Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Velamar Boutique Hotel 3 stars

Estrada de Albufeira, Torre da Medronheira - Olhos de Água, 8200-635 Albufeira, Portugal

#16 of 75 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1101 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    I think we have a love affair with this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The only fault with this place is our room was never done until around 4 every afternoon. We felt if they just rotated it to one day late and the next day early we would have appreciate it.

    I'm not sure now if it is our 11 or 12 time staying at the Velamar over the past 9 years . We've seen many changes over that time some good some not so. Since it became a boutique hotel it is a bit more expensive to stay at this hotel however it's hard to pick faults with this place the staff are very friendly and helpful. A lovely variety of food for breakfast in the mornings.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    My wife and I had a wonderful stay, made even better by the outstanding staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 15 nights

    The only thing we didn't like, was having to leave, to come home!

    Our suite was very clean and comfortable, as was the entire hotel. The breakfasts were excellent and the choice was first class. However, the crowning glory of this hotel is the amazing staff. Each and every one of them always greeted us with a friendly smile and any request was treated as the most important thing they had to do, no matter how mundane. They made us feel very important and that, to a couple celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary during our stay, made us feel very special.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Great value along busy road but walking distance from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange, pot-like smell, perhaps from the pool cleaning system. Only on the gardenside.

    Great staff, very good breakfast, very clean, nice little pool in the garden, very comfy bed, breakfast terrace offers splendid ocean view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Staff was incredibly friendly and the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was incredibly friendly and the location was perfect. There were two beaches within a 15 minute walk of the hotel that were never overly populated. One of them had great restaurants overlooking the water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups very tiny! We bought our own mugs to use in our room. Fridge had no shelves so everything fell out when we opened the door. WiFi not very good. Hotel has had a facelift but fundamentals such as poor water pressure and poor WiFi have not been addressed. Prices have soared as a result of the transition to 'Boutique Hotel' so it is no longer the budget hotel we knew and loved, however we would visit again for its location and welcoming staff.

    Lovely staff, especially reception and especially Thelma! Good breakfasts, delicious orange juice. Housekeeping service very good. Comfortable bed, thick towels.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    FABULOUS IN EVERY WAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great and relaxing stay. The staff were all lovely and helpful. Spotless hotel, comfortable room. I loved the swimming pool area, surrounded by trees and quiet with a little bar to order drinks and food. The beaches are only 15 mins walk away, and there are plenty of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was amazing, lots of different choices and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Pool could be a little bigger but was adequate for cooling off.

    Breakfast was amazing, lots of different choices and the beds were so comfortable, great night's sleep every night, staff cleaned room every day, excellently, all staff very friendly, liked the idea of having towels for the swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Te property is lovely, but it's the staff that really makes it stand out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As far as hotels go, it's clean, it's conveniently located (even if you decide to walk to Albufeira Old Town, to have a look at the surroundings, the walk takes just an hour), it has everything you need and breakfast experience can be really nice and relaxing. But what really made the trip for me was the staff. I used to work in the hotel industry for 4 years and know what sort of patience it takes to deal with demanding guests. Despite this, I'm a pretty poorly organised guest so end up relying on staff for a million little things I forgot to arrange for myself. I can say the team at Velamar went above and beyond to make sure I'm comfortable and have everything I need. Thank you to the white team, but special thanks to Sergio and Joanna (tried to read your name tag, but I'm far sighted, please forgive me if I got your name wrong) at reception for putting up with a lot of last minute requests!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    It was alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Pool; Didn't look great. Didn't like the color of the water, the sunbathing chairs were too many and too close to the pool making it slightly awkward going in and staying in. The pool area is a lot smaller than the pictures make it out to be.

    Checking in; -Very straight forward - went smoothly and no issues. Staff; - Friendly and helpful. Parking; - Plenty of parking onsite while we were there. Parking was free. The Room; -Very clean and well maintained. Liked the amount of space we had (two people). The balcony was handy too. -The mini fridge was handy when it came to stacking it up with our own drinks etc. -Didn't feel like the mini bar prices were too high - usually it's an arm and a leg. - The safe was useful. Bathroom; - Decent sized and very clean. Breakfast; - Really liked the breakfast and the layout of the breakfast room. The breakfast itself is mainly catered towards an English crowd and so food choices are as expected. The balcony area was very relaxed. Top marks overall. Supermarket; - 3 minute walk from the hotel which was really handy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and staff are very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this hotel. Only minor drawback is rooms are not serviced until late in afternoon which is not idea if u have been to the beach and want to freshen up.

    Very clean and staff are very helpful and welcoming. Very comfortable room and lovely relaxing hotel. Pool is very nice and great place to relax.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a great selection at breakfast. We made do with what there was. One morning at half 6 we were woken up by chairs being dragged along the floor above us confused thinking it was a hotel guest above us. Rang reception at half 7 an hour later to see if they could contact them. Upon further discovery it was actually a meeting room so STAFF were dragging tables and chairs around from half 6 in the morning with guests sleeping. They did not stop and simply lift the chairs to not make any noise. Nothing was done about it.

    The staff are very friendly. The rooms are quite small but it was ok for the week. The hotel is quite far out from everything, €8 taxi to old town and €6 taxi to new town. Would not recommend the new town unless you want to go to magaluf for the night! €20 taxi to vilamoura which was gorgeous! Intermarche supermarket is a 4 min walk. Pool area is small but there was always a bed available, pool is freezing so just a quick dip. Had a great holiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and great (quiet) location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited too long at the pool bar for a drink even after we rang the buzzer at least 4 times.

    Telma at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. From helping us book our tours to helping me get my lost sunglasses back. She’s the best!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    The staff were lovely very attentive professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were lovely very attentive professional. Breakfast time was extremely well organised. Fabulous stay hotel velamar. Couldn't fault it. Staff were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    The whole hotel is absolutely immaculate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could fault about this hotel was the shower! It wasn’t very powerful and temperature changed from cold to boiling without moving the dial.

    The whole hotel is absolutely immaculate. Great location, only 8€ in a taxi to the old town and 6€ to the new town. The beaches close by to the hotel are lovely. The hotel is very quiet but could do with some music by the pool and bar but apart from that pool and bar are nice and stylish. Rooms are very nice and maids came everyday with clean towels etc. Staff are also all really nice! I couldn’t recommend this hotel more and I will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay in September 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant which meant dinner wasn’t served at the hotel. The hotel pool was quite small and, at times, the atmosphere around it was quite awkward. Some music would solve this!

    The property was clean and the room was well equipped. Breakfast every morning was spot on and the staff at the hotel were always pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.5
    Best 3 Star Hotel i have ever stayed in, the staff are lovely and so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was lovely but kept ruining out of food and cutlery which was a little annoying.

    Booked a double room for my myself and wife for our 1st year wedding anniversary and I was extremely impressed how the hotel looked after us throughout of stay. Staff were very friendly (front desk, restaurant, cleaning crew). The hotel is spotless, modern and has a very relaxed environment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Beds are very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing is very poor. Especially when people moving furnitures in other room. The pool was not clean, you may improve the water quality!!

    Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but could be great with a few tweaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time was not enjoyable. If you are not up there very early, you spend your breakfast time asking staff for cups, cutlery etc. Pool is very small and not sure how often it is cleaned. A hen party arrived during our stay and was not very relaxing when they were drinking and shouting around the pool. Just FYI it is a good 15 minute walk to the nearest beach.

    Great location for the supermarket and restaurants. Staff are helpful and doing their best given they don't seem to have much in the way of management guiding them. Value for money. Rooms have been refurbished.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, our second year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we disliked.

    The location, the friendly staff at all levels, the informal atmosphere of the hotel, breakfast on the roof was fab, food variety for breakfast was excellent and the staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellend value for money. Last minute booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was little water pressure in our room (3rd floor). However, we did not complain with reception about it. It was not a major issue

    Breakfast included was good, room was clean and spacious, AC was working fine. Great position just outside Albufeira. We booked the room 20 minutes before checking in and the price was not too bad for a 3 night stay. Has a pool as well, but we did not use it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    A quiet and nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was european. There is a parking car and a little outside pool, a bar. The staff and cleanliness are very fine. There is not very close by beaches.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing holiday in ideal location, suitable for families and couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    1. We requested a double bed when booking but were given two twin beds pushed together 2. Pool is quite chilly 3. WiFi connection is not strong 4. We left our towels beside the pool to dry and when we went to collect them around 8pm the sprinklers had been put on and our towels were soaked. Worker at pool was nonchalant about this and told us to move them somewhere dry ourselves - bit annoying as it took towels two days to dry after 5. We booked a transfer from hotel to Faro airport but reception made an error and our transfer didn't arrive on time. However, when we informed them that it was 15 minutes late they immediately started calling other companies and had a large van arrive within 10 minutes. Book transfer 30 mins early in case of a mix-up.

    1. Bedroom was spacious with lovely décor 2. Wide choice at breakfast including cereals, fry, fresh fruit (orange, watermelon, melon, pineapple), juices, pastries and cake - all of which were delicious! Breakfast room is situated on the third floor so it's filled with light and there's a sea view 3. Location is ideal, 5 minute walk from large supermarket and 15 minute walk from nicest beach Praia Maria Luisa. Safe, family area with plenty of restaurants around 4. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay for my friends wedding. Friendly staff and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was completely packed (which is fine) but was silent and nobody seemed to dare to talk. Def wouldn’t recommend for families round the pool

    Lovely big room in 303. Very calm hotel and close to everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.0
    One week stay for a couple??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach was a lot further away than was advertised. It said a six minute walk but it was more like 25 to 30 minutes. The area around the hotel could do with a lot of maintenance and the pool was very small. I would not bring children as there is not a lot for them here.

    . On the plus side the cleaning was very good and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.5
    Amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable I loved the burger from the bar next to the swimming pool it called what happens in velamar stays in velamar really good I recommend it. The room was clean my mind still in that bed omg that was something else

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    A bit of a let down for a relaxing birthday weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water preassure in the bathroom was ridiculous, was better off going to the pool to wash my hair! Their were long black hairs in the shower, I have long blonde hair so this was not pleasant. The pool area was pleasant until a hen party turned up and were very loud, shouting drink orders at each other across the pool, there was no escaping the noise unless you left the pool as it was limited space, so we left the pool. The fact that my mother in law has lost 20 euros due to booking errors made by the hotel is not great. And the fact that we got charged 2.50 for the consumption of something from the mini bar however WE DID NOT TOUCH THE MINIBAR.

    The breakfast was nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfy and the air conditioning was very welcoming. The effort they made on my birthday by sending cake and cava to the room was really nice. Thats all the positives I can say.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    A good location next to several restaurants and a large shop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A good location next to several restaurants and a large shop. The nearest beach is 10 minutes away, the gorgeous Falesia beach is about 18 minutes away on foot. A quiet, small hotel that is really peaceful. Great breakfast with excellent coffee, pastries and fresh orange juice. Simple, stylish room with an actually cooling air conditioner, a TV set and an electric kettle. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, good price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds with two sets of sheets for a couple. Pool is nice but maybe a little on small size for size of hotel and number of guests. At check in after already booking and paying online and giving details a second time, was handed an iPad to fill in details yet again - queried what it was for as no apparent reason and hotel already had all our details. Suspect this was for marketing database and wasn’t appreciated after a long hot drive

    Good location a short walk to olhas de agua and beaches, and with few restaurants either side of the hotel. Easy drive into albuferia or quick cab. Nice staff. Good sized rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely return in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes a little crowded around pool.

    Brilliant staff from start to finish. Lovely breakfast, plenty of choice. Sat out on terrace every morning for breakfast. Hotel room and ALL public areas spotless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    The rooms were beautiful and clean, as was the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled alone to meet my partner out there who had been out with friends, we booked it as a baby moon as I was pregnant. Although the hotel and rooms are lovely and air conditioning is amazing, unfortunately the same could not be said for the pool area. Unless you went down and left a towel on a sunbed at 6am you had no chance of being able to relax by the pool, and unfortunately for me being pregnant and on my own, I had nothing else to do on the first day so spent it in my room. Finally managed to get a sunbed after about 3pm when everyone went to watch the football, and this was the same every day. People left the pool area dirty with rubbish everywhere which was also a shame (although the staff did try to tidy up). I think the hotel could benefit with removing towels on sun loungers when people are clearly not there as we noticed people would leave them, go out for the morning and then return later, pregnant or not I don’t think it’s fair for other people staying.

    The rooms were beautiful and clean, as was the hotel. The breakfast was good too! Air conditioning and WiFi were also really good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have kids the balcony bars could be dangerous for kids to climb. The kids must be attended at all times.

    A good location with free and spacious parking space. We had a balcony with ocean view. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was very good with fresh pastries and diversity. Also fresh fruits of the season. The staff were very nice and cooperative and the location is good if you have a car to visit the nearby beach and not more than 5 km away. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great location, perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On busy nights only 1 bar member, maybe have a back up staff member ready to assist.

    This is a wonderful little hotel, the decor is extremely modern, the rooms are immaculately cleaned. Staff are happy and very helpful. Breakfast was good. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Great few days staying in this lovely hotel. Love the area, and the hotel didn’t disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 plug point in whole room that could be used.

    Great location for walking into Olhus da Agua. Very reasonably priced & staff were extremely friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Decent to good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is at a main street, very circulated. If you have the room on that side you cannot stay with the window open. Breakfast was so and so. Omlette not good and even though everybody was 'hunting' the fruit salad the salad bowl was never brought full. At 10.00am most of the days you had less options for breakfast. In the second room the bathroom was small and water was always dripping on the floor from the shower because of the thing that was meant to stop it.

    We asked to change the room and they did their best to help us with our request. Was not the best solution but we appreciated the effort. You have two small beaches at walking distance. Room size is good. Big parking place available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    A great stop off on our tour of Soain and Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in the hotel, the town is very touristy and busy

    Complimentary water and oranges, a fridge and kettle and tea/coffee making facilities which is unusual in Portugal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff friendly and helpful, we arrived a day earlier than...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and helpful, we arrived a day earlier than planned and the staff were incredibly helpful and rearranged our booking. Exceptional customer service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    A perfect place for a quiet holiday but still close to Algarve's highlights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't really anything.

    The hotel is lovely, nice facilities, friendly stuff and clean spacious rooms. The pool area is lovely for rest and if you don't feel like travelling around. We'd definitely recommend it to everyone. They have a big private parking so it's easy for people with Rent-a-car like us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    My overall experience was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More support for the staff during busy times to keep up the standards.

    I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff as they exceeded my expectations and in my opinion are responsible for the high ratings. From keeping the rooms clean to helping us with tolls and making fresh smoothies. Thank you all for the effort you put in to make our stay special. A special thank you to Sergio. Joáo. Rita. Charley. Debora.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable experience of Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No lock on bathroom door.

    Room was spacious and airy. Breakfast was very well presented with a good choice of foods. Location for us was excellent with a small beach complex in walking distance with bars and cafes. Some restaurants were closer with the chance to try the lovely Portuguese food. Albufeira was a 40 minute walk away or 5 mins in the bus or taxi and we tried all of those

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Room,Staff and Breakfast Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon Tea could be improved.

    The Room was light,airy and sunny, very clean Comfortable beds. Excellent Breakfast and Staff very helpful. This was our 3rd visit to the Velamar and it didn’t Dissapoint. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel & value for money. Management need to look at the restaurant operation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast restaurant on the top floor, not as well run as on other visits. Tables left uncleared for long periods, constantly having to ask for items to be replenished. Breakfast advertised from 8:30 until 10:30. Every day for our 9 night stay we arrived for breakfast between 9:45 & 10:00. There was not one single day we did not have to ask for one or all of the above. It's a shame, but would not put us of yet another visit.

    Good location for various beaches, restaurants and Albufeira. Spotlessly clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't find any problems with the hotel

    Very clean, excellent location, Staff very helpful. Pool was lovely to still at however still to cold to us. Cocktails with fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect 4 day break .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This location is quiet which can be a negative for some . The buses were infrequent and not on schedule .

    The staff were lovely. The area was quiet and excellent for a break away . Breakfast surpassed our expectations. Safe area to walk and some lovely restaurants in the area . I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Excelent for value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just by the street, so if don’t sleep deep the cars might be disturbing.

    Very nice, clean, with all the nice details and huge bed. Good for one or couple nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. I'd go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night Porters should have access to water after bar closes for people who want to buy water at night.

    Breakfast was fab. Staff were friendly. Weather was great (our visit was in May) and there was free parking. The room had everything we needed in it and although the pool was on the small side there were more than enough sun loungers for anyone who wanted to sit in the sun. There are two lovely restaurants close by; Adega Do Ze and the 3 Marias, both within a 5 minute walk and very reasonable. It's a little far from old town but the staff are more than willing to call a taxi and Uber was also quick in the area. I would absolutely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom there was water on the floor after taking showers

    I loved how close it was to everything and it was quiet spot perfect for couple to relax. The staff was lovely always there to help. Cocktails were amazing and overall very good experience would recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Very well refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very well refurbished. Lovely rooms and pool area. Breakfast was amazing value for money with a lovely view of the sea. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located 6 KM from the main city and the public transport is not frequent.

    The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. Staff is friendly and fluent in English. Room is decently sized and is very modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was quite small and bery cold.

    The hotel was really great. A 15 min walking distance from the beach. Rooms were quite spacious and extremely clean. The breakfast was very good. We enjoyed it on the nice terrasse with a view to the ocean. The bus stop is next door and you can easily get to Albufeira on weekdays otherwise just use Uber. We would highly recommend and would return if once again in Algarve.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English channels on the TV didn't work properly yet all the other language channels were ok. Noisy room from road traffic until room changed.

    Location. Excellent breakfast. Parking. Pool. Staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Amazing experience, felt like royalty, 5 stars hands down!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This 3 star hotel easily earns 5 stars - our stay there exceeded all our expectations! All receptionists were very, very polite and made us feel welcome from the moment we set our feet into the hotel. The quality of the accommodation was amazing - the rooms, I understand, had recently been refurbished, and I have to admit that I'd rarely seen such quality work. The interior was just perfect, the bed was huge and made us feel like royalties when sleeping in it! There's so many little things to mention that I don't even know where to begin - for starters, when entering the room, we were greeted by a personal note on the table thanking us for our stay and it made us feel very special. The ambiance in the room was just amazing, we got a room with a balcony overlooking the inner yard and the pool, the TV was on, and we immediately fell in love with the place! Kettle, coffee, tee, fresh fruit - all these little things definitely add to the 3 stars, not to mention the mini-bar! Room service was amazing, they cleaned the room to the highest standards, and my partner who herself had been working in hospitality sector for a number of years had to admit that he'd rarely seen a service as good as this. The interior of the hotel itself was very well designed, colors and design elements chosen with great skill, pool area nice and tidy and a barman always ready to bring us refreshing drinks. Breakfast was also an amazing experience with a vast choice of food items available and we could start our day with an amazing view from the hotel restaurant on the roof and enjoying our food and coffee. We decided that our next stay in Portugal will definitely be Velamar! And yes - did I mention the location was also great? 15 minutes walk away from 2 different beaches, restaurants and bars just around the corner, a big supermarket 5 minutes away - just the perfect place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place to stay. Nice and thinking about details staff. Good breakfast and perfect view. Like this place a lot. Lovely staying for everyone! ❤️

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of electric outputs. There is only one electric output in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. At least there should be one electric output in each side of the bed.

    Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    A Delightful place 1/2 hour from Faro airport in Albufeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer was repaired but got very hot in the hand. The toaster only did one side of the bread and even that was rather weak. So you had to return several times to get a nice browned toast. The beach is a cove with nice sand and cliffs, not much space for a long walk. We requested a double bed but it had two mattresses, but this seems to standard now in hotels.

    The décor of the hotel is delightful with every room different and cheerful. The room is generous and had a balcony. The manager has excellent English and obviously enjoys his job. The breakfast buffet had a good selection considering the hotel was only booked 60%. It takes 15 minutes to walk to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel, excellent facilities and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a north- facing room, so we didn’t have any sun on our balcony when we were there in March. It probably wouldn’t have mattered in the summertime but we didn’t use it as much as it was cool in the shade for sitting out.

    Really friendly but professionnel staff. Good sized rooms and facilities. Near to good restaurants and the beach!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff and food were exellent quality and presented well. Very clean and kept well excellent experience I travel to Portugal a lot and this is far the best hotel we have stayed in I will be going back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    5 star hotel feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault this hotel.

    The staff were friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much bother for them to take care of. Bed so comfortable and good quality pillows. Beautiful breakfast every morning. Spotlessly clean. Lovely pool area. Great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Inside the hotel you hear noices from other rooms, because the isolation is not so perfect. It works also in your way. You have to be careful not to disturb your neighbours if you come back in the night.

    The staff is very nice and friendly. For everything they have a solution. Around the hotel you have several places to sit, so every moment you can find a place in the sun. Taxistand is within 400 meters, so if you orderyou have a cab in three minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value quiet location need to cater for the amount of English people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TELEVISION. NO English channels despite the amount of English people staying. 12 German channels. 4 French and 2 American. We don't go on holiday to watch tv but a news channel at least would be appreciated

    Good breakfast good staff. Comfy bed. Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and beaches and restaurant's close at hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    couldn't fault it.

    The staff were friendly and helpfull, the room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good, it was our second stay and we would go again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Return visit guaranteed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel in a good location with access to local bars and restaurants . Helpful and friendly staff , parking on site . Spacious bedroom with comfortable bed . Wifi provided and safe free of charge . Hotel is on the main bus route to albufeira and faro .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Velamar will be recommended to all our friends and we get a discount next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it all. Sergio was a great help

    All new and fresh. Lots of room to wander. A sweet pool area. Breakfast was stupendous. The staff was vocal and helpful the decor in turquoise was memorable and the oranges in our room and bottled water was a super touch. Congrats.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee I had in the bar on arrival was delicious, but I didn't at all enjoy the coffee served at breakfast.

    Lovely hotel. Friendly welcoming staff. Comfortable rooms. Restaurant on top floor has magnificent views. Buffet breakfast with great selection. Warm breakfast is freshly cooked on request so no pre-cooked, dried out fried food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    It was my birthday and Manager and Staff made it Special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good All the Staff are Excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. Room lovely and very clean, Excellent bed Shower cubicle great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    the stay was for just one night en route for somewhere else...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    the stay was for just one night en route for somewhere else and we arrived late and left early. The hotel met our needs perfectly. The dining room was in a fabulous location on the top floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    fantastic....can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave to come home!!

    Fantastic hotel....lives up to its listing as a boutique hotel. Very quiet hotel, great rooms, loved the tea/coffee facilities and the fridge in the room. Fantastic selection for breakfast....and loved the roof terrace for breakfast. Great selection of restaurants within 5 mins walk. Staff are very friendly. Free Beach/pool towels and safety box too and packed lunch service if leaving early for excursions or early checkout...nothing was too much trouble!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in Albufeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, nice decor, clean and comfortable rooms. 10min walk to the nearest beach, restaurants and supermarket close by. Highly recommend it and will be staying at this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    We absolutely enjoyed our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely enjoyed our stay here! Everything you need you have. The staff were all so friendly and willing to help. We stayed 6 nights and i wish we stayed longer! I definitely reccomend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Decent value for money. Could definately be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Barking dogs most of the evening and night (although the room had double balcony doors) Room cleaned and bed made with very intermittent quality Extra blankets - with no duvet cover Cracked tiles, badly finished seals. Intermittent hot water. No variety in breakfast (for 8 days) All mirrors dirty (whole building) - window squeegees work like a dream if you have lots to clean.

    Great location and parking solution Very good front desk staff Reasonably priced bar and minibar Beach towels Freshly cleaned AC unit Pool view (although street side would of probably been noisy) Superb breakfast area (3rd floor rooftop) with sea view (although closed in the evenings)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant I have booked for next year already !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't complain about anything loved it all . The weather was Sun Sun Sun for 6 days 33 degrees ! Every day !

    Love it all ! I love this Hotel the staff are always happy and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is brilliant wide choice of everything ., it's a help yourself buffet. The bed is a massive double bed !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Our staying in hotel was perfect and would highly recommend to everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel, beautiful room, helpful and kind staff, cleaning service every day, nice breakfast, close to beautiful beaches and great restaurants.. really happy with everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Very happy to return, used as a base to explore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Could hear fairly easily through the walls, whilst generally okay some noisy folks on a couple of nights. The pool tiles look old should be replaced, pool area tidied up i.e. the palm trees need cutting back as block out the sun.

    Very happy with the bar offers, good standard of breakfast and mostly excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, would recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a bit too quite, lacking atmosphere, simple music in the background would have helped.

    Such a clean well kept hotel. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was lovely, overall stay went perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    Reasonably well located. Fairly good value for money. Comfortable bed and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to a busy street. No balcony on our room. Bathroom was cramped and had no shelves/ cabinet for toiletries

    King size bed. Good breakfast options. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Ok but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our 3 night stay in room 304 there was very little water pressure at all times of day hot water would start at a trickle in about 1 minute it woul stop running all together was never able to shower I don't like to take showers in cold water the only way to bathe was to let the water run in the tub for about an hour in order to have just enough warm water to take a bird bath. I complained to front desk 3 times I was told that they would send maintenance person to check boilers but there was no change in the flow rate at best it took 27 seconds to fill a cup of hot water it's too bad for the hotel every thing else was great but I cannot recommend this hotel for this reason alone Sil

    Great small hotel with good parking facilities good pool area good location but with one major issue

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: