Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vale Da Telha 2 stars

Vale Da Telha, 8670-156 Aljezur, Portugal

#10 of 15 hotels in Aljezur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 508 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman at the checkin was a bit grumpy, because apparently they were cleaning at the time of our arrival and there wasn't many staff available, but at the checkout the same woman was very kind.

    Excellent breakfast, enough parking space, clean rooms, beds are good, very nice decoration.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old and the village, unless you are a surfer, does not offer much.

    Very nice staff, good breakfast, close to hiking routes ( ruta vicentina).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not so many places to eat around, too far from the ocean, about 40 mins by walk, so it could be comfortly reached only by car or bycicle

    Very helpfull staff, taste but monotonous breakfast. In hotel were also served dinner, but I've never tried. Spacious clean room with own balcony, but the door to balcony didn't work properly. The only shop I've seen in the area were close to the hotel. Own swimming pool, because the ocean is too far.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The observatorium was only open at Saturdays, with a technician. €10,- per room. It was better to have this info online, to prevent disappointments.

    Really nice accomodation. Looks beautiful and luxuriouse. The pool is quite big in an nice garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of

    Best hotel - swimming pool, breakfast, room. Can't say how much we appreciated this place after staying in Sagres. A wonderful spot!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car to get to the beach. A bit old hotel.

    I would say it's more 3* hotel (than 2* that they have). Very welcome and nice staff! Good and big pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been useful to have a beach towel supplied to save taking one in the suitcase.

    The breakfast has plenty of choice. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The area is a good place to get to some spectacular beaches and restaurants. The outdoor pool is large with a separate kiddie pool, very clean with nice sun lounges. Don't forget to go to Jose's restaurant up the road for lovely traditional Portuguese meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people here are so, so friendly. The room is excellent value for money, very clean and relatively spacious with balcony. The pool area is fantastic and was virtually empty for the whole day - such a treat! Car was definitely needed to get to nearby Arrifana - beautiful beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Lovely hotel just a very short walk from 3 bars/restaurants and a shop. Approx 3 miles either way to lovely beaches. We only ate breakfast (which was included in price) but that was lovely and plentiful, room was large and comfortable, balcony with views to their lovely pool and garden. Very well kept and very clean. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very low water pressure in the toilet, not able to rinse the toilet. According to the hotel staff information you need to separate the paper in the toilet and throw into the bucked due to environmental issues. I did not meet similar recommendation in many other toilets in this region. I was not able to find armchairs around the pool. The hotel does not provide the pool towels. Some areas around the hotel are devastated. The breakfast was very simple, with small plates. The juice contains to much water and the caffe is just terrible.

    Not to much expensive Hotel. Good parking. Pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had several problem with the door entrance in our room. We weren't able to close it properly also during the night. Maybe they have to fix it or change it. Especially during the night is unpleasant for the outside light and noises.

    The breakfast is very good, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the parking lot although the hotel was quiet at the time of our stay. The location was too isolated for us.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast was typical and fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the website don't match with the property at all. I was very disappointed and even tried to go somewhere else but couldn't find. The quality it's very poor, the bed was not good at all, a very small pillow didn't help for a good night sleep. The bathroom didn't have any soap and it was awful. Not a good experience.

    I don't think I liked at all

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great stay there, the breakfast was really good and since we had a car we could go to any beach around the area. Nice hotel and definitely would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice hotel with a beautiful swimming pool (we did not use this pool, since we preferred to walk at the beautiful coast some km away). For this hotel, you need a car!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double was 2 singles, Not much within walking distance

    Breakfast excellent cooked and buffet, wifi good, pretty gardens and pool area. Peaceful surroundings. Good surfing beaches nearby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were very small and hard.

    Large room, very clean, with a nice balcony. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was very welcoming and comfortable. The area by the pool was also very nice. Tasty breakfast. Good wifi connection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy, the walls seem made of paper, in our room we could hear the silverware for the breakfast preparation from 6:30am, the neighbor rooms peeing and showering, the cleaning team cart going around the corridor, the cars on the street, frequent smashing doors due to airstreams. We booked a double room but actually got twin beds.

    Breakfast is good with limited choice. The fruit is nice. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were extremely welcoming the minute we walked in and we felt very spoilt by them. Hotel was a real nice surprise that it was so lovely. Food great, service great, grounds and gardens great. Had the perfect weather. All good!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice lounge area and great swimming pool to relax,nice decor everywhere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town itself is very deserted. It’s a bit hard to find restaurants and such

    The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are spacious and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for us and nice pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slightly difficult to find

    good breakfast. nice moorish decor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the water of the pool was very cold.

    breakfast. easy to access to the beaches around the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was super friendly and helped us arrange a cheap ride to Aljezur.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms aren't very noise-proof, but did not bother me

    The location is great for relaxing and getting away from the busy cities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Oriental touch

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good,although no decaffeinated tea or coffee. Bidet not good had two taps!would have liked a double bed but they were all twin

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good for the price.

    Comfortable bed. Good shower. Lovely breakfast . Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel need renovation, looks kind of old

    quality and variety of food could be better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    too far from beach to walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    -

    Very friendly staff! Huge swimming pool, good food and a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too close to other facilities

    Clean and. Onvenient

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was very helpful at any question

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were really lovely and friendly in a very natural way as if they enjoyed their work. Very good breakfast and very clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here one night while walking the Rota Vicentina in December. We were comfortable during our short stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet surroundings, rooms with a balcony.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean.and comfortable , large room and bathrooom. Good breakfast , welcoming staff .A good location to explore the west Algarve

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy house. Couldn't sleep.

    Nice moroccon style.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good value on a hotel room while traveling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iron not available

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and friendly hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great swimming pool! Great balcony in our room! Great breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for the service

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Non-smoking room smelled strongly with cigarettes. No double beds. Old-fashion toilets that got stuck every time :)

    Nice staff, very good breakfast. Rooms clean and spacious but not very practical.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Double beds are single ! and pillows are a little small.

    A friendly welcome, simple but clean rooms and the breakfast was good. Good location and good restaurants within walking distance. Overall a pleasant stay, staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is not great but it's ok

    We met another couple on the Rota Vicentina, going in the opposite direction to us, i.e. away from Vale da Telha. We chatted briefly and shared recommendations for places to eat etc. one of them sniffly referred to our next destination as being "in the development". And true enough, we walked through a fairly grim and unfinished holiday estate to get to the hotel. Our fears were completely assauged: the hotel is gorgeous and the food is so good we had dinner there on both nights.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cockerel at 04.30 am.

    Excellent staff all spoke English. Quiet location (but it was out of season). Breakfast was excellent, Emanuel prepared anything we had wanted. Very good steak restaurant within 100m but they do other things as well. Room spacious and very comfortable beds, bathroom everything you would expect. Whole atmosphere of hotel was of a Moroccan style with furniture, lighting etc which was interesting. Will go again.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel with large and comfortable beds. A bit impersonal during check in. The breakfast was nice and the staff was friendly and all smiles in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You do need a car to get around and see things.

    For a modest hotel it was stunning.. Presentation, cleanliness, comfort and food were all amazing. The staff were helpful and very friendly. The location was delightfully quiet and the coasts, mountains and beaches were spectacular. We stayed at the end of October and, although it rained a little (mostly at night), the weather was warm and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On photos look much nicer while in reality looks older.Bad view from balcony.Bad isolation, you can hear other guests talkin and having shower.

    Comfy bed and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite noisy in the evenings,some of the cleanliness and staff could be more sympathetic

    Location compared to all interesting places, atmosphere and decoration.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast... Orange squash,dire coffee...

    Good location and excellent value for money.fantastic courtesy service to the two main beaches. FORr a two star hotel you could not expect better!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was big with completely private balcony. Wifi was very fast. Shower was very good. If you eat at the hotel: be sure to pay the extra €5 for the main course. Trust us, it's worth it.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was spacious and tastefully decorated in a minimal mooring style with a small balcony overlooking the pool. The attractively tilidcbathroom was a good size and Wifi provision was good. We could not recommend the three nearby restaurants but there are good eating places in the nearby excellent Arrifana and Monte Clerics bays.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is well above the 2 star rating.The room has everything we needed:- comfy bed,fridge,air conditioning,good wifi and tv. The pool was a treat after a day's hiking and the restaurant served excellent dinner and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a double rm, but the beds were 2 single beds pushed together. I would have preferred a double mattress.

    decking area around pool, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They had not received our booking via Booking.com - even though we provided a print out of the confirmation .0

    Apartments well equipped. Close to wonderful beaches.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good value.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hot food at breakfast could have been hotter

    Friendly staff Good choice at breakfast Very good coffee machine

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I liked everything

    Very helpful staff . Rooms lovely

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing wrong :)))

    food and staff

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely room with your own heater to set as required. The meals were also very nice and very good value.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Comfy on a stormy weekend. Relaxed friendly staff. Fab breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel wasn't that close to the beach as we expected

    The breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely decor. Good location in a quiet area of the Algarve. Large spotless room .

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Couple

    No where in hotel to get water after a long journey

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Orange juice at breakfast was mainly water. Service in the evening restaurant was poor.

    Lovely pool, comfortable bed, good value evening meal

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Group

    Location

    The pooll. Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    great value during off season. simple, clean rooms. friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly dated, noisy fan can be heard from room 207: avoid that room.

    Clean, good breakfast. Comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super bon souper, personnel très accueillant

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Vale Da Telha traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: