Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas 4 stars

Quinta Vale d'El Rei, 8400-421 Carvoeiro, Portugal

#5 of 17 hotels in Carvoeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 848 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay, quiet and restful in a beautifull and confortable hotel distant from touristic areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and breads at breakfast really need to be improved. And also, generally speaking, food would need to be of more choice and more tasty and delicate.

    We liked the location of the hotel, the kindness and hepfullness of the staff, the general cleanliness of all the facilities and the quality of the SPA. It is also nice to spend time not too close to the pool but in the beautifull garden with birds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    I liked everything the staff were extremely pleasant &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was fantastic but I do feel you need a car.

    I liked everything the staff were extremely pleasant & helpful, the villa was spotless and had everything you needed including pool towels & a hammock to relax in, the food at breakfast was fresh & plentiful. The 2 pools were well maintained & there was no rushing for sunloyngers. This resort has it all!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Family hotel with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tables during breakfast need to be cleaned faster as we did not know where to seat once we had our plates and we were not the only ones. Maybe some extra people during summer holiday? Bathroom need a little renovation and room decoration as well.

    Beautiful hotel surrounding (garden, pool). Big private parking. Nice architecture. Large breakfast buffet. Hotel staff nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    a great stay for a couple or family in Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You need a rent a car there to get around.

    We enjoyed the lovely views, good breakfast and room. Spa facility was much appreciated!! The flavoured water at reception was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing break with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wasps! Dining outside was applied because of the wasps. We got stung twice!

    Great breakfast. Kids went mad for the waffles. Lunches were also good and also large portions. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Tennis court was great also. The hammock on our balcony was a nice extra and very comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.5
    Nice hotel but too quiet and miles away from anywhere
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in the middle of nowhere and everything closed at ten you couldn’t even get room service and when you could there was a €10 charge. The breakfast was poor with little choice. I would not go back

    Very clean room and comfortable. Pool area was nice and the courtesy bus was convenient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in very pleasant hotel in a quiet area between Silves and Carvoeiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was that food off lunch menu was fairly average quality but the prices were very reasonable so not complaining too much

    Staff very good Gardens well maintained and very pleasant to have sun lounger positioned in quiet spot on the lawns as alternative to by the pool Breakfast was good Very clean hotel Reasonable bar prices

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    An outstanding experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been much better. It’s was quite disappointing to have limited option of food to choose from.

    Very relaxed environment to spend your summer holidays. We enjoyed our stay as we got to use the facilities at the hotel. The hotel is also not too far from popular beaches (with car) which makes it easy to commute between the hotel and the beach. The staff at the hotel were also very helpful and friendly which always adds to the overall experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 nights in this place only because they allowed pets. When we arrived in the hotel they told us that the pets are not allowed in the hotel rooms but just in some villas next to the hotel. But on booking they allow to book the hotel rooms saying that are pet allowed!!! And they “offered” us an “upgrade” but in the villa the rooms costs less!!! So what upgrade is this???Is a down grade paying more!!! So after one hour waiting at the reception they told that they offer us a half board. And we said we don’t needed because we are all day out! In the and they invented that they have to charge the dog stay also 😳 just to justify the price we paid more for the hotel rooms! Very very bad smell in the rooms.

    The breakfast The housekeepers very kind!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent would deg recommend and return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would of been good near the town but only 40 mins from Faro Aiport..

    Staff we so helpful and it was a fantastic setting lots of greenery..lovely stream for children to fish ..a 10 euro ride into Caverio although there was a free shuttle bus into the town which was fantastic and great for teenagers as they had an outside dj

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place for the Algarve experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Amazing hotel , very helpful staff , the location is perfect, if you have a car you can easily visit the area and enjoy the beautiful beaches around .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful location, set in lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very helpful and the parking was easy. Set in beautiful grounds with a lovely pool. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the outdoor area. Nice quiet location-very restful. Wished we'd been able to stay for more than one night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Lovely staff and place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I don’t normally write reviews but felt compelled too. We only stayed one night as we were travelling to our villa further down the coast. We arrived very early, too early for check in but the lady on reception could not have been nicer and a room was available within 5 minutes. The suite was ideal for a family of four. They provide towels for the pool at no cost, bathrobes for the room too. The pool area, despite being busy feels calm, very spaced out with beautiful gardens. It was very easy to get a sunbed, no one seemed to be up at the crack of dawn to get their towels down! Breakfast was fabulous, we didn’t need to feed our children again until the evening! They had enjoyed the food so much. We only stayed one night. I left my Raybans there and they were handed in, I think this speaks volumes about the staff and customers. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to say. Everything was fine.

    The quick response from the hotel to change my pillows into the ones I found comfortable. A very peaceful hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful hotel with many facilities. Pool was very clean, breakfast was very good and the staff always friendly. It’s more like a resort, so maybe not so suitable if you’re looking for bars, restaurants or shops nearby. The hotel’s restaurant which is near the pool is open for dinner also, so you can enjoy nice food and drinks by the pool in the evening too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and very pleasing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Well stocked mini bar which was god for us as we arrived late. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and served till a decent time again good for us as we were up late. Pool was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    World Class Hotel - but please think of your customers who check in late and provide food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food facilites after 10pm was a real shock for a 4* hotel and the person behind reception found this very funny but my wife and I hadnt eaten since 2pm that today. I asked if they could do room service or even a sandwhich for us but again no...... Did not put us as customers first, I even asked if any companies deliver food and again no. If you can sort this out - this hotel would be 10 out of 10.

    The staff were amazing with the exception of 1 person who was behind the reception desk when we arrived late on the Friday. The room was beautiful and we loved all the extra cracking touches which made us feel so happy and relaxed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent 4 star hotel, we will return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing i wasn't keen on was the balcony did not offer privacy from next door as it was waist high, i would recommend a screen separating rooms.

    We were overwhelmed by the standard of this hotel, everything from the reception to the room and restaurant was of a high standard. the hotel staff could not do enough for you. after breaking my ankle a few months before i requested a low floor, they ensured i was taken care of. the spa was excellent, the restaurant was superb, we ate there most days and had the buffet at night and lunch in the day. the grounds were spectacular, a totally relaxing 5 days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel, people seem to come back year on year - I can understand why!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You definitely need a car to make the most of the area. Buses are extremely limited but taxis are reasonable and readily available.

    Great hotel, lovely breakfast, very clean and spacious rooms - lovely pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Would be back and stay in the villas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a corkscrew in the room, and only 1 plate even though we were 4. Not a big deal we called and they brought me one pretty fast.

    Very comfortable bed. Big rooms with beautiful views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location and great experience overall, would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with our master bath shower not draining properly. The hotel sent maintenance twice but they never did fix the problem so we finally gave up. Also, kitchen could have been cleaner and could use some updates.

    Breakfast every morning served poolside was fantastic and the staff were always polite and attentive. The kids club staff were amazing and the fact that it was free for the kids is a great bonus. Beds and living spaces were fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    I would not book this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The main reason I booked this hotel was that it had free transfer for guests every day to Praia da Marinha, but we found out on arrival that the transfer was actually only to Carvoeiro so we had to pay for transfer to get there. It is misleading, false information on the site. If you want to go anywhere, you have to pay for transfer or need a car. The hotel is very far away from everything, there are no food stores around. The staff was not informative enough regarding transportation. The location of the hotel is only suitable to those who just want to relax far away from everything and not do anything all day. This needs to be highlighted on the site. One member on the Reception Desk called Daniel did not even say 'Good Morning' to us on most days, to say the least.

    The hotel was beautiful, the room was very clean and comfortable. They had all outdoor facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good hoster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water is not big enough Swinng pool is small

    Very good hoster..He help us to sovled all question ,issues and provide helpful information for tour. the hotel location is good,only 10min could to big market by foot. Overall,I will back to hotel next time. We have good time in here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quick drive to Praia Marinha and Praia Benagil plus other attractions. Parking was easy. Carvoeiro is a 10 min drive away. Cute little town with nice restaurants and a gorgeous boardwalk. Very beautiful gardens at the hotel. Staff were lovely. Room was absolutely great with block out blinds and no noise. Tranquil place. Breakfast was also great. We want to come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Unwind and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was not that good, typical machine coffee. Nicer would be the 'regular' coffee from the poolbar. The standard room was okay, but a bit small and a bit outdated. Besides these two improvement points, we had a good and relaxed stay at this hotel.

    Our stay at our hotel was good, located near all the major highlights by car. Breakfast was good and extensive, a lot to choose from. This hotel was perfect to visit everything, but also good to unwind and chill poolside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Tranquil, spacious and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet in the restaurant every night, even though it had a different theme each night it is basically the same. Plenty of choice within the buffet. But I’m sure that it would be better for them to offer an a la carte menu, and to see the Chef cooking on the outside facilities, which are excellent but never used. We decided to stop for the bbq evening and it was all pre-cooked which was a disappointment as they have a superb outdoor bbq area.

    even though there is quite a number of guests you never feel as if everybody is on top of you there are many places to sit and relax on your holiday. The accommodation is lovely we were upgraded to a villa and it had everything we required. The pool and surrounding area is better than I have visited anywhere. The staff are all helpful and friendly. They cannot do enough for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting,we stayed in the villas,large,very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a little expensive but it was great quality ,it would be wise to hire a car as it’s a bit out of the way but they do provide a free bus to the local town of Carvoeiro

    Beautiful setting,we stayed in the villas,large,very clean,modern ,great facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, clean & comfortable rooms, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of choice for evening meals. As it was early in the season there was only a buffet on offer. The food was tasted like it had been frozen on the night we went. Paying to use the tennis court.

    Friendly staff, clean & comfortable rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very nice stay at the hotel. The room was very comfortable with good bed. TV had good choice of channels. The breakfast was plentiful and with good choice for everyone. The grounds were beautiful and clean. The hotel is back in the country and one needs a car to go places. But I guess when you book a room at this hotel you already know that. The hotel is good signposted from the village so it's not hard to return in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    A most enjoyable and very comfortable stay. You won't be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very lucky to be put in a very comfortable villa. V nice and comprehensive breakfast. Waffles,crepes and lovely fresh orange juice. Super clean pool. Albeit chilly. Beautiful grounds with lots of lovely flowers .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast choices, loved the waffles and fresh orange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very high pillows which didn’t suit us. And we arrived late and were hungry but the restaurant and room service both close early (10pm), so we were unable to get anything.

    Great breakfast choices, loved the waffles and fresh orange juice. Plus huge beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    This was our second visit to vale d’el rei.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10/10 - nothing to comment nor critique. The team were marvellous

    This was our second visit to vale d’el rei. The first in 2017 as a family of 4 with 2 young children, this time as a family of 5 with our youngest only 7 months. We plan to return next year as quite simply the staff, set up, surroundings and entire experience was marvellous. Everyone from Ana, Raquel, Daniel, Osvaldo and Bruno on the front desk to Sonia and Vanda in the restaurant, through to Paula and Christina who serviced our home were simply brilliant. With us and especially our kids. We could not rate this venue and team team high enough and in so many ways a written review does the team a disservice. Our original townhouse didn’t have a bath, and with 3 kids under 5 a shower was not an option, so Daniel and the team moved us the next day. When we needed a non scheduled trip to town, Ana and Raquel sorted it for us. At breakfast an area was kept for us so our kids could be kids and the other guests could relax and enjoy their stay. The list could go on. The team were beyond accommodating and we look forward to seeing them all again next year!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay - very pleasant hotel and good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good but we weren't keen on the food in the restaurant . It was adequate but not excellent.

    Good breakfast -plenty of choice . One of the outdoor pools is heated but there was an unpleasant smell there in the mornings . We had half board - the portions were small especially the starters and the soup one day was lukewarm. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful especially Rupert at the bar and Daniel at reception . We would go back - it's a good hotel with nice people working there .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    De 10 e inolvidable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The little time that for work reasons we could have been :-(

    The attention of his staff is extraordinary, of 10! Calm environment that invites relaxation. The gardens are to be the hours and hours. The breakfast is great, with quite a variety of everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Leaving

    Large room with balcony everything you required, 3 pools gym bar what else is there ? Free coach into town and back. Loved it Daniel Lopes and the restaurant manager deserve a mention, nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    An extremely relaxing and enjoyable stay, would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first we had no tea making facilities in our room. However a quick chat with the hotel manager soon resolved this problem.

    Breakfast choices were excellent. The location of the hotel is superb. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. The gardens are beautiful. Overall we had a fabulous time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    9/10. Would have been 10/10, but slightly let down by the quality of the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a slight disappointment. The coffee from the automatic machine was not the best and some of the hot items were not good (watery mushrooms). On the plus side, the orange juice was freshly squeezed.

    This hotel is very well run with well appointed bedrooms, public spaces, lovely pool and garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an extra charge for using the sofa beds in the gardens (have to spend €20 in restaurant) which isn’t nice if you’ve paid a lot for accommodation Pillows were strange and not comfortable Cocktails had little or no alcohol in Couple of issues with cleaners (leaving a fake nail in bathroom, knocking on door at half 8am)

    Staff very friendly Dinner door was generally great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Have booked again for October but will avoid the pool between 1500-1700 !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the quiet and calm of the pool adjacent to our villa was taken over each afternoon for 2 hours by an aqua aerobics group with loud music. We had not been made aware of this when checking in. The issue was raised with the Manager who apologised for the inconvenience this had caused.

    We had a 2 bedroom villa in a very nice setting with a patio & balcony overlooking the pool (heated). Beds in both bedroom were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To go to the beach you need the car or use the shuttle provided by the hotel.

    The hotel is very nice and well kept. The garden and pool areas are big and beautiful. There is a small but sufficient open air gym. The restaurant offers very good food and service. Breakfast is adundant and tasty. The spa area is nice but a bit old and we had a small “ incident” with a staffer, which was quickly solved by Daniel at the reception. The rooms are big, clean and sunny.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    A little gem of hotel for lovers of peace and beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    By all means the hotel facilities and ambiance are super. I particularly liked the hotel grounds, its swimming pool and its landscaped garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is average. Restaurant as well. Rooms are quite small and not up to date as well as not the newest. In general there was dust below the bed. So rooms are "cleaned" everyday but more or less only the parts you see. for some reason the elevator smelled strange.

    The Pool area and the outdoor area is really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, we enjoyed every minute of our 5 day stay

    Friendly staff, we had an upgrade to the suite and loved it. Very enjoyable setting. Great breakfast. Great service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every minute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower but staff excellent and explained difficulty in getting a plumber as it was near Easter holidays

    Everything the whole experience was exceptional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, beautiful and calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool at the spa. Very remote location, great for relaxing but if you want to eat out etc there is a free shuttle or a taxi will cost you €10.

    Breakfast was the best I’ve ever sampled. Beds were so comfy. Hotel is super cool, with a lot of greenery in the hotel. Nice spa area - only downside no pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Rooms very clean and beds excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa was closed on the Sunday, therefore nothing to do when everything in town was closed.Very disappointed being a 4 star resort. Resort away from beaches, and roads to get too the resort very narrow and very badly lit.

    Rooms very clean and beds excellent. Breakfast was exceptional! Area around the complex beautiful, tranquil and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    It was a relaxing country stay away from the beach crowds with deluxe resort amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place wouldn’t show up on our gps so finding it was a bit of a search but well worth the effort.

    The resort exceeded our expectations. The decor and comfort of the rooms was wonderful. They had an amazing friendly , professional and helpful staff. We loved the pool and the vast terraced gardens. There are no restaurants at walking distance . We had a car but the excellence of their buffets at breakfast and dinner made us quite happy about staying at the resort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Everything was great, Room really clean and staff kindly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to improve the quality of food for a 4 stars hotel.

    Everything was great, Room really clean and staff kindly. Near to Benagil, and other "Praia" (beach). 👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    very peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the cocktail bar and a la carte restaurateur is closed. My iPad went missing (?stolen from my room) reception staff did not handle it well.

    bedrooms clean and very comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Great place for families, great for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not walking distance to anything else, but a close enough drive.

    Great place for families, great for kids. Nice buffet breakfast. Excellent value for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Ummm we do not know how to sum it up other than over priced, poor location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was too far from anywhere and if you do not drive you have had it. The attitude of the restaurant manager ( he acted like he was do not know if this is correct) actually resulted in us leaving. I did not enjoy his attitude toward myself, he made me feel very uncomfortable, he was abrasive and brash and obviously thought I was some gutter snipe that had just walked in off the street. Quite a few of the lights did not work, the air conditioning was a bit dodgy and our last night was spent with no electricity. We would recommend that the hotel supply each room with a kettle because not all people enjoy coffee and to have just a coffee maker with those silly little packs is so annoying. We felt this place was definitely over priced especially with the location with nothing else to do the hotel certainly makes its money by making sure you stay put if you do not drive. We had to upgrade because there was very little air in the room and not all rooms have a balcony and without this the rooms tend to be stuffy and small. We upgraded to a suite because it was so tiny, we were asked at reception if we wanted to upgrade before we had even been in the room so I suspect they knew we would be back down to upgrade. We were told we would get the upgrade at a discounted price but by the price of the rooms I think we had a very insignificant reduction if any at all. We went there because we had driven down in our truck from Cidral, Monsanto, Idanha a Nova a 5 hour trip each way to buy a British type bed and were tired so we just needed to sleep. Since then we have lost the receipts and cannot give exact examples but that place is pricey and of course, our truck caused a stir although a Toyota Hilux with an open back are many in Portugal.

    We liked the small white birds that walk about the property and the pool table. For some odd reason they also have giant double beds outside near some trees and of course the have a hammock on the veranda right next to the aircon extractor fan. There is little room for the hammock but it was hilarious fun trying to get out once in. The cleaning lady was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    The property was very good the pool was exalent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ala cart restaurant was closed and the main restaurant was buffet style and the food was below a good standard and was expensive for what it was .

    The property was very good the pool was exalent. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Great room and very clean but poor food options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't that good. The restaurant was closed and there was just very average buffet food being served in the evening. Also the bar in the hotel was closed!

    The room, a suite was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Generally the service was good however we did experience poor service at the pool bar at lunch time. Also we were disappointed that there were no facilities for late checkout.

    Comfortable rooms and excellent facilities. Pool good and not overcrowded and no mad rush for sun bed as there were plenty at all times of the day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Very pleasant site, pool excellant and rooms good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frankly, whilst breakfast buffet was OK the evening meals were frankly dissapointingly. Solve that and it would be a really great place.

    Beds were great , overall ambience great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Lots of choices for dinner , friendly staff , clean room ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring breakfast , twice have got a raw fish for lunch , booked jacuzzi for specific time but never got advised that it's not private

    Lots of choices for dinner , friendly staff , clean room , big double bed , very relaxing place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    We had a very enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no evening dining options aside from the themed evening buffet. The restaurant was closed so only the bar available for dining up until 5.30pm. We tried to book a table for the BBQ night but no spaces available so were advised to go to another hotel nearby to dine.

    Lovely, comfortable beds, clean rooms and a spacious feeling hotel with landscaped grounds. We had a lovely view from our balcony. There were always plenty of sun loungers available. The lady at Kids Club was excellent with our children!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place, utilities & staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    People were awesome, food was really nice, room, bed & bathroom were clean & nice. The sheets and towels were really clean. Pool was nice. Spacious surroundings and ability to chill everywhere. They thought of the little things!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Good place for quiet stay in rural area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place for quiet stay in rural area. Fasility has very nice restaurant, swimming pool, tennis courts. We were enjoyed with breakfast at the pool restaurant. Resort area well designed where you can walk around. We've booked a villa at the last moment for very attractive price. Villa equipped with all necessary staff, has small terrace. Very comfortable beds in all rooms. We travelled by car, and it was easy to reach the ocean with amazing beaches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    The whole resort is located in a very beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the villa you could hear a very strong noise coming from the small pool.

    The whole resort is located in a very beautiful area, very clean and well maintained. The villas are perfect to stay a week or so.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay and will go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be great to have allergens for all foods prepared for the dinner and breakfast as I did not know what I could eat and thus it prevented me from eating things that maybe were fine for me.

    We loved everything, the pool, the playground, the house is well furnished, the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Staff was really nice and rooms were cleaned.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Fine, not very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Children policy at the pool. The owner gave a private party for 4 days! Therefore it was not possible to relax at the pool, it is unimaginable that the owner of the property dares to limit the guest facilities.

    The size of the area, beds that were always available, airco in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location but for families only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is designed for families with children, not for couples, it is too noisy.

    Good central location in Alguarve. Perfect to visit the region by car given it is 1h away from west or east part of Portugal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxing and peaceful. Great hotel, shame about the location. You need a car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main restaurant for evening meals was not good value for money. My first meal was hardly any food for the price. My friends meal was basically tomato soup with some rice in it and again not good value at all. We chose to eat elsewhere based on this. It is a shame there are not more restaurants around the hotel that you can walk to.

    The staff were very welcoming and incredibly nice and helpful. Hotel was fantastic. Found it difficult to find using google maps but once we discovered we had satnav in our hire car it was a lot easier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Overal Great place, but food should be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we didnt really enjoy the food. Neither breakfast buffet nor the dinner. We had to book Halfboard and didnt go for dinner at the resort on 2nd night.

    Great location and facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the air conditioner installed on the balcony that caused a lot of noise and made it impossible to use the balcony by the hot air that expelled

    The place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Villas with kitchen don't come with basic supplies like salt, baking paper.

    Nice resort, quiet and well-equipped villas. Problems were fixed not immediately but within a day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location and well kept place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No amenities at all. Quite shocking for the number of stars that the place has We arrived at midday and the room was not ready so they told us to have some lunch and come back. One hour later the room was not ready yet, we waited one hour more and after the room was not ready still. We decided to go to the beach and come back later but they should have told us how long would it take to clean the room ( as we waited 2,5 hours) so we could have made other plans. They provide me with a room with a bathroom adapted for disabled and the shower bar was not long enough so it was uncomfortable to use it. The shower plate is on the same level as the floor and due to the lack of shower curtain, the whole toilet was flooded after a shower, which is really dangerous in case you slip and fall.

    The place was clean, quiet and well kept. Free parking. The staff was very professional when answering the requests. We booked a kayak service and even though it was fully booked they managed us to join the next day exit which was great. Great place for families and mid-age couples.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    A very nice oasis in the crowd of Algarve in the summer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found the staff in the evening in the pool bar very much «amateur» and rather confused,but in the same bar at breakfast all went well and they were very professional and kind. I travelled with my mother who is 86 years old and find the staircases the led to the swimming pool very high. Otherwise I could see that the guests didn't follow the rules of the swimming pool.

    I did enjoy very much all the facilities as well as the accomodation with a very nice «varanda».

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Calm and nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The shower, no pressure and low quality. The air cond engine on the balcony, you can't stay on the balcony if the aircond is turned on as it will blow hot air all over the balcony. The worst of all was the restaurant. The hotel "offer" a bottle of wine but when we went there to eat, the quantity were very low and the price really expansive. The worst meal of all our stay.

    Huge garden, calm location, friendly and helping staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious duplex apartment. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Breakfast was included and offered a wide variety of options. Pool was a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    More than tranquility is needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    We were there June 6th to 21st....no entertainment....and no entertainment organising......Bridge was offered but not available despite asking 4 times.....there is no toilet at pool or pool-bar level available to guests; The Spa was antiquated (60s east-European style with a dull atmosphere)) and the massage prices were well over normal. The back=ground music in the pool-bar was poorly chosen ,uninspiring and repetitively boring; the room baloney was small with quite uncomfortable chairs, shared a noisy large AC unit with the next room and there was no partition between our balcony and the next one so therefore totally no privacy......lighting in bathroom could be improved. The main restaurant was fine but suffered from tight portion-control and the menu did not vary all the time we were there.

    We liked the general ambience, spaciousness, the grounds and facilities (see below) and the helpful cheerful staff. Sauna, steam-room and hot-tub great but.........(see above)).....There was a small (locked) gym near the pool-bar .away from the Spa & Heath centre....(might be good to integrate them)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Staff were extremely friendly and went the extra mile to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was mediocre but acceptable. However the quality of the lunch time food was below par. Had ordered pizza, burgers, grilled chicken dishes on separate occasions during our stay and it was substandard on all 3 occasions. The dinner restaurant food was of a much higher standard.

    Staff were extremely friendly and went the extra mile to offer personal recommendations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with great surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quite far out of the way. We hired a car for the duration of our stay so didn't have a problem getting around, but I would definitely say it's essential to do this.

    Nice hotel with great surroundings. Lots of land and greenery, nice pool, very friendly and helpful staff, peaceful and relaxing environment, nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    a great break from our busy life,re charged our batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no

    from the moment we arrived we relaxed thanks to your great staff,even more of a acievment as we had a liverly two year old,all we hoped for in a holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vale d'El Rei Hotel & Villas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: