Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Valverde Design Country Hotel 5 stars

Estrada da Praia da Luz, 8600-209 Luz, Portugal

#2 of 8 hotels in Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 54 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    great location with nice rooms
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff! really no service and always a NO on request. Only time they woke up was when we took a simple terrace chair to the beach. Next day without informing the took € 500 from my creditcard. When i found out they told the chair was damaged! we inspected the chairs and of course nothing was damaged (check the pic). Their reply was they were not able to give back the money because the ‘manager’ wasn’t lifting his phone. (probable sleeping). Since this moment still no reply that the €500 will be send back. This place is a scam! a nice place ruined by a arrogant guy behind the desk who doesn’t know that costumers are paying his salary.. ruined our weekend!!

    great location with nice rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Relaxation in a very quiet and comfortable environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal touch (the hotel comes along as almost sterile)

    View (sea and garden), high quality room interior and equipment, huge and well maintained garden, exclusivity given limited number of rooms yet huge area (hotel, garden, pool), extremely nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic design - improvements could be made
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The surrounding area of the outside pool felt unfinished and the fixtures in the room did not live up to the design element of the rest of the hotel.

    The setting, the indoor pool, the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Great luxury calming hotel with lovely staff and fabulous decor. Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Considering the cost of the hotel we thought there should have been complimentary water in the rooms. We were charged 5euros for a litre of water which was very expensive and of course very hot so had to buy a few. There was no complimentary tea or coffee either, everything is charged for. We have stayed in many hotels of this calibre and basic drinks are always available. There are also no toiletries except for small bars of soap. Just a small point but again you would expect this as standard. If you asked for them they are there but not as standard. We also found that nothing was offered over and above what we saw, for example breakfast was lovely but it took us a few days to see that things like eggs were on offer. There is no menu which would have been helpful. We also thought the bathroom in the rooms are an issue if privacy is necessary. There is a glass window from the bathroom to the bedroom. If I was travelling with a friend or parent I am sure they would not have liked me watching them shower. The pool was lovely although small, we wanted a very restful holiday so we used the pool everyday. It is a short walk from the hotel with no drinks facilities. If you stay here you do need to ensure you can shop for cold drinks or pay quite a lot for soft drinks. We also wanted to walk to nearby Luz, it said it was only 1.1km away so we thought that would be great. The problem is the roads are very dangerous. We would recommend that you got a car if you stayed in this hotel, or note that you do need a taxi to go everywhere. Although these comments might seem a little negative overall this is a beautiful hotel and we had a fantastic time. We just thought the owners should pay a little more attention to the smaller details to make the hotel perfect. We would to there again.

    The hotel was beautiful, the design and decor immaculate. The staff were incredibly friendly and happy to help with anything. Renata and Felipe were super professional and helped us with taxi's, where to eat and tried to help us find our glasses that were left in a taxi. Renata has a fantastic sense of humour, we really liked her. The other staff cleaning and waiting on were lovely too. The gardens are gorgeous and kept in pristine condition. The food at the hotel was superb. Breakfast was lovely and we had several evening meals which were always presented well and tasted excellent. The price was a little expensive on deserts but the rest was expected from a hotel of this calibre. The atmosphere was very calm, we went for a complete rest and we certainly got that. I would recommend this hotel for couples only though. It is not really a family hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely pastoral views with Atlantic in the distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Car required for trips into town and beach. Additional charge to use coffee-maker in room. Very little privacy on front patio. We were on the ground floor and could easily see activity in all other ground floor patios.

    Welcoming staff. Very nice room with good drawer and closet space. Well appointed. Quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Serene hotel with easy access to Lagos and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful boutique hotel. Elegant with a nice combination of old and new. Nice large bedroom with wonderful view. Secluded, but short drive to beach. Awesome breakfast. Great staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    6.7
    Be aware
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in the room, parking was a long way away from the front, steep walk up to the front door. Hotels might be fine for someone 50 and under!

    Very attractive but we were mystified by a number of things

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too strict and formal. Bar closed to early and sometimes no staff available. A formal but not warm service.

    peaceful. , well decorated and clean. The view was amazing. Breakfast was good as was the meal we had when we choose to eat in one night. Felt strange though as the only guests eating that night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Very nice countryside setring
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few details that did not match with the design style of the hotel (lion statues holding football balls by the pool!!)

    Great garden and countryside view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    8.8
    Luxurious and relaxing. Perfect getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on the menu is a bit expensive in comparison to what you get. I suggest going out for lunch. The road on which the hotel is situated is quite dangerous, so taxi or rental car are advised.

    Very calm and peaceful. Very spacious gardens and rooms, perfect for relaxing. Good location between Luz and Lagos. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only got offered eggs on one day

    Great choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.4
    Hotel was nice overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had ants everywhere and no one took care of it.

    Hotel was nice overall. Very nice property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Peace 'n quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace 'n quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    6.3
    Pillows very uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very uncomfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.2
    Lovely staff, always willing to help and give advice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because of the limited choice on the menu, and having to decide at breakfast what you wanted,, not many people eat in, so the eating experience was a little quite and felt a little odd. A shame as the food and surroundings could not be faulted.

    Lovely staff, always willing to help and give advice of where to go and what to see. Very peaceful setting, great room with super views. The breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice, hot and cold. Grounds of the hotel very attractive and well kept . Pools both good.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    10
    Warm welcome, extremely helpful personnel, quality and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Warm welcome, extremely helpful personnel, quality and presentation of food, superb decor, very relaxing stay.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: