Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Lagos 4 stars

Estrada da Meia Praia s/n 8600-315, 1700-093 Lagos, Portugal

#24 of 43 hotels in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1108 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Good place if you don’t want to see anything of the city and the landscape around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t good at all. Like a feeding of cattle. Scrambled Eggs had nothing to do with actual eggs. Concept of the hotel seem to keep the (65+ mainly Germans) within the compound. To use the in house pool, eat at the house intern restaurants and buy the wine from the hotels winery.

    It was clean and had all the facilities you need. The large beach is just 5 minutes walk in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The location is perfect the rooms are in high standard and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar closed a bit early

    The location is perfect the rooms are in high standard and the facilities are great - pools, gym and spa. Great parking zone

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Efficiently run hotel with good pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Permanently piped music 24 hours a day drove us mad. We don’t like modern acid jazz as musical accompaniment at breakfast.

    Lovely pool- large and very clean. Bed comfortable and also cleaned very well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Was surprised with a farewell drink,and complimentary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel is dirty: starting from the front door straight to the bathtub. Pillowcases were with marks of foundation, a/c hood is dirty. Dirty glasses in the room and in the restaurant during breakfast. In my opinion breakfast was very limited for a hotel with 4*. Also there is no soundproof at all!!!! I could hear how people in the rooms next to mine were going to the bathroom, how they coming back from the beach, etc.

    Was surprised with a farewell drink,and complimentary champagne on my Birthday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Amazing holiday, will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good pool area, many people but as it's so big, it never fell crowded. Very clean room and lovely ocean view. It was our anniversary and we got a bottle of wine + strawberries. Good service, great location, probably best if you have a car as Lagos is 15-20 minutes away. Breakfast time is a bit crazy but not a problem at all; staff is very efficient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    My mum is celiac and the care and attention provided by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the children's entertainment was excellent, for such a large hotel I would of expected more adult entertainment in the evening....separate bar with live music....

    My mum is celiac and the care and attention provided by the staff was second to none....very very impressed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    we had an upgrade to a junior suite, so very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had an upgrade to a junior suite, so very good. Thank you. Also the morning class of yoga and stretching was very good. It was a big hotel, but the breakfast was calm outside and we had friendly staff at the morning terrasse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    Expensive considering the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extremely dirty. Well below average food. Expensive considering there is no way it is a 4 star hotel. Staff seem to be smelling poo all day.

    Nice room, pool, spa, and area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.6
    A hotel choosing quantity over quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a non-smokers room however when we entered the room after checking in, the smell was disgusting. Someone smoked in the room just before we arrived. Even the smell in the bathroom was really bad. We caught the cleaning staff smoking a couple of times in the store room as well, because you had to go through the store room when you wanted to take the stairs. The dark staircase is not promoted at all, the alternative is waiting ages for the elevator. In the lobby the smell was bad as well, smelled like chloor like you where in the middle of an indoor swimming pool. The breakfast was terrible... the staff couldn’t cope with all the people and everyone behaved like monsters. It was like a battlefield. There was no variety, each day was the same, and I had my doubts about the freshness of all food. I’m pretty sure I once had the bread from the day before as my jaw is still hurting from biting it. I even spotted a long dark hair between the pancakes. If it wasn’t for the hotel to be so far from the citycentre, we wouldn’t have eaten there in the morning. At night we drove to the town centre to grab dinner as we felt sorry for the people who had no other choice. It was also not possible to have a calm drink at the bar as each night there were activities with loud music. If you are looking for a nice calm hotel as a couple, don’t go. If you are into this sort of resort hotels, choosing quantity over quality, and if you like a bunch of screaming children, this might be the place for you.

    Nice and large pool, plenty of sunbeds, 5 minute walk to the beach, large rooms and free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Rest, recharge, sun and sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1 - At the arrival the room (family suite 2 adults + 2 children) provided was dirty and smelled really bad. After contacting the reception they offer to change to another room (same type) with the remark that if the room view was different (sea / garden view) we will need to pay the difference. For us, to pay the difference was never a problem, however an hotel like Vila Galé cannot have rooms available to the guests in very bad conditions. The problem was solved by the reception desk. 2 - We arrived to the restaurant and the receptionist didn't warn us that the restaurant was about to close in 20min, while we were getting our food they start to remove the buffet and switch off the lights. After our complaint to the Director's Assistant the problem was solved. 3 - The floor in the swimming pool is very slippery, even if you're wearing swimming pool slippers.

    Breakfast, cleaning staff and cleanliness, near to the beach, green space surrounding the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely buffet , fab pool area , lovely kids entertainers ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff quite unfriendly , not the best evening entertainment , soft drinks a bit pricey , shower not very good ( hot/cold water) considering a nice room.

    Lovely buffet , fab pool area , lovely kids entertainers , nice room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loudest hotel I've ever stayed in, no sound proofing. The noise of furniture scraping across the floors 24/7..like torture! Staff very rude, especially in the bar. Weird decor and horrible chlorine smell in the foyer. Food awful, I could go on and on.

    Nice pool area, the women at the pool bar were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin staff seemed disorganized

    Overall Spa staff and kids club entertainers were amazing and offered great customer experience... checking in felt disjointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice resort near the beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a bit cold in early May, especially due to the tile floor. The beds and pillows aren't that comfortable. The outdoor pool isn't heated and it was too cold to swim. The 3 on-site restaurants require an advance reservation to be made at the front desk so you can't just walk in when you are hungry even if they have space. There is an additional fee for renting tennis rackets and balls (5 Euros per person and 2.50 Euros for the balls) in order to use the courts. The walls are thin and you can constantly hear the moving of furniture scratching on the floor as housekeeping cleans rooms down the hall.

    Lots of great facilities - outdoor and indoor pool, sauna, steam room, fitness centre, spa, outdoor tennis courts. Very close to the wonderful and spacious beach. 3 different restaurant options on site. Large selection of food at breakfast with made to order eggs. Large rooms with excellent balconies. The sea view room is lovely. Excellent wifi. Free and ample outdoor parking. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Slice of Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold wind that followed us from England!

    We stayed last year, a real slice of Nice, everything was good, tried to think of anything to improve and it was if they heated the water in the outside pool but later in the year not a problem. Checking dates and prices for next year as we speak.😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and amazing facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls seem very thin, meaning if you have noisy neighbours in your room, you will really hear it. We were lucky all nights but one when our neighbours had a group in their room who were shouting until 5.30am. Other than that, everything was perfect!

    Vila Gale has everything you could want or need. It has a gorgeous outdoor pool and a lovely indoor pool / jacuzzi in the spa area. The outdoor pool area is really so relaxing, with a bar beside it that does snacks too. The breakfast was great. There was so much choice and catered for everyone. The location is ideal. Not too near the town (so its not noisy) but not too far away either. The staff were very friendly and polite too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Location good for the reason we travelled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of drinks at pool bar. Being sprayed with insecticide whilst eating breakfast on our last day outside.

    Spacious outdoor facilities, next to beach, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very croudy and ok but nothing special. Hotel is too big. There were too many people although it is still low season.

    The view to the sea. Nice location near the beach and a bit outside Lagos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location! Great stay, amazing pool and great cuisine options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the spa staff, not all, need to work on their manners. Also, the reception staff could also be a bit more welcoming.

    Great hotel, brilliant pool, indoor and outdoor. Brilliant idea to have the onsite Italian / Pizza place, it gave a great alternative for an evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Need good weather for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel was very cold. Problem with the heating in the room, maintenance guy had to fix it three times while we were there and I think he got it right the day we were leaving. The safe wouldn't open had to wait until the following day before we could get to our money. The shower had to be fixed. Then to top it all the rain leaked in under the patio door. Only 25 people were allowed into the pool at a time. The weather was bad so there was a line most times for the pool. We were glad to go home.

    Location is good. Massage was very good and a bargain at 40 euros for a full body massage. The assistant manager deducted the price of dinner for one evening from our bill and left a bottle of wine in the room. (We don't drink). But nothing could make up for the cold we both came home coughing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice resort but they could have spent more money on sound proofing the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only two restaurant including the buffet, so there is a limited choices. The rooms are not sound proofed at all and we enjoyed a crying baby most of the night.

    very nice resort, with good amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Pool area is lovely, breakfast is nice , rooms were large
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of construction/redecorating going on into the night and early in the morning, very loud noises above us kept us awake . Lunch buffet was very expensive and had to pay extra for any drink you got including water. Location is out of the town, a car would be needed .

    Pool area is lovely, breakfast is nice , rooms were large

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad deco Poor room service Staff not committed or bodered Horible beds Horrible bar service

    Good breakfast Good location Nice swimming pool indoor and outdoor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for those with a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Park outside for free in the grounds rather than pay to go underground. I cannot understand why there is a charge for parking in the car park of a hotel that is quite isolated. But this problem is easily solved.

    Excellent choice for those with a car. Huge rooms and excellent breakfasts. Indoor pool is nice and outdoor one will be amazing in summer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff, lovely hotel, excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin so we were woken early by noisy children next door. the interconnecting door with the next room was not locked, though we had no connection with the occupants of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Modern hotel, modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff sadly were apathetic , all could have been happier and friendlier - perhaps being November they were all just tired. Breakfast Buffet choice was great but there was only one chef to cook all the eggs, pancakes and omelettes for the large tour groups - lots of queuing and one chef under too much pressure The gym just needs some floor mats and air conditioning that works to be perfect The spa just needs better ambiance , relaxing music and message beds that do not creek - the girl that did the message was very good

    Modern hotel with modern furnishings and large bedrooms with air conditioning, fridge and balcony English speaking Movie channels Facilities available excellent - gym , indoor pool and spa , tennis court, pool table and darts Beach across the road

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast, rooms, proximity to beach, pool , although a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids facility not great, kids club did not operate, could be much better & more interactive. Hotel appeared to be winding down for end of season.

    Breakfast, rooms, proximity to beach, pool , although a little cold , Staff generally good & froendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Met all expectations(except the walk into Lagos) and we are returning in March 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was v good. We have stayed many times at the Tivoli and they arrange a bus transfer to their Duna club beach resort.It would be very nice if you provided a transfer into Lagos.

    The room was very comfortable and the a la carte restaurant was excellant. All staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved all Of The property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much vegi selection of food on room service menu.

    Loved all Of The property. Great for families and couples. Spotless throughout. Huge pool and right opposite lovely beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Our room (superior with seaview) was very comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kitchen noises audible in our room until late. Wine list was limited to own lines which got a little boring after the first few days. Buffet food choices and supply ran low towards the end of meal times (get there early!).

    Our room (superior with seaview) was very comfortable and had a good outlook towards the ocean, though, as it was above the restaurants' kitchen, there was some noise until around midnight. Easy access to a wonderful beach! Stylish design features, and a very impressive entrance to the hotel. Superb pool and garden areas. close to Lagos town which has many attractions (don't spend all your time in the hotel!).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was dreadful. The staff were rushed and unhelpful.Various items of food frequently ran out and were only replenished slowly. Poorly organised so that people were milling around in all directions with children close to the hot urns. The hot food was Luke warm at best

    Beds very comfortable. Quiet.Good food and service in the a la carte restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our time in Vila Gale Lagos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replenishing food at breakfast could be better. More laungers at the pool area is needed.

    Super large comfortable bed; very spacious junior suite; excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice breakfast and awesome swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not well connected to the town. It would have been nice to have a shuttle service. The water in the pool was too cold.

    Nice breakfast and awesome swimming pool. Also, super close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Really big and luxurious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really big and luxurious hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful. Very big pool with a pathway to the beach. Nice spa. Breakfast was good. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Great pool area with staff run activities e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stale/damp smell in room. Bad/dark lighting in rooms and in corridors.

    Great pool area with staff run activities e.g. water aerobics, and separate fun water slide and playground area for kids.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Staff always friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Other guests reserving sun beds and not turning up till midday, usually the same group....

    Location of hotel, close to beach and sea front, all within 100 yards. Food buffet selection at breakfast and evening dinner always varied, can be a little slow at times, usually worth the wait. Avoid the evening dinner queues by going slightly later after opening. Rooms comfortable and clean. Ideally need a car or transport to visit Lagos town as to far to walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, great if you're all inclusive but too far from the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled to get a taxi to city centre (it's a 25 minute walk), reception would only book when we were ready to go (but we were still left waiting 45 minutes one evening)! They need to get this right, the hotel is quite far out, so they need to ensure taxis are always available.

    Breakfast was good, pool area was really nice & hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful the hotel is extremely beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really don't have anything to point out

    The room sizes are incredible.. The spa area has one of the best swimming pools.. The hotel is built for you to not need to go out.. I got an upgrade on the room for extra cost and the staff is amazing..from the reception to the buffet area simply fantastic..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.4
    Not good for couples travelling without children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I was travelling with my partner, and it immediately became obvious that this hotel is more suited to families rather than couples travelling without children. If you are a couple with no kids, I would NOT recommend staying at this hotel. We went to the bar the first few nights (we were staying for 10 days), and the entertainment consisted of children's music, balloons, etc. along with loads of kids making lots of noise - great for families I can imagine but not good if you are looking for a quiet relaxing drink and chat. There is no other 'adults only' bar - this drove us out of the bar, and meant we had to go out each night if we wanted a quite drink. In my opinion, the hotel does not seem to cater well for couples travelling without kids. The service in the bar is only OK - we sometimes felt that the staff ignored us until we somehow got their attention as they walked past, or most times I just had to walk up to the bar myself to order drinks - definitely the worst service I've come across in Portugal. The cocktails in the bar are not good, they are much better in the bars along the Marina which is about a 10-15 minute walk away. The walls in the bedrooms are very thin - we could hear the person in the next room snoring each night on one side, and the kids putting on the TV at 7AM each morning on the other side. The balconies in the rooms are not very private, if someone is sitting out in the room next door, I felt it to be quite awkward. If you are a couple without kids looking for a holiday to unwind, relax and recharge - this is NOT the place the stay. If you do want to stay at a Vile Gale hotel, I highly recommend the Vile Gale Marina Hotel in Vilamoura, which is far superior to this hotel in terms of service and having the ability to relax (which was the main point of our holiday).

    The hotel is relatively new and the facilities such as the pool, shop, spa, gym etc. are very good. The food each night was quite good, and the procedure for getting a table at busy times was well organized. The location is great - a 6km beach is just a five 5 minute walk away. We dined in the a la carte restaurant twice while staying and the food and service was good. The hotel chain has it's own vineyard and the wine is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids and the general entertainment could be improved a lot

    The whole complex, it didn't feel overcrowded at all despite we stayed the first week of august! Very clean , modern and espacious hotel. Staff nice and helpful! Kids from 9-12 enjoyed it All inclusive restaurant was fine. Plenty to choose from offering branded beverages and ice creams. Pool bar was very good Close to lagos.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Great family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The check in process was extremely long, especially with 2 young children arriving late at night, the reception staff seemed to lack knowledge. The beds were slightly hard.

    The décor and modern style of the hotel was very nice, it was extremely well kept and clean. The pool was lovely and it was nice that sun loungers were very rarely reserved. We had a great room over looking Lagos & the sea, these were also perfectly positioned for the sunset on the balcony in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing ! Hotel way too expensive for the value !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * Awfull staff at reception desk, spa reception, buffet ... * Breakfast : 10 minutes queue in the morning to be sitted, poor quality of breads of ham, ... queue for having a coffee, overcrowded, ... after 9h30 limited fruits, eggs cookes in 10 cm oil :-(, no possibility to order an omelett (or you wait 15 minutes), .... * "A la carte restaurant" : risotto asparagus day 1 was OK, risotto asparagus day 2 : no cheese anymore and the asparagus were still full of water .... * Very poor entertainment * Comfort of the accomodation : poor quality of the mattress, soundproofing, .... - ....

    * Awesome massages for my daughter and I !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Conveniently located, with Taxi only a few minutes away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Conveniently located, with Taxi only a few minutes away from Lagos city centre. Pool was great. Hotel has beautiful and well maintained lands. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds very comfortable. Events and entertainment happening in the Bar on a daily basis.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Rather good facilities, but under-staffed hotel and not very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The place is understaffed. When you arrive, they spend a lot of time telling you what other things you can buy, instead of clearly explaining what is included and available. We had to ask about the latter. Very disappointed with the Kids Club: parents must be with kids during the activities! Unbelievable. This is not mentioned in the hotel web site (so we found it really misleading; we would have chosen another hotel if we had known this)

    Rather good facilities, but under-staffed hotel and not very motivated personnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice family hotel with a good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite far from the centre of sintra but it's ok if you want to stay in a quiet place

    The room is very nice, the property is superb. Nice parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.6
    Never ever return back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Choosing this hotel was a mistake, we didn't like this place.It's overpriced and does not meet 4-star facility. The management doesn't invest into maintanance. Examples - kids pool is dirty and full of sand. Kids playground with big hole in the middle, broken attactions and black ground is a joke - in the sun it's so hot you can't stay on it. Food - the eating room is small for such huge hotel. So imagine waiting in the line for every breakfast and dinner. Imagine tens of people hunting for food from small tables in the middle of this overcrowded room. Many people get stressed, are rude to themselves and to staff as well. Kids food was average non-healthy stuff - pommes, hot dogs and oversweeted deserts. Adults food was similar, most of the time was the same so I can't imagine stay in this hotel for more than a week. Food quality was average. No alergens was shown and the staff were not sure what's inside (gluten etc.) Room equipment was the cheapest one - good for 2 star hotel, but definitely not 4 star. The cheapest plastic chairs on balcony, cheapest shower, broken hairdryer, broken wardrobe. We had many ants in the room so they provided us Raid in spray. Bathroom waste pipe smelled badly that we asked to move to another room. No privacy on balconies - on the ground floor there are no walls at all so it's good to make a new friends. Indoor pool spa - dirty water, again, dirty water with crawling papers inside. I didn't see it at first because the pool is completely black. Almost no fresh air in the spa. You can go to the beach via back doors heading directly to the street. This door isn't locked (only it pretends to be) so anyone can get inside the hotel during the day.

    Very near to the beach, which is very nice with many amenities. Most of the staff was nice, even the oursourced dinner folks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.0
    Nice but too expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of the staff did not speak english, the bed was too hard, the pillows were made of loose foam which is very uncomfortable. The breakfast wasn't very nice and overall too busy. The fact that children are allowed in the spa area is was also a bummer, since its impossible to relax.

    Really nice swimming pool, with heated water. Good location with access to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    great food and VFM - some good restaurants in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not sure why they made people queue for breakfast and were reluctant to open up the overflow space. The wind. But who can blame Vila Lagos for that!

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    There was pleanty of sunbeds round the pool at anytime of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you needed to get into the marina or town the wait for a taxi was ridiculous

    There was pleanty of sunbeds round the pool at anytime of the day, rooms were great and very clean and modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Great stay but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too dark and not really practical. In addition, the lightning was not appropriate in the bedroom and in the bathroom.

    Facilities are great (swimming pool and wellness). Easy access to the beach. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Best family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have a better flow since the pancake line was always long, needs more choices, overall still good. Had to request extra towels for our family of 4 when they only gave us two. Pool bar was a nice touch but the drinks could use help

    Staff, proximity to beach, facility, room size was big

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    great hotel, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security from the complex was with your door card, you should then close it, sadly guest did'nt. Which made it easy for none guests towalk in freely. 5 youths came when pool closed and moved things and swam for a while.couldnt het hold of security.

    All perfect. All staff freindly, informative helpul. Nothing to much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing holiday in the sunshine, but hotel facilities at night could have been so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Beds were very hard, pillows old and lumpy. bedroom very noisy, you could hear every sound from adjoining rooms. Corridors painted dark red and dimly let. Theme of hotel was Portugal fashion, and weird life size mannequins in the widow of hotel around lobby. The entertainment at night was mainly geared towards children and very amateurish. This went on until eleven o'clock. No second bar for adults so bar area mainly occupied by families so people ended up leaving and going back to rooms. Big problem with seagulls in what was a beautiful pool. We didn't use buffet restaurant in evenings as queues formed very early and the noise from the restaurant was very loud. You also had to watch your change in bar as my husband given wrong change every night. On the positive side the hotel was right across road from a beautiful beach. Walk into town around twenty minutes, taxi back approx 6 euro, The hotel had a lovely large pool area with plenty of sunbeds.

    we only had breakfast which had great selection for everyone

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Awesome hotel with great location to access Meia Praia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unpaid parking is not directly by the front door and they did not have a side access which would make it easier to unload your car.

    The rooms were nice with an ocean view. The beach is accross the street. The pools are big (indoor and outdoor. The spa prices were great. The gym is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice place, could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sea Views from rooms are not the greatest, ours was looking at a gas station and another abandoned property. This property is not on the beach, you will have to walk out and across the road and train tracks for about 5 minutes to get to. Lagos is a long walk as well (45 mins). The kids facilities are fantastic but the water is cold in the kiddie pool, as it is in the main pool. We found our room was too far from the elevator and found it inconvenient if we had to run back up for something. Breakfast could be better.

    Check in and free parking was easy. Centrally located between Lagos and Portimao. Rooms are sized decently. Kids facilities are excellent. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.7
    Friend's birthday trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed and Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have responded better and it felt as if I was bothering them when I asked for a few things such as a kettle, cutlery in their busy periods. They could have done their best at not showing it.

    Enjoyed our stay at this hotel and it had great views all round. I was happy they managed to cook a vegan option for my dinner. The hotel is definitely good for families and elders. If you are in your 20's you will be spending a lot on travel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Room was nice, had mini fridge with water, nice bathroom ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was awful, dark hallways painted dark red and accents all black. Rooms were the same.looked like a nightclub from the seventies.

    Room was nice, had mini fridge with water, nice bathroom , with all amenities. The staff are excellent, very helpful and professional. They made it very easy for us to rent a car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Buffet breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no place to get just a cup of coffee and a pastry early in the morning.

    Buffet breakfast was very good. The a la carte restaurant was so-so. The restaurant down the road was fantastic! It was called Restaurant Vivendo. Best meal of our trip. We had a balcony overlooking the huge swimming pool and the ocean. It was a short drive into Lagos, which has a marina and an interesting town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    For total relaxation this hotel has it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't realize we had to pay for pool at the bar until we got the final bill. I think it should really be free and perhaps charge a deposit for the tray of balls. It would be great if there was a shuttle into Lagos town as there was nowhere closeby to eat outside of the hotel in the evening. However the Marina is only 15 mins walk and a total of 25 mins to get to the town.

    I loved the fact that the minute we walked into the property it felt like we were on holiday. Reception staff were extremely welcoming and upgraded us to a room with a sea view. As a swimmer the pool area was amazing! There was loads of space so there was no sense of guests sitting on top of one another. Even on a cloudy day there was plenty to do with indoor pool, fitness centre and pool table. On our last night we were invited down to the bar for a complimentary drink which I thought was a lovely touch. We're returning to Lagos in September but the hotel is totally booked up which we were disappointed to hear.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Amazing beach view property with a back door that literally...
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel does not provide complimentary body lotion or hair conditioner even on request, which is a standard for every hotel across the globe... and sometimes a necessity for oversees travelers... did not expect that from a 4* spa resort

    Amazing beach view property with a back door that literally leads you to the beach in 3min... plus the Lagos Marina is 15-20min walk away... the starting point of all the boat trips and activities. This hotel gets a big thumbs up for location. The breakfast is really good with a lot of variety. Also if you are staying for more than one night try there restaurant for dinner... totally recommend it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet , clean and modern,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supper buffet was not very good we ate lunch and supper in Lagos Beds were quite hard

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet , clean and modern, beach was nice,Lagos was nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Winter family break- perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last 6 years we spent winter break in Algarve, staying in 4* or 5* hotels. We wish we found this hotel ealier- we will definitely come back and recommend it to our friends! Kids club not supervised ( in winter I believe) few more items for kids to use would be great: crayons, clay, etc.

    Perfect hotel! From start when kids were offered some juice by the receptionist as soon as we entered the hotel to the end: restaurant opened at 5:30am for our early breakfast. Great location, fantastic facilities- our kids loved the indoor pool. We were very pleased with breakfast and buffet style lunch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Good Resort hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location out of town but quite close to beach, good if you want to stay in resort but a 20 minute walk into town. It is a very large hotel slightly impersonal, so you need to go into lagos for local restaurants etc.

    Visited off peak when prices very good for the multitude of facilities available, great place for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    A shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was appalling. The decor is hideous, more like something from the 90's in the city, not beach side chic, which it should be.

    Great location right beside the beautiful beach and sea.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice but with reservations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children in spa area which was unsupervised & divebombing in indoor pool! Breakfast buffet wasn't replenished so that coffee/orange juice machines ran out. The staff weren't very happy when people pointed this out. It was busy over New Year but once it got quieter the service went downhill. The bedrooms aren't very soundproof so it's quite noisy.

    Facilities & pleasant 15 minute walk along beach into town. Some staff were very obliging, others didn't look like they wanted to be there! There isn't a lot of competition for hotels with indoor pools in this area & the spa area was pleasant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the evening buffet the starters and the deserts were good but may be a better choice for the main course would be good

    the indoor pool was good. the breakfast had a good choice. also the wine that you could buy at the hotel was very good and thank you to the bar staff who said butu it from reception for 3 euro instead at bar where they woukld charge 9 euro

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Good Hotel, nice staff! Rooms may need a bit of retouch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in room 1130 and our view was the petrol station! Very degradating for a 4 star hotel, to be honest. Indoor pool had kids jumping into water (when it is strickly forbidden, as there is no supervisor), destroying any kind of relaxation we wanted to have. Room need to be retouched. Walls were messy and blackout was stained. Early in the morning (8h30/9h), we were waked up by someone (cleaning service I guess?) dragging furniture (beds I presume) in the upper floor and we couldn´t sleep anymore. Please be more careful!

    Indoor pool was cool and Hotel area was big. Breakfast and staff were good! Very beautiful garden with several outdoor activities. Location is near the beach and 30 walk from the main avenue of Lagos.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Short stay in Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from room above- sounded like furniture being moved around! However, the second night was quiet!

    Staff are great! Breakfast is a feast! Had a wonderful massage in the Spa and swam in the marvellous indoor pool. Would definitely visit again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Overpriced good resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not satisfactory cleanliness of the room and restaurant. Food partially not well cooked, showing signs of rushing and lack of care... Staff needs training to have attention to details.

    Superb location and outstanding facilities, specialy the outdoor pool and its surrondings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, breakfast lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed with breakfast both choice and availability

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excellent resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent resort We will come back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    A perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Everything especially the entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner needs improvement

    Everything especially the entertainment

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Noise in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very busy and noisy.

    Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vila Gale Lagos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: