Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Atlantico 4 stars

Praia da Gale - Apart. 108, 8200-902 Albufeira, Portugal

#51 of 75 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 537 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing but would consider using different hotel for future visits to Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottled water in room was chargeable. Locals used the pool both later in the day and on weekends. Shuttle bus into albuferia had been removed making visits into the old town expensive using taxis.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay but daughter got hurt in the indoor pool area with loose filtration system cover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My 8 year old daughter got hurt in the indoor swimming pool area. Her foot went into a one and a half foot deep open filtration system hole which had a loose cover when she was walking around the pool. I heard a thud to turn around and see her lying on the ground crying and that memory remains in my head. Luckily she was ok and escaped with a bruise however she could easily have cut herself with the sharp tile edging around the hole or broken her foot. A manager came with an ice pack and apologised. I expected to get some compensation or free benefit (massage, meal or discount on stay at checkout) during our stay but we received nothing. If you don't ask, you don't get! What matters to us is that she is ok now but at the time, we were really worried and still talk about it.

    We went as a large family and had 3 junior suites on the same floor. There were good options for all inclusive entertainment which kept everyone happy. All rooms had a beautiful view of the sea. The beach was a 5 minute walk which was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    We had the best time ever and would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottled water was different

    The staff was amazing especially Mix and Hugo. Mix had us exercising in the pool during aqua exercise and dancinf at night in the lobby. He obviously enjoys his job. Our favorite bartender Hugo made us amazing mojitos and we had fun during wine tasting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much public transport if you want to go out of the resort and don't have a car, unless you hire a minibus or taxi.

    A lovely hotel in a quieter resort. The breakfast selection was excellent and the bar food was also great.Within walking distance of a beautiful beach with boardwalks and small restaurants and bars. Not built up like other resorts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location to the beach, only about a 5-10 minute walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk staff was not friendly. The beds are very hard and uncomfortable. Parking is limited and most people with larger vehicles took up 2 spaces.

    Great location to the beach, only about a 5-10 minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking place should be a bit bigger, cause there were too many cars. No free water in our room. In other cheaper/same hotels there almost always were some

    The breakfast was wonderful! Our air condition didnt work. Stuff couldnt mend it, so we were given another room! The view from our toom was fantastic!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant and relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hidden costs. We did not like being told about the spa only to find that when we got there we had to pay extra for swimming hats

    Excellent food and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very nice staff(in reception and in a pool bar) cleaners never cleaned our terrace, every day we had to ask for a water-they supposed to provide it daily, all inclusive- all inclusive exept coctails !!! Nothing to do at night...

    Perfect location, ocean and the beach nearby, free parking, very good food, nice and relaxing place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    First impression rubbish as the disorderly reception is a joke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting 3hours to get my room, crazy , they have a bar at the reception which is closed even though it was 33 degrees, crazy , imagine driving to the hotel from the airport and waiting at reception and u can't even get a glass of water crazy, each guest to be given a room took at lest 20 minutes that's insane. Ok they had a bar on the leaval below,do they really expect u to take your bag down to the next leaval just to get a cool drink then bring Ines bags back up crazy. The room was ok big clean and water in the fridge which is a nice touch. Over all not good it's all about the first impression.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Activities are great and pools amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is expensive compared to the quality and a la carte takes a long long time to deliver

    Activities are great and pools amazing! You truly have the feeling of being on holidays.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Will more than likely be there again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Have stayed here many times previously, ideal location for beach and other facilities, rooms have basic cooking facilities if you want simple type self catering.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Best place for beach lovers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the high season, you need to take breakfast very soon, if not wait at least 15 minutes but for me it was not a big issue.

    Perfect location very near a perfect beach! Many space in the room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Reception staff and nice room for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor selection at buffet dinner for 4 star hotel. Impolite attitude of our waitress when taking order for wine.

    Reception staff and nice room for overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Very Happy just were I wanted to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a little used, slept OK but not the best, everything else good.

    Staff very friendly/ helpful very impressed with their knowledge of language at the reception they all seemed to be able to pass from Portuguese to English to German and French without a thought in general a very well run hotel. very happy. The room we were given was bigger than a 1 bedroom flat wish we had stayed for a week

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Highlighy recommend for a relaxing family holiday. Beach 5min walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Actual Hob in the room was as slow as a snail, but in our case we did't need it but we tried it.

    The Entertainment staff were excellent and the catered for the needs of all age groups. If you wanted to participate you could. Very approachable and friendly. Breakfast was superior standard, we stayed on a Bed 7 Breakfast basis but the evenign Buffet looked excellent also. Would highly recommend however, if you wanted shops and bars etc this is not the area for you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite with Sea View (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found safe in room broken therefore passports and bank cards had to be carried around our whole holiday also very disappointed that the playrooms was not available so our 1 year old could play in... this is the only down side of holiday but wouldn't put me off staying in this hotel again

    Lovely staff, very spacious rooms, room cleaned every day.. staff always there to help with taxi'service and any information you may need. Definitely a hotel we'll stay in again. Top marks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.0
    Average hotel at a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and staff were awful

    Room and location was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Apart from booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from booking.com absolutely ruining the holiday the hotel made up for it massively!!! I will never book through booking.com again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel, specially for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. The only thing to point are the facilities that could be bigger.

    Great staff in all hotel positions Very good location, close to the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    The croissants were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The croissants were excellent. Would have preferred a King size bed to Twins

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    The kids entertainers really went the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways and rooms could be cleaner.

    The kids entertainers really went the extra mile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    almost everything
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Following items should be improved: cleanliness of the room; early checkout breakfast packet is miserable.

    almost everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    relaxing long weekend
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady from reception staff needs to improve the courtesy on welcome

    Excellent location, near to the beach. easy Parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Have stayed here many times before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Excellent room great sea view but we were in a junior swuit very clean and well presented nothung

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Staff were very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing we didn't like!!!!!

    everything about the hotel...... Great Hotel and great customer service!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Rooms were very nice and staff extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much going on around hotel

    Rooms were very nice and staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Should have been a 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and food

    Staff where fantastic rooms dirty food variety very very poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old rundown hotel with very uncomfortable beds... staff not up to average standards

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Great short break in the sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view, Jacuzzi, steam room, pool, spatious room, tasty breakfast and friendly effecient staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Very very relaxing and pleasant. Great location. Very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updated slightly. But overall very good.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    The pool for the kiddies was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My spacious room

    The pool for the kiddies was fabulous

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Relaxed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and close to the beach an the hotel was very clean!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice and clean friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More childrens facilities needed

    Nice and clean friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    apart from the beds, very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    beds were hard with noisy and sweaty mattress protectors

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Closeness to beach, and the security of the place
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi connection in the room was bad.

    Closeness to beach, and the security of the place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise near room (machinery) every night kept me awake

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Comida do restaurante à la carte surpreendeu positivamente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada.

    Comida do restaurante à la carte surpreendeu positivamente.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Good above average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived after midnight and the bar closed at 1am which I thought was a bit early.

    Large rooms with small kitchen and good pool area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Fab hotel but pity about location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not near anywhere busy or no night life within walking distance.

    Rooms lovely and big and clean too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast and SPA facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine was broken and in shower water did not drain properly.

    Good breakfast and SPA facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced old hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff and poor accommodation quality

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.7
    Spacious room with kitchen facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were a bit old - outdated. Staff at reception desk not friendly - ignored us at check in during appr. 15 min ...

    Spacious room with kitchen facilities

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    6.7
    Food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Marble flooring in indoor swimming pool and changing area very slippery with wet feet so only visited it once. More drawers needed in bedrooms. Also more mirrors, plus an armchair or two with good reading light.

    Food was good. Staff very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Breakfast buffet excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nightly entertainment very loud and hard to escape. Lack of teapots for tea drinkers!

    Breakfast buffet excellent. Bedrooms very roomy and beds very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    5.0
    Close to nice beaches;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Indoor heated pool not open over xams, this was not communicated until we got there. As weather not great, indoor pool would have been good. Hotel is approx 25 euro round trip to Abulferia. It is very isolated. Nothing there! There are a few cafes at the beach, but they don't open lated. There were were few guests, so no atmosphere in bar of hotel or lobby. Some staff very surly, others nice enough. The beds had a strange matress cover that was sticky. Also, all rooms have mini kitchens, good for some people, but the fridge made a humming noise all night.

    Close to nice beaches; close to good supermarket for self catering; clean hotel; nice cleaning staff; pretty good breakfasts (we were B&B only); nice big rooms, modern rooms.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.1
    Some staff were amazingly helpful and others not as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Went in for dinner one night and thought the food was poor. The restaurant manager was very apologetic and deleted my dinner from the bill. A 'pork tenderloin' was a salty stew really and was inedible.

    Some staff were amazingly helpful and others not as accommodating. The hotel was in a good location though and was good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.7
    Pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor room, backed onto rear of hotel. Smelt awful for whole holiday. Near to hotel air conditioners so noisy. No view, felt very outdated.

    Pool. Food, good choices

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    4.2
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Desnecessary noise coming from the pool every morning. Music on with no activities going on. Not clean upon arrival, hair on the bathroom, had to ask for extra cleaning, not propper for a 4 star hotel paying more of 100 euros per night. Very disappointed with the facilities and the confort. Worth to stay in a budget place or pay a little bit more and stay faraway from this place!!

    Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.8
    I liked the hotel which was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a lovely beach nearby but a bit too far for me to walk. There also seemed to be some nice restaurants. I was there at the New year. But there were few people staying, mostly Spanish, portuguese and German. It's a bit too quiet for me,

    I liked the hotel which was clean and comfortable. The meals were good although there was only one other woman on half board, most of the others were self catering.meal times were a bit quiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The smell in the room.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    5.8
    Near beach and supermarket
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Put in room with no balcony so swapped rooms half way through holiday, hotel location to albufeira centre

    Near beach and supermarket

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.7
    Proximity to the beach and shop, good swimming pool areA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes there were no sunbeds available at the swimming pool area, rooms require renovation

    Proximity to the beach and shop, good swimming pool areA

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Vila Gale Atlantico traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: