Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Ericeira 4 stars

Largo dos Navegantes, 2655-320 Ericeira, Portugal

#16 of 32 hotels in Ericeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1644 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is too small for a family. The price is too high for such a room size I think

    The location is great! The breakfast is good, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was terrible and shower over bath. Hotel rooms need a refurb. We felt the hotel was more suited to the 50+ age bracket.

    the location and view from room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast is good, but I would prefer to go to one of the little cafes in the streets of ericeira

    We had a fantastic view out of our room. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. We tried the gym, the spa and and the pools and couldn't have been happier. The location is perfect to explore Ericeira and it is also in walking distance to the surf beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room phone didn’t work and despite my asking, it was not repaired. Older Hotel. Great location. Close to quaint shops and restaurants

    Nice big hotel. The breakfast was fantastic. Staff was sweet and friendly. Views beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was outdated and I do not like showering whilst standing in the bath, a double bed would have been much better than twins. The bar area is too small, with not enough seating and not enough choice of drinks, especially beer. The car parking is insufficient for such a large property.

    Great location and I had a room overlooking the sea. The staff were all very nice and very helpful, breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needs to be renovated - looks very dated on the inside Spa staff were not very friendly; bit of an attitude - not enough robes

    Food is good Excellent location Beautiful building

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    We loved the outlook- over the beach. The rooms were in keeping with the age of the building but beautifully presented. We could walk to everything. We were catching an early flight and the staff organised a 5am breakfast for the 6 of us so didn’t miss out. So thoughtful and appreciated. A majestic hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom felt dated and would benefit from some upkeep and new furniture.

    Spectacular location and wonderful staff. Very clean overall and comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast buffé. Make sure to book an ocean view room, it's worth the small extra.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not very modern and would benefit from being remodelled.

    The location literally over the sea is unbeatable. If you get a ground floor room it really feels like you have the sea in your backyard. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was small, view to a building construction . Exterior parking (it was raining... so it turned out to be unpleasent) The staff in the reception was not so kind or healpfull

    Location next to the sea Breackfast Health/Wellbeing SPA

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ok, the jacuzzi could have been a bit warmer. the outdoor pools are beautiful to look at, but they aren't warm enough to make you want to jump in on a november night.

    we got a super last minute deal and the accommodation was all-around fabulous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great.

    Restored hotel with a spectacular sea-view placement. Close to the centre of Ericeira, the staff are extremely friendly and the service impeccable. Very good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not a good option for a family with 2 kids. The beds are organized in a way that 3 must sleep in a bed made by a conjunction of two single, therefore there is a "whole" in the middle.

    The outdoor area is amazing. There is a small but nice playground and a small room that kids could sit and draw for a while. There is a walking path and some outdoor tables that even in a windy/cloudy day can be used and the view is spectacular. Bathrooms are fine. Balcony again amazing view and excellent size.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel doesn't have its own airport shuttle.

    Beautiful location. Town is absolutely lovely. Great restaurants and bars. We were there for a wedding at a nearby location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here with family and my husband during our wedding in Gradil. I couldn't recommend this hotel more. The photos won't do this place justice, because it is the sounds of the ocean as you fall asleep, the big spacious balcony, and the location that really do this place justice. We spent the first night of our honeymoon here last week and the staff left us a nice bottle of bubbly, some robes and slippers, and fresh strawberries and chocolate. My family were delight by the proximity to several fantastic beaches, great breakfast and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Vila Gale is trading on its location. The hotel is very, very tired and needs to address this. Whilst there is no other 'competition' around, people have limited accommodation options, but should this situation change, Vila Gale will wish it kept up with a refurbishment programme. Bar staff and some restaurant staff could benefit from a customer care refresher course.

    Love Ericeira and Vila Gale occupies one of the best coastal locations. The room maids work extremely hard and are lovely & cheerful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has paper thin walls, woken twice at 3.30 in the morning then again at 6 every day when staff began organizing breakfast... could hear every sound in the hotel from our room on the 4th floor - even the lifts going up and down

    Great location looking over the ocean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view to the sea is amazing and the location of this hotel is unique, it is like being on a cruise boat! Beach next door and it is also in the village centre which means you can walk everywhere and have restaurants, bars, shops and other services really close by! The rooms are very good with amazing views and the beds and linen are super soft and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is very good and varied and the bar is very nice with live music sometimes. The swimming pools are on top of the sea! You can even get splashes from the Ocean! The staff is fantastic, super friendly and helpful. You feel like at home but with this amazing service and view!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This year on the odd day bedroom and bathroom were turned round hurriedly perhaps too much pressure on staff . Also I advise booking car parking space if that is possible to avoid disappointment. Never had a problem until this year on arrrival there was no space anywhere and staff at the desk weren't too sympathetic. We eventually were able to park with no problem until the rest of our stay.

    We couldn't fault it in any aspect. It's our third year so I guess that says it all. It is important that standards have been maintained. Most staff were incredibly hard working to make us fell special particularly at breakfast the bar and at the pool bar. We used the spa and massage which we recommend. The vouchers are a great incentive. Don't miss out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor.

    Lovely hotel and staff very friendly . Breakfast was good and plenty of choice . Great pool area but I would imagine it could become very busy during the high season. The hotel just seemed a little old in it's decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cold wind/breeze coming off the Atlantic Ocean.

    The meals were excellent with plenty to eat. We had a sea view so it was nice to listen to the crash of the sea waves and watch the surf boarders ride the waves.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Evening buffet was terrible - vegetables terribly overcooked, meat tough, nothing tasted fresh. It was a pity as we had been looking forward to Portuguese food.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed a touch hard and our double room was two single beds pushed together.

    Wonderful location in relation to the coast and town centre. First class staff and food supported by good quality room and general facilities such as the three swimming pools. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular worth mentioning. For those who prefer modern style it might seem a bit old fashioned, though it's decorated with traditional azulejos that makes it looks good.

    Hotel location is perfect. Just on the seaside with the 2 minutes of walk to the main city beach. The hotel is big, so there is a plenty of space on the seaside terrace where it's nice to relax with a book or drink. The personnel is great, enjoyed the stay. Perfect for relaxed vacation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little, maybe the bar area could be a little brighter. It was rather dull.

    The facilities for children are great. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean,comfortable and in a fab location. My husband and I were there previously and brought our family back this time. The children are 3 years and 7 years old and they had a truly fabulous time. We intend to return next year for a longer time,all being well. We were bed and breakfast but enjoyed the evening buffets and found we did not go out to eat as often as we had intended. This hotel suits adults and children alike and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little impersonal. Expensive. Breakfast was like a hectic self-service canteen: serving tea / coffee would have been a nice touch.

    Big old hotel. Great location over looking the ocean & comfortable. Fantastic choice of produce for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is OK but nothing special. Same every day. Coffee is all the way over in the corner, a long walk with your cup for each refill. Restaurant is expensive for Portugal. Sloppy cleaning of the room. Hotel parking always full.

    Nice location. Staff is professional and well trained. Good comfort and nice view. Public parking nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't a level of comfort I would expect for a 4* and with the price we paid. The Rooms were dated and everyone from the group agreed had a strong musty smell. The furnishings/carpet/badly positioned plugs in the rooms all added to the dated feeling. Obviously it's an older hotel so they can't really do much about it unless they do a huge interior refit, but that aspect of the stay was a little disappointing.

    Amazing location, friendly staff, great outdoor/pool areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, staff and attention.

    The hotel was poor, staff were lazy. The whole process was lazy. Service was very poor, slow and unatentive. Tables were dirty, information was poor and sometimes wrong.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and friendly hotel couldn't do enough for us, especially with a toddler always very helpful lovely little play room full of toys and colouring books...also had a fabulous massage first class😊😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like a small gym area. Mattress seemed to be plastic coated. Next room had a baby that woke at 6:30am each morning revealing how thin the walls seemed.

    Great cliff top location. Comfortable room. Upgrade to sea view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We opted for the half board. Breakfast was great. Dinner was OK but we could have had a better variety and experience for the same money in nearby restaurants.

    Amazing location and views. The hotel is very close to the center of the city as well. Very friendly staff and nice facilities. The breakfast was great. We loved our stay and would book again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Weights in the gym looking a little old and tired and could do with replacing.

    We have been coming to Vila Gale for many years. We find the place really comfortable and "easy". Nothing is too much trouble. Staff are lovely, rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is great. Very close to the old town centre, which seems to be booming and you need to spend time exploring the little alley ways. Some new restaurants opened close to the hotel so no need to walk into town (even though its no more than 10 minutes).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little bit too firm for me

    We liked everything, it was a wonderful location, everyone was so nice. We would definitely stay there again on a return trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is my 5th time here& it never disappoints! Tea& coffee making facilities in bedroom would be a plus. Love that it's overlooking sea, staff are so friendly& nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vila Gale Ericeira is an older hotel with somewhat older standards but has everything one needs; a relatively large room with a large balcony, a bathroom with a bathtub, minibar, working desk and a gorgeous seaview (one can sleep and wake to the sound of the Atlantic Ocean). The hotel also has a classic bar with a nice bartender with a true character, an attentive service staff and even smiling cleaning staff that salutes you friendly when ever you pass by. Like that! The restaurant is also ok (the local food best value on á la carte menu). The front desk staff is nothing but excellent, always there, ready and shaking some action as needed. I stayed only one night but did a lot of efficient work during my stay thank´s to the printing facilities and other business related services. There is even a free parking for one´s car and the hotel is so close to the beach (or actually by the beach) and a lot of nice restaurants and the town of Ericeira is just a minutes walk away. There are cheaper places but if you need to work and to relax, this would be nr 1 in Ericeira?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited but we were fotunate and got parking when waited for spot to open up

    Location was awesome. Place was clean and staff very accomodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather can be mixed but plenty to do if cloudy

    3rd time staying here. Friendly staff, great amenities and breakfast. Very close to town with excellent restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms,although of good size and splendid sea views, could do with a little refurbishment. The restaurant for dinner lacked atmosphere,as it still felt like the breakfast room.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, easy walking distance to the beaches and shops/local restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests in the early morning!

    On two successive nights of our stay we were awakened at approx 2am with lots of shouting and banging doors in a room 3 doors away from ours,I phoned reception twice and said they would deal with it.the noise continued until about 5 am..........most inconsiderate guests! When checking out at reception the gentleman barely acknowledged our complaint with no apology and said it was reported to the manager.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous south facing location right on the sea with spectacular views of the waves rolling in. Seems to be the most sheltered spot in Ericeira (known for its wind). Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the outside areas (handrails, floor of the playground); Poor soundproofing in between the rooms and between the rooms and the corridor; Breakfast with limited variety; Was not considered the special requests of our booking even though the hotel managed to correct it at the check-in.

    View

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great to have a kettle & tea / coffee amenities in the room, but I learned later that you can ask for it at the reception. The rest was perfectly fine!

    I had a seafront room with balcony and enjoyed that incredible ocean view. Breathtaking! Also the reception and housekeeping staff, you feel it when people love their job! Vila Gale became my new favorite place in Portugal, will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No indoor/covered pool facilities which meant we could only enjoy looking at the ocean and swimming pools due to the cooler weather.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This is our favorite hotel in Ericeira and it is strategically located to easily see the major sites without any fear of traffic congestion.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very small and hot. Not good air circulation. Pools are not heated in winter so they were never used.

    Absolutely loved the staff, room with balcony, and views of the ocean. Hotel is in a fantastic location next to the city center and walking distance to restaurants, stores, ATM.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted to have a massage. You have to book treatments directly with the spa, there wasn't always someone in the spa. When I finally managed to speak to someone after several trips back and forward the girl I spoke to (the masseuse I think) was quite rude. There were no appointments available, I wish I hadn't wasted my time trying to book. Other than the treatments though, the spa is really well appointed.

    I liked everything about the hotel. The room, the food, the staff. A really lovely stay. All the hotel staff were wonderful, particularly the restaurant staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms may need a bit of restructure. Stayed at room 510, and carpet amd wall show sign of old. Its a shame! Shower was sometimes super cold! Jacuzzi and sauna is too little (2 people). Parking lot for cars is small.

    The view and sleeping with the ocean sound is like heaven. Staff was kind and atencious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been heated a bit and the pool furniture was a bit outdated.

    The view from the room. The location and close proximity to Ericeira town center and numerous surfing spots.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel offers late checkout and let guests use the facilities till end of day. There is a shower room people can use but towels and toiletries are not provided.

    Superb location, very comfortable, multiple indoors and outdoors facilities: swimming pools, SPA, restaurants, bars... Delicious breakfast. The best choice for summer vacations.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to get coffee by the cup from a self service area at breakfast was a pain and downright dangerous with people walking around with hot cups of coffee. They need jugs and preferably waiter service of the drinks. This hotel could be really good with a little bit of effort.

    The view from the balcony was stunning. A number of fabulous restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes towel provision was lacking but I believe at the time, they were having some problems.

    The facilities and the service. Hospitality was as before brilliant. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I love the fact that I can top up with a lovely espresso as I forgo of the sparkling wine so early in the morning. The A la Carte menu was very good. A couple of us had two different cod dishes and my husband had the fresh tuna steak. The beds provided very good night sleep to all in the party. The swimming pools and outside well cared and pleasant areas were inviting to relaxation. Indoors the lounge areas were quiet and very relaxing. I felt I could be in public on my own in privacy. We couldn't fault anything. Will definitely go back if the prices don't run up.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff upgraded us to a room with a view. The staff was incredible in every department. Breakfast was very nice. Loved all of the pools and access to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just average and did not like that tea and coffee was not served at the table .This resulted in guests taking cups of hot drinks to the tables which we felt was dangerous especially as there were many children

    Fab location and wonderful friendly staff.Evening buffet was just wonderful with a stunning array of delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had champagne on the first night and the bucket and the dirty glasses stayed in the room until we left. We had an extra bed with a duvet without a cover we asked for a cover for our entire stay but we didn't get any.

    The staff was amazing, the food was excellent. Other than bedding and cleanliness of the room everything was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room lighting could be better - a bit gloomy ( including the bathroom ) The dining room sounded very 'clattery' when busy. The a la carte menu food & buffet whilst acceptable promised more than it delivered. Parking up at or near the hotel was often difficult, although drop-off & short-stay was easy at the hotel.

    The VIEWS!! The room air-con was fantastic Breakfast on the terrace Breakfast itself Balcony / double-doors facility Comfortable beds Helpful staff The pools area & facilities. Proximity to beach & town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet very unstable and sometimes slow.

    Great views on the Atlantic, old and chic architecture, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to update there rooms it's very outdated, My daughter didn't even have a proper mattress in her bed they used a cushion from an outdoor chair which caused the middle of the bed to have a lump which is uncomfortable for a 1 year old to sleep in and for the price you pay this is unacceptable.

    Staff where very friendly and helpful, food was nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed staying in this beautiful hotel fantastic location overlooking the sea really friendly staff and great pool. Looking forward to coming back

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff must be advice not to argue in front of the guest regarding their tasks.

    The location and the kindness of the staff. the breakfast were outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel not iron! Two single beds in all room.

    Clean hotel, staff amazing and generally laid back. Hotel in right in the middle of Erricia so perfect and local food is great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry, but only the location lived up to expectations. Old hotel, the room was poorly cleaned and the extra bed for our 17-year old son was way too small- the mattress was 20 cm too short and made for a child.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't liked the condition of the hotel for the price that we paid. The rooms are small and look old. It seems that the management is not puting a lot of effort in improving the conditions of the hotel in respect to fix some furniture, improve the toillets and even fix the windows and isolation of the room. The breakfast has a lot of things but I found ridiculous to have to pay extra if I wanted an omolete instead of scrumble and fried eggs.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the room

    Great View

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy , I could hear everything from my neighbors.

    Great sea views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were moldy - no service with luggage offered when we arrived. There was also no iron.

    Location and room view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always feel at ease here. The sound of the sea, beautiful views and welcoming staff make this hotel a lovely place to escape to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Awesome will definitely recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like tea/coffee making facilities in room& maybe a double bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible staff! It was our first holiday with our 7 month old and they couldn't have done anymore for us!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was boring

    Great location facing the ocean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be tricky.

    Sea view from my bedroom was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A kettle in room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generator running until very late just outside our room, the sound insulation is not ideal.

    Amazing location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean, amazing view. The staff was very attentive polite and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vila Gale Ericeira traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: