Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Varanda Do Alentejo

Praça Do Pelourinho N.º 1-A, 7330 - 108 Marvão, Portugal

#4 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in Marvão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WI-FI was not working at all. The walls were quite thin, and I could hear the noise from the other room at times.

    Very central location. Nice, clean property with everything necessary. The staff was helpful. I had a great view over the town from my room. Comfortable bed. Multilingual TV channels. Everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was very brusque. I had asked for a non smoking room, but received a room that stank of smoke. When I commented on it I was told he was full, but looking on the website they still had rooms. We had no view, so was very disappointed. We had dinner in the restaurant, the staff were down right rude and the food very ordinary.

    Excellent location and price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi & TV did not work.

    Nice trad room but TV & WiFi did not work - not a problem as I was the only one staying in the cheaper rooms across the cobbled street, the owner put me up in the highest room with stunning views!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was very unfriendly, the room was basic, Wifi didn't work. I left the hotel in the evening, it was not possible to have dinner in a 8 mile radius. Reservation for dinner in the hotel was requiered and this was only mentioned in portugueuse so i was clueless. even though it was only 19h30 they didn't want to make an exception. this was not said in a friendly and humane manner. So I left and went to a wonderfull hotel in Portalegre instead.

    The mountain on which the hotel is located is worth a visit. Very beautifull location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice, clean and comfortable room. The building is old but everything is really clean and accurately done. The owner of the property, who helped to settle in, is very friendly and he was very kind to give us a ride to Castelo de Vide. We will come back and stay there. The view from a room is amazing and it's one of the best one I've ever seen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ancient house with nice classical furniture. Splendid views of the surrounding. Center of town. Excellent restaurant accross the street. Parking next to building possible (for free). Friendly. Affordable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it all.

    A beautiful roomy looking over the distant Spanish mountains. Clean, well appointed. Marvao is a dream come true. A mountain hideaway nestled within a medieval castle. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattrass was super hard, even though it was quite and the room was very nice, I was hardly able to sleep.

    The room was beautiful and had a great view over the valley and the landscape, it was amazing. The breakfast was good and the dinner in the restaurant was great. We loved the place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very small room. Parking was complicated, I'm sure in a crowded day, we weren't be able to park there. The light was awful, there wasn't much light in the room. Shower was extremely small (a man with a regular size has it very hard showering there). The restaurant was bad. Food was not very good and 5€ Just for butter? They were trying to rob us directly to our face! The Wine was decent.

    We liked the room temperature as it was a very cold and the staff turn on the heater making it very comfy and warm at our arrival. We liked the location, because it was right in the middle of Marvao. Bed wasn't too bad.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi - when it works, it works.. The coffee is discusting (cold instant coffee).

    Marvao is a super romantic and magical place. The hotel was good for the price. The coffee is discusting but the overall breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are fantastic. Clean. Comfortable. Excellent food. The view is stunning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a nice size. The people were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff don't understand english. It was hard to comunicate. Wifi is unusable.

    We like everything except comunication with staff and wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for service in the restaurant, rooms a bit dark.

    Location in village center, kindness of the manager

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were welcomed by one of the owners, he was waiting for us. Very nice staff. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb location, superb restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar fridge not working properly and not of quality

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting with exquisite view from bedroom window. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning village, very clean,friendly accommodation attached to lovely restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and the breakfeast. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skimpy breKfast

    Friendly owner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated perfectly in the old town we had a wonderful family apartment with terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WiFi, broken showerhead, staff was always in a hury.

    Very good location, nice view, nice room, good dinner at restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    do estacionamento

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm Host and cool rooms in the hot summer.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect place to stay in a little village near the castle. The host is always very friendly and welcoming. I love room with stunning view on valley beneath the mountain, view is very beautiful The host also owns the restaurant, very good. Breakfast is served there, but having dinner there is very recommendable

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Return trip to Marvao and Varanda do Alentejo. Great location, comfortable & clean room, good meals. Fernando has expanded the restaurant, and it has lovely views. Visit the museum, redone in 2015.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wi-fi (which do not matter a lot in such lovely place.)

    Marvao is great location and Varanda uses it a lot. Nice place, nice people, picturesque view from the room, terrace. The Varanda is connected with nice reastaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome stay, beautiful view to the countryside, right in the heart of Marvao.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could not get the wifi to work.

    The man at reception was friendly and helpful. The location in the old town was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good breakfast in the beautifuf Varanda restaurant with amazing view!

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location. Well worth the journey.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Weak wifi.

    It is possible to park near hotel. Large, modern bathroom and terrace.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful view and location. Nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    Bed Bathroom Pleasant temperature in bedroom and bathroom Great Staff Great restaurant close

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: