Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Santa Cruz 4 stars

Rua S.Fernando, 9100-157 Santa Cruz, Portugal

#7 of 21 hotels in Santa Cruz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dogs barking incessantly at 5.00 am making it difficult to get back to sleep. I found the bed a little hard for my liking.

    The general standard of the hotel is very good and the staff are attentive and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The outdoor pool could have been heated, as the indoor pool was too small. There is a problem with the restaurant, as they charged someone else's meal and a meal I already paid for to my room. Transportation to Funchal was not convenient during the weekend.

    The facilities were very nice and scenic. The restaurant was excellent and the themed dinner buffets were delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noise, noise, noise .... my room was in first flat, I could hear people passing in the corridor, I could hear the room beside me taking shower, I could hear people using the lift. I asked them to change my room, they answered sorry, no more place available. I could not sleep because of all this noise.

    the yard of property which was connected to the sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking (get there before busy night plus until 8am is youll need to move it during the days) but there is a paying garage underneath. Ocean was loud with the rocks so I closed my door but view was amazing. Airplanes are a bit close (airport near by) but it was peaceful sleep for me.

    The dinner buffet and the site was beautiful Ocean was amazing. Lots of rocks and waves hits the rocks makes crack sounds (fun to listen to). Dancing in a ballroom (bar) was cool. Pool was closed but looked cool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi connection is disconnecting frequently. Food items are costly in the hotel.

    Good hotel. Good sea view. Very good swimming pool. Nice location. Very near to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a four-star hotel, I would have expected a kettle, coffee, and tee in the room. That makes the room cozier. Breakfast was acceptable, I would have expected more options for food and coffee.

    Location, very close to Funchal city (by bus in 40min). The sight from the room to the see was very pleasant. The place is very quiet, clean, and the room was big enough and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with dining room. Prices on menu outside the dining room but was told by wait staff that could not purchase dinner there. Appears only people with wristbands allowed ??? Scrambled eggs during breakfast were way too runny. They advertise gluten free items but was difficult to get staff to get gluten free bread. Pool chair reserving is listed as not allowed there but was happening a lot. Did not see staff attempt to rectify the problem..

    Room was very nice. Staff was nice. Breakfast was good overall. They have a bunch of flyers for things to do but you only know that if you ask. Food at the local area restaurants was amazing. Great location to ocean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No direction signs to hotel or big sign on hotel itself. We drove past initially not knowing it was hotel. Extra bed very poor and uncomfortable. Restaurant very crowded in evening for buffet dinner.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location for us - close to airport and sea. Good facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service by the pool bar was poor as there were practically no waiters in the pool area so lots of dirty and messy outdoor tables near pool etc also service was slow again in pool area, and the pool was full of people as it was peek season!!! It felt like they were cutting down on staff!....

    Great rooms, we were lucky and had a fabulous view!! Dinner buffet was good and lots to choose from!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very quiet hotel, perfect sea view. Bus stop in 5 minutes walking, you can get to Funchal in 30 minutes. Amazing airplain landings during whole day, so lying on the beach is not boring at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Live music every night (except on Fridays) from 22:00 till 23:00 - and extremely loud, too! Interestingly nobody mentioned this in their reviews, but I will - avoid this hotel if you have a small child who does not tolerate loud noises! The doors to the rooms are designed so that they slam shut with a very loud noise. Easily the loudest hotel we've ever been. Room cleaning was at 10 AM one week, 3 PM the other... we had to actually deny cleaning because the cleaning lady wanted to do it in the afternoon and our baby was sleeping. Breakfast was mediocre and the food you could choose from stayed the same for the entire length of our stay (2 weeks). WiFi reception was horrible inside the room.

    Daily transfer to Funchal for free - and the driver was very kind, helped with our baby / buggy every time. The indoor pool was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was disappointed that no attempt was made to prevent people holding deck chairs all day even if they didn't use them. One couple 'pegged' chairs and the went away for the entire afternoon returning only to collect their towels late in the afternoon...while on the other side of the pool, people were shaded from the sun.

    We stary here a lot. The place was understaffed for the number of guests this time and some of the staff showed it! They have a lot of people stayign on 'all in' terms which means service at the bars etc can be slow.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels are a bit lightweight for UK visitors - though this is normal in Portugal

    We love Vila Gale. Stay there a lot and the staff are generally wonderful. Have even know Isidoro to come in on his day off to say hello becvause he saw we were staying! Lovely pool and view over the sea and make you feel more like family than customers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the proximity of the airport does result in engine take off noise etc when round the pool during the day . We only stayed 1 night as moving on to Funchal hotel . Great hotel but noise would be annoying if looking for a relaxing pool time !

    Gluten free food catered for

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was average but does not change. Also there is absolutely no drinks available with the dinner service. So ALL drinks must be purchased when dinning, and the prices are very expensive. Very close to the airport landing approach, so it is very noisy at all times of the day or night.

    Very comfortable rooms, breakfast was average and remained on the same menu for the entire week. Hotel shuttle to Funchal daily, however space is limited and if you dont book in well in advance you will find that its booked up.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I would have liked free parking at the underground car park at the hotel as street parking nearby is limited.

    Great location, not far from airport. Easy access to the Eastern part on the island. Comfortable room, friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no wi-fi reception in our room which was a shame.

    There was a good breakfast selection and even my husband who has a gluten intolerance was catered for with a selection of gluten-free cereals, rolls and pastries.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Important renovation works were in progress during my stay. Not a word about them neither on the hotel's website, nor by mail prior to arrival. Otherwise would have definitely chosen a different hotel. The food is rather mediocre Spotty WiFi in the room

    Location in a very nice and quiet town Santa Cruz, right on the beach Rooms with sea view are great, especially the view, as rooms could do with modernising Cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel itself, grounds well maintained Helpful and friendly staff Close to the airport

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking cost €7.50 - would have been nicer if it had been free!

    Were only here overnight to catch an early flight, so can't really provide a detailed review. Room was comfy, bathroom spacious, located near to restaurants in the town. Reception staff helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i said most of the staff were good perhaps the reception staff could have been a little more helpful

    food very good most of the staff were good room was cleaned daily indoor swimming pool good so yeah injoyable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    W-LAN in Rooms are not or very bad working, in the lobbhy and outside it was okay. Buit I also wanted have Internet-access in my room ...

    Very clean, location closed to the Airport is an attraction, nice pool, nice personal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very disappointed with the half-board deal. I did the upgrade which costed 22 euros per adult (44 total) but you have to pay for all drinks including the bottle of water 1,5L about 5 euros (very expensive). We end up having an extra 400 euros bill only in drinks, most water, a few juices and four glasses of wine. We could have dinner outside of the hotel and spend half of it. The bed could be more comfortable.

    The location is great! Very close to the airport the taxi cost about 5 euros. There are a couple of restaurants in Santa Cruz. We had lunch outside of the hotel which was handy. There are only two sand beaches in Madeira, one of them is Machico which we went a few times. You can just take the bus behind the church and it's only 10min. The staff is great and the breakfast and dinner was really good, the desserts could be better. Definitely coming back to this hotel however next time we are going for breakfast only.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Gluten free breakfast option. Wonderful staff and food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff not interested

    Location views are great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only remark i have is that they let you pay for the bottle of water they put in the room. I mean that was not expected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very comfortable bed and room; Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was VERY uncomfortable

    Close to the airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheet didn't look clean because it had a coffee stain

    The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    overall it was ok.

    the bed was not that good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Staff really friendly and helpful would definitely stay at villa gale again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet was the worst ever, most of the staff were unfriendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters in dining room were difficult.

    Location was convenient to airport. Reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Is only one guy attending the bar at night, no table service at all.

    Very nice and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi connection in our room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room out of the wifi range!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Everything was clean and the sea view is amazing . Close to the Airport.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was too pricy. No proper wifi connectivity.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little too close to the airport. 20 flights passing a day within 1/2 a mile in off season.

    FOOD, DRINK STAFF, HOTEL STYLING WERE ALL IMPECCIBLE.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome and ease of access to airport

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    +Staff brilliant...remember us every time and such lovely people. Always do little unbidden extras...makes oyu feel really special.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing too much effort of the staff who are very friendly. Lovely views over the sea. We had a very early start and they insisted in giving us a breakfast in our room at 4.30 to help us on our way.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi could be extended to the bedrooms. Only available in public areas.

    Breakfast was excellent and also dinner. Both were buffets with a great choice. Excellent well motivated staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi coverage in room isn't really acceptable for a modern hotel of this quality

    The room was spacious & comfortable with a balcony overlooking the pool, beach and sea. Buffet dinner was plentiful & there was something for everyone. Great breakfast too.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel reception extremely helpful, with good English. Breakfasts cannot be faulted. We did not have other meals. We ask for and get a room of our choice and we will go back next year

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room balcony didn't have roof like the others; it was smaller also. People on both sides smoked and the smoke wafted over. Also thought dinner buffet was pricey. Although front desk staff was helpful, an information sheet with all of our questions answered would have eased their burden. We received this at another hotel. (excursions, transport, breakfast and dinner info, towels, entertainment, etc.) There were often lines at the front desk.

    Early service for airport (taxi, check-out, breakfast). Nice selection at breakfast buffet including champagne. Great wine tasting first night (free!) and free bottle of wine with dinner - very nice touches. Also enjoyed the folklore entertainment very much.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room doors all close with a loud bang, expect to be woken up regularly at night. Location is about half a mile from the end of the airport runway, when the wind is from the west you will be deafened every 30 minutes.

    Pleasant staff, Clean rooms, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A well-run, well-managed hotel. Service is consistent in all respects. Good food, great staff, & great facilities including an indoor pool that's actually warm enough to use! The sauna, steam rooms, Jacuzzi and gym are all excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi signal was weak. It was had to use laptop or Iphone.

    The hotel is modern and clean. My room had a small balcony with a table and 02 chairs, flat tv and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was plentifully and well prepared.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Customer focused. Made you feel at home. Breakfast was plentiful and great.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could be better lighting over the closet

    The comfort and large space and always pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff (especially at the reception) Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff was very friendly, wine tasting session, location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds in hotel were extremely hard. Also cannot get wifi in rooms as they say.

    Lovely quiet village by the sea.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very bad quality of the Internet in the rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed, breakfast

    Welcome, complementary things, reduce prices for massage and dining

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The plastic undercover

    the staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dodgy Wifi. Business centre rather primitive...

    Perfect location ! Bright and contemporary feeling.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value. Excellent proximity to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here several times and it has always been very pleasant. The staff , especially, make it nice to come back to.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a great deal of money to park

    close to airport

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Vila Gale Santa Cruz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: