Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wellington 3 stars

Rua Dr. Calado Nº 25, 3080 153 Figueira da Foz, Portugal

#9 of 21 hotels in Figueira da Foz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 678 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room feeling was frezzee (it seems, hotel has very often groups) and very lauth

    From our point of view the best located hotel with very good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of building works were clearly heard in most areas of the hotel in the morning and the noises of newly weds upstairs were clearly heard in the evening.

    Location, staff and presentation were all great. We really enjoyed our stay despite the noisy neighbors. The restaurant recommendations were were offered were fantastic and the location was perfect for exploring the small center of town before heading off too the beaches for a winter walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were excellent and extremely helpful on site Italian restaurant was also very good There is a casino opposite an we won which made our stay even better ! a great place to visit out of school holidays

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice property in great location. Easy to walk to the sea and the river. Staff recommended great restaurant. Comfortable room. Lockbox on the room. Associated with a gym if you are interested. Italian restaurant in house was good. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to find a parking spot.

    The silence in the room in an usually noisy street, an unusual feature in the center of Figueira on a Saturday night (the hotel is just near the casino). The comfort of the room. The room was quite clean and fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Italian restaurant was located in a windowless basement & not very tasty.

    Not the most knowledge front desk staff but they tried. Double windows were great at keeping noisy street sounds out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for a one night stay while traveling further north. The room was clean provided everything you need. Breakfast was descent and the staff both reception and breakfast were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only discomfort was the partying noise at night. It was not the hotels' fault that we selected a festive weekend to visit Figueira Da Foz. The festive Celebration / partying did not end until the early hours of the following day. Even though the concert / celebration was a few blocks away, it sounded as though it was right outside our window. I suggest you choose a quiet room, if you are a light sleeper. My friends' discomfort was the ventilation of their room, and their air conditioner did not work well.

    The front desk receptionists were friendly, and very helpful. They accommodated our numerous requests, answered our questions with much patience and friendliness. We felt very valued as their patrons. The hotel is 3-star, clean, basic rooms. Our room is cool, and has good air conditioned. Our friends' room on the other hand was not as ventilated. The air conditioner did not work well. The location is central, and easy to walk. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Food was plentiful and great selections. The staff kept the buffet full, and the areas and tables clean. One even stopped to help me with operating the Nescafé machine. This small hotel is small in size, but abundant in attention, friendliness and customer-focused service. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no parking space belonging to hotel. They have an agreement with casino on the end of the street for 5 euro per day. If you don't want to pay, the lady in the reception will tell you where to park for free :)

    Wide range of breakfast, clean rooms, lovely and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The living area in the entrance needs to be refreshed!

    The kind and extreme accommodating staff. Always with a genuine smile and attitude! The cleaning and freshness of the room (suite). The location! Right in the center of the town, close to the beach, to the old market, the casino... in a nice and quite neighbourhood called Bairro Novo Where the building have mainly Art Deco architecture.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is perfect for your trip to Figuiera da Foz. A 5 minute stroll from the beach. Around the corner from the casino & all the bars & restaurants. Noise at nighttime is not an issue. Excellent wifi service in the room. The breakfast is delicious with a wide selection of fresh food. The staff are very friendly & professional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Parking. You have to reach a private parking (50 meters from the hotel) and then go all the way down to the 4th level to find a spot. The smell in the parking is horrible. Very low lighting. It is scaring. Do not get it, it is not worth the price (7 Euro). 2) No plugs in the bathroom. *** My standards are generally higher than normal. I write in English for the benefit of everyone; we are living in a global world.

    1) Great location. 2) No carpet in the room. 3) Friendly Staff. 4) Acceptable breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - 2 Nights
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little small

    Great staff who were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and quiet, with a comfortable bed. Close to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unrenovated rooms look a little tired

    We were moved to one junior suite after having booked two normal rooms. The air conditioning in one of these rooms did not work. These rooms had not been renovated and looked a little tired. The junior suite was renovated and was much nicer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee could have been better. It is "instant" from a machine.

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and recently updated. The breakfast room was also very nice, with an adequate assortment of food items to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit outdated and needs refreshment. Location is excellent. The last line was fine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy on saturday evenings

    Very clean. Good bed and shower. Very well located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was awesome and convenient to the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was noisy and the the carpet not cleaned

    we were in the actic with an hot tub

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, good location downtown and near the casino. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor, no portuguese atmosphere

    Nice clean rooms, good airco, good bathroom, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - 2 Nights
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very noisy the nights. Casino is opposite, overdrunks everywhere, bad locations if you wana sleep in night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel location and the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - 2 Nights
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very central location and great staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good and clean central

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best Italian restaurant in the hotel! Better than Italy!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showercurtain should be replaced. We booked with a parking space included but had to park the car in a public parking about 600m away.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were following in Wellington's footsteps. It's a great way to see Portugal. He landed in Figuera da Foz from Cork, from the HMS Donegal. So Hotel Wellington seemed a good place to stay and we were not disappointed. Good location, excellent private parking close bye and quite comfortable. Good fish restaurant bye which give a discount to hotel guests.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi was this time not that great in my room. Maybe some more accesspoints at the floors would give a far better coverage.

    This was now my 3rd visit to this hotel. Again the same great atmosphere! Super friendly & helpful staff. The rooms are spacious, perfectly clean and have large comfortable beds. And it's at a perfect situated point in town: Close to the seaside, river, Casino and nice little local restaurants.Still that 4 star experience in a 3 star rated hotel. Arnie would say: "I'll be back" :-)

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Orange juice machine. No daylight in breakfast room / restaurant.

    Convenient location. Spacious, clean, comfy room. Non-intrusive very efficient staff. Lots of choice for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    No such thing regarding the stay itself. Streets in the area are quite narrow so parking is not that easy but if you're willing to go the extra mile you'll find your free spot within 5 minutes and 200 meters.

    When we went up to the room after check-in it turned out that the smell and sound of renovation going on in other parts of the hotel on the same floor is quite disturbing. The lady at the front desk handled it swiftly and efficiently and we ended up in a suite within 5 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked it all! So surely i'll come back again in the future!

    This was my 2nd stay at this hotel,and had again a wonderful time. Very nice , clean, comfortable rooms with a large very good bed.. Staff was as friendly and helpful as last time. Although it was quiet at this time, the included breakfast was still very complete. Modern bathroom. And the location is great, 200 mtr. both from river or seaside., close to Casino and several local restaurants.This accommodation is advertised as 3 stars, but you feel like it's 4 star!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A localização do Hotel e as pessoas do atendimento

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff were great and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good breakfast, great location, definetly good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, two blocks from the beach. Fantastic Italian restaurant on site. Staff were very helpful. Very god breakfast. Great stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A very cosy beat hotel not far from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wi fi

    exelent staff good location the explanstion from the staff exelent

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall I found it not to be a good value for money.

    Excellent location and staff were always ready to help you with a smile

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, clean and spacious room, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, comfortable bed, selection of cakes and fruits for breafast

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Elevator is small, like most in Europe, but just a minor issue.

    Easy to get there, and nice people.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly helpful reception, great breakfast

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Hotel Wellington traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: