Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vera Cruz Porto Downtown Hotel 2 stars

Rua Ramalho Ortigão, 14, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-407 Porto, Portugal

#105 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2846 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing and close to the metro line, so easy to get to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely no facilities. No coffee/tea making facilities. Lounge was dreary and dismal. TV had two channels. The twin bedroom was tiny with windows you could not see through. Miserable dim lighting throughout. We couldn't wait to leave.

    Nothing except the location.TT

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, same every day. Rooms were basic and a little smelly. Lounge was tiny and unappealing not somewhere to sit and relax on a rainy day.

    Staff were friendly. Location very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath is dangerous! Built. To unscrew the tap you have to go through the bathtub! You can fall over. Do not take a bath! Small room. Breakfast terrible, absurd savings, no ketchup, mustard, etc. Coffee is not good. The price is too high + parking 20 Euros per day

    No! I do not recommend this hotel !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit outdated and one of the rooms was very, very tiny for the price.

    The location is very good. In the centre next to the metro stop Aladios.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was some street noise but that is expected when overlooking a main square.

    The staff was wonderful--they spoke several languages (well) and were very helpful. The location was excellent--just a few steps from the metro and a very short walk from the train station. Buffet breakfast was included and had a good variety. The bathroom was large and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable even on a superior room. Can be noisy due to the location but was expecting it. I was expecting a bit better for a superior room.

    Staff was very helpfull and friendly. Location was great to explore the city and room had a view for the Aliados. My special requests to the hotel were attended. Breakfast was adequate, not great but had all the basics. Good restaurants nearby. Mcdonalds nearby. Underground station nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Building across the street is under MAJOR renovations so the Pounding and Drilling and the dust was unbearable!!!

    Location was central. Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist Filipa let us wait outside ( thay dont have even one chair in the reception) 35 minutes befor the check in time at 14 00.I dont belive the room was not ready, there were no other guest waiting for check in, we are 60+, payed 130E / night, this was a very very big minus on the beginnig of our stay. We waited in the church near by. Maybe she realized it was bad from her , then she told us many usefull informations. No trash can in the room ,only at WC. No one empty socket in the room to charge the phone and camera!You have to pull out hairdryer or TV or fridge. Breakfast very basic, much sweet, the cheapest ham and chease, no eggs, little bit of fruit only on weekends = small peaces cut melone. But for starting the day ok, fruit I bought in the neighboring supermarket. Staff nice and helpful professional smilling. But one woman receptionist refuse to find for us timetable for metro to the airport , she sent us to find it ourself in the metrostation. Unfortuneatelly the check in time problem made me disappointed in the beginning .

    Clean spacy room, mini balkony , marbel showerrom . Usefull fridge. For the price I expect it . Superior double room very nice and spacious. Balcony long but narrow just for standing ,on our balkony were 3 aircondition units , situated fortunately under the bathroom window and due to cold weather fortunately not working. But they must be somewhere. We enjoyed our holiday in Porto , I liked the stay in this hotel, I would recomend to my friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sleeper sofa was a bit uncomfortable and the seagulls are loud at night.

    Great location to all sights in Porto. Alexander and Rita at desk were the most helpful. They always had an answer to questions. I would stay here again. It was nice to be in the quiet section of town rather than the tourist busy riberia district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. Small and very uncomfortable bed. Rooftop breakfast rather too sweet....mostly cakes. Couldn't sit out on the verandah due to scavenging seagulls. Saw the gulls defeacating on the outdoor tables a couple of times which was very off putting! The staff were lovely though, so friendly!

    Friendly Staff, Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The website information is misleading. The rooms are very small, and the breakfast is poor, especially for vegetarians. No fruit, for example. It was not value for money

    We liked to location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    uncomfortable mattress, low quality breakfast, old furniture in the room. The staff pre-authorized twice my credit card by mistake.

    Very kind and helpful staff, good location. I asked a room without carpets due to my allergy and they gave me a room with parquet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    To be honest, nothing I did not like. The rooms are spotless, and the linen is pure white. Breakfast was sufficient to start the day. New bathrooms in each room which had marble. Overall, value for your money.

    The staff were extremely wonderful. we just came from there and it was the raining season. However the staff were most helpful in attending to our needs. This was a family trip and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Well Done!! Vera Cruz Carla from Bermuda

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DON’T GO THERE! There is so much better hotel for less money in the old porto!!!! Pictures on booking.com are misleading publicity First of all, the car parking : as we arrived late on Friday and we wanted to park our car in the street which is free on Friday evening, Saturday and Sunday. To be allowed to do that the night receptionist told us that we must give 5€ in a guy in the street and leave the key of the car in case of this guy in the street need the keys... (of course the hotel is not responsible in case of damages) as we said we were not ok to let the cars key’s to the receptionist and we were not interesting in the car parking for 23€a day : we had no informations about the city at our arrival and a awful room....... night receptionist not professional at all !!!!! Hotel : I had booked a the most expensive double room with terrace facing the place and have stayed in a horrible tiny (not even enough place to open my luggage) facing the building mould and air conditioning motors. ROOMS ARE SO NOISY YOU CAN HEAR EVERYTHING HAPPENING IN ALL THE ROMS ON THE FLOOR!!! Breakfast : nothing special with the food, the personnel is really nice. I will never stay again in this hotel!!! Was the worst hotel ever !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel took payment on the card to guarantee the room when the booking was made - no problem with this... However, despite paying in full when I left, this amount taken has still not been put back in my account 3 days later. In addition, we had 2 bikes with us which they stored at their sister hotel 2 minutes walk away - again, no issues with that. However, they charged us €10 for the "privilege" of keeping them in the stairwell. I have travelled to many hotels with my bike before and have never been charged before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were inadequate without substance and very uncomfortable. Asked for extra ones however they did not make much of a difference and in fact they need to invest in new hotel quality pillows The Wardrobe was taken up with additional mattress topper, and quilts so little room for clothes. No wastepaper basket in the room. No additional sockets in the room for chargers - had to unplug the bedside lamp. Made this observation on previous visit last year. In the end I went to a nearby electrical shop and bought a double adaptor (€3.00)

    Second time to stay in this hotel. It is very conveniently located to the city centre in the heart of Porto. The bedroom was very spacious(bigger than on a previous visit) and had the added bonus of a well stocked fridge. Breakfast on the roof top terrace takes advantage of the wonderful views of the city. Lots of good places to eat locally. Has some drawbacks however would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was small and unpleasant. The beds not very good either. (The bath ok.) Suppose that the other rooms are more charming; our was opposite to the lift and perhaps earlier a kind of storage room (?).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in our room looked directly into the other windows and walls which were very lunch nearby. Thus, we had to keep the heavy curtains closed all the time. So the room is fine, if you plan to stay out all day. For the rest it war very comfortable.

    Breakfast was fine and plentiful. The location was very central and close to everything. The staff che kind and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was on the older side which doesn't bother me however it can look dated and run down.The size of the room was small,adequate but small.For the price I don't know if it was necessarily worth it.I wouldn't however tell people not to stay,it just depends on what you are looking for out of your visit.

    The location was excellent and a good starting point for reaching all of the well known attractions.I read it was next to the best restaurant in Porto and I have to agree!! Try the Porto speciality 'Francesinha'!! The staff were really helpful and pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing that didn’t impact my impression in general - coffee at breakfast could be better. However, we enjoyed so much coffee in the city that it didn’t matter actually.

    The staff is just amazingly helpful, all of them were fantastic during our 3-day stay. It’s our third time in Porto but first time we booked a hotel room (previously, we rented apartments), the room is small but very clean, it’s got everything we needed, the location is just amazing - the heart of the city! Breakfast is simple but very nice, splendid view:) Reception works 24h so there’s always someone to help you, call the taxi to the airport, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi not working for all our stay (2 nights) even if we contact the reception 10 times at least, bed not confortable, we had back problem after sleeping everyday

    Central strategic position, close to underground, good breakfast, good price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast.

    It's a really decent place. Staff are super friendly, rooms are clean and its cheap. Plus it's next to the best restaurant in Town and in perfect location. It's better than many 3 star hotels in Milan.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was travelling to Porto with my friend. We chose to stay at Veracruz Hotel because of its ratings and location. The hotel did meet our expectations. Our room was small, but comfortable. We can't complain about the room service as well. Every time we went back our beds were made and the bathroom was cleaned too. Breakfast was good but we had a little choice (lack of the variety of foods). As for location there is Aliados metro station literally 200 m from the hotel. Hotel staff at the reception desk was polite and helpful. Overall it was extremely good in relation to the amount of money we paid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got ripped off with a €33 laundry bill for a few items!!! Breakfasts were ordinary with cheap tasteless slices of cheese and ham cut into 1/3, and very ordinary coffee! Pillows were pretty awful too!

    The room and bathroom were fairly spacious!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small, internet is super slow, and parking is in the private garage around the corner, which is expensive.

    Great location of the hotel. Right in the center, access with a car. Breakfast in fresh, basic, but pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cleaned alright, but nothing to be proud of. The bathroom window was moldy and everyday after we arrived from our tours, the smell of sewer coming from the drains were very unpleasant. Nothing that a little opened window does not resolve, but still it was January, winter, and Porto is very windy, so... If we weren't paying with a discount, we definitely would not pay the full price.

    My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights only and it is on a perfect location! Everything that we were interested in visit was always a 10/15 min walk (by Google Maps). The staff is also a plus, everyone was very kind and helpful. We also payed 50% off in january, I gess it is because of the low season. We also stayed in a room with balcony, that have a nice view of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You wont get a good nights sleep however, and breakfast is tinned Peaches and Pineapple, unless you fancy cardboard cereal (No toast).

    The staff are nice, the location is just down from Trindade train station and the rest of the city centre is 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The damp smell after the staff cleaned the room. Also the cushion could’ve been with better quality. Lastly, the WiFi needs to be improved, as connection was quite poor!

    The location was great and the room was very clean! Overall, it was a pleasant stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the bathroom was great it did not have any heating and due to the large size it could be a bit chilly.

    The staff are great as is the location. We stayed in the same room as our visit last year and had the added bonus of an excellent new bathroom. We love the small balcony and the view. The view and sunny aspect of the breakfast room is lovely and made having breakfast a treat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely marble bathroom with huge fab shower...but bidet had no hot water...

    Fabulous staff Good choices for breakfast and nice dining room Bright and comfy room with balcony and nice view of surrounds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, Poor facilities like we have superior double room but there was no bin in the room. We have booked 2 superior double room, but one has bigger space, minibar, bigger toilet than others which seems unjustice.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite cold since we were traveling in January and in the morning the there was a lot of condensation the windows and the air of the room was quite bad. This is probably not so bad when you can open window, but we didn't really want to do that since it was so cold. Also the breakfast doesn't really have any fresh veggies of fruit ( only some canned pineapple or fruit salad). So nothing to put on top of your breakfast toast, but butter if you don't eat meat or cheese.

    Great views from the balcony and top of the building!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a trip in the winter the bathroom has no heat. The bed was good but I think for an hotel they should have boxspring instead of having platform beds.

    For a 2 start hotel it was very good. Great location; great room and staff. Unfortunately we spent only one night and didn't have time to have the breakfast. But I would be back to this property due to its value; location and room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero comfort, weak internet, no central heating, no extra clean sheets, smelly rooms, noisy air-co, no kettle hot water for hot drinks, no facilities for eating a sandwich and no coffee tea machine, low quality limited breakfast options, concentrated non-fresh coffee, nice staff who can not help you due to limitations, this is a 2 star old dump smelly hotel

    Zero comfort, weak internet, no central heating, no extra clean sheets, smelly rooms, noisy air-co, no kettle hot water for hot drinks, no facilities for eating a sandwich and no coffee tea machine, low quality limited breakfast options, concentrated non-fresh coffee, nice staff who can not help you due to limitations, this is a 2 star old dump smelly hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellently located with very helpful staff. This hotel is right bang in the centre of the city and all the sites are within walking distance. In fact, a lot of them are just around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don´t hesitate to book your stay at this hotel, it is better than how it look on pictures, really! The room is laaaarge and the bed is superior. The good oldschool supercomfortable hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather. Storm Anna arrived during our stay lol!!!

    Bathroom was lovely & the shower belonged to a 5 star hotel Breakfast while continental kept us going all day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet communication is quite poor on the 4th floor. There were some amenities but I found shampoo was used by someone and towel was quite old. fridge was a bit stink.

    Very friendly staffs. Very clean and comfortable. Room is big!! location is quite centre and safe place. you can walk to everywhere and nice restaurants are around. Easy access from airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was atrocious (and when we rang to see if there was a problem we were advised just to try again in a little while... but the connection was almost never strong enough to use the internet), and the bed (mattress) was uncomfortable.

    The staff were really lovely - very friendly, and the location is very good - easy walk to a lot of attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast....No eggs for breakfast..... didn’t have dental kits.... and very important the wifi didn’t work throughout my stay for 2 days which was very frustrating and disappointing.

    Clean rooms.... amazing staff.... n a beautiful view from the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room window. It was into a not very attractive backyard.

    Very friendly staff. They they helped in every way possible to make your stay pleasant. From recommending restaurants to booking table, explaining certain evening events and advising you (including a map) what to see. The view from the breakfast room‘s balcony was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather claustrophobic. The windows were small, high (difficult to access) and had bars outside. Could see through the glass either. The room has a rather unpleasant smell on arrival.

    Staff friendliness and location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit small as was bathroom. Bedcovers really heavy. Breakfast was okay. Considering the price we were very happy overall.

    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room. Great view and location. Nice bathroom. Great value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the door of each room is not good. you always can hear the noise from outside. I know it is 2 stars hotel.. but, it charges is not only 2 stars price in Porto. if you can not care and want to stay in downtown central area.

    according to my book total price. the hotel provided the breakfast is not good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was newly renovated and everything was nice and new, however they didn’t fix the air circulation so there was already mould on the ceiling and the bathroom door couldn’t close as the door had sucked water. And don’t stay on the 7th floor as you will be awoken by the breakfast just upstairs and possibly kept awake by the bar activity. The mattress was new, but had a waterproof sheet on top, which made it feel like sleeping on plastic and was very noisy sleeping on, but at least you know it is clean.

    The hotel is cheap, reasonably good size and very centrally placed. The room is well cleaned. The view from the breakfast restaurant is very good. The people are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    advertising bar facilities was a bit cheeky ....went upstairs to find it was the dining room , bar was a 6 pack of beer ,tea or coffee , no spirits or wine etc ...not remotely what could even be loosely classed as a bar .

    location excellent , staff excellent ,room on the small side , ample breakfast .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small main because the bathroom was disproportionately large. The room's furniture and decor (drapes) are dated; it needs renovation and improvements in the space distribution (bedroom vs bathroom), ventilation and humidity control, furniture, and decoration.

    The location was relatively good, and breakfast was involved in the rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was OK, but not spectacular.

    The staff at this hotel were very helpful, personable, and were always able to answer questions for us. The location actually turned out to be very close to all sites we walked to. Our bedroom looked a bit old (not just like the pictures), but the bathroom was the largest and best we had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture is a bit old, Wi-Fi was very, very slow.

    Very convenient location, close to the metro station. View from the breakfast room is charming. The personnel is very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi connection has been slow for the whole duration and sometimes down. In 2017, a fast and steady wifi connection is like hot water, most guests just can't do without it. Can't say "there is too many people using it". Imagine if you run out of hot water ? Would you say, sorry, too many people using hot water ?

    Location, 1 minute from Aliados Metro

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit characterless, but it is efficient and good value for money.

    This is simply a good, competent hotel at a reasonable price. The location is excellent, with good restaurants nearby and a modest walk to good shops. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The facilities of this small hotel (2*) were very limited. No tea/coffee-making facilities in room. The Restaurant on 8th floor was also small, serving adequate, but only continental, self-service breakfasts (no cooked food), but also having a few tables on a veranda overlooking rooftops & a small part of the local square. There was no proper bar, but drinks & light snacks could be purchased from a limited menu for consumption in the Restaurant/veranda area - but only from 9pm (subject to staff arriving) until (perhaps) 11pm.

    The room was clean & comfortable, but basic. The Reception was small, but mostly the staff were friendly & efficient. There was a store for luggage at Reception, for use after check-out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was increased by you as the booking was going through. I was extremely upset. When I decided to book a second night rather than move the price at the hotel increased again. I therefore moved and will try very hard NOT to use your service again.

    Location DT

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. The ladies at the front desk and their sense of humor.

    The location was great. The staff was nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable. Had a problem with the top terrace bar being open at their scheduled time (2 days in a row).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Remembering this hotel is only a 2 star and therefore the price was very competitive I can't think how you could do better - central location, within a short walk of all the attractions in Oporto - clean rooms - ample breakfast and friendly staff who were there 24 hours a day and would give helpful tips on where to eat and drink + what to see

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night had to stay in a twin room with cramped conditions but were upgraded to a double for the rest of our stay. Noises from street but hey it's Porto?

    Room was nice size, huge bathroom, great views,staff very helpful and kind,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on a motor bike and offered us a bigger room for all our awkward luggage decided to stay an extra night and they moved all our luggage to another room l would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast selection!! Plus the hotel was unable to provide me with gluten free bread for breakfast. The bed was a little firm but once we got to sleep we slept well!!

    Room small but ok. Excellent shower and air con worked well. Staff on reception outstandingly helpful and good fun. Breakfast was ok, not a great range of food on offer with the same fruit breads, ham and cheese each day. But it was a lovely view from the roof and we enjoyed eating breakfast with seagulls! The Cathedral and river easily reached, a 10 min walk. Lots of cafes and restaurants very near the hotel offering a range of foods. My gluten free needs were met well in the restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The coffee could have been better but it is a very small gripe as everything else was lovely.

    The breakfast was typically continental i.e.: juice, toast, cereal, ham and cheese. The breakfast was very standard but was suitable for our needs. The staff were pleasant, informative and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone is right about the beds hard as a rock would have slept better on the floor, would stay there again if they changed Mattresses

    Location, petite hotel, great staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic. No decaff. Bed was very hard. Requested double - got twin.

    Location was brilliant for Porto and metro to airport. Staff were wonderful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Free wifi connection did not work properly - at least we had problem with wifi during all our stay at hotel.

    Helpful and Friendly Staff, Breakfast simple but excellent. Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed.. very outdated , my air conditioner did not work and nothin was fixed ... the noise of the elevator did not let me sleep ..

    Location and great staff..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room should be better sound proof. We stayed in the 7 floor and we woke up with the noise of chairs being pulled in the 8 floor where guests have breakfast.

    Location very central, the vue from the room and having breakfast in the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the mattress on the bed were very old and bony, we packed they mattress with extra blankets on the botton to make it more comfortable for us, but still got a sore back and shoulders, they need replacing and the pillows were ok but could do with an upgrade too

    location was excellent staff were amazing and so friendly and helpful size of hotel excellent clean and tidy hotel ok size rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit outdated and our room smelled when the windows were closed for some hours, and the bed smelled a bit too. The balcony had a nice view but the separator on it between our side and the adjacent room's side is not high. The noise isolation between rooms is not good enough.

    Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good. Reception has security camera. Bathroom was more modern/fresh than bedroom. Hotel is old style but fits into Porto's charming style. Its location is practical as it is not far from a parking and within walking distance from different interesting parts of the city (shopping and sightseeing areas in the north, restaurants and sightseeing areas at the river in the south) yet not in a crowded/noisy place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable hard bed, in the morning a bit loud as doors to the hallway not sound proof.

    Great central location, very clean and a lovely breakfast room with goood view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No internet connection - at all.. Maybe on reception, but definitely not in my hotel room.

    Location of the hotel is pretty good - close to city center. Staff was friendly and they tried to help me with everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room had a bit of road noise (looking over Aliados) and also late as the bars emptied. Breakfast was nothing great, but a nice view from the top floor all the same

    Handy to bars and restaurants, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smaller than I expected. The photo with the flags on the balcony makes it appear modern so while the hotel is clean and the staff very friendly, it was not what we expected. Rooms are small, no in-room coffee, no conditioner in the shower (important with two teenage girls!).

    Good location. Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi did not work most of the time. We informed reception but nobody did anything.There was no "do not disturb" tag to put on the door, no info about how to call reception.No place to charge phones. The only one plug we could use was the one in the bathroom for hair dryer. We were leaving early and ask sbout breakfast package, not possible they said.

    Great location, clean room, breakfast was very nice too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room so old the view was horrible The blankets inside the cupboard were so durtty and the bed cover was dusty plus the carpet smelly, not recommended for allergic persons Breakfast:lost of money better to take the room without breakfast cos there is nothing interesting and many good coffee around Conclusion book your room earlier to not be obligated to pick this kind of hotels just for the location.

    Location is great in the centre of the city near all the important historical sites and metro/train station to go Lisbon or around areas The stuff was so helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quibbles: pity the roof cafe only accessible from 2100 and unable to get hot drinks in late evening; wifi signal a bit wobbly depending where you are in the building.

    Everything worked smoothly, excellent location, good breakfast, v good well informed desk, rooms clean, and fantastic view from roof cafe at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are staying for a week,as we were, there is very little storage in twin bedrooms. We had to live out of our suitcase. Also found decor in bedroom rather dark and a little old fashioned(personal preference)

    The roof top bar and breakfast area. Towels changed regularly. Large modern bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: