Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Portal del Sol 4 stars

Av. Denis Roa 1455, 1424 Asuncion, Paraguay

#49 of 68 hotels in Asuncion

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 637 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in nice area of Asuncion
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Comfortable rooms, nice garden with swiming pool. Realy good breakfast with freshh froots, yogurts, coffee and pastry. People who work there are absolutly charming and do there best to make you feel comfortable. Would stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    First time visit to Portal del Sol, a warm welcome to Asuncion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know how to operate the water temperature. Needed to turn on the hot water switch on the wall before turning on the shower.

    Lots of variety for breakfast. Even that though we arrived close to closing time, there was a nice selection of food. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our rooms were unique and roomy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Large clean rooms in a walkable location to restaurants and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could hear next room through louvered window, but once the fan was on, it drowned out the sound.

    Large room with queen bed and twin bed, very firm mattress with nice crisp sheets. Bathroom was super clean with large shower. Comprehensive breakfast with so many choices!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    After spending a long time organising a booking for 25...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After spending a long time organising a booking for 25 people, the staff treated me very poorly on arrival. I ended up dealing directly with the manager who was much more friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is NOT a 10 min walk from the historic centre as stated in the description, more like a 20 min bus ride. As far as we could see, there was no gym. Most of the staff spoke no English.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Grea hotel with free airport transfer do not miss it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wonderful staff the linguistically skilled manageress Daniella was great all staff could not have been better in spite of having to put up with brown outs - loss of electricity supply which was a out of their control They arranged a city day tour for me great meals I did not want to eat elsewhere very close to the large mall Sol shopping centre the best in Asuncion

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and it is not well cared for

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.5
    Bad
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service bad, bed bad everything is bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Loation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were hard. Showers need updated. Some rooms very noisy

    Loation. Staff. Airport pickup was EXCELLENT!! =

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    hotel could use some remodelation, but I loved, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotel could use some remodelation, but I loved, very good price at very good neghborhood

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good hot showers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hot showers

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    4.2
    Look for a different place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel charged an extra day for just 3 hour earlier check-in.

    Breakfast was very good related to other Paraguayan hotels of that level.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Smooth check-in/out
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key, old fashioned and clumsy.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good restaurant in the facility, very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    eXCELENTE ATENCION
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    eXCELENTE ATENCION

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Affordable place, good room service. Near to the new economic center in Asuncion, Paraguay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds, and the pool needed to be cleaner. but everything was nice

    Nice room service Affordable place Great location! Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    2.9
    Nada.
    • Family with older children

    Un hotel horrible la primera vez que con booking la paso tan mal,falta de consideracion y falta total de ganas de solucionar un inconveniente,ademas caro!!!!

    Nada.horrible

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    4.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NO warm water in the room and shower!!!! Poor furniture, very old, to be renewd. NO wifi signal (it works once every 10 times). 4 star hotel???? I would give max 2 stars

    Good breakfast. Helpful staff that gave me a discount upon complaints for NO hot water and NO wifi.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    4.2
    The security guard was friendly and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel desk staff were very unfriendly, and not helpful. The wifi was not available for most of my 13 days there, and not fast enough to do work stuff. The water was not available 5 days outta 13 so I had to wait or not even shower or wash hands and rest of days. I had barley enough hot water for 10 minute shower, so me and my girlfriends had to shower together and be quick or not shower at all in the mornings. When asked hotel staff they were rude about not having water. Towels, Blankets and pillows were cheap. Huge party and loud noise in the common are one weekend past 3am, even know it stated you had to be in your rooms and outta common areas after 10 or 11pm. Hallways flooded with water due to rain. Elevator stopped working cause it was also leaking from water damage. It stunk of mold and mildew. Had a huge ant colony in my room that we had to spray bug killer, not the hotel staff. Gym was only a couple pieces of equipment, not enough for everyone in hotel or even a fraction of the guest hotel could hold. Every problem talk to desk staff about they didn't do anything. Just gave dirty look and went back to playing on ther computers. We only stayed since it was close and walking distance to my girlfriends job.

    The security guard was friendly and nice. Maids did a good job of cleaning.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    9.6
    In a convenient location, close to bus routes, with very...
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing I didn't like was that the hotel was far from my girlfriend's house which is no reflection on the hotel itself. Everything was great

    In a convenient location, close to bus routes, with very pleasant and helpful staff. Language was not a problem as the staff have a mixture of both English and Spanish. Very comfortable hotel and value for money

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast and meals. Central location.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rhe room was a litle small

    the staff always with a smile very helpful and smiling,clean, nice, good location near friends & family

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.9
    Vert Good breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vert Good breakfast and location

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Hotel Portal del Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: