Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Albacora 4 stars

Quatro Aguas, 8800-901 Tavira, Portugal

#14 of 17 hotels in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1106 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were spacious with gorgeous ria views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Aircon didn't work well in one room so had to change rooms. Soundproofing could be improved.

    The rooms were spacious with gorgeous ria views. Beds fairly hard which was ideal. The location is idyllic if you want space, peace and no other hotels, buildings, or concrete in sight. Surrounded by countryside, river, lagoons and close to the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing stay with beautiful beaches and great architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room service/towel change was a bit unpredictable - would be nicer to have pool towels by the pool instead of having to go to the spa

    - Lovely ambiance and great location - Great example of re-use architecture - lovely colours and plants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely suggest this place for people traveling with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food can be very boring after the second day. It was our second time (year) at the hotel and we were exhausted with the food selection. No changes from year to year.

    Fabulous location and extremely great place for people with kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    We have stayed 4 or 5 times now and will go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the drinks

    We have stayed 4 or 5 times now and will go back again! Great location. Love getting the boat to the island and the free taxi into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting close to the river and short ride by boat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been a little more noise proof

    Beautiful setting close to the river and short ride by boat to the beach. Lovely pool. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was delicious with many options. A 10 minute drive to lovely town of Tavira.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great, clean hotel in all public and guest rooms. good ameit
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good , just a few observations on presentation, and keeping items in order, as bread for toast near marmalade and jams etc., ( no labeling on jams and marmalade jars, I thought it was chutney !! Extra knife was not easy to find, so guests were removing them from pre laid tables. Just little grumbles that are possible to make or break a holiday.

    Breakfast food was very nice, and plenty of variety. It sometimes involved a lot of long distance hunting for the food that we required, but is WAS there somewhere ! Maybe trays would be helpful with the various items needed for breakfast, it would save a lot of getting up and down !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Staff were not overly friendly, didn't speak back to us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were not overly friendly, didn't speak back to us when we said hello. The food was average, repeated very second night. we stayed as it was a reduced price but I definitely would not have paid the full asking price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    A must stay place to enjoy Tavira and surroundings,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms could have been little bigger but its ok.

    far from locality though, its quite and nice place to relax with family. Children can enjoy a lot -lots sports activities. Nice bar with live music, swimming pool, few meters walk to the beach/boat service... lovely place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We had a most enjoyable six days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The whole place was just great, staff were very friendly the property itself was just picturesque. it is a lovely hide away if you want to get away from it all, but Taveria is just a short taxi ride away and the hotel has a shuttle bus to the town also. I would go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good location, tranquil and beautiful in May. Will defintely return, would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs on our patio not comfortable for sitting in sun. Suggest bikes to be provided by hotel given the location, perfect for cycling around. Suggest a shuttle service to and from Faro airport for guests and evening bus into Tavira. Foood needs more imagination.

    The room was clean bright spacious. The situation of the hotel and the view from room really beautiful. Staff good. The boat to Tavira Island great facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable watching activity on the river and walking by the saltings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet evening meal, though still good, was not as good as when we stayed a few years ago. This could be a change of strategy or staff or merely a short term blip.

    Super location for countryside, especially if you are a birder, yet close to the town if that’s your thing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Room and location were both very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While breakfast is listed as from 07.00 there were very limited staff working until 08.00 and so cooked food and table clearing was limited.

    Room and location were both very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were cobwebs in the room (I'm quite fussy about cleanliness though) and the bathroom door didn't shut properly. The matress didn't match up to the rest of the hotel experience.

    The breakfast was brilliant. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The property is beautiful. The entertainment is varied and there is a free shuttle bus in to town. A very peaceful location with lots of bird life to see. Dinner was great and very reasonably priced with huge portions. The spa treatment was very good and, again, very reasonably priced. Vouchers included on arrival for various things..including a free bottle of wine! Complementary pears were delivered upon arrival. An opportunity for a leaving drink was offered where guests can discuss their views of the hotel. All in all a lovely place to stay and we would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Would be happy to go back and would recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were good but we did have one of their buffet meals one evening. Very disappointing, quality of hot food poor and overpriced at €25 pp.

    The location of the hotel was very good being situated on the Ria Formosa. Very peaceful and wonderful outlook watching the little ferry going back and forward to Tavira Island which is well worth a visit. Only drawback was the distance from Tavira but as we had a car it did not pose a problem

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    I had a very enjoyable stay at Vila Gale. I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a room with a sea view, which was very nice. However, we found that the room, in particular, the wardrobe smelt very damp and musty. The smell in the wardrobe was so strong, we were worried about hanging our clothes in there for fear of them also smelling musty. We had Pharoah ants in our room, which found their way into our beds! When I phoned reception to ask if they had a spray or powder, I was told "no", with a very abrupt manner. The receptionist offered no apology either. The spa receptionist on duty on Saturday at around 10am, was very sullen and offered us no information about where to head for the changing room; where to get a locker key or where to get a towel. However, the receptionist who was there later in the day and on Sunday, was very pleasant and helpful.

    The spa facilities were very good. Quite often when you have a hotel with a spa, it's half hearted, with not much thought gone into it, however this spa was very good. The hotel was fairly quiet, so my friend and I had the whole spa to ourselves most of the time; which was a bonus! The bar was very nice. Again, it was pretty empty but I imagine in busier times, it will have a very nice atmosphere. The grounds are lovely, and I should imagine that in the summer, will be very pretty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Comfort in a wonderful setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nothing!

    Location is excellent for us: the pool and beach for my wife; the nature for me. Breakfast is incredible with many choices. Dinner + wine is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Touch of history and luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub wasn’t working. The path to the room is cobbled which makes it a bit annoying with the luggage, since ours was the 2nd last room so it’s bumpy. You have to really turn the lock with the key-no card which seemed strange for a 4*. Rooms are very dark and window small so glad we didn’t upgrade for a river view - not worth it.

    We arrived a bit late (3:30) to make it to the island beach using the hotel ferry as it only ran until 6pm; but it would have been convenient. If you want to visit Barril beach, where the anchors are, you are better to drive and walk across/ take the mini-train anyway, as we ended up doing. The property is nicely laid out with gardens and we enjoyed sitting by the pool then partaking the spa facilities. Bathroom a nice size. We decided to eat dinner on site and service slow since busy but enjoyed our meal. Small museum is a nice thought. Enjoyed historic aspect of hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in beautiful natural surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Boat transport to island and beach a little pricey with a closing time before 6 pm.

    Beautiful hotel in beautiful natural surroundings. Excellent cleanliness of rooms and public areas. Good breakfast with many options in a large room. Easy access to exclusive transport to the island and beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful & all round enjoyable & relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to mention is that for us the lighting in the river view room could be improved. It would also be nice for kettles to be provided in the rooms. Otherwise it was very comfortable for our 1 week stay.

    The layout, location, staff, facilities - there is not much to dislike about this unique hotel & we cannot wait to return. The staff are a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Could be better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet is very expensive for what is included. The hotel is babyfriendly but has very few babyfood options ( I've stayed a week and it was the same soup). the oriental night buffet has a very bad sushi ( even an amatour sushi was better). The hotel exclusive boat to the island is expensive ( should be included in my opinion). The room hasn't amenities as stated.

    Excellent accommodation and facilities. Near Tavira island and with an exclusive boat service. Kids play is a must if you have children! The cleaning ladies are very good and comprehensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the money anymore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way near worth the money anymore. The whole place is dirty and the indoor spar is clogged, all the drains over spilling and the jacuzzi broken. The steam room seats covered in a film of orange which you can scrape off with a nail but the cleaners haven’t. Found two cockroaches in the pool. The breakfast buffet was average, the pre cooked scrambled eggs and bacon was hard and cold, as was the French toast. You can stay in far better places now for less money since they seem to have put the prices up. We have been here twice a year for five years and are not coming back.

    The view from the room was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    We had never stayed in the area before, and if we returned we would prefer a location in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Probably a personal preference but we didn't find the bar/lounge and dining area very inviting but the outside seating was very pleasant.

    The out side pool area is very spacious and well kept as all on the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Peaceful, relaxing, thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find fault. I would be criticising for the sake of it.

    We liked the friendliness of all staff and their efficiency. We found the whole weekend peaceful and relaxing. Worth booking a river view. Excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Had my 83 year old father on holiday with us which he enjoyed because of no lifts or stairs to climb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plates were cold at breakfast time . Breakfast was good . .. We had dinner one night in hotel but very expensive .. When we got to the beach it was money grabbing time for the sun beds which you need but will drop in price if you haggle a little..

    Lovely boat ride from the back of our hotel to the beach and one of the nicest beaches that we have visited ,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    very good location , with access to very good beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food was okay. Grill was poor and the people not enough experienced and sometimes rude. fried eggs were not good , and mostly grilled food was of very poor quality. The cooked dishes were also below average , and there was noone keeping the things clean and organized , in particular because this is a restaurant with lots of kids runnibg around "free" to choose their foods. fruits were fresh and of good quality. My room was quite smelly when we arrive as someone has been smoking and the smell stayed in the curtains and matresses... The outfits of the staff are not appropriated for a summer hotel , and most of them ware clothes of a different size... very bad image. Even if they were all nice and tried their best , their appearance was close to ridiculous.

    Location .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.8
    Hotel food was better than the usual low quality hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is isolated from the local city tavira and from the beach. They have boats going to two beaches but it is payed and they star at 9h until 19h. If you want early beach time or dinner at the beach you need a boat taxi. Also a boat connection to the city would be very welcomed. For this daily price over 200Eur charging the boat does not feel ok, and more options should be included

    Hotel food was better than the usual low quality hotel buffet food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Once is never enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I liked everything.

    The situation of the hotel is excellent with a boat to the beaches from right outside the back of the hotel. You can also get a taxi boat into the town which is quite exciting! The hotel is really unusual, being all single storey accommodation. It has a lovely feel to it especially at night time with lots of soft glow lighting around the buildings. Entertainment for kids is excellent and the staff who work with them are extremely enthusiastic and friendly but it doesn't impinge upon adult relaxation! I keep returning and the magic is still there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    We will definitely be back. Our 3 yo loved the place and made some friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food selection can be better, especially for the vegetarians. Also, the Portuguese food tends not to lean towards healthy so for the rest of us, it may seem to greasy and fatty.

    Great place for kids and families. Two pools - indoor and outdoor - and a toddler pool as if that wasn't enough. Games and entertainment for the kids. A boat to a fabulous beach that's not too far from the hotel. Friendly staff that's trying to make your stay pleasant and they want you to enjoy yourself.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    nice holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Very nice place for families with children, very good food, nice swiming pool and garden. Clean room. Very quiet place, not for people looking for parties etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing, we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The gym was very warm and could have been better air conditioned.

    The staff were very nice and helpful, especially the two barmen Marco and Paulo. We ate in the restaurant on this visit and the food and wines were excellent. The boats and beach services were also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and positive, although room too small for 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room for 3 adults, which was more expensive than a room for 2 adults and 1 child. However the room was a small double room in which an additional single bed was added (extra). The space left resulted in some congestion, but the small terrace overlooking the salt marshes outweighed our disappointment. We also feared the mosquito attacks but in the end they were only a few.

    The site is very special, in the middle of salt marshes, surrounded by water. Breakfast and lunch at the pool are very good, room very clean, staff is helpful, facilities good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Staff were all very friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladder in the indoor swimming pool was too short as u couldn't reach the bottom by about 3 to 4 foot hence when you tried to get out it was very difficult and hard to pull yourself up hence only used indoor pool once.

    Staff were all very friendly and efficient. Good buffet breakfast. Beautiful room with views over river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortabe room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is quite far from the city center. If you reseach a quiet relaxing place then it's OK. Unfortunately the first contact with the people at the reception was deceitful as they were quite stuck up. Staff at any hotel or resort must never forget that one can be professional and welcoming at once.

    Comfortabe room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.8
    The walls were so thin we could hear neighbours speaking all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were so thin we could hear neighbours speaking all night and couldn't sleep. We also felt they were trying to sell lots of extra items, like massages, boat trips, wine etc. breakfast offered a huge variety of food, but the quality was lacking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms could be a little bigger.

    Great architecture. Beautifully restored original buildings. Lots of outdoor space. Charming location. Felt safe. Short boat trip to a beach. Staff genuinely friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Memorable stay in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The deputy GM, Ligia was extremely friendly and nice to us. The restaurant stewards were really nice. Marco and Mario to mention a few. The resort has a lovely swimming pool area and a good spa.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    A special place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes - really would be a good idea to sell Deet and give a warning on arrival - it would not put me off but available repellent would have been appreciated

    facilities and local island

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Mosquito problem and bus service aside all other facilities were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have a major mosquito problem due to your location around river and mudflats. Much more serious action is required to combat this as it will discourage many guests from returning to your fabulous hotel. I include my wife and I in that category!! The bus service you provide is adequate for daytime but you should really consider extending the timetable to early evening to allow guests to enjoy some of the excellent restaurants in town. But that would be counter productive to your annual profit margins so you possibly would not consider that suggestion.

    Staff were premier class, food excellent and overall facilities very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    lovely hotel, if a little isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location meant that , unless you wanted to drive, you were confined to the hotel. Which was fine for our one night before flying but would have liked to have been able to stroll out to another bar.

    Stunning hotel, very quiet and quite luxurious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location being further away from town centre requires the use of a vehicle. The shuttle service was unavailable on mondays and tuesdays and had limited hours on other days.

    Comfortable beds. Breakfast was good.Beautiful grounds and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    We were celebrating my partner's birthday and they took...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were celebrating my partner's birthday and they took extra care to ensure the stay was wonderful! Delivering champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries to our room was a lovely surprise!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Unique holiday experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The usual in most hotels - lack of good reading light in room, lack of comfortable chair for sitting. This hotel needed to replace its pictures when they faded several years ago - the decor in general is rather tired.

    Rural situation. Buildings have character. Food excellent. Not your usual standardised building and setting, though it has everything a reasonable visitor might want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.0
    I requested a double bed and got twin beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested a double bed and got twin beds. The bedroom was dark and the garden water spray hit the windows all night and flooded the bedroom, besides the noise from the water that disturbed my sleep. The breakfast was of very low standard. The ingredients are very bad to start with. Mattress was old and hard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    Definitely not up to being rated 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not up to 4 star standard There should be spa slippers and bathrobe in the room. There should be shampoo, body lotion in room for a 4 star.

    The peace and quiet, beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Very relaxing - an effortless holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There were inconsistencies in the dishes from the a la carte menu depending on which chef was in the kitchen.

    The relaxing atmosphere and the helpfulness of all staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cobble stone walkways to the rooms. Should have a section of smooth path to facilitate movement of luggage from the reception to the rooms.

    Excellent Portuguese dinner on one evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    4.2
    The location was very nice, with a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not helpful or very pleasant. On check-in the girl did not smile once or even greet us.The rooms did not smell fresh, and the bed was very small.

    The location was very nice, with a lovely setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    A very relaxing time & in a beautiful spot on the Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assistance when requested from reception staff was quite poor. The floor in our room needed a good sweep through. Also the selection of food at the snack bar by the pool wasn't always very good and would have benefited from a few more staff at busy times. However, having said that we still love the hotel and Tavira and hope to return.

    The location and the layout of the hotel. Also very relaxing as the hotel is away from the town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice place for a relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Service in the restaurant for evening meals was a little sporadic.

    The boat service to the beaches was very convenient (albeit small charge) and staff on the whole were very friendly. Quiet and beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    2.5
    An hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location for those that seek isolation, quietness, the sea, wild beauty. Staff is nice, hotel is well managed. It is near old city of Tavira, beautiful golf courses, exclusive beaches. You need a car to reach them. Avoid July and August. Enjoy!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    A great place to unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is some distance from the town (an 8 Euro taxi ride each way). The buffet-style food offered lots of choice but quality was variable - some dishes were excellent, but sometimes meals were a bit dull or repetitive over the course of a week.

    A good quality hotel, developed from an old tuna fishing hamlet. The staff were friendly. There's a nice pool, a hotel boat service to the gorgeous beaches on Tavira Island and the location and ambience of the place is peaceful. Tavira town is lovely to explore and not too touristy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Loved the Ria Formosa!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable.

    We asked for an upgrade to a room with a river view. We are so glad we did. It was nice sitting outside in the evening. Never made it to the "beach" on the boat but loved walking on the beach on the river side. Great sand. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Lots of choices and even champagne. :-) Enjoyed sitting by the pool. It was nice to have grass as an option to position your lounge chair on. While there were people of all ages at the pool, it was a nice mellow vibe, and very relaxing. We had rented a car, and the town of Tavira is very close and easy to get to for shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous spot in a lovely part of Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good if the minibus went into town all days not just Wednesday to Sunday

    Very relaxing and peaceful setting.Staff superb and couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    6.7
    Not value for money given the negatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room smelled musty even when we left the door open, probably nort helped by the hotel being closed for several months each winter. Ants in the room were also an issue. Musak played loudly in all communal areas even at breakfast - when a disco beat is not really welcome.

    Free water with lime at the reception, very welcome when you arrive back hot and thirsty.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    The atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    great pool , good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great pool , good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Lovely staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Ria View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated

    Lovely staff and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    room smelt damp and dirty and some staff very rude tall lad with glasses behind recieption very rude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not clean and staff rude

    location and that's it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    The room, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool chairs

    The room, facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    If you wish to experience something new in your life, chose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wish to experience something new in your life, chose to stay at this hotel! Excellent place to relax!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    the exceptional place where the villa is situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the exceptional place where the villa is situated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, excellent location, quiet etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast & dinner were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    o transporte de barco do hotel para a ilha de Tavira deveria...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    o transporte de barco do hotel para a ilha de Tavira deveria ser gratuito.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed the holiday and would recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bar service was friendly but extremely slow

    It was peaceful and relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was good but rather basic

    Staff were friendly and facilities amazing. It was great to go for a swim and a steam before breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Stylish hotel in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We particularly loved the mix of a stylish hotel in such rugged and wild countryside. And yet, only 5 mins drive from Tavira. Spa was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Should have been longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm, comfortable, clean, friendly and very relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, very friendly staff, good beds and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, good beds and good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay and would stay there again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Ria View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shop to purchase papers ,

    Pool close to rooms , private and quite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxed stay even if traveling solo as I was this time. Man on boat adventures very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Friendly, efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/a

    Friendly, efficient staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful resort perfect for family with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful resort perfect for family with kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Fitted our ocasion perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    All staff were extra helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: