Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Somerset West Bay Doha

Diplomatic Area,, West Bay, Doha, Qatar

#81 of 117 hotels in Doha

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    5.8
    long checking in time, trolley service is not available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 4 nights

    long checking in time, trolley service is not available immediately ( it takes them around 15 min to provide one). staff not smiling except the Moroccan guy he was so friendly. The checking out procedure is odd, you have to go with them to the room and check piece by piece ( for the first time I face check out process like this) room service is very slow

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant and comfy as always
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sideboard was missing in the apartment so there was nowhere to put our keys, wallet etc. Also the pillows are waaaay too soft and there are no other options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The apartment was a good size,clean and had everything we would need for our stay. It's the perfect place for a family with small kids.Mr.Rashid at the reception was wonderful. Always smiling and very helpful. We hope to see him again during our next visit. Yes, we will be back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2017

    8.8
    great location, excellent staff, with a little kink
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's got nothing to do with the hotel itself, and therefore it's been a dilemma for me whether i should put it in my review or not, but eventually i decided to include it for the benefit of other travellers. one of the neighbouring hotels, the w hotel, creates what was for us some really horrible outside noise on certain nights. they (w hotel) have two clubs, and it's either the music coming out from the clubs themselves, or they put loudspeakers outside and play music in the street, but we could clearly hear loud thumping club music on the 8th floor until about midnight. with two small kids and a 1000 riyal per night bill to pay, this was a nasty surprise for us. we came back to the hotel late and even though the staff did absolutely everything to help us, offering two different apartments, one of them up on the 25th floor, it was just simply too late for us to get into a room change, and we decided to stay and put up with the music. big thank you to the staff, none of their fault, but be aware of this, and if you think this may be an issue for you, indicate this when you book. the music did not play all night, so if you go to bed late, or arrive on a weekday, this may not be a problem for you at all, but for us, it really caused some discomfort. again, nothing to do with the hotel itself, but still, we couldn't ignore it either. shame on the w hotel for turning an excellent convenient location in a posh neighborhood into a sleazy night club area. shame on the local authorities for not cracking down on such conduct. again, we would not hesitate to return to somerset again on a weekday, and in fact we have already decided to go to qatar again for 3-4 days (weekdays!) and stay at somerset, but weekends, probably thu-fri-sat, we'd not want to take our chances again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2016

    4.2
    Poor stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No valet parking, poor and old furniture, uncomfortable beds, poor water pressure in the shower, one type of soup for everything, checkout took too long, no resturant at night

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    6.3
    First of all, we arrived around 1 pm and it took us almost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, we arrived around 1 pm and it took us almost two hours to check in and that's just for the first apartment and since we've booked two apartments they told us to wait more to check in for the second one and that waiting was three hours more (at 6 pm). Second of all, the apartment wasn't as clean as it should be compared to the price. Finally, I called the reception an hour before we leave so that they can take their time to finish the check out process and guess what I also had to wait another hour while my family was waiting in the car to finish.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    6.7
    Good but..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Premier Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View is beautiful but the glass is very dirty, old furniture sitting room, Value does not deserve, wifi is very very poor

    The bed is comforte, the size of the room is big, kitchen is good and complet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    10
    excellent and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    satisfied with the cleanliness ,complete kitchen ware and items i need in short holiday with family, pleasant and beautiful view outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.1
    They was no restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They was no restaurant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2017

    9.2
    A grate time out in somerset doha
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Thank you somerset hotel staff for a grate times. Special thanks to mr rasheed for always smiling . .and mr rajeev for exlent service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow staff

    Location Price Apartment size Good for families

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2017

    5.0
    The car barking is outside the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car barking is outside the hotel The wifi is only for 2

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2016

    6.7
    Location was great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Premier Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was great . So was the staff. Value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2016

    10
    everything and was not expect that hotel will be only 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything and was not expect that hotel will be only 4 stars, was perfect in everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    3.8
    The rooms are eide, good for big families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed matress of bad quality, lack of cofort, small tv screens. Swimming pool is not clean.

    The rooms are eide, good for big families

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    9.6
    Staff are very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Bedroom Executive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are very accommodating

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    9.2
    Location & team
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast running by other company.

    Location & team

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    9.2
    it was nice to spend a good time wiht family there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    swimming pool

    it's very nice for family

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    10
    The staff are very helpful I like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are very helpful I like it

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    8.3
    Preferred Stay in Doha
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Deluxe
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to remind for daily news paper.

    Location : Acessbility to city center mall.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    7.5
    The room was clean and spacious, with fully furnished...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi connection was poor, and it's only around the living hall. We complained about it and the staff gave us an internet modem soon after. Don't use the limo if you just want to go to the city. They charged double! Use Karwa instead. But if you plan to hire them for 1/2 days for 50 riyal/hr, it will be value for money.

    The room was clean and spacious, with fully furnished kitchen including washing machine, excluding rice cookers. The breakfast was ok with quite selection of foods. The covered swimming pool was small, but my kids enjoyed it very much. The staffs was helpful. The location was near to the City Centre Doha shopping mall (about 10 mins walk). Getting a Karwa taxi is quite easy but you have to wait beside the road. There's no taxi stand, just hail them and they'll stop anywhere.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    7.1
    The apartment was very big this is the only thing i liked
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restutant it fair I though it will be big and the menue is too small .. The location is good

    The apartment was very big this is the only thing i liked

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    8.8
    Hi already informed reception staff a bout sinks plugs in...
    • Family with older children

    Hi already informed reception staff a bout sinks plugs in master bedroom bathroom and kitchen, water pressure at bathrooms were very low facing difficulty washing even the hair from shampoo. And also washing beady after toilet.

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2015

    5.4
    No saop and shampo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No saop and shampo No carpet for pray They put price for list . one of the list they stated wisky glass. They can stat only glass no need to stat wisky we are a Muslem and in Qatar state

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2015

    5.8
    When i arrive to the hotel around 2:00am no one was at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When i arrive to the hotel around 2:00am no one was at the reception, i rang the bell dor a few minutes but no one showed up, so i had to call the property then the receptionist come albog when he heard the phone ringing. Also there wasn't a water poilr in the suit. The main room was not clean. The smill of dust was strong in the setting area

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2015

    5.4
    The location is amazing as it overlooks the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The 3 bedroom apartment accommodates 4 people at max because it has 1 master room and 2 other rooms with a single bed Each. bedrooms were so small and the furniture looks old. There was a problem with the phone so we had to go to the reception every time we had an inquiry or a request. Wifi is only available in common areas. Some of the restaurant chairs are torn. I would love to revisit Qatar but I'm quite sure I won't be staying at Somerset ever again

    The location is amazing as it overlooks the bay Breakfast is included and the restaurant staff are kind

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2016

    8.8
    I liked the solitude and peacefulness of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked the solitude and peacefulness of the property. The room/apartment is very spacious!

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    7.9
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need more parking spaces.

    Nice staff. Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2016

    9.2
    Really nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really nice staff

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    7.9
    Internet connection is very poor inside apartment except in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet connection is very poor inside apartment except in bedroom.

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2015

    7.5
    Surprised, no wi fi in apartments
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Surprised, no wi fi in apartments

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2015

    4.6
    Provide WIFI inside the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Provide WIFI inside the rooms

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2015

    7.9
    Clean,comfy,very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wifi in rooms No spa Poor breakfast

    Clean,comfy,very nice staff

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2015

    6.7
    The location was good,, good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi... The breakfast was not good,,,, few selection

    The location was good,, good parking

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: