Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Marta 3 stars

Travessa do Amparo,36 - São Martinho, Sao Martinho, 9000-647 Funchal, Portugal

#7 of 271 Holiday rentals in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Joel and his son Bruno are fantastic hosts! Regardless of your needs, they provide valuable information and advice; from a local restaurant to a weather app for the island to a flashlight to hike Pico Do Areeiro to beach towels for the lava pools; they were there to help. The hotel and our room was very clean. We rented a vehicle and drove from the airport. Joel and Bruno emailed directions before we left home to ensure we found the hotel easily. We’ve spoken to many people since our trip in June and recommend Madeira Island and Vila Marta to everyone. Joel and Bruno - Thank you for your hospitality and our new found friends in Madeira!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hosts, lovely self-catering apartment on beautiful island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m used to soft pillows, but I got used to the hotels not soft pillows after a couple of nights.

    Very welcoming and Joel and Bruno couldn’t be more helpful; they went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed my holiday on their lovely island without being in any way overbearing. Perfect hosts! Loved being away from ‘hotel land’.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    A lovely three-star property with absolutely five-star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Vila Marta is a three star property with five star service. The owners, Joel and his son Bruno simply couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful It's no exaggeration to say that nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    The host was friendly, welcoming and very helpful, giving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The host was friendly, welcoming and very helpful, giving real personal service. There's a convenient bus service to central Funchal and the property lies virtually on a levada, with walks in both directions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Warmest welcome you will get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Joel and Bruno are excellent hosts. Helps you with everything from weatherforcasts to laundryline. Very clean and quiet hotel in a calm area with easy access. Nice with fresh bread every morning and extra bonus with a neighbour taxidriver. Our warmest recommendation to Vila Marta. By the way, let Joel and Bruno help you with rental car to see the most of their beautiful island. We rented at the AirPort and got ripped of.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    i had a fantastic stay at Vila Marta :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a wonderful stay, Bruno and his father (the owners of Vila Marta) were wonderful, very helpful and i had a great stay at Vial Marta. I just felt like this was home away from home. I couldn't be more happier with me stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Thank you that I could have been there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Perfect things does not have negative side.

    Very nice and unique approach of the Villa Marta's owners. Their advice were very useful for us and we enjoyed to hospitality which they provided us all the time. I recommend the accommodation here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    I had a great time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    I had a great time there. Bruno and his father were very helpful and welcoming. I would recommend this family-run hotel to everyone, who is not looking for the usual hotel experience 24/7 at the pool, but wants to explore the real Madeirian life!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Amazing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about this place.

    Amazing friendly and helpful staff. Good location with a bus stop and supermarket nearby. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Vila Marta is approximately 4km from the centre of Funchal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Vila Marta is approximately 4km from the centre of Funchal and is run by a father (Joel) and son (Bruno. Joel and Bruno are extremely friendly and helpful. They set out to make your stay as comfortable as possible and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were offered a welcome drink of Madeiran wine on arrival. There was fresh fruit in the room together with some milk, tea and coffee for your first night. Every morning fresh bread rolls are hung outside your door ready for breakfast. If you want to visit another part of the island, they are happy to advise on the best places to visit and will even check the current weather conditions. They recommended a local restaurant for meals and phoned to book a table and arrange minibus transport. Rooms themselves are spacious with a balcony overlooking the Atlantic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    A must stay apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like, rating from us is 5 star.

    We loved the fresh rolls in the morning; the apartment was spotlessly clean; father and son were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, Bruno even drove us to a dentist after making an urgent appointment; nothing was too much trouble. Safe in the room free of charge. Bed linen and sheets changed daily, etc etc etc. we could go on!q

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Warm and friendly welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was super.

    The welcome as very friendly and helpful and the hosts really made you feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble at all. We would return!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.0
    Rather dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A rather dated hotel in a poorer residential area of Funchal. I agree with one of the other reviewers that the owner was a little overbearing. There was definitely an expectation that we would check our plans with him every morning and he was invariably outside to watch us park our car in the evening. We had booked an apartment hotel so that we could come and go as we pleased so it all got rather tedious after a day or two.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    A great place with lovely host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little bit far from the main town. Not a problem if you have a car but a bit far and up a hill if you want to walk. Lots of taxis though.

    Wonderful service. Plenty of room. Superb breakfast rolls. Joel and Bruno are fantastic

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Relaxed, welcoming and made to feel like family freinds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Joel and Bruno were very welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble, going out of their way to provide a service we have never experienced before. Have recommended to family and friends and rebooked for 2017 before leaving.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.3
    In fact we do regret staying only for a very short time -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In fact we do regret staying only for a very short time - only 1 night. The hosts are very nice and helpful. You get a lot of hints, i.e. roads, trips, restaurants, events. Very positive thing - you have a small kitchen in the apartment. Just buy some fresh prawns, or a nice fish, cut some garlic to the pieces, take nice olive oil, salt, and just prepare some nice food - take it and enjoy it on the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic hospitality, clean rooms and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There wasn't anything in particular that I didn't like. You should probably know that there's no breakfast option. However, as I already mentioned: every morning you will find fresh bread outside of your room. So there's no need to go find a fresh bakery.

    Villa Marta is ideally located for those who come to Madeira to explorer the island: it's both close to the capital Funchal as well as the highway so that you are quickly on your way. At this family run property we were given to most warm welcome I have ever received in any hotel. Joel and his son will happily help you in any way they can. Planning to exploring the island: be sure to check with them for the weather conditions (despite being a 'small' island, the weather can vary greatly) and restaurant tips. Father and son speak various languages (Portuguese, French, English, German and maybe others), so communication wasn't a problem. You can park your car in the street in front of the hotel. Rooms are cleaned daily and are super tidy. I found the beds to be very comfortable to sleep in. There's a small kitchen in the room equipped with all the basic utensils. And you'll find fresh bread at your room's door every morning, at no extra charge! A supermarket nearby takes care of the rest. Also included for free is the superb view from the balcony overlooking the ocean. In short, you won't regret choosing Vila Marta for spending your holiday in Madeira.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Small family hotel but worth the rating of a 5 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is a little out of the way. It's not very close to the main part of Funchal but there is a bus one can take. However, we had a car so it was fine...it's just a bit difficult driving in some of the narrow streets. Also, the beds are hard but I was given a foam mattress for mine and it was great!

    The hosts, Joel and Bruno, were incredible! They went out of their way to help us with plane boarding passes, recommending hikes and restaurants and overall, being sure we were comfortable and taken care of. Rooms are immaculate, comfortable and large with a table out on the balcony where we ate breakfast, looking at the view of the ocean. Every day fresh bread is left on the door handle before we woke up and a supply of butter, jam and fruit was in the room the first night for our breakfast the next morning. And when we left we were give a bottle of Madeira wine. This is like a 5 star hotel in terms of cleanliness and friendliness!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    A great holiday on a fascinating Is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nights were very warm and humid during our stay and some air con or even a fan would have been welcome . The morning hike to the bus stop was a bit of a challenge with my dicky hip, but I believe Joel is trying to arrange for nearer bus stop to be installed

    Great attention to our wishes for this holiday.Nothing was too much trouble and Joel and Bruno went out of their way to ensure we had a good holiday.They are both obviously passionate about their home land and want to pass this on the their guests.They certainly made an impression on us/ we loved Madeira and would recommend a holiday there to anyone-a very beautiful and remarkable island!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    10
    Great stay in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had to leave.

    Bruno and Joel are without doubt the most caring and genuine hosts I've ever encountered. We stayed in a self catering apartment that was spotlessly clean, and we had waiting for us free milk along with tea and coffee, plus a large bowl of fruit. Every morning there were fresh rolls delivered to the door, and all at no extra cost. The two hosts are a mine of information and every morning we had a good conversation about where we were going and what we might see and do. It's obvious they both care deeply that their guests get the most out of their stay, and are always friendly and ready to answer questions, we were even welcomed back in the evening with a glass of Madeira wine!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Great hosts, well equipped and serviced, nice location, good sized studio room, a real find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was a bit hot at nights if the windows were closed to keep insects out (though there didn't seem to be many). Air conditioning would have completed the perfect package.

    The owners were so welcoming and helpful with daily advice on local weather and travel tips. It is a bit out the main town which makes it quieter and 2 local bus routes very nearby. Apartment very fully equipped and with jam, butter, milk etc to start us off. Superb daily cleaning and free bread every morning for breakfast. On our last day we were given some lovely honey cake and a lift down the hill directly to the airport bus terminus. Would stay again if we are back in Madeira.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Very friendly and helpful owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Top place to stay If you want to stay a little bit away from the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The service of the Joel and Bruno. The free rolls on the door in the morning. The free drive to the restaurant near by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Rooms spotless and peaceful, superb views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    we were welcomed and felt like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Simple and good breakfast support

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    We would be happy to stay at Vila Marta again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Apartments were well maintained, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Best in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is bit far from Funchal but not a big deal due to convinient public transportation

    Best in every way

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    excellent place to stay, thank you joel, Bruno and maria jose

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location Being over charged for accidentally burning their stainless steel jug

    Very friendly hosts

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Not much interesting to do in the direct neighbourhood

    Service and support are excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place with a wonderful view - good neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Veri nice and helpful family - Vila Marta is off the beaten track and near one of the levadas.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    First time to Madeira. Couldn't have found a better place to stay. Recommending to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Rolls delivered daily Friendly and helpful hosts Immaculate room service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    A good choice - beats staying in a hotel but has the best professional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very well run accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    The rolls provided for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The rolls provided for breakfast. The very friendly father and son who went out of their way to help us with our holiday requirements. The cleanliness and good size of the apartments.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    From the very beginning you'll feel that the welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beds were a bit hard, but that's a matter of taste.

    From the very beginning you'll feel that the welcoming hosts love their hotel, will help you wherever they can, and give you helpful hints about what you could do on each day. The very clean appartment was quite large, with a view over the bay of western Funchal, a living room and a fully equipped kitchen. Recommended if you look for a quiet appartment which is a bit outside of down town but still close enough to everything (a car is surely advantageous).

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.6
    Quiet position away from Funchal,with easy access to routes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only issue was that there was no list of charges for some drinks left in fridge. this would have been helpful. But this was no problem, just helpful for guests to know.

    Quiet position away from Funchal,with easy access to routes to rest of island,along with parking outside.The owners were friendly and very helpful and provided fresh bread each morning along with fresh fruit and milk on arrival. Whole of property was spotlessly clean and the apartment was spacious.Kitchen equipment just about adequate,but the owners would probably provide something extra if asked. The owners helped us to plan our day out and were there when we returned to ask about our trip.We were also given a gift of honey cake when we were leaving, which was thoughtful. We had a top floor apartment that had a view of sea from balcony.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    Joel & Bruno were very helpful &made many good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all - it was wonderful.

    Joel & Bruno were very helpful &made many good suggestions for days out, etc. Can thoroughly recommend the private island tours, our driver Carlos was very knowledgeable. Vila Marta is a fantastic base for a holiday in Madeira.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.8
    Very clean and hotelier quite helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from 2nd floor balcony of ocean difficult...wall too high and wires; OK if you are standing. Hotel is further outside of Funchal than we thought. 10 walk to bus stop and a 20 minutes bus ride into center of town.

    Very clean and hotelier quite helpful...maybe a little too helpful. He makes the best out of his location. Location is easier if you have a car.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Even though the place is not in the center of Funchal, there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Even though the place is not in the center of Funchal, there are 2 bus stops around + a rented car - you wouldn't have any troubles. We were getting every day a lot of useful tips regarding the weather forecast and what we can visit around Madeira from Bruno and Joel. Most hospitable place I have been to in years!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Exceptional staff who paid attention to quality, detail and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Exceptional staff who paid attention to quality, detail and personal touch. Accommodation exceeded my expectations. No problems as a solo traveller - very well looked after.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Very nice stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing important, only sometimes weak signal of WIFI in some parts of our room.

    Very nice stay in this hotel. The reviews say truth - owners (Bruno and Joel) are very helpfull. I must say the best hotel in terms of hospitality I have ever been. Hotel as such is nice as well. No problem to park a car in front of hotel. We felt as in home there.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.8
    Joel and Bruno made our experience special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Joel and Bruno made our experience special. Nothing was to much trouble In the way of customer service. Very helpful and knowledgeable with regards to what was on offer in madeira on where to visit and how to get there. Nice touches such as providing fresh bread rolls for breakfast every morning. Arranging transport to the local restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    Joel and Bruno at the Villa Marta were exceptionally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Joel and Bruno at the Villa Marta were exceptionally helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay there a really good experience. The local restaurant, which provides free transport there and back, is very good.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.6
    Our room was very clean and tidy - basket of fruit for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Our room was very clean and tidy - basket of fruit for us and fresh bread every day delivered in a clean pressed linen bag.Hosts (father and son) spoke several languages between them and nothing was too much trouble. They gave the best advice on trips out including a lovely evening out with wine traditional food and music with transport there and back!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.3
    Joel and Bruno were extremely welcoming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Joel and Bruno were extremely welcoming and very helpful. They even offered to pick us up when we arrived, but we didn't want to inconvenience them and easily managed to arrive ourselves. All the reviews are correct, it's homely, clean, in a nice location and with the little personal touches that make such a difference when choosing somewhere to stay. Yes, it is outside of Funchal centre, but we liked that and it was very easy and simple to catch a bus. We even walked back from the supermarket one evening after getting off the bus a stop or two early. On the day of our departure we were prepared to catch the local bus into the centre of Funchal, but we were offered and given a lift straight to the bus station. Again, above and beyond. We even received a Madeira wine upon arrival and a local Madeiran honey cake upon departure. The fresh bread every day as well as the butter, preserves, milk and fruit in the apartment were really lovely touches. All in all, a lovely, peaceful and relaxing couple of days. Thank you Joel and Bruno!! :-D

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    10
    The appartment was neat, clean and well equipped and the sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The appartment was neat, clean and well equipped and the sea view was breathtaking. The owner and his son were great host. Their hospitality and helpfulness made my holiday very nice. Fresh bread was hung on the door every morning, and at arrival I found fresh fruit, flowers and all I needed for my first breakfast in the appartment. The bed had lovely soft linnens and nice blankets, but the matress could have been softer. The bus stop is only a few minutes away, and you will get a time tabel in the reception. Vila Marta will definitely be my choice next time I go to Madeira :) In Vila Marta I relaxed and felt completely safe and at home.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    Filled fridge on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really in Funchal, but with rental car no problem at all.

    Filled fridge on arrival Breakfast rolls every morning Staff is very helpfull

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Personal service and attention to every detail , great sea...
    • Couple

    Personal service and attention to every detail , great sea view, clean, fresh fruit and flowers in the room, breakfast in our room, lovely.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    The personal interest shown us by the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The personal interest shown us by the owners.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.2
    The friendliness of the Da Silva family for whom nothing was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the Da Silva family for whom nothing was too much trouble. They always went beyond the extra mile.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.6
    Cleanness , very practical kitchen, good information and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Cleanness , very practical kitchen, good information and nice help from the owners.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.0
    Very kind and involved manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind and involved manager. Good service, clean appartment.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Vila Marta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: