Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of York House Hotel 4 stars

Rua Das Janelas Verdes, 32, Estrela, 1200-691 Lisbon, Portugal

#110 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 489 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Space in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to the hotel - BAD. about 30 very rough external stairs to Reception then another 20 internally to room. No elevator! Too few staff at breakfast Bathroom space very tight.

    Space in the room Attractive courtyard for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Short walk from the train station and into the local town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Short walk from the train station and into the local town. Also some lovely little local cafe's next to the hotel. Complimentary pastries and port at the hotel also lovely. They do a fab Aperol Spritz!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast is great and having it outside was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The steps up from the street are fairly long and there is no lift. Unfortunately, it is under the flight path from the airport and although the noise is not too bad you do notice it.

    The breakfast is great and having it outside was very pleasant. Comfortable beds and the location was fine once you had worked out how to get around

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff is friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit expensive. There's no elevator and the stairs are steep. However the staff helps with suitcases.

    Staff is friendly and attentive. We really liked the customer service. Location is astonishing. Very cleaned. Nice reading room with free water, Porto wine and small patisserie.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The interior was clearly put together with quite a bit of...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hard wood floor was making a lot of noise whenever someone walks on it. It was difficult for us to sleep as we could hear noises from other rooms and my partner's every step in the room.

    The interior was clearly put together with quite a bit of thoughts. Great interior design.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Great possibilities; poor design/remodeling .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was badly remodeled. The soundproofing was bad — we could hear the persons next door snoring and talking, even at 4 am! The room didn’t have a single painting and instead covered the main spare wall with an ugly, large bed board with white cloth hanging down. The floor boards creaked when walked on — and so would wake up your partner if you went to the bathroom at night.

    The staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful boutique hotel, quite and perfect for exploring the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The keys for the rooms had big metal YH tags on them and they made such a loud noise when opening and closing the door. This was annoying as you could hear other guests opening and closing their doors on our corridor for breakfast and late at night that disturbed us. The hairdryers in the room are those ones attached to the wall. Not very good for styling hair. They are like a travel hairdryer. It would be great if they had better hairdryers. There is a huge construction project happening in the property next door. We weren't affected over the weekend as there was no work happening but on Monday and Tuesday morning the diggers started at 8am. So it was very noisy. There was no mention of this when we booked.

    Well designed, pretty rooms. Very comfy beds. Lovely linen. Good shower pressure and nice toiletries. Our first room was at the back of the property with lovely evening light that streamed into our room and it was very quiet. Staff were vey helpful and charming. The hotel is really attractive - designed around a pretty courtyard. Location is great. It is a little out of the central old town but that allows you to walk and discover the attractive neighbourhood. Also Uber is very cost effective to get into town quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful historical building with lots of personality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there is a huge building site next door which is very noisy during the daytime. We stayed over a weekend and avoided most of the noise. The rooms are somewhat anonymous decorated and doesn’t correspond to the general style of the building. Cleaning and staff was average and not on level for a 4 star hotel.

    The hotel is placed in a old monastery carefully restored in a simple and inviting style. Beautiful inviting courtyard where you can relax and have a coffee or glass of wine. The room was spacious and bright, with good beds. The neighbourhood we found very nice, local and quiet with some good coffeehouses and restaurants nearby. It is conveniently placed for several of the sights we wanted to visit. For example the Museu National de Arte Antiga is right next door with a wonderful collection as well as a quiet garden with a restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    We were thoroughly enchanted with this charming and unusual guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ongoing construction next door.

    York House is loaded with charm and atmosphere yet complete will all the mod cons an upscale traveler might require. It is like staying in an old Portuguese mansion overlooking a courtyard replete with bougainvillea and orange trees. The ongoing construction next door when we were there interfered only minimally with our total enjoyment of this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable stay, not too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit outside of the city center, so a half hour walk or a short taxi ride to get there. The breakfast buffet was always very busy and hard to get a table. There was an open bottle in the mini bar when we arrived.

    The size of the room, a very quiet and comfortable hotel. An old building with a great deal of ambiance and a nice courtyard outside of the reception. Helpful staff and efficient service. Not too expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    We had a delightful stay and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This would be a difficult place for someone who has difficulty with stairs.

    The courtyard was charming to relax and read in. The restaurant served excellent soups and perfectly grilled fish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay. Everything was excellent, fantastic staff and we will absolutly come back and of course we recommend your hotel to all friends going to Lisboa. Lisbeth & Lisbeth

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    a building with unusual character but with staff that did not enchance the visit, quite the opposite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when I complained about the room being dirty the reception asked me if I was sure ? the next morning when reception was explaining to the cleaning staff the attitude was not good.

    when we arrived to check in at around 6.30 pm our room was covered in dust and the bathroom was dirty as in dead bugs and pieces of silicone over the floor both in the bathroom and main bedroom, they had clearly been doing work in the room but had not cleaned after, we wrote in the dust on the furniture and took pictures to show reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice place in Lisbon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only access to the hotel was via a steep staircase with very slippery tiles . I fell heavily on these as they were wet. I reported this to staff and they responded with a shrug Hotel was well away from shops and eateries and this was disappointing

    The staff were great, and in particular, the young male restaurant staff member was fantastic. The food was excellent and the venue was attractive with a nice outdoor setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    The property and staff are lovely; both an atmospheric and comfortable place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is a little expensive for what you get - the food quality is fine, but you're also paying for the convenience and atmosphere of the hotel restaurant. 15 euro is a lot of money for a typical breakfast buffet.

    Approaching this hotel is a little adventure in itself - from the outside it's just a plain wall, but once you enter the gate you make your way up a winding cobblestone stairwell with vines right out of The Secret Garden. The hotel is beautiful, with great antique furniture with personality. Huge, spacious room with hardwood floors, high ceilings with tall windows looking out onto the rest of the property. You can hear the bells if your window is open.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent hotel and staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that breakfast at Euros 15 per head was a touch too expensive and felt that as in 2017 it should be included and not priced separately.

    Our room was very nice and comfortable. The bed was superb as well as the complimentary coffe and water in the room and pasteis de nata in the lounge area of the hotel. A very nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Great place to stay to explore Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed with the one evening meal we had. May have been us, though.

    Great location, excellent breakfast and good sized room. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    A perfect spot to explore Lisbon while residing in an oldtimish fortress of charme and hospitality.
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The coffee maker in the breakfast room might need to be replaced sooner or later. But it still works, and as long as it does, choose the garoto, the perfect espresso with milk that actually tastes she best.

    The Hotel is an absolute gem in the already beautiful Santos/Lapa area. Tugged away behind the fortress-like entrance with a beautiful ascent to arrive in the court surrounded by the wine leave covered walls of the hotel with litte orange trees and blooming jacaranda, you are soon welcomed by an extremely friendly and elegant crew (the men all wear jackets and ties while on duty), that will show you the tastefully antique-furnished library room, where you can have a little port with some local sweets (the heavenly pasteis de nata) at any time of the day as a complimentary gesture. The rooms are tastefully designed to combine the atmosphere of an old Grand Hotel with the latest up-to-date amenities when it comes to bathroom, showers and the magnificent Castelbel line from Porto with beauty products (i.e. soaps, shampoo etc.). The restaurant serves classics to perfection, you can always have a well balanced sopa de legumes, the portuguese take on a basic vegetable soup, or a fresh fish of the day, dorade or robelo (portuguese for seabass), simply served with cooked potatoes and green beans. The restaurant offers views of the court and you will have the same location if you join the daily breakfast buffet, which some people regarded overpriced at 15 Euro, but look at what you get for, as it includes all you need: fresh orange juice, all sorts of coffee from a slightly antiquated machine (but you can always ask for a galao in a glass), Muesli, Cornflakes, Yoghurt, different cheeses and hams, salmon and an excellent scrambled egg with bacon or sausages, pasteis de nata, croissants, pain au chocolat, pain au raisin, different sorts of breads, marmelades, a fresh fruit salad with sliced pineapple and kiwi on the side and more. You won't find places like that very often anymore, with such hospitality and outerworldly charme, they are indeed so rare, once you stay there, you will always come back. I cannot wait to book my next stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Old fashioned service with modern comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the big things were covered and lots of small things in addition. Thoughtful updated decor, great bathroom, complimentary pastries and port, comfortable bed and sheets, caring and considerate service. A real treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.0
    Unique atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about it!

    Unique atmosphere. It’s a former convent and has lost nothing of its former history although upgraded to a comfortable modern hotel. Excellent location in historic centre of the city perfect for sightseeing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    York House Hotel was one of the recommendations in our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the hotel's service could not keep up with the expectations. We needed to remember the staff to have our room cleaned. From the beginning, the service desk staff was unfriendly and indifferent. We had another unpleasent incident at the check out. Although we could confirm that the room was prepaid, the staff tryed and argued for over an hour that the room must be paid again.

    York House Hotel was one of the recommendations in our travel guide. The hotel is situated in a quiet area on the edge of Lissabon, although there is construction noise due to extensive construction activities on the property next to the hotel. The room was spacious and simply furnished with a lovely view of the hotel's garden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    Stay here if you're in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom doors could use a lock or at least have them close better,but that's really the only little thing to "complain" about.

    Great,clean place. Very very friendly staff and not intrusive. Very good breakfast with a lot of choices and quality food. The rooms are clean and tastefully furnished. The location is really good because it's not too noisy and you have a bus station in front if the hotel and more just down the street. You can go everywhere easily!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    We will be back - and will recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need better pillows. And they could spiff up the lounge so its more appealing for a snack or place to hang out and have a drink.

    Lovely old world hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Excellent friendly service. Comfortable bed, spacious room. Beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Historic beautiful hotel with plant filled courtyard, great service and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's slightly out of the historic centre but only a few minutes extra walk. There are quite a few steps from the pavement level but your bags are whipped away and delivered to your room by people with stamina! Great service. And discovered the fabulous marionette museum so worked out well!!

    The hotel is in a very attractive building covered with ivy, Bougainvillia and other flowering plants around a private courtyard. Excellent room with sitting area on one level and bedroom, walk in wardrobe and bathroom on upper level. Good breakfast and tasty dinner with nice wine. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.2
    Average acommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very good value for money. For what they charge per night, I’d expect cleanliness to be far better than what it is. The rooms are dirty and poorly kept. Doesn’t give me the impression they’ve kept up with maintenance. A lot of mold and limecale in the shower and around sink area. We had a toilet that wasn’t functioning properly. Very small room with little room to maneuver/ move around freely. In my opinion, it’s overpriced. Furthermore, the breakfast quality and selection is poor. They charge €15 pp for breakfast, ridiculously high for what you get. It’s a self-help coffee machine (bad coffee and I’m not a coffee snob!), sad pastries (dry and stoggy) and a random selection of other items. I think this hotel might have been prime in its heyday but it has fallen off a cliff.

    Garden area is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Quiet location with easy access to public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Relatively small rooms, only standard breakfast, a bit worn out rooms.

    Quiet location, nice staff, easy access to public transportation, near the river in a seemingly hipster area, great restaurants nearby, access to courtyard,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a mirror in the bedroom as well as in the bathroom.

    The garden was a very tranquil place to spend time. The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    No regrets really!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The absence of any elevators. It is a bit of a climb from the street entrance to reception. This was our own fault because we had both had recent orthopaedic procedures and never checked on the mobility facilities. The staff were very quick to help with bags.

    We loved the public areas - inside and out. The courtyard garden is quite a magical and peaceful place. The staff were most welcoming and helpful. Out bedroom was was spacious, bright and well fitted out. A very good breakfast buffet. Complimentary local cakes and port in the afternoons and evenings is a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.0
    The hotel has a lot of potential but definetly needs some TLC. overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is run down and needs some renovation work. The bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable and the bathroom quite old.

    The hotel is beautiful and has a lot of potential and character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    York House is a wonderful retreat from the noise and confusion of Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location isn't particularly inviting. The "first" floor of the hotel is on what Americans would call the 3rd floor, and although staff carried our bags up and down the stairs, getting in and out could be a little challenging for older guests.

    York House is a stylish retreat with an inviting courtyard. Our room was large and comfortable and stylishly decorated. The breakfast (including the coffee) was excellent, as were the drinks we enjoyed in the courtyard. It was a pleasure to return to the property for the evening after a busy day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Amazingly friendly staff and classic Portuguese setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really difficult to criticise this hotel in any way!

    Amazingly friendly staff and classic Portuguese setting. Clean, bright and airy rooms. Lovely breakfast and helpful staff recommending local restaurants and other tourist attractions. Only about 10 mins walk from the City centre or 5 mins by Taxi, costing only 5 euros.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Very personal quiet sanctuary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Small and personal. Excellent breakfast. Ivy clad oasis. Although not in the historic centre easy access to central Lisbon on public transport and some wonderful very Portuguese local restaurants (Il Covo and Taberna).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    The place is really quite. I slept so well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, location, staff. It is a beautiful property too

    I love the breakfast. It's simple, beautiful home made cakes. The staff are very nice and the location is excellent. I would recommend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.3
    The courtyard, a nice place to sit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a major ant infestation in our room in both the bedroom and the bathroom. When we asked to be switched to another room, to find that when we picked the carpet off the floor, other colonies of ants and bugs roaming around the entire floor of the room. We were mortified given the ratings and the price of the hotel so we asked to check out 3 days earlier than expected. The staff showed no remorse towards the situation and asked us to pay for the night we had stayed as if there were no other options. We paid and got out of there to another hotel, Pousada de Lisboa, a 5-star hotel which was much cleaner, more professional and located in the city center. This was a terrible experience and am shocked by the lack of professionalism and remorse shown by the staff given our particular situation.

    The courtyard, a nice place to sit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    old looking wood trellis partition in room detracts from the appearance and use of the room better removed.

    bed good shower/bathroom good near trams /trainline/metro evening meals good staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect - we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "double Bed" was 2 Single Beds that stood together. Since they were not fixed to each other or the floor there was a "moving" gap in between them.

    Almost perfect Hotel. The Staff ist excellent and the Restaurant (a la carte, not included) ist amazing! Everything is nice and clean, well designed and very friendly. We would definitively come back to York House if we travel again to Lisbon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a lot of stairs to arrive to the entrance of the hotel. Didn't bother us, but can be a challenge for some visitors.

    Great hotel in a nice area. Definitely great value for money. We were attending the wedding in a church nearby and reception in 5min walking distance. The location couldn't be more perfect for that. Great terrace as well!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    stone steps leading to a charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would have liked cucumber or peppers as well as the tomato halves

    The garden was lush and filled with comfortable places to sit and relax. The breakfasts were suited to many tastes, with plenty of fresh fruit, pastries and good bread

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great find - boutique, design, charming and good value too
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms don't have the best soundproofing mainly due to the age of the doors to the bedrooms. Ask for a room with a double door

    Charm, character, beautiful courtyard

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Nice quiet courtyard to have a drink in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to leave your room key at the front desk. Breakfast is expensive for the area and mediocre.

    Nice quiet courtyard to have a drink in. Great, clean room with a comfy bed. Beautiful well lit and well ventilated bathroom and nice shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Great budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing specific that i didn't like about this restaurant.

    Location is quite good. Love the sitting and dining area. Room was good but could be more cleaner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely quirky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you find stairs a problem you might struggle here.

    Lovely quirky hotel with a peaceful courtyard for having a drink after sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and very quiet and the buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    Everything really. We spent the night of our wedding here and we're so glad we did! They were amazing: let us check out later than what we were meant to, gave us extra (free) coffee and cakes for our families without us even asking, super eficient and attentive service... and the place is beautiful! We are coming back asap!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    A beautiful hidden gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I booked this short break for a surprise birthday present for my boyfriend . The hotel is a hidden gem , the staff were so friendly and accommodating,, Our stay there was perfect, We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Intimate and restful hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was directly over the reception and I was woken several times by night reception staff member talking and phone ringing.

    Very peaceful and restful intimate hotel, with large terrace and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Hotel de charme et charactere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in courtyard and restaurant in afternoon and evenings could be improved

    Building with character, lovely courtyard and antique furniture; calm location outside tourist centre but easy access to all main visitor sites; friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful setting, lovely building and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very quiet as a 20 minute walk to downtown Lisbon. Would not suit everyone but for us that was perfect. Beautiful setting, lovely building and excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    An interesting and charming introduction to Lisbon !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback here is the number of stairs that one needed to climb to the terrace and main entrance -fine for us but not for anyone with limited mobility .

    Friendly and helpful staff -this was our first time In Lisboa and they spoke several languages and could direct us to the good public transportation, etc.. Terrace and breakfast, and restaurant service was very good. Manager Fernando was delightful and as asked gave us a printed history of the Hotel, its evolution from convent , and directed us to good wine (s).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    A very special stay with very thoughtful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was quiet a lot of building work going on between the hotel and the walk into Lisbon during our stay. However we were unaffected by this in the hotel which remained a sanctuary!

    Really welcoming and friendly staff. Very clean and very comfortable rooms. A lovely courtyard to relax in, or have breakfast if you so choose. It had a very special gentle ambiance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had difficult access up a private set of stairs. Decor uninspiring.

    Young porter exceptionally helpful. Great location. Lovely shaded courtyard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, Quiet Hotel with Wonderful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked tea-making facilities in my room.

    A beautiful hotel with a stunning courtyard, super comfortable beds and shutters that really do block out the light so you can sleep late in the mornings. The breakfast is vast and varied. You can choose eat in the restaurant or in the courtyard surrounded by flowering trees. The hotel is quiet, quaint, and has everything you could ask for. The staff are helpful and always polite and courteous. The manager took time to show us where to visit in Lisbon and even gave us a coffee tasting lesson one morning at breakfast. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We loved every minute!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Extremely friendly staff who were very helpful and went out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff who were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure my mum who is 80 and very frail enjoyed her stay and had all the little comforts that make an experience extra special.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with especially nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ate dinner here one night when we didn't feel like going out. Food was okay, but not anything spectacular.

    The staff here were incredibly warm and caring. The hotel was traditional and charming. Loved the courtyard for relaxing after a day of touring. Incredibly easy access to public transportation allowed us to stay in a quieter, more relaxed part of town and still have an easy time seeing everything. Very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Atmospheric and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet refuge in the city but within walking distance of the centre in a local neighbourhood. Staff very helpful and unsolicited birthday cake a lovely touch

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.1
    Fine for the short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor access from street, not great for the elderly. Construction directly across the street so very noisy from early morning to evening.

    Helpfull staff. Good complimentary breakfast and very good kitchen for dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    They had maintained the building true to its style of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The climb up and down the outside stairs.

    They had maintained the building true to its style of a convent. Breakfast in the courtyard was a great way to start the day. Buses stop outside the hotel so transport is easy. Very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful boutique hotel, perfect for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only 2 parking spaces nearby, had to park further.

    The location is very peaceful and relaxing. At night, the sangrias served in the courtyard were very soothing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely and charming Hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very charming hotel and the staff is very helpful and nice. Altough it's not located in the centre of the city the location is great because you have buses, trams and the train station "Santos" near by which allow you an easy access to the city centre and the beaches. The breakfast was excellent it had a diverse menu. We had a nice stay and would go back anytime.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    A little piece of the country in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning too loud and could get quite warm without it.

    Lovely friendly staff, excellent service. Very pretty terrace which made us feel like we were in a country hotel. Breakfast and all meals extremely good. Loved the old style quality of this hotel and quiet library with lots of books to enjoy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Delightful hotel for a city break
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of steps up from the street!

    Lovely atmosphere, with the friendliest staff you could wish for; a wonderful welcome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Quiet location, authentic, lovely courtyard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information about hotel or handy tips for visitors, public transport options.

    Quiet location, authentic, lovely courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely old building, a tiny bit shabby but charming staff and a great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold scrambled eggs. So very little to complain about,

    Generally charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A calm oasis in a busy vibrant city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean new room, beautiful style, cool structure and kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean new room, beautiful style, cool structure and kind staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The beds were very comfortable and there was always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the hall was a bit loud at times

    The beds were very comfortable and there was always Portuguese pastry available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Character comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More info at checkin

    Character. Breakfast. Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Had a very enjoyable stay, good location for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, service, location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful antique interior, large and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is 3rd floor so you have to climb stairs with your luggage

    Beautiful antique interior, large and clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    We had two single beds pushed together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two single beds pushed together. I thought I was booking a double bed. There were also ants in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    A peaceful sanctuary
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely breakfast room, delicious home-made jams, breads and croissant. Beautiful bed linen and spacious room. Loved the quietness. Slept so well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.8
    Functional and good value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms/showers were quite tired but nevertheless very clean

    Nice traditional feel to the place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ovreall atmosphere is very pleasant with comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Great rooms and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking or bar

    Lovely comfy bed and good spread for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, warm room overlooking courtyard. Very friendly, helpful staff and manager. Loved it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse York House Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: