lovely room, perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can get very samey when you stay for 8 nights, some of the staff couldn't do enough to help you, others staff didn't seem to interested in helping I had hurt my foot very badly at the beech, the staff saw that I was in pain, and offered no assistance of any kind.

    Beautiful property, I stayed in a lovely room, perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    PLace have seen better days, although its okay for one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel undergoes renovation and it's very obvious. The navigation in the hotel is awful, it's very hard to locate your room at first attempt. Our window faced construction site.

    It's clean. It has beds. Not very central, although the city is not huge, so it's okay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Not like the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and especially the (dirty) carpet was outdated. The pictures for the hotel were misleading and didn’t represent the hotel. There was a long walk to even get to our room. I had requested a double and got two singles. The towels had holes in the and the hair dryer burnt my hand while holding the Handle. The staffs food recommendations were not very good. It felt like they were told to just use the hotel restaurants and the pool bar was very expensive for a tiny drink!

    The location of the tivoli was great. Walking distance to everything but just out of the crowds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice Hotel in the heart of Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is some meters away from the hotel. But they have a shuttle included which brings you in a few minutes to a long white beach.

    Clean and comfortable hotel integrated in the small streets of Lagos. Nice staff, nice pool. Many Entertainment is included like health room, pool, live music every evening just to name some.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    The serving area, the pool area but not the pool (is a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have received a room in the old building of the hotel. The furniture in the room was very old and it had a particular smell of mold, with a very low light but the bathroom was renovated and very clean.

    The serving area, the pool area but not the pool (is a very small pool) and free parking. Good and verios dishes at the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable, but I wouldn't recommend the hotel to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in block A was a bit out dated, needed some TLC, it was generally tired. we had room 811 and we could see the sea in the distance from our balcony which was a bonus, but the immediate view of the street beneath was not very appealing. The carpet on the floor was a bit grubby looking, would have preferred a tiled floor and the walls just looked dirty. The walk from reception to our room took nearly 3-4 minutes so be prepared for stairs and lifts if you are in block A. No hand hygiene in the restaurant for the volume of people who use it for breakfast, there are 280 rooms in this hotel, so a lot of guests and we like to see that people at least use hand gel as they enter the restaurant before they all handle food and there was none available in this hotel.

    Bed was really comfy and we really enjoyed breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Pool area, breakfast ok, location close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room (i stayed in a clasic room), very old furniture, rude personal@ hotel restaurant, sheets with holes in them, the worst pillows ever. This room does not deserve the money , i would grade it to a maximum 3 star bad hotel.

    Pool area, breakfast ok, location close to the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice location, close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is 50 years old, but renovated. Not so cool as it looks on pictures. Beach is far away. BEWARE on missleading prices. I book room for three people, and price was for three people and two beds !!! ( i find out this later ) When i check out i was shocked. I had to pay additional 50€ per day for third bed. ( How you can offer room for three with two beds )

    Nice location, close to city center. Room was clean with big bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Not 4 star facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty glasses and crockery left in the room, coffee and mini bar not restocked. Club Duna is old and dilapidated with very poor toilets that were not cleaned all day. Hot breakfast dishes were cold, not much for coeliacs or vegans.

    Location, front desk staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Reception staff were very efficient and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we stayed in at the back of the hotel was lovely and quiet but could do with updating.

    Reception staff were very efficient and helpful. Reception area, bar, restaurant and pool areas are very clean and well kept. Great location in town but beach and beach club easy to get to by shuttle bus or 20 minute stroll.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.5
    The reception area, Dining & pool are all lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel on arrival gives a very bad first impression as it badly needs to ve painted. The block A where my bedroom was is absolutely disgusting. Its dark dreary & dirty & it smelled. The flights of stairs leading to the bedrooms were filthy & hadnt been cleaned for the 4 days I spent in that room. My bathroom was filthy & a smell of sewer came from the vent at times. The balcony was tiny & didnt even have a table & the view from my balcony was very unsightly with everything from gas cylinders to an unused toilet as this apartment was part of Block A but privately owned. The air conditioners were old rusty & some of them extremely noisy.

    The reception area, Dining & pool are all lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Not a 4 star room and misleading photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advetisement of hotel, showing the main picture as a view of the beach, we booked as we wanted a hotel with nice views and near beach, realised 10 minutes after booking a non refundable room that the picture shown was their local restaurant at the beach a couple of km away and not the hotel, I immediatley contacted the hotel but was told i could not cancel and get a refund. This completely ruined the start of my holiday. Room was very basic for the price we paid and the smallest bathroom i have ever seen in a hotel couldnt hardly move in there

    Free towels Breakfast selection Free sunbeds at beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Good Spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temporary construction going on...odd bit of banging and drilling but ok

    Smack bang in the middle of Lagos. Staff very nice. Lovely room and pool area. Good atmosphere around the place. Good choice for breakfast. Portugese restaurant in the hotel is amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    A big charade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms description aren’t accurate, the rooms are much smaller than the pictures. Also the staff around the hotel are rude. Lift wasn’t working during my stay which led all guests to carry suitcases on the stairs. The so called spa was smelly, the pond had brown water with some poor turtles around. Do not get mislead by the name Tivoli this hotel gave me the holiday from hell with my whole family angry with me by choosing this scam of hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.8
    Avoid this hotel untill fully renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They rate this a 4 star hotel, which in my opinion it certainly is not. It is very old and in the process of renovation. We asked for an upgraded room as the first room they offered us was miles away from reception, we had to take two lifts the get there, plus many stairs and corridors. The night duty manager was phoned by a very embarrassed receptionist and we were denied the upgrade. We were eventually given a slightly better room closer to all amenities. Ho, don't ask for ice, the barmen will glare at you...not in our policy to give guests ice! In all my travels in Portugal, staying in lovely 4 star hotels, we were offered wonderful accommodation and buckets of ice!

    The location was convenient and fairy central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Stay was ok, not blown away by hotel, didn’t think it was 4 star quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the pool and the bar weren’t very friendly. Was even refused ice for water I had purchased earlier that day at the pool bar!!

    Excellent breakfast options, very satisfied with location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Worst Hotel experience i ever had. Absolutely not recommandable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately i had very bad experiences with this hotel. At first i was ignored at check-in for more than 30 min. Than they had me waiting for 15 min for someone to "show me around". I was given a room with a horrible view --> straight facing a construction site and a party area. Not helping to relax at all. The room obviously was not checked before i arrived. There were stains from pre-using the toilet (number 1 and number 2). The towels had stains. So did the bed sheets. The ashtray on the balcony was still full of ash. The wifi didnt work at all for the whole stay of 4 days. Only at the public area it did. Slow and inconvenient. I had to explain 4 people before i was offered a new room. It was the same. Only without the stains on the toilet and 2 floors lower. Even nearer to the construction site. After all i was told there is no other room. Even after asking to pay less i was only offered a dinner. "We cover the costs". They suggested the most unpopular restaurant, the home italian one. I had to ask for a better one. Problem was, not all costs were covered by them. And less payment?! Negative. The breakfast is just standard supermarket food and full of gravy. Not enyoable at all. Even after asking for the manager, he was not available. Instead some poor guy had to appologize instead and make some not satisfying offers. I really wish they would pay me some money back, for it was the worst experience i ever made with a professional Hotel company.

    Unfortunately only the location was the only good thing about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff Miguel was very knowledgable and his english was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom quite small and our room was located very far from the entry including many stairs and turns

    Staff Miguel was very knowledgable and his english was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant smell of urine in the bathroom. The cleaning ladies did not change our sheets during our stay (6 nights). The classic rooms are not renovated.

    Good breakfast, great variaty. Very good location oh the hotel. Nice pool, gym, beach. The room was ok, but the toilet needs refurbish.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location in Lagos, friendly staff, nice room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work in the room, tv sound was very low and you couldn’t add more volume.

    Perfect location in Lagos, friendly staff, nice room and pool. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Good overal quality hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity Portuguese desing guro's work "Maria José Salavisa" wasn't totally respected with the refurbishment. For the price, some slippers, bathrobe or even free water or coffe/tea at the bedroom would be much appreciated (water had a 3 € price tag on it, how "cheap" was that!?)...

    Fantastic breakfast. Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was exceptional, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds

    Breakfast was exceptional, staff friendly. Room was very far from the reception and beds need an upgrade. You need a car or take a bus to the beaches. Hotel provides a shuttle to beach that is small and quite dirty, but not all the way to Ponte de Piedade, main tourist sight in Lagos. Band at the bar was the best!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Alright but in need of a revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was outside the town. Rooms need to be redecorated. Staff weren’t overly friendly especially at the bar and pool area.

    Pool area and fitness room. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    We love this hotel and would not hestitate to recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Pool Views
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel bus to the beach timetable has been altered slightly so that the last bus back to the hotel is now 5.45pm instead of 6.45pm. We were disappointed by this as one of the nicest hours on the beach is late afternoon - after 5pm - when it is cooler and lovely. As we had hired a car we were able to use our own transport on some days so that we could stay on the beach as long as we wanted to - but many guests will not have that option and it is a long walk back to the hotel! Small complaint really - but maybe worth mentioning!

    Another lovely stay at the Tivoli Lagos - we have been coming to this hotel for many, many years and always enjoy our stay very much. Thank you very much to the management for the bottle of sparkling wine and cake which they gave to me on my birthday whilst we were staying there - a very nice gesture and much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect week away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym didn’t open early enough for me so found one outside of the hotel which we had to pay for.

    Very clean and comfortable some rooms are a little dated but I think they are a traditional Portuguese decor saying that aircon spot on. ( they are in the middle of renovating rooms) Lots of sun beds, big beach towel, lovely cocktails, amazing choice for breakfast. Location was absolutely spot on. WiFi everywhere in hotel Free bus to beach Free sun bed on the beach Exceeded expectations after reading some negative reviews Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Ask to see the room 1st as what is advertised.. I’m sure booking will review them 👍
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked to be helped with the problems about the room but I got the usual “ the managers are in a meeting “ shame as I didn’t expect a refund just a realistic price fir a tatty 2 star room

    The hotel facilities are good but there are a section of rooms that are old and dirty these are the ones you get put in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite specifying a double room, we were given a twin. Lack of parking caused a lot of hassle. We’re told ok to park outside hotel.. following day very abruptly told to move the car.. mohito drink in the bar was terrible.. Shower drain was blocked in first room, meaning we could only shower for 30 odd seconds on first night... moved rooms on 2nd night, but better... Beach club could not get drinks right and tried to insist we took the wrong drinks!! Will not visit again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    Public areas were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in Block A, room 606. The entire Block A is almost derelict. The corridor linking the block to reception is almost falling apart. Doors and windows are rotting with glass falling out. Some doors are taped off because they are dangerous. We arrived late after long journey and were only staying for 1 night. Otherwise we would not have stayed. Room was dated, smelly and bore no comparison to hotel photos. When we complained, they sent a half bottle of Port, bottle of water and cakes to our room. As if we would eat anything in that room! This was an insult. The whole experience was like something from Soviet Russia and that's probably insulting the Soviets. We are 65 years old and this is beyond the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We paid €132 for the night so it was not cheap and is rated as 4****. I believe there are better hostels. Don't under any circumstances stay in Block A.

    Public areas were good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Looking forward to being there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    We liked the location of the hotel and its proximity to the marina, Mei Pria, the centre of Lagos and the superb restaurants there. This is another hotel in which the flow and temperature of the hot water are instantly controllable; important in a dry country. The huge breakfast room and buffet were also much appreciated. Using the stairs, rather than the lifts, was an amusing navigational challenge for the first 24 hours or so.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    We like Lagos. We like the Tivoli Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms have been refurbished. Ours was one of the ones that wasn’t, which was disappointing.

    Extensive buffet breakfast. Great location and a regular free bus service to the beach. Comfortable rooms and the hotel’s restaurant Pateo Velho is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely characterful hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony had some resident seagulls which made quite a mess and noise. Sunbed would have been good on balcony.

    Nicely refurbished rooms. Good selection for breakfast. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location but disappointing room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we got was too small. It was tiny. We were staying for 10 days and a lot of people we had come with were given better rooms for less.

    Right in the middle of Marina and strip. Nice pool. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.8
    Unfortunately this hotel is in need of a facelift , flaky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately this hotel is in need of a facelift , flaky and worn away paintwork bedrooms in need of updating. Very disappointed should be rated a 3 star

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    The property was centrally located and it was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest double room we have ever stayed in staff on the pool bar were not very organised forgetting part of our lunch order and delivering the wrong food. Our room was to far away from all the facilities 2 lifts + 2 flights of stairs and a very long corridor to get to the bar and pool.

    The property was centrally located and it was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Location excellent hotel immaculate staff very helpful in...
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outlook from hotel room was like a building site constant noise from building work the whole duration of stay. Let hotel down sadly. Felt this work should have been completed before guests occupied these Premier rooms .

    Location excellent hotel immaculate staff very helpful in all areas

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    We have visited this hotel many times and always look forward to returning again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The refurbishment was still in progress and therefore ongoing, some rooms still closed and some initial teething problems. The Wi Fi in our room was poor and patchy. Car parking was a bit of a problem due to the underground park being closed for building works. As a result the open park was not adequate for all guests. I understand the underground park will be one later this month.

    The Tivoli Lagos has undergone a refurbishment program which was needed as the hotel had become tired and somewhat scruffy in places. The refurbishment has updated many rooms and public areas and is much smarter but still retains a lot of it's character. The buffet breakfast, as usual , is excellent and the staff and very friendly. Ideally located with good facilities, the beach club being one of them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    We had a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the bar during happy hour could have been better

    Wonderful traditional hotel we had a perfect room with a view across Lagos we could see the marina & the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Lounges, hallways and pool area of the hotel beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a nice pool at the beach club, however they charge for sunbeds on the poolside. On the beach sunbeds are free for hotel guests.

    Lounges, hallways and pool area of the hotel beautiful and well kept. Location very good close to the Marina and walking distance to old town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor very dated in th older sections of the hotel. Have stayed here several times before and this was the worst room we have been given. Have always been impressed before and the staff are great but hugely disappointed this time.

    Staff are excellent - helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Great facilities, including outdoor and indoor pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms were a bit tired and dated and ours had a minuscule balcony.

    Great facilities, including outdoor and indoor pools. Staff very helpful. Nice to have evening entertainment.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tivoli Lagos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: