Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Windsor 4 stars

Rua das Hortas 4C, Se, 9050-024 Funchal, Portugal

#66 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Windsor Hotel is ideally located in Funchal, only 10 mins walk to the Old Town, Ocean, Cable Cars, and many restaurants. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was varied and good quality

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Smell of cigarette smoke in our room, it was coming under the door. Noisy room which faced the road people constantly talking under our window - which was closed. Needs Air conditioning. Breakfast was very basic. This is the first place that I have stayed where there is no toaster. I chose this Hotel as it had a car park but there was only 3 spaces, so I had to find alternative parking most of the time. The room safe cost extra and was too small for a laptop. Fridge in room (mini-bar) but locked so would have to pay to use it, this took up space. It really needs modernising generally the room was dark and old fashioned.

    Location was excellent. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hard, pillows and towels too thin - improving/updating these would make this hotel excellent but then probably more expensive.

    Very good breakfast, very good shower water pressure, pleasant staff, rooftop views and relaxing solarium and pool with bar, excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude and an professional they didn't welcome us on the check in! the lady treat me like i was a child very disappointed the pool wasn't even open the all reason i book the hotel

    Just the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast could be displayed better and the dining area was rather congested, no toaster available . No ironing facilities in room.

    The location is very good and the reception staff attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room next to the lift.

    Nice breakfast. Hot and cold options. Good choices of breads/cereals/meats/cheeses/fruit. Excellent coffee. Restaurant and bar good. Super helpful staff. Made life so much easier to find out things. Very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit old and slightly shabby but it was clean. The walls were paper thin so you could hear the lift and everyone passing by the door and whenever a neighbouring room used their shower or water it was very noisy as the pipes or heating system rattled a lot. There was a fridge and wall safe but for some unknown reason they were locked and you had to ask for a key. This should be automatically available and included in the price. A toaster would have been nice for breakfast and fresh not tinned mushrooms. However there was a cooked breakfast and great coffee and fruit salad so it was fine. I thought the quality of the room and lack of sound insulation between rooms and corridors made it very overpriced for 50 euros per night, 30 euros would have been more reasonable.

    Great central location. The staff were absolutely lovely. My room was clean. Excellent roof top view, leisure area and little which I didn't use. Breakfast was fine and the fresh fruit salad and coffee from the machine were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - 1 member of staff was particularly unhelpful (dark haired lady with portugese accent) - breakfast was poor/ non-existent - no Air conditioning - noise from construction work going on - Swimming pool could have been open early morning - No balcony - Could not really chill properly in the roon due to above

    - Close to marina - Close to old town - Swimming pool on the top - Cleaners came daily which was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think it would make a four star in the UK, probably around 3.5. My main issue was no air conditioning in the bedroom, the bedroom was relatively compact, we were on the 5th floor and two fans running permanently, all that seemed to do was fan the hot air rather than cool the place down. I appreciate that the temperature doesn't really vary too much in Madeira over 12 months, we just happened to be there during a heatwave and even the locals were finding it hot. The beds were a bit too hard for my liking, that plus lack of air con in room meant not the best of sleeping experiences.

    The hotel was located near to shops, banks, restaurants etc. The breakfast had a selection of cereals, meat cheese, breads and fruit. The hotel was clean and was and the staff were helpful and friendly. The cost was inexpensive in comparison to others we looked at.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be better for a 4 star hotel. Fan instead of air con. The bathroom smelled, no ventilation.

    Friendly staff, good location, ok room. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down needs refurb.

    Central, nice roof pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    some items had to be paid for locally which had been listed as in the room

    excellent location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very overlooked.no privicy unless curtains were shut.could be in bathroom with window even slightly open.

    Central location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds. Poor lighting in room

    Great location and value for money.friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and ridiculously hot Poor breakfast Drilling next to room so siesta impossible

    Clean, tidy, good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The limited choices for breakfast but this is understandable of the price per night.

    The size of the room and the bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast

    nice room. Swimming pool very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, no shuttle service to airport, small room, dirty room, dirty bathroom. Pool was mediocre.

    Location was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Facilities need to update

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very uncomfortable beds, no iron, internet is very slow, breakfast is very basic. This is for sure not a 4 star. Maybe a 3 star that needs some renovation.

    Location; staff is nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Bedroom comfortable but a little small and water tap did not work properly - room 314

    Super location and nice staff, also enjoyed 2 dinners. Will book again soon

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Where to start, the rooms were so basic but bathrooms were nice, no iron and were told we wouldn't have been allowed to use one anyway; no tea making facilities in the room; advised rooms have fridge and safe but no mention you pay extra to use them; the beds and pillows were rubbish, so uncomfortable and no duvets on the bed, it was an old fashioned blanket; no heating in the rooms and a bit cold during some nights; 2 bulbs went in our room and receptionist said she was the only person covering the hotel so she came to our room and looked at the bulbs and came back and fitted 2 new ones herself; wifi went down and first receptionist told us it had been fixed already and to log in via google despite telling her we couldn't get onto google as no wifi, she told us to come to reception as other guests were using wifi in there but we were ready for bed by then - Elsa got this fixed once she came on shift but said she didn't know about a problem until I contacted her, the staff from earlier had not left any word for her about this.

    The receptionist, Elsa, was lovely, very happy and helpful. The location was good as nearer the promenade as we travelled with 2 ladies who use walking sticks.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Consider upgrading the bed linen; clean but much too scruffy for a self-designated 4* hotel; the impermeable mattress cover was very uncomfortable.

    Excellent location, lovely little rooftop swimming pool, large breakfast room and varied continental breakfast, polite staff, good size bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was so small had to be moved to a different room and swimming pool was so tiny and swim up bar was never opened. Would not stay here again!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit basic looking and would not be 4 star in the UK. Breakfast got a little predictable and boring by the end of the week. No toilet on the roof for the pool. Long way back to your room!

    Great position in the town. Reasonably priced. Comfortable public areas. Free WiFi in the bar areas. Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quality of breakfast rather poor not really 4 star.

    Convenient position for the old town and sea front. Clean rooms some a bit gloomy due to location in narrow streets. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room allocated was unsatisfactory but re-allocated, as soon as space became available, to a much better room. Breakfast choice did not vary. Drink dispensers, hot and cold, struggled to keep up with demand.

    Central location A la carte dinner Sheltered sunbathng area Reception and restaurant staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Most of the staff were very friendly, especially the daytime receptionist. The location is good, in a quiet street but within about 6-7 minutes walk of the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location,breakfast,and sun roof/pool

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Expect a 3 stars hotel needing renovation. Very poor wifi. Very poor breakfast. Badly managed hotel.

    Location, terrace views, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not 4 star hotel asks €55 I paid over 100 WHY

    Situation

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I thought that the breakfast could be a little more interesting.

    I liked the swimming pool on the roof and the central location of the hotel.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: