Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Collection Praia 4 stars

Praia da Galé, 8200-917 Albufeira, Portugal

#7 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 199 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that there were a number of times when a few guests saved their beds by putting their towels out. Ok. Maybe I’m being a bit picky here, I don’t mind if it’s for an hour while they have breakfast. Or even if they pop out for a spot of lunch. But to leave their towels until midday or even early afternoon is NOT on. And I wish the hotel made that as a strict policy.

    I choose this hotel as it is targeted for adults only with no small children allowed. But they do have a sister hotel located behind that is perfect for families with youngsters. Although I do not use the gym facilities myself it’s ideal for the younger adults as well as the tennis courts. For me personally I come here for the quiet relaxation . The location is very close to the beach with quite a few very reasonable priced restaurants close by. There is a supermarket a couple of hundreds yards away plus a newsagent next door. Recently the hotel has opened a pizza/ snack/ style restaurant next door and the food is of high quality and very reasonably priced. I have stayed here 3 times in the last 4 years.and Will definitely be going back next year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    This is an exceptional hotel. Very relaxing. Staff is exceptionally polite and helpful. Bedrooms very comfortable, clean and spacious with balcony. I had a delicious dinner in the restaurant and excellent breakfast in my room in the morning. The pool area is lovely and there are also tennis courts and spa. Directly across the road is a beautiful beach with a few nice places to eat or have a leisurely drink. This is an hotel for people who would like a quiet holiday. This is my second year staying at the Vila Gale Praia and I hope I get the chance to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the staff would try to help with anything you asked for, they were strangely lacking in any warmth, or any sign of actually being pleased to see you, or to help. No smiles, no friendly small talk or sense of humour. Their English was quite good so language wasn't the problem. The only other thing to mention was that it seemed hard, at breakfast to find anyone to get a cup of tea for you. They did come around with coffee at some point. I think one or two more staff on hand at breakfast would be a good idea.

    Everything about the hotel itself was wonderful. From the spacious room and bathroom, to the cleanliness of the rooms and the pool and the attractive grounds and look of the hotel itself. It was all very relaxing and calm as they don't allow young children to stay there. It was pleasing that they brought extras to your room, such as water and fruit and we were given little tubs of delicious coconut ice cream, one day by the pool. We were also invited to a wine tasting and a farewell drink. The location was wonderful, as so close to the beach, a couple of minutes walk. A few more minutes walk and there was a large supermarket to browse around. Right next to the hotel there were a couple of small shops and a great restaurant, which they owned, as an addition to the hotel restaurant. This advertised itself as a pizza restaurant but had other tasty dishes too. Six of us had a very enjoyable meal there one evening. I would definitely stay at Vila Gale Praia again, if I was visiting the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest is at the centre of everything and the mission of every member of staff is to make sure that each guest has everything they require. It has always been a pleasure to stay at this hotel in the past and this time it was even better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard mattress, cleaners came late afternoon/early evening as we were getting ready to go out, breakfast was poor - 3/3 times had to grab a waiter to get some coffee. No-one manning the bar so slow service

    Quiet, easy to get a space by the pool, good value spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints which is why this was our second visit.

    Well managed hotel with well trained and professional staff. Very comfortable rooms and open spaces. Only 200yds from a sandy beach stretching for miles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although the restaurant caters for vegetarians, gluten free, etc., there could have been a bit more choice on the general menu but the food offered was very good. The additional restaurant, owned by the hotel and just a few yards away, was very good too with a good menu at reasonable prices.

    Good buffet breakfast. Excellent attentive staff. Very clean everywhere. Beautiful pool area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    coffee was weak and the staff at the reception was nice enough, but I'm not interested in small talk.

    Good breakfast, the lady who served breakfast had my eggs ready every day before I even arrived--she was super nice! nice big comfy bed, great location next to beach and grocery store nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent friendly staff, couldn’t do enough for you. Great location. Small enough for a really personal service. Great wine tasting evening. A super team lead by a superb manager.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Unable to find any fault with this hotel.

    I am sight impaired and found all the staff to be welcoming, cheerful and extremely helpful to my special needs. My carpeted room was very quiet and adequately furnished. Huge comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facility in room. Close to sandy beach with restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Albufeira is about a 12-15 minute drive. Parking might be a problem during busier summer months, we stayed in October, so had no difficulty.

    Hotel location.... less than 5 minutes walk to Gale beach. Staff were excellent-very helpful and friendly. Nice pool area and jacuzzi, well equipped gym. Adult only, so very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the third floor and Our room was not cleaned until 3 pm- for us was inconvenient as we prefer to rest in the afternoon.

    Everything- spacious room with the balcony, comfortable king size bed, nice linens, coffeemaker in the room. Staff is excellent and friendly- most speak good English and ready to help with tours, special food orders, extra pool towels, etc. 5 min walk to a beautiful sandy beach and a few decent beachfront restaurants offering today's catch. Don't miss a sunset- one of the best

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking when we arrived was difficult because it's so close to a popular beach and restaurant but after 6pm spaces did appear as people left the beach .

    The hotel was very good , staff were excellent , friendly and efficient . Rooms were nice and the beds were large and comfy .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful pool with plenty of loungers...being hypercritical, poolside tables and loungers could have been cleaned down daily

    So peaceful yet so close to the beach.wonderful staff, couldn't do enough for us. No organised excursions, activities or entertainment but that suited us and close to Albufeira which is very busy...just a 15 minute taxi ride away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that we didn't like was the pile of waste across the street from the hotel. It does not fit into the nice neighborhood.

    This is a very nice place away from hustle. Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to great beaches with good restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like. They could start to carry Cliff Richard's wines - which I told them! The white especially is delicious!

    The hotel was very tranquil - it made me relax which I'm not used to doing! I couldn't fault anything and to walk across the road to the beach was a bonus. I must praise highly the exceptional receptionist Ana for making me feel at home and for hugely exceeding her duties in helping with everything - from my e-mails before I traveled organizing taxis etc. to looking after my every query during my stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was terrible. The outdoor sunbathing area (mainly sun shades) seemed to be not very well maintained. The parking situation isn't very good, as you're so close to the beach it is used by other beach goers, which doesn't leave you with many spaces - if any when in peak season.

    The staff were extremely helpful, and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Halfboard
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool temperature should be min. 29C and spa pool 35C plus Broken sunbeds- Lack of staff for bar -slow service at Dinner Extra 35 euros for pool facing room

    Staff are all excellent and helpful- Great breakfasts too

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half board menu should have been menu of the day. It appeared to us that half board was an inferior status, whereas booking half board helps the hotel by committing the guests to eat there in advance.

    Staff, comfort and quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On several days there were no towels for pool. Need more staff in bar and restaurant.

    Loved being walking distance to the beach. Restaurant and bar very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in corridors and rooms could be improved. We found the one evening meal which we had to be too salty for our tastes.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nearby Gale beach offered a wonderful opportunity to walk off the very good breakfasts and being adult only meant it was peaceful by the pool too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite far to walk to different restaurants, bars, shops etc.

    Quiet location. Amazing beach across the road with mostly locals. Good breakfast with prosecco! Great spa facilities and reasonable prices on treatments. Lovely pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely hotel, great facilities and fantastic staff - perfect for a peaceful getaway. Also ideally located at less than 5 minutes' walk away from the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I would have liked was better and more secure WiFi throughout the hotel.

    Our entire stay was magnificent. The staff was very attentive and the romance package was great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visited end of May to beginning of June. The room price increased dramatically when June hit...be nice if there was something in place to give a bit more value for money!

    Amazing location for a quiet and relaxing break, this was my second visit to this hotel and I again found the staff and setting to be perfect. I will be visiting for hotel again in the near future!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    perfekt breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. The Hotel was very close to the beach. I think its a very good starting point to explore the beautiful coastline. nice Massage to realx.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to report

    close to beach..staff..lovely room..kettle..bath & shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic, location ideal, pool area greatt, room spacious, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so peaceful. It was very clean and presented beautifully. The staff were very polite and welcoming. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gvery enjoyable rest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtesy of staff under difficult driving conditions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The whole stay from start to finish was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms and, as an adult-only hotel, very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility for making omelette,fried eggs. Great choice of hot and. cold foods. Plenty of options for fruit juices and natural fruits

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No children were allowed in the premises, not even to wait in the reception. I had family visiting and they couldn't come in. Unacceptable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with being modernised. Service (bar and housekeeping) was occasionally slow

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet peaceful hotel close to a lovely beach , with good restaurants bars overlooking the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The horrible photos in the restaurant and bar area

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very gracious, helpful staff; big room with lovely balcony overlooking beautiful pool grounds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's been our third time now such a relaxing place all staff are really nice .took our friends this time and they loved it to

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Plesent staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was a bit slow

    From check-in to check out everything was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous, great location and amazing staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. I do not spread Portugese. The staff all spoke good English. I would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent service all round.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The scrambled eggs were a bit rubbery, having been lying out too long

    It was good that you could order poached eggs or an omelette freshly cooked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing wrong at all

    All very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Halfboard
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff where excellent ,always there to help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms need updating, a bit drab!l

    The staff are fantastic & good food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location just next to the beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many French people this year.

    Breakfast and staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly staff, very clean hotel, also extremely reasonable food, lovely lunches,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the bed was too hard, breakfast food often overcooked or been left too long on the heated plates

    stafff and location both excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was quite slow but everything else was lovely

    Very friendly staff and lots of facilities available.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything to us was extremely good would not changeanything

    Brilliant breakfast anything you wanted was there rooms comfortable and extremely well kept staff were very attentive

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Due to the long breakfast service - some items on the buffet (e.g. eggs) may need "refreshing" after a certain time. That said I am sure a request for fresh eggs would have been met.

    Helpful friendly staff. General relaxed atmosphere. No pressure at all. Breakfast served to 1100. Hotel restaurant good quality & good value. Our late arrival catered for in the bar/restaurant despite a large party (48!) in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many processed meats at breakfast. Could add some variety with picked fish for example. Also the orange juice appeared to be from concentrate not fresh. Service was excellent though.

    Friendly staff. Location. Spa. Good for couples without children.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I dislike about this lovely hotel.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is gourmet standard. Excellent quality! 1 minute walk to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall comfort of the place...location near the beach...great room overlooking the swimming pool...wonderful breakfast...staff absolutely superb...nice inexpensive lunches by the pool...peace by the pool...hotel spotless.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was hard and springy and pillows were lumpy! It was very difficult to log onto the internet in the hotel and the staff had to help us everytime!

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Good location and close to the beach although you may think about getting a car to get around. Very close to supermarket. The food at the hotel was lovey with plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Hotel well placed within a short walk of a long sandy beach and places to eat. The staff were excellent, both efficient and friendly, the food was well prepared and extremely enjoyable. The whole atmosphere of the place was calm efficient and relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an amazing hotel for couples and an amazing value for money when you take in consideration the quality of the hotel, the spacious room, the high standards of service; they will always try to accommodate the customer!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelling of smokers usage

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a lovely tranquil location. The hotel is very comfortable with a peaceful atmosphere and helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    V Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds too hard.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very quiet area

    Spa facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold pool and Spa ! Parking is restricted Some sub beds broken

    Staff made this hotel good --quiet with no children

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast needs to be improved! More fruit options needed.

    Location is phenomenal.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of good wifi in rooms

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very alert with us, very good service

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed too hard. Need a car to go anywhere.

    Good clean hotel. No children or excessive noise.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find parking during the day because of all the beach goers

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really nice staff. Really nice hotel.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vila Gale Collection Praia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: