Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Marina 4 stars

Av. Da Marina, lote H-2, 8125-401 Vilamoura, Portugal

#45 of 143 hotels in Vilamoura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1048 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thought the bath was difficult to get in or out of without slipping, Bathrooms are very small but adequate.

    Good English or continental breakfast. Found going around 10.a.m. there is plenty of room as most golfers have left by then. Have stayed three times and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Paying for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very dated and could really do with updating. LONG queues every morning for breakfast, so fed up one morning waiting that we went out for breakfast, dining room just not big enough to cater for guests. No smoking on balconies but that didn't stop our neighbours either side so couldn't enjoy time on balcony. My 8 yr old very disappointed with the practically non existent kids club. No pool games, no movie night, no nothing really for kids except for a pool table (that we had to pay for) and the swimming pools. Nightly entertainment really could do with improvement. Price of alcohol very expensive in comparison to bars and restaurants on the Marina. We knew when booking that we were paying for the location and not the hotel and that's what we got

    Location perfect. Pools were good size. Good selection at breakfast. Views from balconies wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Happy Holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My wife thinks an iron in the room would be good. Also a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities would be useful, they provide them for of charge if you ask though. The pool area could do with someone walking around taking drinks and snacks orders, this would ease the burden on the barman from trying to prepare drinks in one go to a lot of people coming to the bar and, then have nothing to do. I think the extra drinks sold would more than cover the cost of an extra person.

    All of the staff were very friendly and always had time to chat, we only ate at the hotel at breakfast time, which was very good. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the marina and lots of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could have been a little more cleaner especially the bathroom.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. Walking distance to the beautiful Maria. The bed was comfortable but a little too soft for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly, no kettle in room, paying for safe which should be free. I have stayed all inclusive in better hotels for far less money with more friendlier staff. Would not recommend to anyone.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A week of pure bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Myself and my partner tried hard to think of anything wrong with this hotel. The only thing we could point out which was incredibly minor, is that we couldn’t find the address on google maps, we were directed to the wrong hotel by google maps when we arrived, but again this is so minor in comparison to the thoroughly enjoyable hotel we had at this hotel

    Myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our time in this hotel, from beginning to end our stay was flawless, staff were so accommodating and always eager to help us in any way. Even on my birthday I was surprised to find a bottle of champagne and a slice of chocolate cake with a candle, it was such a kind and thoughtful gesture from a hotel which clearly is alert and eager to please. Our previous holiday had been a disaster all because of a different accommodation but this hotel well and truest restored our confidence in going abroad for holidays. The rooms were lovely and so clean, the pool was really big and had plenty of sun chairs available, the beach was about 5 minutes walk, and the marina which was bustling with pubs and restaurants was a mere 2 minute walk across the street. Honestly could not recommend enough. We are already planning our return

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    More like 3 star and refurbishment required but good location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. rooms need updating 2. pool area too small 3. wifi quality poor and constantly disconnecting 4. Only a 4 star based on facilities, i.e. indoor pool, small fitness centre but without these it is a 3 star which needs a refurbishment

    Location is good, very close to the marina. Breakfast was also good with plenty of choices from the buffet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    The rooms and balcony were v spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an upgrade of its decor. Also a kettle in room would be good. Or just upgrade the suites by having a kitchenette with hob, microwave, kettle and sink. The pool area needs modernisation. The sun loungers are worn out. New modern ones would help a lot to upgrade that area. Also the lobby needs modernisation in terms of decor.

    The rooms and balcony were v spacious. The beds were comfortable. Staff were helpful. It was quiet. I had breakfast included and it was tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    Doesn't worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Expensive. Outdated. The carpets on the floor were old and kind of dirty. The cleaning lady came only after we complained to the Reception office. What was unusual and very unpleasant for us was that we had to pay for the the safe box, per day, in order to use it. It was the first time that i have ever heard of such a thing. Also, when we checked out i had the bad surprise to hear that we should pay the water from the minibar ( it was only water in minibar ), even though in the room we had no price list /menu. I checked for a price list/ menu and when i couldn't find one i assumed that the water was complimentary. No! It was not! And it was very expensive!!!

    It is centrally located and you have a nice view over the ocean and the Marina from top floors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    In need of updating, needs plug sockets in the rooms that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of updating, needs plug sockets in the rooms that are by a mirror so you can plug straighteners into do your hair. The shower is a bit rubbish. Apart from that it’s an amazing place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location but average everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seem to be run with minamal staff with nobody to welcome guests or help with luggage. The pool bar and area was nice but served their coffee in a styrofoam cup which is hardly appropriate for a coffee that costs 2 euro. Gym was also very poor for a hotel of this size.

    Great location and nice pool area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Great holiday in a good hotel that has all you really need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Car parking was difficult but you could generally find somewhere to park for free. Night time entertainment was a bit of a token gesture but with the marina is so close few stayed in the hotel. Pool bar was a bit slow at times but nothing to get up tight about. We stayed for 10 nights and found that we could have done with some more storage rather than the table and chairs in the bedroom.

    Breakfast was excellent. Location was close to the marina and the beach. Great views from our balcony. Hotel was full when we stayed but no problem getting sunbed by the pool and queue for breakfast moved quickly. Hotel was very quiet at night and no noise from other rooms. Room spotless and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and rooms are dated, could do with a children’s pool and most of pool area is shaded throughout the day. Would say is a 3* hotel and not a 4*. Expensive for the quality of the hotel

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing and bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were unfriendly at check in and check out. They were not interested in us or how our stay was. Our room was falling apart and needs a complete refurbishment. 3 star hotel at a push.

    The restaurent staff were great. Breakfast was good. Our balcony had a great view over the marina

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel and well recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was awful not controlled and open to anyone to use rather then just guests hotel should just get barriers and allowed only guests to park

    Food was brilliant and all staff were very friendly, rooms very nice with comfy beds great pool too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location a few steps from the Marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini Bar situation not clearly outlined on check in or on the fridge itself. Simply had water in it which we deemed complimentary. Only to be charged at check out.

    Ideal location a few steps from the Marina. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice pool facilities and Breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed in Vila Gale Marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was very disappointed in this hotel, especially how old the room was and there was a mildew smell in the bathroom. For the amount of money we paid, it was not worth it. The pool was okay, they say no saving chairs but every morning you would see people starting early placing their towels on chairs to save them. There is also no parking lot available. If you are lucky, there are some spots for free around the hotel, otherwise you have to drive around to find parking.

    The location was walking distance to the marina restaurants and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Just about everything great breakfast lots of sunbeds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for 3 bottles of water which I didn't know about.

    Just about everything great breakfast lots of sunbeds and ideal location to the marina.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Girls Long Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was dull & there was no plug points near a mirror...nightmare for doing your hair.

    The beds were comfy, great central location & friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Slow service throughout the hotel
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar did not have enough staff to facilitate the amount of people out there. Service was slow, food was extremely slow to come out and to top it off the price was a rip off.

    Breakfast was really good, lots of options from cooked food to fruit, breads, pastry cooked to order omelette. Location is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Location, close to marina and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of info on arrival, weren't told where to go for breakfast, where to get towels. Rooms not ready on check in time.

    Location, close to marina and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Really relaxing enjoyable stay , a lot of time spent outside of hote but very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been better facilities and better atmosphere and entertainment at night

    Good breakfast selection and location was fantastic and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you were not informed that the water left out in room and replaced each day had to be paid for on departure .a few guests on check out were quite surprised also 🤔

    Rooms very spacious big balcony very quiet great pool area and amazing seaviews and view of marina from balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, location excellent, would definitely recommend and would hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I took all the blankets that were not needed (because of the heat) off the bed on the first night and folded them away. Without any instruction or request the house-keeping staff understood our needs and just made the bed each day using the light sheets we had left on the bed (very perceptive & saved me repeating the same process each night).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too small for number of guests staying. Mini hot dog cocktail sausages for breakfast? Drinks machines crammed in corners too close to tables. The lifts! Freezing cold swimming pool.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    3rd visit, says it all ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    pool area slightly cramped and people DO RESERVE sunbeds - it really needs addressing.

    Elios from the animation team was very friendly and very good at entertaining children and adults. The guys who prepared the eggs/omelettes in the morning should be given a medal ;-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location close to marina and beach and super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs to be upgraded which I think they are planning. Also need better facilities for those with restricted mobility in the room, like a walk in shower.

    Great staff, very helpful. Great breakfast and food, good pool and 5 min walk to marina and also beach, excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much cupboard/drawer space if you're there longer than a week but they do offer s laundry service.

    Breakfast was very good and my personal favourite was the omelettes. The pool area was fine with plenty of bed and parasols.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bad smell in the reception area. Our room was for 3 but the third person had to sleep on camp bed! Which was placed outside bathroom door which posed a potential accident if one were to visit bathroom in the night. We had to arrange room to fit it alongside the other beds. The whole hotel looked dated. The pool area was unappealing. Breakfast area was shabby and breakfast choice not up to much

    Maid service was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safes in the rooms are not part of the deal, and there I should a 2.50 Euro rate per day to have them which seems a bit bizarre - bit of a money grab

    Generally very good, staff friendly, efficient, and very courteous. Breakfast was really good especially the gent that made the custom omelettes - almost like going to ihop in the USA

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location, nice pool, near to beach, clean and fab...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working fan in bathroom, no sun on balcony any part of the day on our side of the hotel. We were in room 622

    Lovely location, nice pool, near to beach, clean and fab breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Really lovely hotel with almost perfect location and clean throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    More staff at the pool bar would have been well received, as it got busy quite quickly, especially during the weekend. Entertainment team could be distracting as well, their music could be very loud at times. Breakfast could be quite busy as well. Had to complain one night due to the noise being made by other guests, the hotel seemed to be popular with stag and hen parties at the weekend.

    Location is excellent. Plenty of room around the pool during the day, even at busy weekend. Rooms were clean every day to a high standard. We had a room on the 8th floor, I'd recommend getting a room high up to ensure you get a view of the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall an excellent and enjoyable stay and I highly recommend this classic hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection

    The hotel's location (2 minutes walk to the amazing marina) and its staff. They sent a bottle of champagne and cake to my room on my birthday. Very original and well received.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough beds or chairs around the pool area. I stayed here for 5 nights and there was never a spare bed by the pool. People put their towels down and equipment for the day early in the morning and then no room by the pool for the day

    Good location and good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, great location. Staff friendly and helpfull. My only gripe would be that it's could take a while to get served at the poolside bar sometimes. I will be returning in September and looking forward to it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Definitely return,that says it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small thing,I love when tea and coffee are served at breakfast,

    Friendly staff,clean comfortable hotel,lovely pool area,great breakfast,great location,definitely stay again,my friends had a sea view , which was really a bonus,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, beautiful rooms with amazing views, great breakfast and the best location for all the fabulous restaurants and bars. The staff were excellent. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was good and as per expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A party of mature couples were particularly loud around the pool area for a few hours one night otherwise everything was as good and as expected

    No complaints , the hotel was of a good standard and staff friendly .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    A bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room which is very poor for a 4* hotel. Hotel is quite tired and needs refurbishment. Vouchers given on check in were pretty much useless -discount voucher for the Spa but far more generous discounts were published on a notice in the lift!

    The staff were excellent, friendly and professional. Lovely room with a balcony overlooking the marina

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Plug in bath did not work so unable to use it Strange smell in lobby and room - sewerage issue Entrance via a slipway at the front of the hotel - in disrepair and badly lit Having to pay to use the safe

    Decent breakfast with plenty of options available Comfortable bed Amazing marina view Very friendly and helpful staff Very well priced for the location Excellent WIFI

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    One of the staff( Liliana) was helpful at the check in,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room’s toilet( 7th floor) was smelling really bad- as if not properly cleaned and also of sewage. Everything else ok, but no more than ok. Price- quality imbalance.

    One of the staff( Liliana) was helpful at the check in, solving some confusion the colleagues did not manage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    TBH for a 4 Star rating it was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Iron at all! No Tea and coffee unless requested and then no hurry to bring it up! Had to pay to use the safe in room and the Pool was very cold.

    Great location to marina and beach. Great breakfast. Most Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location for walking to Marina. Great breakfast selection with helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired.

    The location of this hotel is perfect. Beach or Marina, both easy to get to. We upgraded from a basic room, so had pool view and beyond to glimpses of Marina and hills.... which was perfectly OK, sadly our room was a tad on the tired side, so not a good impression I’m afraid! 10 out of 10 for the kitchen staff who made up a tray of gluten free products for breakfast. The best variety I have ever been given in an hotel.....Well Done Guys!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    overall v good, location great, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for kettle for room on checkin, had to ask 5 more times before getting it 48 hrs later.

    Pool area v nice, pool bar good value for snack etc. Housekeeping v good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good enough but could be crowded at times

    Nice big bed, great view from the balcony, very good generally. Asked for twin room, got double but they changed it immediately. Great staff period.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Lovely stay would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A food vending machine would be good for treats... little noisy but I guess that’s with all hotels at night time

    Great location, great staff very friendly, breakfast amazing, pool cold though but it’s May... would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel needs a little modernising, especially in the bathroom. Probably would not return, re golfers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of noisy golfers especially around reception area waiting for their transport to the courses. They had no thought for guests trying to pass through reception. They left their golf bags and trolleys in the walkway between the entrance and the lifts making it very awkward to get through. Recommend the Hotel asks them to put them to one side near the front window out of the way.

    Location was excellent, easy walk to port. Top floor room was quieter. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Indoor pool and jacuzzi was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Vilamoura short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren't allowed to pay for Half Board once there for remaing days of stay. The lady Receptionist told us to go to the Marina for food- strange that she didn't want us to put our money in their till!

    The location to the Marina and beach, the lightness of the rooms, cleanliness and the size of balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Unlikely to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A not very pleasant smell from the bathroom, improved after I complained but returned by the end of my stay.

    Spacious room, clean and tidy. Good location and view over the marina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Another very enjoyable stay and will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolside has declined since 2017 abdvtfe tables at side of the sun beds were not cleaned at all during our stay, whereas in 2017 they were cleaned each evening.

    Rooms are great and very well equipped for your holiday needs. Staff service and friendliness is excellent. Rooms are clean, serviced everyday and all amenities replenished. The hotel provides towels at reception for use by the pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Location was fantastic for the Marina and the Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was fantastic for the Marina and the Beach. Both within a few minutes walk of the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice. Large room, ours had a full view over the marina, which was a nice bonus. Pool area was clean and beach towels provided. Small supermarket next door, but plenty of restaurants very close by. Booked a massage (although in the Vila Gale across the road) it was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall a pleasant stay but unsuitable for guests with poor mobility but the staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a suitable hotel for guests with mobility problems due to the following: 1) Difficulty in actually accessing the property which is up a hill and quite steep 2) No Dropped Curves to accommodate a wheel chair or mobility scooter to get up or down 3) Disabled room which had been pre-booked was not ready on our day of arrival and facilities in that room were very poor - apart from being wider, there was no walk in shower as the shower was in the bath! Which made it impossible for certain members of our group to take a shower. Also it was advertised on their website that there would be a buffet restaurant in the evenings but it was only an A La Carte which was good but limited. When I asked the Management about the evening buffet, they said it was closed until the following Sunday - not what was stated on the website when I booked or when we all checked in!

    The buffet breakfast was very good and all staff were very professional and helpful at all times Ideal hotel for able bodied guests who are able to climb into the bath to have a shower ! Rooms were very nice and we all had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area not very busy in evenings and lacked atmosphere. Possibly because season had just started.

    Fabulous hotel, would definitely stay there again. Very clean, central location close to beach and marina, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Rooms are very dated and the place needs a makeover.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a junior suite as it was the only room left. But despite two large rooms, the position of the two large balconies meant they never received any direct sunshine so the suite was cold and dull. Also the bathroom was tiny for a so-called suite and very dated. Overall the room was well below par for £125 a night.

    Staff very helpful. Check in busy but efficient. Breakfast v good, plenty of choice including great selection of fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a choice of alcoholic drinks in the bar (gin drinker)

    I loved the position of the room which had a fabulously good sized sun terrace - big enough for sun loungers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyable short break with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View and Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath either needs enamelling or it was not very clean. The lighting in the room was poor and there could have been more mirrors to get ready with. There was also a severe lack of hangers in the wardrobe to hang clothes up. If you wanted any spa treatments you had to trek to another hotel.

    The breakfast was delicious. The spa facilities were okay. The putty-up bed I slept on was pure comfort although the hotel beds were hard. Excellent location as you were central to the Marina

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is in a great location, only 2 mins walk from marina and 3 mins walk to the beach. Small supermarket only 2 mins walk away also. Plently of lovely places to eat & drink within the whole area. Gorgeous Chinese restaurant just across the road and up the stairs facing the marina. We had lunch in the hotel bar one day and it was really nice and very good value. Hotel is spotless clean, as is the pool area , I hope to return to Vila Gale Marina in the very near future .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    fantastic break in a lovely area in an excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all excellent

    the hotel was very clean and comfortable , our room was on the 8th floor with a fantastic view of the marina. The selection at breakfast time was excellent with full english available as well as continental style meats , cheeses and fruits. The bed was very comfortable and all around I could not find any fault . The staff were very helpful as well. 5 stars!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent family hotel, wouldn’t hesitate going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was room wasn’t cleaned until very late two days, and outside pool was too cold but that’s probably out of their control

    Brilliant staff, excellent sized room for two adults, four children. Breakfast was excellent. Location is right beside the marina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    I liked it and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I'm not a complainer but if there was a couple of things I'd look to improve one would be the Power points, Mobile device charge points in the room that stayed powered when you left them room as I had issues charging my tablet when I was not in the room although I made a work around to resolve this. The hotel entrance 'road' I found a bit odd as when you return from the Marina side you have to walk up the driveway as there's no pavement for Pedestrians from what I saw. From the other side there is a small footbridge that leads to the beach so that's ok. Neither of the above issues were a deal breaker for me but its just something that they could look at.

    View from my room was good with nice balcony overlooking the pool and nearby Marina (photo attached). Showering facilities were great. Room temperature controls were also good with air conditioning and heating on one remote. Reliable fast internet access (Wireless) up to 30-35MB speed which was great as I had to do some work whilst there. I'm not a breakfast person but the Breakfast Buffet selection and quality was very good. Tried dinner buffet one evening (not included in the room rate) with Family and friends that were visiting and the quality of the food they thought was very good to excellent. One of my guests was a vegan and thought the menu for them was limited but the chef made a special dish for her and she was over the moon with it. Staff seemed friendly enough and all spoke English well so no issues for me here. I stayed in late March for 5 nights which was off peak season and although there were lots of Golfers staying there (the Golf bags gave them way :-) ) the hotel was not at full capacity or too busy which was perfect for me. The hotel Location for me was perfect, right by the marina where bars, restaurants and the beach are like 100-200 metres away and easy access to bus services to other towns and cities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    I excepted 4 star but it felt a bit sad and tired more like a travel lodge and the service 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted room service no answer so after 5 mins decided to call reception still no answer. Eventually went to reception there were 2 men doing nothing who took our order.

    It is very close to the marina, the receptionist quickly rectified the problem we had with our room and the bar staff were friendly. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great venue, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one person at check in desk for a while so large queue formed, but another joined after a while and things were quick after that.

    Close to the lively marina area with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    It is only a short walk from beach. Would like to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was rather poor. Considering overall quality you would normally expect better quality. We visited at a low season, it might be different on high season.

    Large rooms. Good location to visit Faro and nearby beaches.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work started outside on the balcony at 7.30am without any prior warning. Men were on the balcony shouting at each other and our balcony was left unusable due to building masonry and debris.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, big junior suite with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the indoor pool/ sauna area as the latter wasn’t working. We just went and used the facilities at the sister hotel 400m away.

    Great check in experience from Marco. Lots of local info about Carnival. Junior suite was much bigger than most. Big, comfy sofa bed. Separate bedroom . Both with big French doors onto large balcony. Lovely view into the Marina and the beach in the distance. All v clean. Bathroom was fine, nothing fancy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, well run hotel in a great location and with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    first class breakfast, great sea and harbour views, lovely staff, hotel has seen better days and needs a refurb, but that is more then made up for with the staff and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    all in all very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was on A break with my sister and she is a smoker, she was put out when she found out she could not smoke on the balcony as she did last year. She feels it should have been mentioned when we booked.

    everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.4
    Not happy after our week stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clean .constant smell of sewerage from our room.no facilities for children .pool is north facing so doesn't get any sun so pool is always cold.

    Location was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no plug socket available near a mirror in the bedroom. For most women, it's essential there is a socket near a mirror for hair styling purposes.

    The beds were so comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff, very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, i wasnt keen on the breakfast, needs a bit more variety, and the pool area could do with an upgrade. But apart from that i will still keep going back to this hotel because we love it.

    We go every year and greeted very well, very polite staff, clean and tidy hotel Fantastic location. All rooms have a veiw of the marina, on the left side looking at the hotel from the front if your lucky enough , you get the sea veiw as well as the marina. Great hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Vilamoura lovely - not ideal hotel though
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our arrival, when we finally got to check into our room, we found it was not only not set up for the three people it was booked for, but absolutely stank of stale cigarette smoke. As non smokers who despise smoke, let alone the fact two of us have asthma, there was absolutely no way we could stay in that room. On moving to another room, by the time everything was actually finally sorted, it was gone 22:30 so we were far too exhausted to go out, thus wasting one of our few nights stay. Within our new room, before we arrived there and throughout our stay, it was dirty. The floor was dirty throughout the room and we could even see pubic hairs on the floor in the bathroom that were there when we arrived and there still when we checked out. The bath was dirty and never cleaned, along with the towels which some even appeared to have unknown stains on of which we were reluctant but had no choice but to use. I am utterly gobsmacked that on our last nights stay, we were called by reception at 23:15 - WAKING us all up requesting we pay - why on earth were you calling us rather than just waiting until check out? We booked through booking.com so you had our credit card details anyway. Food at breakfast was poor with little selection and the design of the hotel is utterly ridiculous meaning the sunshine is barely ever on the pool making sunbathing near impossible! We were utterly astonished and very disappointed with our stay. It was not at all worth what was paid. At checkout we weren't even asked if we enjoyed our stay or had any issues.

    Nothing about hotel - Vilamoura as a place is great though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel but better suited for large groups of golfers than couples seeking a quiet romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy golfers who took over the pool and jacuzzi areas with no consideration of others. The hotel itself is nice but it's very much geared up for large groups of boisterous golfers, although the staff do address issues.

    Very helpful, efficient and friendly staff. Nice view from balcony. Asked for a room high up away from the noisy, boisterous groups of golfers, a small minority of whom have no consideration for fellow guests. They obliged, giving me a room on the 8th floor but there was still a fair bit of noise from the pool area and the walls are very thin so you can hear conversations in the next room. Pool and Jacuzzi looked nice and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Overall ok but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    With so much of price paid, a basic necessity like water could be free of cost for breakfast and dinner. Also, it would be better if the hotel had more of vegetarian options for food.

    Kids room where kids enjoyed a lot. Heated pool was great with free sauna and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pictures of the hotel show that is has a gym in it. The gym pictured was not the one at this hotel. The one at this hotel was a waste of time with next to nothing in it. I booked this hotel for a few reasons and one was the gym which I was very disappointed in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    fantastic stay at the vila gale and exploring the local area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wifi is very poor ,

    Great Hotel , Great Location , very helpful and friendly Staff excellent facilities at the Hotel , very good breakfast , only downside it can be a little noisy with groups of golfers in the early hours , despite that I have booked again for next year at the vila gale

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: