Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clube de Campo Vila Gale 4 stars

Herdade da Figueirinha, 7801-905 Albernoa, Portugal

#3 of 3 hotels in Albernoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 617 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to the hot weather they have a real problem with flies.

    It's very secluded. I think the families with small children would enjoy since there are numerous activities for children.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad thing on Thiago​ hotel its the food. In my oponion itsjust ok, and they should have more varity and quality. And there is a lack of regional gastronomy.

    Great hotel, with good facilities, great pool for adults and kids. With a great Atmosphere,Its Nice to rest, and there is plenty of activities to do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only there for 1 night so were unable to take full advantage of all that was available, but what we did experience couldn't have been better.

    Having worked in the hospitality sector for 15 years, we found staff in reception, bar and restaurant were exceptional. Clearly well trained and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very BAD place for anyone older than 10 y.o., including the parents. Very small, old fashionable rooms that should be twice bigger in a hotel of this type. Incredibly TERRIBLE food at the restaurant. We had a dinner buffet that cost us 100 euro, which consisted of sticky spaghetti and over-roasted duck wings!! We usually have a perfect dinner in a star restaurant for this money. Few waiters in the restaurant, which make them run like crazy all the time. Everything you want 'else' (like use a table game, for example), costs money. A lot of money. We left around 500 euros after spending there a day and a half. And we did NOT had a nice vacation thanks to poor room and ridiculous food. And a lot of people around, everyone with small crying kids.

    This is a GOOD place for kids 3-10 y.o. They ride amazing horses and ponies, feed animals, do some archery, take bikes, and just hang around the immense (and beautiful!) territory of the property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit pokey. Drinks were pricey

    The playground was right in front of the restaurant so very easy to keep an eye on the kids. plenty of powerful hot water in the bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food menu was a bit limited in choice and could be improved, though the service was really amazing.

    Everything was very friendly and not too many people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Crowded during public holiday and school vacation. Not enough space, nor food to serve all families at breakfast. Furniture in rooms a bit outdated.

    Ideal for families with kids, good food, beautiful vineyards and fruit trees, smal animal farm, olive trees, right in the middle of nature. Indoor swimming pool is the highlight for kids. Bed comfort was good and heat/air conditioning working nicely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame everything closes at midnight and teenagers haven't got much to do.

    Staff were lovely,breakfast was great with a wide variety to choose from, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, would recommend to families.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Halfboard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See what I like - sorry I mixed up the subjects! (noisy eating area, no soul, typical club). Not great for me but I understand it suits other kind of customers.

    Not the kind of place I like but OK for one night. Perfect for family with kids. Noisy dining/breakfast area. No charm. Soul-less as far as I am concerned. Practical place & location. But surroundings are very nice (vineyards, animals, nature...).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male staff could be nicer. Events guy especially behaved in a very unprofessional way. Very noisy in the afternoon. Buffet Dinner extremely overpriced! Also the bath is way too narrow, you feel constricted inside it. The bidet, which is a great invention, can only be used either by children or dwarfs, our legs would definitely not fit in as it was too near the wall. For these reasons, we believe it is overpriced in general.

    Beautiful location. Excellent massage provided. Variety of food. All you could need in one place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To noisy with children. Breakfast was setup around children food and the dinner we had was overcooked. Pitty.

    Real family Hotel. The facility was very nice setup and lost of space.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the length of our stay the room was never "fixed" until we asked for - at the end of the afternoon when returning from a walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daniela from the kids club was superbe and very kind to our children!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great service, prompt answer and great staff. Great for anyone with kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at lunch.

    Amazing for families with kids!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Da calma que se encontra no hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road to get there.

    The room and resort were great, but the food was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) - half board
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good buffet dinner and a very nice bar for the evening.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's not the place to be without kids because mostly this is a place for families and you will see and ear kids everywhere. It's not that we didn't like it (we were with our 2 year kid), it's just that everyone should be aware of this. We found the meals room to be a little small and in "rush hours" it was really too busy - don't expect to have a quiet and calm dinner, especially in high season.

    The place is amazing for kids: you have the animals, lots of free activities for kids during the day, free space to run and play, nice and safe playground and also the bikes and all other activities that you can pay for. For adults you have the adega which is also nice. You don't need do leave the place because all you need is inside. The property is huge and really nice to hike and ride! The area is really beautiful and the views are very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The temperature of the swimming pool was turned down, so the swim we were looking forward to on our second day was rather chilly.

    Good restaurant. Charming staff. We loved the tour round the Estate, and of the Adega. The visit to the stables, and watching the training of a colt was very special. We were lucky enough to see a flock of Bustards, which are rare. So we were thrilled.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ideal for families with kids; excellent breakfast and dinner buffets with local specialities and wines from the adjacent winery, way above the standard buffet in chain hotels.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very untrained and unprofessional staff. Activities for kids are paid for. No animation during the day or evening. Terrible coordination at the buffet restaurant, where empty trays were hardly replaced and tables were not available.

    Nice facilities.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful food, beautiful vineyards and fruit trees, smal animal farm, olive trees, right in the middle of nature. Go outside of the school vacation and there will only be the sound of the many birds, including a flamingo flock.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant could improve the offer for kids... kids corner only had deep fried stuff for the weeke we were there.

    Perfect environment for kids...

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ---

    You sleep in the middle of wine yards. In the morning sun is rising over the field you just need to open window. :)

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Clube de Campo Vila Gale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: