Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Tavira 4 stars

Rua 4 de Outubro, 8800-362 Tavira, Portugal

#16 of 17 hotels in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1561 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to do around Tavira....wd have liked if more pubs had maybe music at night time....

    Every one very friendly and spoke v good English...hotel staff excellent...enjoyed our trip on the tu tu....driver excellent ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Animation staff constantly asking if you wish to participate in activities when relaxing around pool, it’s like Butlins 30 years ago

    Excellent location and free parking close by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. They helped me out at 11.30 pm when I discovered I lost my suitcase key, It was sorted out for me immediately and reassured me that it was no problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I have previously said there needs to be someone overseeing breakfast. Some days are fine but often it is unsatisfactory. Glasses, bowls and plates run out. Dishes can be empty and no one notices they need refilling .

    My favourite hotel in Tavira. Location and standards of cleanliness as well as efficient staff make it our best choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not well organised. Our first morning there was no juice, oranges, bowls or small glasses. Only one person cooking eggs, omelettes, pancakes so long queues.

    Lots of improvements since our last visit such as new furniture in rooms and new sockets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room They did not clean the room between the 2 nights We had to wait 3 hours and complain 2 times for them to fix the electricity that wasn't working in our room

    Comfty beds Location very central Nice pools

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bar was very old fashioned and the entertainment likewise, this was the only part of the hotel that we felt needed modernising.

    Extremely clean room with bath and shower. Great breakfast, brilliant location only ten minutes stroll to all the bars and restaurants. Handy for ferry to Tavira island. If you enjoy sunbathing, try to get a room on the sunny side 3rd floor is best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bedroom for reading and makeup. Bathroom light did not seem focused properly. One good light would have been a bonus

    Hot water for tea was really hot. Most unusual!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of good points far outweigh two minor things: The shower had cold blasts periodically and the staff at breakfast were a little over zealous clearing plates, as when I went up to get another slice of toast, my plates and unfinished coffee had gone when I got back!

    Great location, comfortable hotel with spacious clean rooms, staff very helpful. We had a pool view room which was lovely, I'm not sure the outer facing rooms would be as nice to stay in, as although the roads around the hotel are not busy, they are still roads... Definitely worth paying that bit extra! Indoor pool lovely (outdoor to cold for me personally to use in spring). The bar lacks atmosphere (mainly because its so large and we went at a quiet time of year), but it is good value and I'd recommend the cocktails! Restaurant seems good (only ate in it once as there are so many different ones to choose from in Tavira Town, a few minutes walk away) - the monkfish rice was excellent and good value. Breakfast buffet had everything you could ask for. Nice atmosphere in general throughout and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tired abd lacking in atmosphere. It needed freshening up. Breakfast was v poor.

    The bedrooms werw a decent size and were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy on a night. Corridors very noisy and the walls are paper thin. Lots of large parties coming and going at what seemed like all hours

    Plenty of space and walking distance to most of the town. Clean and presentable. Very few kids on our visit. Bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Villa Gale has all facilities you need; parking, restaurant and bar, swimming pool, a little kid area. furthermore it offers a very good breakfast and a perfect location for going out in the evening. all restaurants are at walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was very disappointed with the indoor pool and corridor leading to it. I used it twice and each time I found the tiles on the walkway from the changing room to the pool very slippery. The ladder steps into the pool were not easy and there didn't appear to be any alternative access to it. I usually swim backstroke because it is better for my back but it was very difficult to get bearings because it is a circular pool with no easy to distinguish markings on the side or ceiling. There was no easy way to avoid other swimmers because of the circular design. I decided not to use it again.

    I liked most things about the hotel. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound insulation was inadequate and the noise from corridor and nearby rooms made it impossible to sleep until everyone around had stopped moving around and in the morning woken by cleaners

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facility in room

    We felt very relaxed and comfortable with this hotel. It was our second stay in Tavira at this hotel. We will return again for another break at the end of the year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was just too crowded. At times it was difficult to find a table. We only drink decaffeinated coffee and only "instant" was available. We asked staff to get asked decaffeinated coffee from the bar and they did so willingly but they were clearly busy and it took time.

    We have stayed at this hotel before and like it because it is very close to the centre of Tavira, reasonable value for money and a reasonable place to stay. Staff are okay and the place is clean enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe!! Sliding doors difficult to move. Fridge should not be inside the wardrobe.

    Breakfast was excellent. The buffet dinner was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a very long distance from the elevator.

    location of room was very quiet and room was spacious enough. Staff was were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good and lots of variety. Location of hotel is very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A for this visit.

    Hotel warm and inviting in unusually cold and wet winter for the Algarve. Super bed, 10 out of 10 for comfort and a good nights sleep. Sound proofing not brilliant but you come to expect that with older buildings wherever you go in Portugal. Use ear plugs 😉 Superb staff, welcoming and always helpful whether front of house, restaraunt & bar or housekeeping. Well done Vila Gale team in Tavira

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite was very dated, furniture chipped and marked. The bed was poor quality and extremely uncomfortable which we reported to reception staff.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a big, chain hotel popular with tour companies. It has good facilities and, in spite of the staff being very pleasant, it does feel rather soulless. Lounge bar is dark and dated, the buffet dinner was indifferent and overpriced.

    Spacious room. Excellent meal from the à la carte menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Time taken to check in was too long. 2. Tried to charge us more than quote on Booking.com. They gave correct price when I showed them the quote.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meals were not very good. Not very good taste . It seemed as if some of ithe food had been recooked, . Fortunately we were b&b so we did not have to eat in very often

    Breakfasrs were very good Please tell place to stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WC cistern failed to fill but this was quickly rectified. Partners requests for special dietary needs was sometimes misunderstood. Prefer another UK TV channel. Room poorly lit making it difficult to read.

    Spacious and within easy reach of town centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been tidier to match the four star standard, some of the staff at the reception also seemed unfriendly.

    Awesome staff at breakfast making us a special vegan dish even though we came very last minute.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking under the hotel was very expensive, but there is a free car park across the road and free parking to one side of the hotel.

    Room comfortable, food good, employees very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We e-mailed the hotel prior to our stay for a Christmas Day menu. The choice wasnt great but it did include turkey, so we booked. On the day, the main dishes were swordfish and lamb chops ! The buffet looked lovely but was quite tasteless, even the shellfish. We asked but were told turkey was not on the menu that night. We bought this to the attention of the reception when we checked out but just received an apology. Our stay was from 20 - 27 December and there was a lack of seasonal atmosphere through the hotel and in particular, the restaurant on Christmas day.

    The location of this hotel is excellent, the room was comfortable and had a good view of the pool area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing

    The location of the hotel was central and there was plenty of free parking around. Breakfast was good with plenty of variety. Indoor pool was lovely and all aspects of the stay were very good as expected from the Vila Gale group

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bedroom.

    Stayed the night for new year celebrations in tavira. Friendly welcome and was able to check in early. Great breakfast and served till 11.30 on new years day was a great bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge/bar area was quite dark and dismal, too depressing to spend time in

    Food exceeded expectations, good breakfast buffet, staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel. But needs a makeover. I first visited 20 years ago. It needs a spark

    Low season Hotel not very busy. Not a great choice at breakfast. Good choice of tea. But the black tea was awful. Need to improve that. As the English like tea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gloomy decor. Booked twin room and was allocated double room. No safe in the room. Staff seemed very apathetic as a whole although individually were pleasant to speak to. The atmosphere was joyless. Have stayed at 7 different Vila Gale Hotels and this was very disappointing.

    The Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we got stung on the water in the mini bar, 3 euros a bottle, which was not displayed clearly near the fridge

    breakfast is amazing considering how many people sit for that meal each day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Germans reserve the sun beds at 7am The key passes never worked, we had to try at least 15 times each time we wanted to get back into our room View over Repsol petrol station from rooms 3008 - 3011

    Huge choice at the breakfast buffet Jacuzzi Enormous outdoor pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    A very comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Excellent gym and pool facilities and a good and varied breakfast. The staff were very attentive and helpful and there were a lot of extra touches to ensure guests had an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to pay at the check in although I had given my credit card numbers when I booked the room. The cleaning ladies are noisy. The sound isolation is not good.

    The breakfast, the room, the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was old and badly water damaged. In fact in some cases there were sizeable areas where it had bubbled.

    The a la Carte restaurant and the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we always left our room for breakfast at 9am and did not return till 2.45pm to find that the beds had not been made up , towels not replaced and room not cleaned , this happened for two days , on the 2nd day we complained and on the third day , towels were replaced beds made up and room cleaned. sorry not good enough !!!!

    lovely room No. 3049 with view over the pool area, beds comfortable lovely Hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was pretty tasteless. We didnt bother with evening meal as the Breakfast was poor.

    Location was good. Pool was clean but cold. Indoor pool was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bacon at breakfast was very fatty and there wasn't any orange marmalade. Minor dislikes in the big scheme of things.

    The bed was very comfortable. Also, we have requested a favourite room (from a choice of two) for our return visit at Christmas. Reception have made a note on our booking and although it cannot be guaranteed, they will do their best, which is appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way the restaurant staff management decided to close doors (some of them fire doors)? For breakfast and not allowing people to eat outside in the sunshine this is part of our holiday. The rude way we were jestered to when we turned up wanted to go through the usual door to collect our food. No notice on the the door just a call to go all the way round . My husband is disabled so made life more difficult for him. What is point of putting tables & chairs outside if you can't use them. We were on holiday and we don't like being dictated to . We have booked again for May hoping this issue will be solved and you are all more organised for breakfasts.

    the hotel & sunshine. And tavira

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some reception staff could do with a little more personality...our key became inactive several times..we had to go back down to reception to have it rectified...we then had to wait while they dealt with someone else...very annoying

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was like a cattle market with everyone grabbing at food. Very off putting no order at all.

    We enjoy the hotel very much. The accommodation was great. Better than expected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room very dark. More like a canteen. Could have done with more tables outside in the sun

    Comfort of rooms. Near to town centre and ferry for the islands

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are great, but the functioning is a bit off. Outer pool area is great but was nearly imposible to find an empty sunchair around it. Jacuzzi seemed good, but water was cold( as in not hot at all) , inner pool had noisy kids jumping in or running around making it a noisy place.( both days I spend there) Service in the outer pool was very slow , waited 45 minutes to be served, even when there seemed not much was going on... I rated facilities as not the best because of all that, but they could be awesome I guess.

    Breakfast was great, nothing fancy, but a great variety of food, and nice tasting as well. Room was clean and spacious. Location is perfect even for the ferry-boat to go to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More tables outside for breakfast.

    I didn't like the sausages, not like we get a home. Some days the breakfast was very busy and had to wait for clean glasses and for the coffee and juice machines to be refilled.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have to be really picky to make a criticism - the breakfast room was a bit dark.

    This is a modern, comfortable hotel with a good sized swimming pool, within the lovely town of Tavira.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints although some of the room furniture was a little tired.

    Ground floor rooms all next to each other next to the very nice pool area. Very pleasant and efficient staff. Central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet breakfast is wonderful, I think I would go a la carte rather than buffet dinner

    Loved the children´s play room which was open 24/7 which was great, as we had just flown from Australia and were awake with a jetlagged toddler. Staff were very friendly, and the hotel is wonderfully spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nur die Parkplätze um die Autobrücke sind kostenfrei. - Wir hatten kleine Ameisen in den Zimmern. The receptionist in charge, an elderly woman, was rather cold and robotic. She wanted to sell us additional features such as dinner and a massage leaving the impression they would rather see us not leave the hotel during our entire stay. - The cleaning personal was extremely loud pushing every chair and table they could find back and forth over the floor producing loud screaches in all the adjacent rooms lasting for hours from breakfast to noon. - The breakfast bufet was chaotic and a free table hard to get.

    Zentrale Lage am Ausgang der Altstadt und nahe am Anleger für die Fähre zum Strand.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was very good, however, there could be a better choice of 'local' produce on the cold meat counter e.g. cheeses/chorizas/salamis (plenty of 'standard' cold meets and cheeses).

    Have stayed in Vile Gale before - great location - close to boat to Ilha de Tavira. Rooms are spacious, bathroom spotless. Good size balconies and nice pool area. Staff are excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    beds quite hard. hotel larger than expected and a v. busy breakfast room.

    A lovely spacious foyer with beautiful tiled floor. a good sized pool in immaculate garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no tea/ coffee facilities in room. no full fat milk at breakfast. Lack of information about hotel/ hotel facilities in room

    everything except listed below

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic, there are no drawers to place any of your extras. The balconies have no dividers, offer no privacy, you are there together with your next door neighbor. And we had to wait for 20 minutes to be seated for our breakfast on two consecutive days, that is a bit too much.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View (3 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cramped. Ants in room. Air con never worked properly. Room too small. Long queues for breakfast. Not drought room around the pool or snoufh sun beds. Not a relaxing venue.

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls very thin so could hear people next door snoring! Also the room faced over the road which was very busy so if you prefer less noise make sure to request room view room. There was a big problem with ants around despite no food in the room; also I had to resort to cleaning the tiled floors and dead ants daily with wet wipes as the cleaners only replaced the towels every second day but in 6 days didn't do any cleaning!!!

    I found the beds to be very comfortable! Free wifi throughout and strong connection

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was not ready on arrival. Had to wait 90 minutes. Room was not serviced until late in the day and was not serviced at all on one day. Safe was extra charge. Parking was extra charge. This is an expensive hotel and we felt that these things should be included. Drinks and snacks very expensive. Breakfast offerings lacked quality. Long queues at reception were normal. Up to 20 minutes at times.

    The hotel is in a central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress could be better but nothing to worry about.

    Access, location, parking, location, swimming pool, staff, location, all those were amazing. Yeah, the location is just perfect, went to the beach in the morning (5m boat) and when it got crowded just went back to the pool. The hotel has all the amenities needed to relax. The hotel is just a very pleasant <5m walk to all the typical restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no tea and coffee manking facilities in the room which was a bit of a shame. Otherwise fantastic.

    The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. I had forgotten my phone charger and they were more than happy to charge it for me on a daily basis. The breakfasts were outstanding - plenty of choice, fresh and well cooked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    The personnel of the hotel was very nice, friendly and helpful. They organized a breakfast very early in the morning as we had to catch an early train.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa can't be called like that, it's only a pool indoor and a jacuzzi. The price is too expensive for what it's offered.

    The status was nice and helpful. The outdoors pool was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very busy time of the year and the pool was a bit crazy at times especially with no official supervision. Get breakfast before 9.45 otherwise you are queueing for 10-15 mins

    Really comfy beds and great sized room, excellent location to the Town Centre. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location and facilities for families with children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View (3 adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A couple of minor points. Better quality/choice of teabags and service in the bar was sometimes a bit slow.

    Excellent pool. Great breakfast choice. Plenty of places to relax inside and outside. Huge basement car park. Snacks and drinks prices very reasonable (rose only about 2.5 euros for a good size glassful). Aircon in rooms effective and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food wasn't great. Only had an evening meal one night & it was very average but 25 euros PP! We ate breakfast which were good but the burger lunch we had was a little dry.

    We loved the pancakes, freshly cooked at breakfast. We liked our pool view room & we enjoyed the indoor pool. The staff were really friendly & helpful. Especially Paula who worked in the bar & pool bar. wonderful milkshakes from her and another bar man which our son loved.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very nice hotel at a good location in Tavira. The city centre is a short walk away, with a multitude of restaurants. The pool area was nice and clean. There was a spacious underground garage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After this stay we stayed at 2 more Vila Gale hotels in the group - the next 2 hotels felt more upmarket and modern. So we think some upgades need to be done to match other hotels in the group

    We were on the all inclusive option which was a little expensive but if you wanted a drink or something to eat it was available at no extra charge. Maybe our stomachs have shrunk and thats probably why we thought the all inclusive option was a little expensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay €2.50 per day to use the safe that was in the room. There was no tea & coffee facility in the room unless it was requested, at reception. And while we had the tea and coffee. It was never replenished, unless requested by us at reception

    The location of the hotel was excellent. 5-10 min walk from the centre of the town & restaurants. And 5 mins from the ferry to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Didn't like the small pillow in the bedroom should have had two large ones,bed was comfortable Had to ask for a kettle for the room thought there might have been one there already.Also didn't know that we had to pay for the water that was left in the room thought it was complimentary

    The food was quite good, nice variety at breakfast plenty to choose from,loved the Spa very relaxing the pool was a good size lots of entertainment for everybody

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great Location, situated in quiet area, short walk into Tavira centre. Pool area was nice with plenty of sunbeds. Free air-conditioning. Clean & comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an Algarve hotel with all that means - if you book make sure that you get an inside room - that means with a pool view otherwise you have a very unsexy view(s) of busy roads

    Very constructive staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Eating and drinking in the restaurant is a bit expensive compared to some of the great local restaurants around the city. In the hotel bar we got two gin & tonics which cost €19 which is a little bit dearer then here in Dublin. In fairness we never tried the dinner buffet in the restaurant which I'm sure would have been amazing, we just chose to do the holiday on a bit of a budget :)

    Gorgeous swimming pool, just what you need in 36 + degree heat! Great location, in walking distance to so many restaurants, bars, cafe and town centre. Vila Gale is in walking distance of the train station so it was great to visit the nearby towns like Faro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, everything was just fine

    The breakfast buffet was excellent, with plenty choice The rooms were very comfortable With the very hot weather, the pool was much appreciated

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - our stay was perfect!

    Our one night stay was most enjoyable. Our room overlooking the pool was quiet, comfortable & clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, pool was excellent and buffet breakfast was awesome - so much choice! The hotel is ideally located in the town of Tavira and we wouldn't hesitate to return and stay longer next time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Mosquitoes in the rooms could have done with a mosquitoes spray or a plug in

    rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied every day. Shampoo and Bath Gel replaced each day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sameness of the hot breakfast food. There was no variation in the type of sausages on offer. It would not be overly difficult to make poached eggs available as many people prefer these to fried or scrambled eggs.

    The availability of sparkling wine at breakfast to make a Mimosa if one chose to do so.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: