Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tivoli Sintra 4 stars

Praça da República, 2710-616 Sintra, Portugal

#18 of 20 hotels in Sintra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1749 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not ready on arrival, staff unable to correct a few problems, rooms could use some attention, loose tap, door to balcony not locking, , unable to open safe

    Perfect location for visit, close to amenities, excellent view from room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Ideal location and super friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little paking available on premises and Sintra is a difficult place to park a car. Please note: street parking is mostly paid parking.

    Very friendly staff, extermely nice room, affordable and in the best location for a Sintra visit!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Location was great, especially if you are staying on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not managed well, lack of customer service, understaffed everywhere, including cleaning personnel, kitchen, etc. We arrived at 2pm and were not able to check in till 4:30, even though our rooms were "in the system", but one member of the cleaning crew did not show up for work, so we had to wait for 2.5 hours. Hotel is advertising free parking, which is false, since having 77 rooms, there are only 5 parking slots available in front of the property. The rest parking space(also limited) is located in the garage, that yo have to pay 10 euros per day and is very difficult to locate and drive as well. Avoid dining at the hotel restaurant at any cost, the service is very slow and food was just mediocre. We have been waiting for 2 appetizers for 1.5 hours. Came at 7:30, when restaurant opens and did not get food until 8:45. There were 6-7 tables at the restaurant and we were the second party to arrive (4 ppl). There are so many great options to have dinner around the corner, great food and fast and friendly service as well. The view from the restaurant is the only positive thing that We found. Overall, great location, but not matching expectation for the price and advertised value.

    Location was great, especially if you are staying on the higher floor facing the valley. Otherwise, you will be facing construction site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Memorable venue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful..location perfect in heart of old town...nice foyer balcony west facing with spectacular views up to moors castle and across forested valley.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location , would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was easy to get to. The view from the main reception area on 4th floor is exceptional! Staffs were fast to react and very helpful. The room is spacious , air-conditioned and clean. But not completely sound proof , we can hear our neighbour but it did not bother us too much. We were also able to print off our boarding passes and store our luggage there !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    Avoid avoid avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible to find. Poor signage and forget gps. Understaffed. “Not my job attitude”. Bar service in lobby was nonexistent all day. Terribly managed hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Does not feel like 4*,poor service,dirty carpets, extra charge for parking but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a big hotel with only 6 (free of charge) parking spaces in front of hotel so forget to have free parking, we did not know that at time of reservation. Sintra is small with very limited car space. Better not to have a car but usufull for all sightseeing). Hotel charge 10Eur per day for onother parking (located in basement). At check in late evening, I was told hotel emailed us about parking, but we did not respond, we did not get such email (once we booked hotel we selected parking option). Too complicated to reserve parking comparing to other hotels.Especially if travelling across country.The room was not clean(stains on carpet, mould in bath), did not feel 4* at all.Dated.

    Location, it's in city centre, close to tourist info office where you can buy tickets to sights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced hotel with noisy construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction is across the street and starts from early morning. Super noisy. The room that is listed on booking.com as city facing is actually construction facing and parking lot facing. Nothing beautiful to see there. The picture is misleading. Really not worth the money for this mediocre hotel.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Unbeatable location, great valley view from the room and loby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not helpful with parking (although I contacted them about this two days before arrival). First time in a very long time there is no complimentary bottle of water in a hotel. First time ever I have been charged for using the coffee machine in the room.

    Unbeatable location, great valley view from the room and loby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    The room was very nice and comfortable, with nice bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broke down when we arrived so we had to take the service lift. The breakfast was a bit expensiive. The car park was difficult to access as the roads are very difficult.

    The room was very nice and comfortable, with nice bathroom and balcony. We had a very nice dinner in the reataurant too. The hotel contacted us before arrival to see if we wanted to book parking which was essential.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an excellent hotel, the location the rooms and the beds were amazing, of course the way to get there is complicated but once you are in sintra you will see that moving with the car is just super difficult is not the hotel is sintra 😁😁

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Hotel (rooms facing the hills towards the Moorish fort) and its restuarants have spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please fix 1 of the entrance door ...on the 1st floor of the hotel building..

    we upgraded our room to the Hill facing view (so we can view the Moorish fort up on the hill from our balcony, and various villas on the opposite side of the hill. Tivoli Sintra breakfast restaurant has fantastic views as well,... so do wake up early for breakfast and get the best table / seats next to the window, balcony corridoor. The queen size mattress bed is comfortable - i especially prefer mattress beds on the firm side. Nespresso machine and refills are given if u drink coffee many times in a day. Hour long Summer sunsets can be enjoyed here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Good air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready until 3pm. It took 30 minutes to check out.

    Good air conditioning. There was a room where we could store our luggage after checking out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with the valley view. We got the room at the far end of the hallway. We saw houses in front of our balcony. Bedroom - The untidy painted wall around the room. - All the cables hanging down from the TV. Bathroom - Ventilation fan didn't work. - Couldn't turn the Rainfall shower to Handheld shower head since the turning knob was missing. - Clogged shower drain : had to stop in the middle of shower to wait for the water to drain.

    Nice designed and spacious room. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Room very big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have my room after two hours from the check-in because hotel was full The wc was not clean (I call the reception and they come quickly but after two hours I was a little bit annoyed about that)

    Room very big Location near the centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    So-so Tivoli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a bit rude, either at reception or at the restaurant. When we entered the room, some towels were on the floor. Not to mention it looked like some tables were not cleaned in the room... For the price you pay, you would also expect free water (especially in a hot country like Portugal) but all consumables are chargeable... No ceiling lights

    The view from the room was great. The room is quite big which is nice TV and fridge were okay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Spacious and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby bar supposed to be open but there was no one available every time I pass despite of amazing view.

    Spacious and comfortable room. Staff is professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, great location and fab breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major at all. Just some parts of the hotel look tired and would benefit from an update. The restaurant could be a great asset with its amazing views but needs brightening up and updating.

    Spacious comfortable room, very clean and comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was excellent. Reception staff were helpful. Location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Location is excellent in the Old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hilly walk from station (can’t be helped but be aware) Breakfast was way overpriced and not very nice- way nicer and cheaper options in the cafes outside the hotel.

    Location is excellent in the Old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Must stay at this elegant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let’s say driving to the hotel but I’ve received great map/instructions from the hotel in advance. And we were lucky to find parking in front of the hotel. All went well eventually.

    Fabulous, great location and beautiful place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    A memorable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Architecturally the building could be better externally.

    It is stylish internally. The staff were pleasant and informative. The restaurant was excellent, and the reakfast was particularly abundant and good. Staying at the Tivoli was a most pleasant experience!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was great the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great the staff were excellent. Beds were very comfortable. Great location. A little hard to find the parking garage but staff very helpful. Would stay again no problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    One of the best locations for visiting Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small private parking;

    perfect downtown location, close to the old city; large enough room with balcony and a nice view to the fortress; good breakfast; kind staff; free wi-fi and parking; good quality for the price paid;

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location with secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner . Doors around handles very disappointing.

    Great location with secure parking. Nice room view. Very professional manner and good restaurant meal with dedicated staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful hotel right in the historical center of Sintra. The views from the restaurant and from the room (if you have a room with valley view) are great! The location is the best in Sintra.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excelent hotel in the centre, plenty of restaurants around, starting place to explore Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We find that it was very hard to find the hotel and drive the car to the hotel, due to some building works. It could be temporally problems.

    Perfect , position, clean, well appointed, excellent breakfast closed to public transport, hotel in the center of town, parking available on the hotel property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good atmosphere nice staff and very good cleaning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance, wc tap was broke and nobody repairs it. Parking has a very difficult access and has a supplementary costs. To expansive for this 4 stars.

    Very good atmosphere nice staff and very good cleaning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Great 2 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little lack of attention to detail , forgot bath mat and flannels, but am sure, had I rang for them they would have been supplied.

    One way system a bit of a nightmare, the manager very kindly jumped into the car and directed us to the car park. Hotel is very central, making it easy to visit all the sites or pick up local transport. Breakfast very good, didn’t eat dinner in the hotel. Our room was very spacious and I think recently refurbished

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Nice room and tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird, strong smell in the hotel. No window/filter in the shower-bad smell

    Nice staff. The room was big. The most comfortable bed I ever sleep in. Breakfast was good. Great view and great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Opposite the National Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC didnt seem to work in full power, had to open the door to the shared terrace to get cool air. Carpet floor with no slippers.Mini bar is not free. :(

    Opposite the National Palace. Reachable by bus 434. Room is super spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with minor tricks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are free slow internet and fast internet for 15 euro per night. Coffee capsule costs 1 euro per piece, not highlighted.

    Room was really good, big, clean and bright. Very comfortable bed, pillows and blanket. Room was equipped with capsule coffee machine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great location and best bed ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted a cocktail but the bar didn't have the ingredients for all those listed on the menu. When we did find one he could do it was very poor

    The location and customer service from the reception staff was brilliant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great choice for seeing Sintra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrival with car was most frustrating. Garage parking had no signage. a message from hotel to better advise us that there were road changes would had been most appreciated.

    Super comfortable bed, lovely linens. Memorable views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice room, good breakfast, but a few technology problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we first arrived telephone was defective. We had to have hotel maintenance fix the TV twice.

    Great location and view. Room was large and had balcony. Breakfast was good. In room coffee maker was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location in Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The town view isn't great as it faces a building currently under construction so there is significant noise during the weekdays when work is being done. We were only given 1 towel in bathroom even though we were clearly 2 people staying in a double room. If you are coming from the train station, it is an exhausting uphill climb to the hotel and I would recommend taking a taxi.

    Excellent location - right in the heart of Sintra. Large room with nice balcony. New beds with wall outlets on both sides so both of us could charge our phones by the bed overnight! Newly renovated bathrooms with modern and lovely waterfall shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Wry disappointing and mediocre albeit the front desk staff were very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room in front of hotel. Bad attitude of waiters in restaurant and bar. Uncomfortable bed. Oh yes, left a new item of clothing in room( changed rooms 2nd day) when I noticed it was gone 3 days later, no one had found it. Staff stole it!

    View from deck in second room ( we requested a change) and, view from lobby deck.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a city view room. But the room has no city view... The view from the balcony was completely blocked by the side of the palace. All I can see is a little alley... Totally disappointed... And I got two beds for myself...

    The restaurant has great view. Can see the sea while having breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Dinner with view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City view meant the window towards the street with late evening traffic and construction during the day. The bathroom smelled a bit funny.

    Friendly staff. Central location. Delicious dinner. Stunning view from the restaurant. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is obviously a problem with the ventilation. There was a strong smell of sewer/drains in the bathroom which meant we had to keep the windows open at all times or then the whole room stank.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The refurbishment of the rooms is of a high standard and we loved the high quality of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything and are so glad they have tea coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Renovated to a high standard. Clean rooms new shower rooms lovely staff . Excellent high quality breakfast overlooking the hills

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Always pleasant, shame about the rain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel has changed since the imposition of a new one way system which is, to say the least, confusing. It would be helpful if the Tivoli could either describe access on the website or put a few signs up.

    Third time we have stayed here. As rated above staff are great, in particular Francesco who was extremely helpful both in altering our booking and dealing with a particularly unpleasant GNR man! Food in the restaurant was good and better than some of the restaurants outside. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the heating needed turning on especially in the dining room where most of the guests ate with their coats on. It should have been obvious we were all cold

    The hotel and staff were very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    The spacious room with the balcony that can be enjoyed as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The spacious room with the balcony that can be enjoyed as the patio, looking at the National Palace, the property is located at the center of city, for 5 minutes by car from the Sintra train station, quick excursion by foot can be, to reach hotel for 15 minutes or so. During the 6 days of my stay in where is the infinite tourist attraction, cuisine, wines, and extraordinary scale of UNESCO Heritages, what is possible with this hotel is, frequent interval can be taken by once returning to the room on the full schedule since in the morning, and, again getting out to the city, the best location for almost all major places in Sintra. Hotel provides enough amenities and services both for long and short stay. This hotel has the hair salon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony view of construction, the lack of customer service, the mini bar not being replenished despite being requested. The miserable faces of the staff and the grumpy atmosphere.

    The view from everywhere except my balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice central hotel with good customer service levels and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door in bedroom did not close properly.

    Nice hotel with very friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Parking was restrictive unless you pay for hotel access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Everything from the moment we arrived until the time we left was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could have stayed longer.

    The room was excellent with a great view The restaurant service was the best we had in years. The food was superb : all recommended by the waiter

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located hotel - in centrum, close to many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel rooms looks like from the eighties.

    Perfectly located hotel - in centrum, close to many attractions. Around there are also restaurants, caffeteries, gift shops. Walking distance from train station, although to go to hotel you will need to go up, I recomend to take taxi/uber. Big rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Great accommodation in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets were in a poor condition but the hotel was about to be refurbished.

    All facilities were good and the hotel had plenty of space with helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    A good place to spend a few days at in Sintra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hinky wifi.

    The staff was helpful and we liked being across the street from the palace. Sintra is a lovely town and while crowded, it is worth the effort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not so well trained (apart from one young receptionist girl). Very lengthy check-in procedures. Wi-fi instructions were not working. Had to come to the reception and test 3 connection methods. For the usual customer it would be quite annoying. Dinner in the location was a strange and bad experience. I asked for the wine to be changed and the waiter started to behave strangely and even talked by himself on the way to the kitchen.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    The perfect place for staying in Sintra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist staff, especially Mr Francisco. The breakfast was really good and even more than I expected. The view from the hotel was amazing, the best location. All is so clean. One of the best hotel I have ever stayed. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Sintra is charming, offers endless castles, palaces and other places of interest. Stay a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, large well appointed rooms with views and use of lounge with bar for drinks of your choice. Restaurant, views of note too, offers good variety, well presented, well priced and absolutely delicious. Breakfast fit for a king, nothing more to be desired. Hotel staff friendly, efficient, willing to help with any queries. Hotel location slap bang in the historical center, able to walk everywhere including the bus and train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Staying in this Hotel made the trip extra special because of the great welcome and the great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was just spot on from having a room with a valley view to having great evening meals and be able to return during the day and relax in the lounge with bar facilities.

    A really special hotel exuding great character in keeping with its location so convenient for exploring the nearby historical attractions. Very helpful personnel and fantastic restaurant overlooking the valley. All in all superb place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Because Sintra is so beautiful we had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked three nights but they only activated the key card for one night so we couldn't get in the room on the second day! The cleaner took the dirty towels away but didn't leave new ones so we had to ask at reception for more. The carpet was stained where there obviously had been a flood in the room. Breakfast wasn't up to Tivoli standards and the hotel needs a complete refurbish. The walls are very thin so you could hear people next door, especially bathroom noise!

    Good view of the castle from the balcony, and good location in the center of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Good central location to explore beautiful Sintra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took 3 reports and 7 hours to finally get towels in our washroom. Seems like their laundry department had an issue.

    Excellent location, just across the street from Palacio Nacional de Sintra.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    Amazing location, right in the epicenter ter of Sintra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, right in the epicenter ter of Sintra. Rooms with views to the castle is possible. the facility is a bit old, hence bed is not very comfortable. but overall great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Great location & friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with the property but is it really hard to find a parking space so we had to pay the hotel for it. Still better than parking miles away .

    Location,very central to town and main attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was very comfortable & the staff very friendly restaurant was good & overall the hotel was excellent value for money I wish I could say the same for Sintra itself.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, centrally situated in historical old Sintra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dated but location location!

    The views from the valley view bedrooms are stunning. The same view from the dining room. Had an excellent dinner in the restaurant on our last evening. Staff friendly and efficient. Secure garage parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.0
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suggest they be a little more wheelchair friendly. The hotel was very pleasant and the location fantastic the staff wonderful. I would suggest that the owners look at changing the carpets of the bedrooms to maybe tile or wood. Thank for a wonderful stay

    That you had a fridge in the bedroom. Your staff where wonderful. The breakfast was excellent and the staff on duty made us feel nothing was a bother.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small. Parking place - they don't take your car plate number, so even if a parking place is allocated to you, and you take your car to a ride outside and return to the hotel - somebody else took my place ! and the hotel could not recognize to whom the car is belong to !

    Location is great. Breakfast is excelllent. Nice view from the hotel windows.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Location and views were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was grim. Curdled yoghurts and toaster didn't work properly. Carpets in room were heavily stained and general cleanliness poor

    Location and views were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    A pity the hotel does not live up to the expectations of the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was the worst of our current travels. Very small and poorly sprung Staff were all grumpy. Breakfast very poor. Room requires serious maintenance. Patio door would not close.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets need changing

    The beautiful decor and oldie worldie atmosphere.central and at the same time lovely views from balcony. Large comfortable rooms P

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Very good location, elevators.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad smell in the corridors (sewage). Not easy to get in and out of the parking. We checked in at the evening and decided to add 10 Euro for the parking. We told the receptionist that we intend to check out in the morning, but leave our car in their parking until the evening and he told us we can leave the car as long as we wish. When we checked out in the morning there was a different person that insisted we must leave the parking before 14:00

    Very good location, elevators. Private Parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cleanliness. Blood on shower curtain!! Mentioned it on check out- received a token apology but got feeling wouldn't be dealt with seriously.

    Central. Only there one night so adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Nice hotel in fairy tale Sintra with fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Hotel is ideally located, right next to Sintra National Palace. The room we were given was spacious with a large terrace. The view was fantastic. There is a free parking for hotel guests provided - it is a big bonus, because finding a parking place (even for a money) is a problem in Sintra.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Great stay right in the center of Sintra; clean hotel, friendly staff and nice breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has not much charm compare to the properties around, it's a 70ties designed hotel. However, it is a positive trade off for the convenience of being just right in the center of Sintra

    My parents have booked a couple of days after us on booking.com. Yet the staff has managed to arrange our rooms to be next to each other which made it more practical for us. Also, the staff was really responsive, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    If you visit Sintra the best way is to stay at least for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Terrific view from the balcony on the Pena and hills. Very respectable and helpful staff . Excellent choice of meals at breakfast .For sure will stay here next time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Sintra - one can't get enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself and the rooms would benefit from some renovation, one can see that the rooms are outdated.

    The hotel location is just perfect for a visit to Sintra, it is central and close to the main touristic points. The breakfast is quite good. The rooms are clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.6
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty (carpet was filthy and we got dirty feet walking on it) aircon was pitiful and room was like a sauna during the night. We opened the balcony door to get some cool air but unfortunately our room was on the town side and although the noise from the town died down about midnight we then got muffler-less motorbikes screaminig up and down the hill and rubbish trucks and maintenance from about 3am onwards! Four sleepless nights!

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a spectacular Village!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find as there is no number on the street address. We were visiting from overseas so did not have internet access via phone to google the location.

    Located very centrally. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Centric hotel with very spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location to visit Sintra. Hotel was comfortable, clean, and the room was really big and spacious! Old style decoration (traditional) yet clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good, fair variety of fruit, cold meat, eggs etc. Would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the description it says there is parking. It was not available and they charged extra for parking in the hotel garage. The hotel and the rooms are so old and smelly, you feel you are locked in a grandma's wardrobe. And I really doubt about sanitary of that carpets:( The location is ok, but Sintra's downtown is all walkable distance so it doesn't benefit you much. Overall, terrible old overpriced place where they don't care for customers as tomorrow others will come.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    3.8
    we won’t stay there on our next trip to the wonderful Sintra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Town View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We made the choice of staying at The Tivoli Hotel in Sintra based on the website pictures as well as its 4 star rating. I have to say, given how beautiful Sintra is, the service and hotel do not reflect that! Whilst the reception area itself was well styled with an awesome view from the restaurant/bar area, the reception staff couldn’t have seemed less interested in greeting us! They were chatting amongst themselves and when we asked small questions it was clearly an inconvenience. The room was a great size, big wardrobes, nice size balcony with a stunning view out into Sintra. Unfortunately the cleaners had left the previous room visitors cigarette butts in the plants on the balcony and the reception seemed surprised when we asked for this to be removed. In the evening we asked for an iron, this arrived in a battered torn old box with no ironing board which was as amusing as it was impossible to iron (on the bed). The bath matt in the bathroom was black with mould, the towels were old and seriously tired. The fridge had a smell like it had just never been cleaned. The beds were comfy enough and the location of the hotel was perfect, however based on the constant dirty feeling, we won’t stay there on our next trip to the wonderful Sintra.

    great location

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: