Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais de l’Hermitage Saint-Gilles 3 stars

123 Avenue Leconte de Lisle , 97434 Saint-Gilles-les-Bains, Reunion

#19 of 29 hotels in Saint-Gilles-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 835 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    80´colors in the room and the balcony was pretty awful.

    Comfy beds, even the extra bed. Great with separate toilet and bathroom as we were three persons sharing the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Our room had funghi on the walls. We could change the room without a problem, the new one was fine, but all rooms were old and need renovation.

    Very good food, the best location to get quickly to the beach and a safe swim (no sharks) and snorking. Nice big garden, nice swimming pool, nice evening concerts during Christmas, very friendly personell.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on 1st floor very old. We received first one on 1st floor and wie asked for one on 2nd floor.

    Hotel is located near the beach. Rooms old, but ok. Rooms on 2nd floor better then on 1st floor. Garden and Swimmingpool very nice. Breakfast Buffet excellent. Nice Restaurants on the Beach. Dagmar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms need updating, the bathrooms are a bit old, We had breakfast almost every day, pastries are not very crisp , and the same fruits every morning, although the island does have so many delicious fruits!

    Although the facility is dated, the overall experience was very good. The staff is friendly, the grounds are very nice, and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is NOT up to standard. Scrambled eggs in a warmer (which by the way is NOT warm) are either over cooked or running all over raw. Bacon floating in oil and over cooked Sausages not too bad but seem to be recycled At €36 for the buffet dinner ?? Better value in the village and restaurants in the vicinity of hotel

    The location. The pools are lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast buffet everyday. Should have more varieties of food. Everytime need to ask the staff for shower gel, tissues and so on. Staff were not so helpful.staff were not friendly.change of gate code without any notice. Very poor wifi in room.

    The bed was comfortable, and swimming pool was ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar staff was really unwelcoming, there were only 2 other guests and still they did not welcome us, did not wait on us and when we actually went to the bar to order they ignored us and made us wait for at least 5-10 mins. The breakfast was ok but could be improved, instant coffee, few choice in fruit (only pineapple, orange and watermelon) and no vegetables and they should put some spikes to scare the pigeons away as this is not hygenic at all. The room was clean but could use a make over (paint, bathroom redone, mirror that came off the wall).

    Reception staff was very helpful, pool and beach were nice. Good value for money when you compare to other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was located at the end of the hotel, ground floor. No wifi available there, ground floor means no sun coming in the room, I felt like being in a cave. Anyway, since the hotel has change its name (ex Novotel) and owner: nothing has changed.

    The location, walking distance to the beach. The local food served at night is very good (buffet). Staff is really nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Rooms could be cleaned better. Hotel needs an upgrade.

    Location was excellent. Near busstop, supermarket, restaurants. Good place to stay for lots of day trips. Staff were very friendly and always tried to help (even with little English). Had a Europe Car rental desk in hotel. Very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality service. Staff not polite. Not clean

    Good location for tourism

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel that needs a renovation urgently. The hotel is advertised as suited for families, but rooms are too small.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything clean and functional but a bit dated maybe?

    Proximity to amenities. Cost reasonable. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too old

    The beach and the garden of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many birds trying to eat our breakfast. It was difficult to manage as you couldn't leave anything on the table un attended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly same breakfast everyday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our hotel room shown its past glory. Hallway to our room need uplift and a little bit more cleaning. Just a note: parking can be challenging, especially in the weekend. But, it's rather a issue common in every places that we went to in the Reunion.

    Full size and comfy bed, plus fluffy pillows! Staff are nice and professional (although we don't speak French). Appreciate it very much for letting us late check-out at no extra charge. Hotel area is huge for many activities. Nice and clean room and swimming pools. The beach and La plage Benitier are just couple walk through hotel backdoor. Score supermarket, many restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Le Papaye hotel resto serves good buffet. In La Vanille resto, by mistake, I ordered a raw fish meal (tartare poisson). Thankfully, a kind waiter, she understand and fixed my lunch mistake to a nice fresh-grilled fish. :)

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked this hotel because of free WIFI in the room, however we didn't get wifi in the room, it was only available in the public area. My son lost his new nike runner, we left on the veranda because them was dirty, thinking we would take them back in the room after cleaning, but before we could bring them in, they were gone. The hotel wasn't equipped with camera so management could not do anything. To take a shower you needed to step into the bath tub n stand on it, this was pretty hard for me because of backache. Breakfast was available in the package, was you get the same things everyday and it gets boring. Furthermore you will see flies all over the breakfast table and sitting on the fresh tropical fruits. Variety of food for children was limited. Family room wasn't spacious enough. Staff was incompetent.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel nice but in need of some renovation. Wifi was only limited (or by times not at all) available. Although I arrived at 11 am, I had to wait until 3 pm to get my room and when asked for a needle to fix a loose button, none could be found by the staff (albeit helpful).

    Friendly staff, overall a nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was simple. After sunset, the door to the beach was closed, which we were not be informed before.

    Pool is nice. Beach is close. Hotel was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite old building - still have keys instead of magnetic cards. Long queue to check out and limited staff at reception

    Breakfast, pool and location (lots of restaurants, bars nearby)

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was very old, dirty and had a bad smell. I do not recommend it. The wifi is terrible as soon as you go to your room it does not work, although it is advertised to have Internet in every room. I actually stayed only one night, I luckily got a refund and went to another hotel. They hardly speak English only one lady Solange she was very helpful and helped with my refund.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice situation and nice breakfast.The personnel were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is too small with 2 cots for babies

    The pool

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception was understaffed and a bit slow. Had to re queue to get car park and wifi codes.

    Pool was warm, breakfast very good. Room comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was always someone that could speak English. The hotel surprised us with a cake on our wedding anniversary.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    late hour restaurant

    location

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Price for dinner too high. Lower price will increase marketability of hotel.

    Open space and helpful staff. Pleasant atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very happy with everything! Very kid friendly and very accommodating! Thanks

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Relais de l’Hermitage Saint-Gilles traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: