Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of House of Dracula Hotel 4 stars

Poiana lui Stechil no 22, 500001 Poiana Brasov, Romania

#10 of 16 hotels in Poiana Brasov

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 767 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have WiFi in our room

    The House of Dracula hotel was like a beautiful castle in the middle of the forest so magical and mysterious. We were amused by the names of the rooms. The room was elegant and clean with all facilities you would expect from a good hotel. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small non-smart TV with no accessible HDMI ports, some of the walls need repainting (especially in bathroom above the shower), small-ish room, really weird car entrance with a very steep ramp and narrow little access road.

    Really friendly staff, the place looks pretty cool, plenty of parking space, really nice green area and pretty good breakfast. Overall it looks like a small castle in the heart of the mountain / woods.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've learned that usually during low season the hotels here close their restaurants but it's never really mentioned (not in any of the places we've stayed), which is frankly a bit annoying. The same went for the hotel bar, which is equally annoying.

    Despite being basically The only guests the hotel managed to not only recommend great places to eat (that were open) but also went out of their way to make a great breakfast. Now, this is not a small feat considering we were two vegans in hunting-country. But no faces, weird questions or remakes were made about our dietary choices. Instead we got two beautiful plates of really good breakfast (best so far) on our trip through Transylvania.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in the middle of nowhere with really aggressive serpentine roads with huge holes which can damage your car, so be really careful when driving to this hotel!

    You basically live in a castle in the middle of the mountains. The scenery and interior of the hotel are simply magical.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    too quaint on the hotel we haven't saw peoples for the location and to do some attractions you must take a car

    the place was amazing grate feeling like the old times the stuff awesum -especially Alex. he helped us and so kind and answer our all questions good food on breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was different than other hotels. In a very positive way. service was great, bed comfortable and the tv had lots of international channels so we could watch a movie.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Noise transference from other bedrooms. Seemed short staffed. Staff did not seem happy. One ‘ manager’ was preoccupied with his phone all the time. He watched my wife get our dinners where they had been left getting cold because the waiter/ barman was busy with other guests. Products not topped up at breakfast from tea bags to eggs. Bedroom is sprayed with overpowering cheap air freshener so you have to open window to clear air in temperatures of minus13 degrees C

    Leaving

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If shuttle is busy there are no local taxis. taxis will come from Brasov, bt turn on the meter in Brasov. No taxi will take you from Brasov without a premium, but the buses are cheap and regular. Getting food delivered was equally difficult at night

    Alex ,the receptionist,could not do enough for us. All the staff were extremly helpful. overall a lovely stay. Great, themed, property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at 8pm, we were told that the kitchen is closed and that they don't even serve drinks anymore (although the bar was supposed to be open until 11pm). Staff seemed a bit annoyed when asked about things.

    The atmosphere was great, just the right amount of creepy but also very comfy. The torture chamber is quite fun to look at and take pictures in. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wi-fi in the room, no plug for the bathtub and staff could not help me with one(I'm sure there were unused rooms with a bathtub plug). Staff should smile more.

    Great hotel design, free parking, large comfortable room, large bathroom, wooden fireplace in the room, good views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the room no 309 which us a double room with a big terrace and great view to the mountains. The included breakfast was very abundent. All the interiors are fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a walk to the restaurant we wanted to go to, but with own transportation this is not a problem.

    We had a great stay at the hotel. It is a theme hotel which we were looking for and all the decor didn’t disappoint! It definitely has the Dracula vibe. The rooms were very spacious, warm and with very comfortable mattresses. The tv had lots of English channels and the concierge was very kind. Would recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -it was a bit annoying that their restaurant was always closed, except for breakfast and we had to walk 20 minutes to get to a restaurant ( in the dark) -check-in should be a little bit earlier than 4 pm

    -it was really really clean -nice mini bar, nice breakfast food -the staff was really helpful, they offered to go and get us a pizza from a restaurant nearby when we asked them if we can order something (they had their restaurant closed) -they had everything you need in the bathroom -nice view -the hotel looks amazing and we loved the "dracula" touch -really cheap compared to other properties, definitely good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner on Sunday and Monday but it might not be worth it due to less people in the hotel.

    Great location, great view especially from room 203. Good breakfast. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very far from the centre of Poiana and it was a scary walk up at night. There are no taxis in the area. The staff weren't very friendly. They first say NO to everything then when you insist they find a solution which they should've done to begin with. I asked for toilet paper and clean towels and they said it's your fault the room wasn't cleaned, now you have to wait until tomorrow. Can you imagine? Not getting toilet paper and clean towels?!? But I insisted and he brought me some. Also, no one was helpful.they answered everything 'Yes' or 'No'. I would never go back.

    The decor and ambiance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the ski sloaps and center town. Standard double room could be bigger.

    Romantic hotel, very nice staff, quiet location. The suite is nice and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed on the Saturday night as there was a function taking place.So we had to walk into the town for something to eat. Not a pleasant walk downhill and uphill there and back in the snow. On checkout we were asked to pay for 2 bottles of wine that the housekeeping staff said had been drank from the minibar. Completely baffling as neither myself or partner has touched alcohol for 4 years. The only thing we had was a bottle of water!

    We were upgraded to an apartment as we had arrived early and had to wait.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low breakfast variety, low room service/cleaning quality, lift until first floor only, not 4* hotel, 3*+ max. Low performance wi fi.

    Room design & cozyness. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) It should be mentioned clear that there is no elevator to the third floor. 2) I t was written that it has a modern spa place. But they do not even have a sauna. It is only a special machine that you can enter but you need to pay for this.

    The place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location a bit far from Poiana's centre (only accessible by car), bathroom facilities a bit old

    overall architecture of the hotel, deluxe room very spacious and in medieval style, breakfast with wide range of food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, ageing linen and gowns, inconvenient logistics to get luggage between rooms and reception and substandard cleaning (found old that items under the furniture)

    Very friendly staff and accommodating requests, beautiful building, peaceful scenic location, ease of arrangements and sufficient safe parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very clean when we came. The blankets were dirty and the hotel did not solve the situation sufficiently. The facilities would also need a reconstruction.

    Design of the hotel is very interesting. Location is very nice with a good parking for cars. Breakfast offers all the basics.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1)Breakfast spread was limited. No fruits all 3 days! That's one of the most basic things I would expect in breakfast buffet. Breakfast timings were incorrectly displayed on the reception. It mentions 8:00 to 10:30, but the breakfast wasn't ready until 8:30. It wasn't replenished in case someone happens to have a late breakfast at 10. 2)Internet connectivity poor. When asked the staff were clueless to offer any solution. 3)No drinking water, no kettle, no complimentary coffee/tea in the suite. 4)No room service 5)It seemed the place was being run by young adults whose answer to any question was they don't know and this is how things are. 6)The most upsetting thing for any consumer is to not get value for their money. The room rate they charged us on average was 125 Euros per night. On their reception, they had displayed the rate of 99 Euros. When asked they said, that's because they have to pay commission to booking.com so the rates are higher when booked through them. Had we booked directly with the hotel, hotel would have given us the rate of 99 Euros. So hotel is passing on the commission charge on the customer. Will NOT TRUST BOOKING.COM 's guarantee of best price and would always cross check on the property website as well for prices.

    The property itself was unique in its castle like sense. The suite was very unique. Could be a great place to stay if the service aspect is worked upon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was closed so we had to take dinner somewere else. The location of the hotel isn't close to the ski slope, and you had to use private car/transportation.

    We had a suite with 2 rooms. The bed from the bedroom was awesome (confortable). The bathroom was big.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    where do I begin: - this is by no means a 4 star hotel, even by Romanian standards, this is 2-3 max - tacky decorations in really bad taste everywhere - old shower not working properly - they said breakfast is until 10:30, we were there at 10 and there was almost nothing left, we needed to make due with some leftovers - worst of all - room was extremely cold during the day, we requested the heat to be turned up and they said they only turn the heat up at 18:00. The girl at the reception also mentioned that other guests complained about this too. It is winter and it was -2 outside.

    very large room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the lift only serves 1 level, luggages have to be brought up the staircase to the room

    Very thematic Dracula-spooky feel to the castle and really helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the very late breakfast. If you want to ski it’s a bad option.

    The food for breakfast was very, very good! The place looks amazing and I really recommand it to all travellers if they will change the breakfast hours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit of a problem when we arrived. Supposed to share a room with my brother- in- law ( asked hotel for 2 single beds ), but when we arrived they gave us a double, so I ended up sleeping in the bathroom !!!! Next night we were moved to a room with 2 single beds and were given a free bottle of wine. Not quite what we had planned but hey, it wasn't the worse thing in the world :-)

    Fantastic hotel, love the complete set up of the place. Very helpful and friendly staff ( thanks to Alex and Anca on reception ), and to everyone working at the hotel. If I were ever to go back to Romania, this hotel would be my choice :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a quirky, yet fun hotel experience. Loved the theme as we had visited Bran castle earlier that day and wanted to ski the next so perfect combination. The wifi was great, we were able to stream Dracula from our room as were the rest of the facilities. The staff were the best! Onka (not sure if spelled correctly) went out of her way to ensure we had the best say. Thank you! Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar closes at 8... The elevator only goes up 1 floor and no assistance is offered. The breakfast had stale bread, the vegetables were old, the coffee was cold and the milk was warm. The rooms are extremely small. Spoke with the manager about the fact that the bar closed at 8 when the website says it stays open until the last customer goes to bed, the response was that the website did not say that even though I showed him the website.... When I complained about all of the issues the response was simply, that is just my opinion and if I don't like it I can leave. The fire place in the common area is just for show. So you can't relax with a drink by the fire as the website advertises. The Dracula theme only extends to a stamp on the dining plates. Speaking of dining plates..... The dishes and silverware was dirty and covered with spots. When I asked for a glass of ice at 8:15 I was told that this would be impossible because the staff is not allowed in the kitchen after 8. This was truly a very disappointing stay. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!! THIS HOTEL IS A RIP OFF AT BEST I am an experienced traveler and fully expect some things to not be perfect. However this hotel and its management bring a new definition to lack of customer service. The hostel in center Brasov was more accommodating. Seriously, I am not exaggerating this statement!

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole experience I had was amazing from the staff to the room everything was perfect so clean friendly helpful I could go on forever and will be coming back to stay at the hotel again loved it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really unhelpful and rude Arrived at 00.15 after long journey and receptionist gave out to us for keeping him- he just demanded we pay the taxi driver quickly in cash. We were really hungry and he just said no food available until breakfast. He left and turned off downstairs lights as soon as he had rushed us up to our rooms! The manager was also rude when I spoke to him next morning.

    The location Lovely balcony off bedroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - staff was welcoming in the beginning, but unfortunately they made a huge mistake about the price I was supposed to pay (by +20 euros, luckily I checked in due time); - they have elevator only to the first story (for the rest you have to carry your luggage using the stairs; apparently you can have 4 stars only if you have elevator, no matter how many stories it serves); - room too small (bathroom could be smaller); - light switch was not working in the room; - uncomfortable pillows; - non-functional hanger (it was above the tv set) - breakfast below average (honey was stale; oil was a cheap one; vinegar had little flies in it)

    Nice building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs only way to get above floor 2

    Arranged a driver for personal tours of the area All day 4 days in a row We didn’t even ask where to go he just took us everywhere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The architecture of the place is very interesting, as well as its location. All spaces are interesting and pretty to be in. The breakfast was very good. I felt very well on both nights and went out for a run on both days, thanks to the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fairly quiet and so you could get a drink or food in the evening but the breakfast was OK.

    The bed was comfortable and the gothic/dracula theme was effective

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist...a young boy he was very polite but did not have a clue about...basically anything. We only had 2 beers at the bar...btw very expensive 8 lei/ Heineken, he didn't even know how to charge the beers to our room, we wanted to drink some spirits but he did not know how or in what glasses to pour the drinks. Thank GOD we ate in a different restaurant and brought our own drinks. For the Manager...Please have your staff trained at all times in all the hotel amenities as you are loosing money my friend. The morning shift saved the day. Very courteous. Bar coffee-excellent, however the price for an espresso black...roughly 2 euros

    The property is simply amazing, a thematic hotel with awesome views, very clean and tidy. We had a couple of beers and some snacks from the minibar. Very cozy. We loved the bathrobes, and the ambiance. Breakfast was delicious, the omelette was made out of real eggs, not powder, fresh cheese, freshly squeezed citric beverages, good coffee. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and I am sure to return whenever I get the chance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms had only windows on the roof, so we could not see any landscapes. Elevator only goes from lower level to first floor.

    Location is very nice, away from the business of the town. Lots of green all around. Concept of hotel is nice, Dracula style. Breakfast is good, especially on the terrace, where the view is gorgeous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find. You cannot see much of the facility inside. No elevator (3 floors). The restaurant was closed. No view (cieling windows). I dodnt like it.

    It looks nice in the pictures

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator to upper floors, weak wifi within the rooms, quite pricey over all i would say...

    Good breakfast, nice view on the mountains, good for tourists...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn’t work. This is a big deal if you are managing travel arrangements via the internet. Also on of the beds was uncomfortable. Would still stay there again perhaps but would be sure to get the nicer rooms and not need wifi.

    The staff were friendly and one of the rooms was quite nice. The breakfast was probably the best thing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold during the day and especially cold room during the night. Altough we talked with the receptionist, the room was not heated properly and me and my whole family woke up with a cold. No air conditioning or any other way to control de temperature yourself in the room. Bathroom poorly maintained and cleaned.

    Nice looking hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dining room and restaurant are a bit dated. The AC wasn't working properly so a bit uncomfortable in the main bedroom. The bedding was inappropriate, heavy duvets in the middle of summer and the main bed was very low. The buffet breakfast wasn't very good, but we were served al a carte on the final morning so nice and fresh.

    We stayed here for 3 nights because of the theme of the hotel which was very good, so our expectations were met. We stayed during low season so restaurant was closed. However, the staff were friendly and helpful, we were driven to a restaurant and picked up on our first evening. I think this hotel (as with all in this region) would be quite different during the ski season. May try it again then.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not at a 4* level.

    Very respectful staff. A nice and interesting location for families and not only. It can be very fascinating for the kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled with friends and they got a really nice room comparing to ours for the same money. We went to ask the receptionist to give us a better room ( even if we had to pay more) and he said he doesn't have anything available, even though there were only 4 cars in the parking lot, including ours. We did not believe him and checked on booking and there were 4 suites available. I mean he just didn't want money from us??? He was rude and not helpful at all. And I have to say that breakfast at this hotel was the worst ever!! How can this hotel be 4 stars?

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a hotel done up like Dracula's castle. Nothing not to love.

    This is a hotel like no other, done up like you're living in Bran (Dracula's castle). It's of course in Transylvania and you can see the mountains from some balconies and the balcony restaurant/bar location. Basically, if you have a sense of fun you'll have a ball! Visit the torture room, try on the Dracula cape, creep around the halls, enjoy it! We did.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff was nice and barely noticeable, giving loads of privacy. At the same time help was always available! Lovely medival designe. BeUtiful views! Walking distance to the Teleferic train up to the mountains!! Good, regular bus link to Brasov. Taxi at night is more expensive but still don't pay more then 80lei for taxi from train station to here at late night!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would've been nice to turn the heating off sometimes, its lowest point was 20c which for us, was to warm at night. No drink making facilities, just a mini-bar, a kettle and tea is a must! Poiana Brasov isn't the biggest of towns, but the hotel is a good 20 minute walk uphill from the center, this isn't a bad thing, just be aware if you're not the strongest of walkers!

    The staff, they were brilliant, their English was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble, the airport transfer, arranged through the hotel (3 hours from Bucharest) was perfect (although the driver knew zero English) and was very reasonably priced, they suggested tours to Bran castle and the Libearty bear Sanctuary (which I would thoroughly recommend) again very well priced and with another local driver. We spent our wedding anniversary out there, I had mentioned it in an email to them prior to our stay and on the day after being out all day, we were greeted by a large bottle of wine, chocolates and fruit, that's what made our holiday, the attention to detail. WiFi was excellent, which meant we could watch a film online rather than Romanian TV, the TV had many channels with over half in English, slippers, robes and towels were all standard and all with a little 'Dracula' motif on them as well! The style of the hotel is very different to anything else around, but don't let that put you off, every room was unique, and every room was clean, fresh and tidy (the bathrooms were exceptionally clean), breakfasts were tasty and the drinks prices were good and if you get a chance, try their hot chocolate, made locally it's to die for!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Better shower in bedroom suite Bar only open 1 night out of 7 No room service

    Interesting themed hotel with spacious rooms Location away from main town good for us but would be dificuly if you were not an able walker as would be no lift in the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Floor in the bathroom was extremely hot; it was Not very comfortable for my feet.You should check the heating system, it was a little bit too hot, i had to open the Windows several times to make the room cooler

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - I am sorry to say that despite all the positives of the hotel, I would not come back because of the staff. They were as incompetent as I have ever seen. They mixed up our reservations and wanted to redirect part of the group to another hotel in the middle of the night when we arrived. After endless discussions, they gave us some rooms, superior than what we had booked, but only for the first night. For the second night, we had to argue again because the receptionists had changed shifts and the new one knew nothing about our previous agreement. On the third day when we left, they wanted to charge us significantly more than the Booking rates and we had to argue again with the third receptiont that again knew nothing about our Booking reservations and had to call one of the previous colleagues... - No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. - The prices in their spa are exorbitant! - The restaurant only serves lunch between 13:00-16:00 and dinner between 19:00-21:00, even during weekends! And the restaurant and bar share the same and only waiter...

    - The hotel is great, built as a castle and everything inside (rooms, restaurant, lobby) keeps the same medieval characteristics. - Rooms are big, comfortable, quiet, very clean and very warm during winter. - The breakfast was very good and quite diverse. - The restaurant was good value for money, not very cheap but tasty dishes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the walls between the rooms are quite thin so it's a little hard to get to sleep earlier than midnight; if there are people on the corridor you can hear all they say;

    - the hotel's design and architecture are impressive and welcoming; - the first hotel that i was made a tour of it; - loved the way they personalized each room; - friendly staff;

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be tea&coffee maker in the room. The elevator goes up only 1 floor, then I have to carry the luggage 2 floors up. The breakfast could start at 7:30AM, as I want to be early at the slopes.

    Staff is friendly, the apartment (Counts room) is spacious, quiet place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was not the cleanest. You could see the dust on the towel dryer and on each corner of the bathroom as well. I believe for a 4 star hotel it could have been a lot better.

    The hotel was good, no too far from the slopes. It give you the cosy feelings and the restaurant was nice as well. There was some good relaxing music sometimes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Especially one girl from reception don't know name but she was young and had dark brown hair. I requested birthday cake for my boyfriend and their sorted everything for me plus cake was very very nice and special and cheap. Overall we had an amazjob ing time and enjoyed over stay!! Decoration of hotel is beautiful and so are rooms also very clean. Would definitely recommend!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating works quite bad, either too hot or too cold. Windows at roof floor not well isolated. No elevator to go to 3 floor, not an issue but if you have old or children becomes difficult. Breakfast quite diverse but not so good. My husband paid a massage and it was really bad and quite expensive.

    The building and interior design, just like a real castle, nice view, not far from center but calm, close to forest. Good prompt services, smiling employees.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower head wouldn't stay up, making showering difficult. The people could have been more friendly, though they were available and handled most things well. There was confusion when checking out and that process could have been much smoother.

    Full of character with interesting rooms; we had a lovely balcony. The food was good and they had a well stocked bar. The corridors and stairways were kept clean and clear.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might be unpleasant if you have a lot of luggage since the elevator goes only up to the 1st floor, but it isn't so bad.

    Very comfy and clean, nicely decorated, tasty breakfast (good coffee), comfortable bed, the room is warm and cosy. The late check out was a plus. The really big windows provide a nice view, it's a very romantic atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I slept with the window wide open as there was no on-off switch for the heating. There was a lot of black ice around the hotel so if you are elderly the main building would be the best option in winter.

    The buffet breakfast was an introduction to Romanian food. They also provided continental. The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was small for dinner, but they seemed to manage. Great atmosphere, very clean everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    no balcony for my room.

    Excellent cuisine, I strongly recommend roast venison served with their house wine (the red one) which is excellent! Generous breakfast for all tastes; the rooms are spacious and very good heated!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. no elevator at the 2 nd and 3rd floor. the window is right above the bed.no constant temperature in the room. If the heat is on is too hot, if it is off is cold right away.

    Nice location, clean,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were horrible and the dogs next door barking constantly didn't help with sleep either. Ear plugs are a must!

    Breakfast was very tasty and coffee was nice and strong. The staff was very friendly and the heated bathroom floor was a marvelous touch since it was cold outside!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is served from 8.30, which is a little bit late and the staff didn't look after the buffet so much. The temperature in the room was too high during the night and the staff at the reception wasn't that helpful, actually

    Nice building, very suggestive! Clean and not noisy at all

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, you can enjoy a walk into the woods, the view is perfect, the staff makes you feel like home, breakfast was perfect, the spa is wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist from our first night was lovely, the one on our second night was a bit loud and not so friendly. Also, be a bit more careful when you're cleaning the rooms. Someone forgot something in the bathroom!

    Superb location, nicely decorated hotel. Visit "torture room", you can get some good pics if you're creative... and highly recommend the 45 minute massage!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to be mentioned that there is elevator only to floor1. the rooms are at floor 2 and 3. The bathroom floor did not lock and the frame was coming off. During breakfast, some of the persons being there, drank their coffee in the big cups that were for milk and cereals. The manager came by and commented, so it can be heard .. Not a very nice touch

    It was a nice play, with comfortable beds and a very helpful staff. spotless clean. If you want the room with the private terrace is room 309. The night we staid rained and the hotel turned on the heat, even it was summer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a junior suite. Re-confirmed it by telephone 48 hours prior. WHEN ARRIVED TO HOTEL, FRONT DESK STAFF TELLS US THE JUNIOR SUITE WAS GIVEN BY MISTAKE TO SOMEONE ELSE, THEY DID NOT HAVE IT ANY MORE. OFFERED A TWIN AND A BOTTLE OF WINE, KEPT THE SAME RATE. HOW FAIR IS THAT ??

    Not sure if anything at all. Not a reliable property.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen closes at 21:00 and there is not signs that tells times anywhere A Suite is definitely not a suite… We paid for a suite but got a room where we had to go outside to change our mind. There was no coffee at the breakfast table and when it finally was served was lukewarm and there was far from enough for all guests . The juice was watered down and lukewarm . Selfservice table was so boring that one can understand that Count Dracula was a bloodsucker. Selv service table here means “BRING YOUR OWN FOOD” Wi - Fi they advertise is non-existent in the rooms. The staff are lazy and unable to work. So lazy that we can not even manage to ask for our money back. DO NOT GO HERE

    Looks Nice from the outsider

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things and facilities inside out suite is very old and obviously lack of maintenance, the owner is more after to invest money on the stupid Dracula icon on the plates and bowls rather than spending money of changing the falling apart toilet, while the ceiling is being covered by foil. How ridiculous. The carpet is way too old that it got so many stains on and it's very flat that you would feel slippery while walking on it. There was 2 small bottles of red wine and a big tin of peanut at the coffee table, not sure if the hotel is trying to mislead costumes to feel that's free...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue we had was that there was a wedding on the weekend, and all the parking for the hotel guests was taken by the wedding guests. I spoke to the front desk about this and they did find us parking eventually, but was slightly disappointed that the wedding guests overtook the entire hotel. They were not quiet, nor did it seem any attempt was made to keep the noise down for the guests staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was so hot in room and there is no air-condition but the hotel its all most winter time hotel -this i dont know before- so that why no AC- ...

    guy in reception named George,he was so so so nice to me and also because i like Dracula story he was play a bit mystery in hotel ....real pleasure ...thank again George

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was so hot in room and there is no air-condition but the hotel its all most winter time hotel -this i dont know before- so that why no AC- ...

    guy in reception named George,he was so so so nice to me and also because i like Dracula story he was play a bit mystery in hotel ....real pleasure ...thank again George

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful location, very nice hotel with very friendly and professional staff. We will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast not served on time. Poor ligtening...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work properly.

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: