Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5 stars

Episcopiei 1-3, Sector 1, 010292 Bucharest, Romania

#73 of 237 hotels in Bucharest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1472 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Luxury in Bucharest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included and reception staff efficient but not a warm welcome.

    Lovely room and history and decor of main hotel was great. Spa was lovely after a hard day's sightseeing and the concierge were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    Everything was nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    See above

    Everything was nice and comfortable. The concierge service was excellent. The rest of the staff was rigid, impatient and unfriendly, especially at the front desk and in the dining room. Nobody told them that a simple smile could make a difference.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant and I am ready to do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    The room clean and spacious, the bed confortable, the elevators very fast, the staff very efficient, the breakfast very satisfactory. The location is extraordinary

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay when you visit Bucharest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located in the heart of the city, Wonderful hotel with friendly staff! We need a wheel chare and they arrange it quickly with no charge. gym, spa, and saunas were wonderful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    only hilton
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they charge us for things we take from the mini bar that we did not take.

    very good staff, very nice reception manager and the reception crew. all the worker extremly nice. very good location. i will come back again for sure

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not what we expected in case of consideration 5-star hotel, the room was not clean at all. There was hair all over the room including beds. So we had to ask them to be changed. Long story short, the most dirty hotel I have ever been.

    Location is ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Every cloud has a silver lining
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast reminded me of a Bun Fight with the quality of food and service under the expectations for a Hilton hotel. Staff looked annoyed by the guests, tired and bored. Mediocre quality and variety of the food served. More like a breakfast in a 3 stars resort in Benidorm. Room was very noisy (from the courtyard) due to an unnecessary performance of a DJ in the middle of the week until midnight for an empty terrace. Why?

    Excellent location, fantastic customer service (including an unexpected customer service recovery), decent size room and great service in the lounge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    A 5 star hotel with curtains hanging in the bathroom on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 5 star hotel with curtains hanging in the bathroom on the bathtub :(:(:(!!! Hey guys we are in the 21st century not in ancient times! This is not acceptable for this kind of a hotel! Breakfast not the best one, mostly nothing very healthy! Cheap products! We waited 15 min. to get a table.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything was good breakfast was expensive but they gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no breakfast places near by excepy one called the Chocolate they open at 8am but we beeded to be on the road earlier

    Everything was good breakfast was expensive but they gave us complimentary coffee and juice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, right in the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a little run down, small and dark: we booked a junior king suite which was dark, had no view and a tiny bathroom. The drain in the women's locker room showers by the pool was clogged and water kept flooding every time they were used.

    The service was outstanding, location is great and overall this hotel was a good choice. Concierge and reception services were some of the best I've seen. The executive lounge is a nice touch. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were super neat and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants around. Had to walk a bit to find some. But overall good.

    The rooms were super neat and tidy. Spacious as well. Location was perfect for a peaceful stay. Totally worth the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Superb stay in heart of Bucharest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was just OK; food assortment and quality could have been a bit better. Still, egg station was very good as was the make your own coffee station. Nice outdoor seating.

    Extremely comfortable beds; great amenities; good size room and bathroom. Extremely helpful staff. Very nice swimming pool and swimming area. Fabulous location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    The hotel that has no leader/ manager
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is there any managment in this hotel? The staff seemed to have very rear way to take care of the clients. Never met this un kind workers in any hotel. I do not blaim the workers I point my finger towards the president of the hotel. If there is any! In Donald Trumps words”you are firef”

    The building and rooms were nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Membership has its privileges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge was a bit abrupt and gave us some wrong information

    Membership has its privileges As a Hilton Honors member we received a complimentary upgrade to a mini suite and access to the Executive Room, where breakfast was available and we could relax with friends

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Dissapointing for such an emblematic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room is old, the carpet dirty and smelly. One of the pillow cases had holes in it and the whole bedding and towels were old and yellowish color. The windows in the room are blocked (for security reasons) but having to stay 3 days with only recirculated air from the AC was highly unpleasent. The staff and service from Roberto’s terrace was poor. Our table was dirty when we sit and we waited for someone to notice and clean but noone seemed to bother there.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location, nice staff, but needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first time i visited this hotel was probably 20 years ago. The personnel is good and friendly but It is high time for a refreshment. The air in the rooms is ill smelling. One spresso machine at breakfast is absolutely not enough unless you want the guests to spend the whole morning waiting on the line to get their caffee. ( to be fair at one point of time someone started making caffee on the bar as well)

    excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel - no negatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was comfortable, room was clean and spacious, free water bottles in room and the free coffee in room was good. Also quiet - could not hear people in other rooms or hallway. Room was on backside of hotel so no traffic/street noise. Large breakfast buffet meets anyone needs and cafe/bar had good coffee and croissants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    It’s a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services are the worst I ever have at Hilton!! We didn’t have a toothbrush, a single shampoo and in the trash bag there was rubish from the previous clients! In the morning we didn’t have electricity because I was ironing. Insolent staff, the cleaning lady wake us up at 8:30 am, we told her to live but she insisted not to!!!This hotel has a comunist allure

    It’s a good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Good food, good rooms and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The executive lounge was small and dreadfully hot with poor air conditioning and the breakfast selection there was limited and disappointing compared to the spread at the main breakfast hall on the ground floor.

    Check in was done very efficiently with friendly and pleasant staff. The rooms and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of meats, vegetables, and carbohydrates. The staff were polite and helpful. The Gym had all the equipment needed for a complete workout and was not too busy. My Wife had left a travel pillow behind and the hotel kept it for us and wrapped it up in a protective plastic bag and we were able to pick it up after our return from Brasov. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Great area, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise! As it’s an old hotel there isn’t any soundproofing and with people coming back to their rooms at all times of the night yelling and talking (loudly) it was hard to sleep on the first night (1 of 4) so I bought earplugs and the problem was solved! Breakfast was a total downer. I honestly had a bite of the eggs and made a face I never want to make again. We arrived at 930 for breakfast thinking it must go to 1030 like most places but at 950am we were told to hurry up as it’s closing. So with only time for rank eggs we left on the plate and a bowl of stale cornflakes with a burned coffee it wasn’t the best for the price. I am not a pork eater (no I’m not Jewish or Muslim) but they have an excess of pork in the breakfast which to me isn’t to my taste. So if you are not a pork eater for religious reasons I wouldn’t eat breakfast here as it’s everywhere 🐷

    We loved the location of this property! Very well maintained with a grand and luxurious entrance. You can walk to many restaurants and bars, being right beside the Atheneaum. Our doorman and concierge “Anderson” was one of a kind. Funny, polite and full of charm. He is an asset to this hotel. Our 4 year old Leo thought he was terrific too as he turned a frown upside down 😄 The room was medium sized, the bed was comfortable and the had a roll out bed with a proper mattress for my 4 year old. They had a terrific selection of tea and coffee (just never gave any milk I had to call up about it daily) with a well stocked mini bar too. Room service was great, the cleaners did a good job and left ample Crabtree and Evelyn Toiletries which smelled great! Nothing was too much trouble, we forgot a razor and they sent some to the room. Overall this is a beautiful hotel in a great part of town with access to restaurants, high end shops and a casino across the road if that’s your thing. 8/10

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing- a stressful and unpleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were situated directly above the function room, which meant that we only actually slept for three nights out of the five we paid for due the two wedding parties which took place on Saturday and Sunday night, with pounding disco music which went on until around 3am. After complaining, we were given a 20% discount for the two nights which were disturbed, but this does not actually make up for a ruined holiday, and the stress and tiredness we experienced. This is NOT what I would expect from a 5* hotel, and I think that the staff should have allocated us a room higher in the building, as they knew that these functions were taking place. We were promised by the manager that they will look after us next time we stay- my question is why they couldn't have looked after us this time.

    The location is good and the building is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    The bed was amazing, breakfast very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent 40 minutes at the reception for checking in, even though we had a reservation. Everything seemed very complicated.

    The bed was amazing, breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    The bed was good : comfy and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes coffee was very good , sometimes awful. I would expect consistency. I would recommend to teach the staff better. I didn't like when the clean lady tried to come to my room twice in the morning when I was sleeping!!!

    The bed was good : comfy and fresh. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Amazing experience! I will come back the soonest!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was wonderful! Centrally located, beautiful hotel, helpful staff, great breakfast! Overall an amazing experience! For sure I will come back the soonest! Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    A shirt from a previous guest was between a sideboard and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shirt from a previous guest was between a sideboard and wall. Suggest you review your cleaning policy. Carpets etc a bit worn, ok, but you can fix the cleaning easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was just good, we expect more variety but the food had good quality. We paid the parking but we found out after, that it wasn't guarantee if we go out.

    The staff was very nice, they helped us with the early booking and the restaurant form the 5th floor was good for privacy. We enjoyed the pool and the sauna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious comfotable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly well insulated from street noise. However, the Romanian drivers love beeping their car horns at all times of day or night, so if that might disturb you, take some ear plugs (I am sure the same would be true for any hotel in the city!). The hotel also often seemed to host noisy parties, which didn't disturb us, but others in our party who had rooms on other floors did find it noisy.

    Luxurious, comfortable, clean hotel. Really polite and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast with huge selection and several restaurants and bars within the hotel and nearby. I enjoyed the swimming pool which was also clean with good changing and shower facilities. Located within easy walking distance of many of the main Bucharest attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Quick and expensive but over alright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk is a bit short with guest. Several guest kept cutting in line ahead of me and interuptting me when I was trying to check in, the front desk let them skip ahead every time. The stairs are not easily accessible and they were hard to find.

    The rooms were comfy and the bed is fantastic. The rooms have a nice view and it's a great location for walking around and exlporing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Would stay here again in a heart beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in a very good area. 15-20 minute walk from Old Town, close to major attractions and good restaurants. Exceptionally clean hotel, excellent breakfast buffet every morning. Staff very gracious and helpful. There was a big business conference while we here, plus a graduation dinner and party, and hotel accommodated those without big disruptions to other guests. Lovely terrace for meals and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff, comfortable accommodation in a wonderful location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly faded opulence

    Extremely helpful and well informed concierges without whose help parts of our visit would never have taken place successfully. Excellent, friendly and extremely honest staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Behaviour and lack of respect of front desk personell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Behaviour and lack of respect of front desk personell. In room, there was nothing. i was treated as a thief. It is the last time when I am using this hotel. Those things happened not the first time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location next to the concert hall, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Perfect location next to the concert hall, very friendly staff everywhere, very nice executive lounge, fine pool and good steam bath. Had breakfast in the executive lounge, which was fine. Not same selection as in the breakfast restaurant, but fine enough for us not to pay extra for the full breakfast selection at the restaurant. Breakfast aficionados should go for the restaurant. Concierge booked tour at Ceausecu’s Palace and gave some good advice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    If have been here several times, the rooms I believe have...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms that have not renewed for more that 20 years!!

    If have been here several times, the rooms I believe have not been renewed (if are not the originals) at leat 20 years!! The breakfast for 5 stars hotel poor!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    THE place to lay your head and rest after a long tiring journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked cream or milk for my coffee in the room but that was just a little niggle.

    Super comfortable bed, quiet warm room. All the amenities you could want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    An amazing building and location, but needs a big refurbishment in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would've expect better mattresses....usually in these kind of hotel...the mattress is a bliss. The walls are too thin...the neighbors were really loud and we all had to wake up at 6 because of the noise.

    The location and the breakfast are great :)!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult finding the pool. Better directions required in the Information Book.

    Position excellent. Huge room and tea/coffee making facilities an extra bonus. Swimming pool wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.5
    i didnt like anything we got treated like we not wanted and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ive experienced the worst treatment that i ever had in a hotel! Bad human relations. When we arrived to the hotel a bit earlier they treat us like homless people when we asked for water they said that they dont have for us. And finally when they gave us the key to the room (not before 3 pm) they didnt helped us with the bags and the concierge made a racist comment and told us not to make a mass because he assumed we r troublesome because we are israelis. The room was filthy and very old. Weak ac disgusting shower. Stained sheets and a lot of musquitos. The breakfast was blend and not to. our taste. Some of the food was also cold. AVOID THIS HOTEL!!

    i didnt like anything we got treated like we not wanted and like they waiting for us to leave

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Best place I've stayed in Bucharest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an amazing stay the staff is first rate on all things customer service. They took care of me like family. The were happy and friendly no matter what time I needed them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel was excellent overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was excellent overlooking the square and our room had a fabulous view.The breakfast was very good and the interior of the hotel is palatial

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Couldn't have asked for more from my stay. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet breakfast was excellent, options to suit almost every taste. The health club was also excellent. Small but well equipped gym, nice sauna and steam room and really nice swimming pool with jacuzzi. General decor of the hotel was as you would expect from a Hilton, very good. Staff were polite, knowledgeable and eager to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is large and has great facilities, with a spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a few conferences going on, so noisy when we arrived. Price of room was expensive, compared with other hotels we stayed in for the remainder of our visit in Romania, including another in Bucharest.

    The hotel is large and has great facilities, with a spa. Our room was very comfortable. The old town is 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel, or a short taxi ride away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too small and there were only few chairs (not enough for the 10-15 guests that were there), the jacuzzi was full, there was no available timing for massage. All the facilities that we chose the hotel for were unavailable. If we knew that we would be unable to use these facilities, we would never choose this hotel.

    The staff were very pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The location is very central. There are many restaurants and amenities close by and the old city is on a walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    It was just as I had expected. I am an Hilton honors guest and liked this Hotel very much indeed,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet and super comfortable room, late check out, excellent restaurant. The entrance and reception area are just like the photographs and splendid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, bit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Casino was closed. Couldn't find the health club easily, charged me £130 extra up front for any services I may use in future. Not worth extra for executive lounge. Airport transfer expensive, cheaper to get regular taxi.

    Location perfect, room clean and comfortable, concierge helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Great family stay, kids loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with connecting doors gave it a great family apartment feeling, English pub inside the hotel was excellent, super friendly staff, easy pool access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    very good hotel and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    me and my husband are both from different countries and our family lives in Israel. this time we decided to arrive with an israeli passport, the women from the reception changed her way after she saw that we have Israeli passport. we know part of the Israeli travelers are rude and have inappropriate behavior but you cant judge by only looking at a passport, we advice that you treat all your travelers fairly.

    The bed was so comfort I could not wake up, the room service was really good and nice to us. the spa and pool area were really clean and the staff was really nice, we did really enjoy the breakfast, also the guy from the reception was kind enough for giving us access to the executive lounge and also to the spa because we were celebrating our honey moon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    You will be very happy for sure
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All were very very good

    I like the stuff in the reception, very polite and helpful, they are always to help you.. the gym is modern,nice sauna and indoor swiming pool breakfast is perfect, the hotel is very good for buisness visits.. nice English bar as well.. the hotel has 1 of the best locations in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Always a great pleasure to stay at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is wonderful but definitely overpriced !!

    The Athene Palace Hilton is my preferred hotel to stay in Bucharest, as it exudes more warmth and tradition, and feels less “corporate” than alll the other big names in town. I want to feel valued and respected as a guest, and this hotel does this without being over the top. It’s stylish without being gauche. Quality in an age of constant change.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Good !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the pillows. Strong like a ciment sac. Wellness area. And I am not used to sit in Sauna with textiles.

    The receptionsts decision for an upgrade to have possibilty to use the executive lounge for meetings with business partners

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed by the shower, expected a rainfall shower or similar in a 5 star hotel. Swimming pool not enough chairs or places to put your stuff down whilst swimming.

    Bedroom was lovely and clean, bed was super comfy, breakfast was amazing - so much to choose from and all very fresh. The staff in the “pub” were amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a special weekend: brilliant location, and a hotel with a scintillating history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were super-helpful, informed, courteous, well-judged humour. Particularly commend the concierges, the breakfast staff, the Reception staff, housekeeping, omelettes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Big room, wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They did not clean my room one day and we found a towel from previous clients first night. Old style. Price fair, but extremely expesive some services.

    Big room, wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.4
    I didn’t like the fact that i ask to place me in a room that...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that i ask to place me in a room that fronting the street in my Reservation . After being ther at December . But I didn’t receive that. In sted i got the worst room for elevators all night long and I heard the elevator as if it were inside the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Everything very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing that could be improved is TV - it would be nice a broader selection of channels -for example the ones publicly given by Digi or Telekom.

    Everything very good. Breakfast is absolutely fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location and a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt had the time to enjoy breakfast, was eating out. But at my early flight the 2nd night i got a breakfast box. Really not nice products inside. I would have been more satisfied with a fresh made sandwich, that was made yesterday evening. The room was very noisy, construction outside? Would have been more preffered with another room. Feels also like the furniture needs renovation. "little bit old". Hairdryer quality bad. For info we hade a junior suite.

    Good service, at least as a Hilton Gold member. Location is perfect. Cant get better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent old hotel , good localization !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom old and we didn’t get a place for the dinner and new year party . I forgot a little bag with my medicines in the hotel and asked , by phone , if somebody found it , no answer .

    VIP Lounge in the 5 level , spa , breakfast , room , staff .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Old style elegance in Bucharest centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms a little bit outdated, floor carpet stained in spots.

    Wonderful architecture, design and decorations, excellently placed in walking distance to the old downtown. The breakfast was very good, with lot of options for everyone. Generally clean, but one can see the passing of the time overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, spacious rooms, good service at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was not impressed by the executive lounge, which was often not cleaned up after previous guests, and there were not snacks available throughout the day, as is usual in Hilton lounges, but only during set meal hours.

    Great location, spacious rooms, good service at the reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting more about the new years eve gala buffet. Food was not that good.

    The breakfast is really good. It has plenty options. However they do not have vegan milk or healthy options beside some fruit. We also went to the new years eve gala party, it was really nice, we had great time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    ok
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the fact that the hotel’s own parking space costs extra, even if it’s for it’s own clients, it doesn’t make sense! the staff was pretty rude I ordered an aperol spritz, it wasn’t mixed well, realy bad quality, and it was pretty expensive

    the bed!awesome!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    will be back again ....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only fault I could find is that the shower is in the bath - not ideal for a 5 star hotel

    fab hotel, excellent location, big roomy and ultra clean room, very good breakfast and friendly smiling staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nonsmoking hotel yet the floor at the hotel which my room was located, had guests smoking cigarettes due to the strong smell from the rooms. I was waiting at the reception when i first checked in and i can understand thats it is a busy time in the year but someone just cut infront of me to check in and the person at the reception did not react or say that i came first.

    The manager of the hotel was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    pleasant stay, poor breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast products are not qualitative (ham, sausages, cheese ) The breakfast pack we've got before we've left the hotel at a very early hour was extremely poor.

    THE STAFF, COMFORT, CLEANLINESS

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Exceptional quality for the money. Ideal location, very friendly and competent staff overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a wakeup call confirmed by reception, but I never got it on Dec. 14, 2017. I almost missed my business meeting! No excuse.

    I'm not an exceedingly demanding person, but I think the breakfast aspect could do with some improvement. E.g.: decaf coffee (the service personnel does not seem very knowledgeable on this); lots o breakfast items are no longer available before 10:30 am, and waiters and waitresses seemed keen on getting customers out so that they could start cleaning up, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was really good, mini croissants were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was really good, mini croissants were excellent! Also the waffle made at the moment! But the second morning.. no waffle :( there was the workstation but no one to make it! Really appreciate! See you next time!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.1
    Good HQ, but make sure you spend your time IN the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The amenities / hotel is pretty straightforward (read: Normal / Not especially luxurious), but the great location and walkability makes it a great HQ. M60, the best coffee shop in Bucharest, is 2 minutes away. You can get to any part of town in 10-15 minutes walk, or take a cab to other places further away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Affordable Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average.Not big variety.Not so tasty and not well prepared.The breakfast area although cozzy and comfort it is a little bit small for the numbers of the rooms.Toiletries for one person in a double room.

    The room is huge.Realy liked the room.The mattress was excepcional.View to Piata Revolutiei was superb.Coffee/Tea maker available in the room.Good variety of toiletries although were just for one person in a double room.Lobby is well decorated and classy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    decadency
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my fifth stay in this hotel ,everything got worse.Bathroom noise from ventilation system was unbearable at some point ,I had to turn on the tv whenever i was in bathroom so i don t hear the noise,some tv channels would stop responding without a reason after a long period of watching,what annoyed me the most was a strong smell in room on saturday afternoon of detergent which made my girlfriend sick.And the fact that i had to remember everything I consumed from the minibar over a 5 days period?Now I have to keep eyes of what i consume funny thing.I will definetly think twice next weekend and from now on about booking this hotel again.

    I drank one of the best mojito s at the English Bar

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Excellent experience. Will definitely go back and hope to find time for the hote fitness facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was of good and high quality. I liked everything

    The breakfast was fabulos, with pleasant indoor set up and heated outdoor area. The room was large and clean with well stocked fridge bar. The complimentary tea and coffee supply was re- stocked daily. I also loved the laundry service which was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Got a free upgrade to executive package and junior suite,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vintage bathroom

    Got a free upgrade to executive package and junior suite, the room was very spacious and allowed me to work properly. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Traditional elegance on high price in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too crowded, and also old-fashioned for me. The bulkhead walls sounds too thin. And a bit too expensive. More vegetables or fruits could have at the breakfast.

    Good, central location, comfortable placement. Free room even 1 day before arrival (no other hotels were free in the surrounding area in this level).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Everything good for a first class hotel,one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water went off for 6 hours in a night.

    Everything good for a first class hotel,one of the best hotel in this country yet.Excellent service,awesome friendly professional staff, clean and fresh rooms,right in the middle of the city.Higly recomended to anyone visiting Romania.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Outstanding, fun, chilled
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where great and friendly, helped me to get my lost bags at airport. Bar staff where great to talk and hangout with and good english. The atmosphere was great, rooms the best I've seen with a balcony to chill and have a beer in afternoons. Thanks for your help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast was great, sometimes a bit crowded as the cruise ship tourists were staying at the hotel. Entire staff was excellent. Needed transportation to hospital via ambulance from the hotel, they arranged this and for a taxi back to hotel. Could not ask for anything more

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Luxury hotel in the heart of Bucharest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Deluxe Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the reception desk was not friendly enough. They looked stressed out and overwhelmed.

    Location in the heart of Bucharest in front of Piata George Enescu. The view from our room (#440) was amazing, especially at night!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: