Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Mar Azul

Rua Costa D’Oiro lote 38, 8600-544 Lagos, Portugal

#16 of 194 Holiday rentals in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Super clean and neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity to the noisy hotel. Our room faced the parking and the entrance of another hotel. Running engines and people talking at nights was annoying but could be avoided by shutting the windows

    Super clean and neat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    With regret, I will not go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car to get around unless you are prepared to walk for enything and anything. Freezing swiming pool!

    Excellent staf. Top cleaning. A nearby beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing negative to say about Vila Mar Azul

    Only 10 apartments not crowded, 50 metres from lovely beach, quiet. I hired a car because Algarve is all about stunning beaches so I discovered beautiful beaches away from crowds. Handy to get to the centre of Lagos and some grocery shopping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great apartment and staff, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get the room we thought we were getting so the view was not what we wanted so we didn’t spend time on our little terrace

    Great apartment and big double bed and the pool area is cute

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean and convenient, close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would prefer a firmer bed but this is a matter of personal preference. Be aware that key collection is fifteen minutes walk from the villa.

    Only a few minutes to walk to the lovely beach. Very clean. A good-sized kitchen with hotplate, microwave and fridge. Small supermarket and restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    We look forward to returning next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For those who don't hire a car, it is just a bit too far away from the nearest supermarket and restaurants.

    Location. Quietness - apart from noisy neighbours overhead at night! Breakfast (at main hotel) was exceptional!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Apartment-style stay, walking distance to beach and scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's been outgrown by surrounding, newer properties so had no view. An outlook was one of the appeals of staying further out of town.

    Spacious room with outdoor access. Clean. Comfortable. Relatively modern. Away from the tourist bustle. Close to beaches and cliff walk. We did loads of walking to town and the convenience store for supplies and were happy to do so this location is good if you have your own vehicle or hire a car. It was a good base for exploring other towns like sagres and luz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely amazing. Will be happy to go back there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a bit far from the centre so prepare to walk 30 minutes, or order a cab for 5 to 6 euros.

    Dina was an amazing cleaner. Everything was spotless. It is a short walk to Praia do Porto do Mos and 10 minutes from the nearest supermarket. Lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The additional bed in the Suite for the 14-year old child was not the best in the first night, but changed the second day in a right one. Change of towels each day. Towels for the beach, too. Cleaning of the Suite each day. Perfect destination with short way to Beach of Porto Mos and the restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed the calm, quiet location. Very good value. Felt safe and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights

    No local shops within walking distance that we could find. Slightly too far out of Lagos, and away from facilities. Taxi ride about 6 euros to town centre. Nearest supermarket (Intermarche) a 5 minute drive away. The check in process is rather awkward. Only I had read the small print on the booking form and read other guest reviews I would not have been aware of this.There is no actual reception at Villa Marazul. We had to check in in at the sister hotel (but had to wait till 3pm to get into our rooms). If we had arrived by bus or taxi this would have all been confusing

    Nice location on the edge of Lagos town. Great base for exploring the Western Algarve. Transport required to go most places. We hired a car for our 2 week stay. Very quiet location ,but close to Praia do Mos beach which is nice for occasional use .Spacious apartment (one of 10 I think in the villa itself), with kitchenette and balcony area. Air conditioned.Well equipped bathroom with towels changed daily (including beach towels if required). Toiletries provided too. Very large comfortable bed (super-king size in UK terms).The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard. We used the swimming pool area which is very well kept , and very private, this was also quiet. A small BBQ (charcoal) is on the patio area for communal use. We did not use the sister hotel facilities as it was located too far away to be of any use to us. Our daughter and her family stayed in the same villa in a larger upstairs apartment which was equally good as ours.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The information in the appartement mentioned a free golf course which was actually only offered in the low season.

    Great location (5 min walk to the beach), great facilities, clean and a lot of space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Very clean and quiet. Close to cliff walks and beaches. Excellent staff, if an appliance or light bulb stopped working it was replaced almost immediately.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Five minutes walk to the best beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little soft for my liking but other people may prefer this.

    A great place to stay. Can't really see the sea but only five minutes walk to the lovely beach. Very very clean. Well equipped. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Really nice studios
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice, extremely clean studios with comfy beds. The location is a little bit outside the centre but the beach is really close. You can use the facilities in the main hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    6.7
    Good but not great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated from reception and amenities, pool not heated, phone and wifi not working for 24 hours....every time we drove back to reception at sister hotel they kept telling us it would be up and running "soon". They did bring a bottle of wine to make up for it, but overcharged for the room for an extra night.

    Comfortable beds, great view, very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic cooking facilities & utensils so don't expect to cook a roast dinner, but why cook when you're on holiday.

    Peace & quiet = bliss, exactly what I wanted to have a lovely relaxing stay & recharge my batteries, this is the 2nd time this year that I have been to Portugal & have stayed with this hotel chain & I can't fault them & will definitely stay with them again next time I visit Portugal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    The whole of the accommodation was well looked after and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Difficult to find the Check-in Hotel. A better map would have helped as we did not have a Sat Nav. The view from the accommodation was obliterated by a large hotel

    The whole of the accommodation was well looked after and very clean. The apartment was great. The Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    No washing machine had to had wash clothes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No washing machine had to had wash clothes

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Location is not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Location is not good. Far from city and not really in front of the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Terrace, quiet, location (close to beach)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We looked out to the back of another hotel

    Lovely big rooms with nice decoration

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    Had a very pleasant and peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    spaciousness and quiet

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    Anytime again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant stay for a while in huge and clean apartment. Beach nearby. Very nice!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Spacious as ou room had been upgraded;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view; check in wasn't on site.

    Spacious as ou room had been upgraded; staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.3
    The apartment was very spacious, so was the bathroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The balcony was facing a hotel opposite the road and there were building sites nearby, but overall that wasn't too distractive.

    The apartment was very spacious, so was the bathroom and also the bed was extremely comfortable. We did not miss anything and enjoyed our stay at the villa.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    Location very close to the beach, size of the apartments,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not at our villa location and our location was not close to town at all despite what the website states "5 min walk to town." Breakfast was not included and cost 10 Euro, should include an option to include in cost.

    Location very close to the beach, size of the apartments, clean with a good breakfast. Hotel offered a shuttle to the main reception location. Price was remarkable!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.2
    Clean, large rooms, good kitchen area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water not always hot (ie. after a cloudy day). Would be nice to have the patio swept up occasionally.

    Clean, large rooms, good kitchen area. Quiet, good location for beach and cliff walks. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    10
    only 5 minutes walk to the beach, and away from the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only 5 minutes walk to the beach, and away from the main hustle, but it was still only 30 minutes walk too town. Supermarkets & restaurants nearby, & the apartment was spacious, comfy & had everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Location: 5 min walk to a quiet beach, close enough and far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of any view - another resort's windows opposite and a road, dropping water from the top balcony on our balcony. Pool is rather small but pool area is very nice.

    Location: 5 min walk to a quiet beach, close enough and far enough from busy town centre 25 min walk or 5 min by taxi, cleaning service everyday, comfortable bed, comfort of the apartment - well equipped

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Spacious, comfortable apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious, comfortable apartment. Very close to a great beach. Great place for a relaxing stay. Small note for others (Not a complaint) - around a 25min walk from Lagos centre, which aside from a supermarket is the closet you get to civilisation.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff were incredibly helpful - the accommodated our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning didn't work, which was unfortunate. It was hot and so we needed to open the windows, but were then woken early by other guests making business calls. We also requested a double bed, but got twin beds. The wifi (from the pool) worked intermittently. The rooms weren't very soundproof. We had a pleasant stay nontheless

    The staff were incredibly helpful - the accommodated our late arrival and kept some of our food in the fridge for us the day we checked out until we finished our activities for the day, very kind! The studio was also lovely, with an upstairs for the bedroom and bathroom. The location was also great, in a charming part of Old Town Lagos. Very close to the beach and as we had a car, easy to explore the other beaches in the area

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.5
    Very close to beach with direct access;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was difficult to find even with the GPS...reason being the address we had was that of the main location of the hotel group not the location in which we had the reservation...we had to ask a few locals before we found it

    Very close to beach with direct access; nice little pool that the kids enjoyed; spacious apartment

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    5.4
    It was spacious and the bed was comfy, unlike other European...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When we arrived at 1500 at check-in, they were completely disorganized. It took an hour to finally get our key and the map they gave us to find the property was incorrect. When we finally found our villa, with our very tired 9 month old baby, the room was not ready. So we had to wait another hour to get into our room. The smell from the bathroom was horrible throughout the stay. The walk to the beach with a stroller was a nightmare. Huge amount of stairs!!! Not stroller-friendly at all.

    It was spacious and the bed was comfy, unlike other European hotels where the bed is hard as a rock. Air conditioning was nice. Big bathroom but smelled like a sewer. Had to keep bathroom doors shut to keep the smell contained in bathroom only.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    The villa is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The villa is great. It is luxurious, close to the beach- Porto de Mos 5 min walking, clean, with pool. We liked it very much. Also, despite the fact that is not in the centre of Lagos,there is a close bus station which can take you there- its name is Porto de Mos Onda, just at the beach. Choose in favor of any hotel, it is worth.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    8.8
    great room very big and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit far from town had to order cabs everyday to get there But it's nice to have peace and quiet

    great room very big and comfortable Huge bed which was very comfortable Easy walk to the beach was a nice beach in Lagos not too crowded Pool was very clean and nice to cool off Kitchen was great had everything you need

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    Apartments were perfect - just like in photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception is 20 minutes walk from the apartments.

    Apartments were perfect - just like in photos. Always clean and spotless. Staff was helpful and understanding, booked tripsfor us and transfered from check-in to apartments. The environment around the villa is calm and quiet. 5 minutes away from beach.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit cold. Water took time to heat up but plenty of it. Can never understand why apartments don't leave y a little bit of washing up liquid and a cloth. Would be so much easier. Would definitely stay again

    Great location. Good sized apartment. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    The staff was Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish there was a restaurant.Have to walk about 20 minutes to the nearest one.

    The staff was Brilliant. The place was serene, just what I wanted.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful studio apartment rental in excellent condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A car is really needed for this location.

    Beautiful studio apartment rental in excellent condition. Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location. Staff cares about guests. Apartment well equipped and heated.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    9.2
    Location was perfect, staff was wonderful and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small issue with the hot water

    Location was perfect, staff was wonderful and helpful. Very close to the beaches. The staff was very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.6
    It was large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was large and clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Everthing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not applic

    Everthing

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    The calmness, the kindness of the lady who has welcome us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The calmness, the kindness of the lady who has welcome us.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    It is a very good, quiet and very decorative location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a very good, quiet and very decorative location We love it!!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Everything and especially Diva,the lady who cleaned our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything and especially Diva,the lady who cleaned our apartment every day;she was excellent

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to declare.;)))

    Everything...amazing place to be.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    Very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very quiet

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: