Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Berthelot 4 stars

Nr. 9 Gen. Berthelot St., Sector 1, 010167 Bucharest, Romania

#23 of 220 hotels in Bucharest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1777 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciated the taxi booking by the hotel, which I had asked for. However, a 30 Euro ride from the airport is pretty steep and the hotel needs to inform its clients the price is in Euro, not Ron, at the time of the booking...

    Everything. Just a suggestion: a nice addition to the room would be an iron and ironing board.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Refill of the breakfast buffet could be a bit faster in the peak times.

    A new hotel in an excellent and quite location. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was as expected (i.e. great). The room was immaculate and daily cleaning was of the highest standards. Matresses and pillows were great (and approximately one week old!!!). Thank you All at Berthelot for making our stay superb!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, good breakfast, comfortable bed, nice (despite small) bathroom very good value for money (70 euro per night) good for 70-85 euro per night , good 4 stars hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff is rude, poorly trained or just moody. When I asked if there is filter coffee for breakfast a waiter told me that I have coffee facilities in my room! I thought the answer was either rude or bizzare. Still not sure...

    I have been using this hotel for a while and it's comfortable and pleasant. I travel on my own and I feel safe there. Breakfast is excellent. The hotel is also very quiet, there are no facilities for weddings or events as far as I know so, there is no risk of having your stay ruined by loud music and late night noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exelllent hotel with the nice garage, very near the centre of Bucharest, breakfast was fabulous. Room and bathroom was fonderfull, and it was in the room the esperesso machine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar in the hotel not being open At 7pm for a drink was bizarre

    Excellent location, friendly staff and they all went above and beyond to ensure you had a great stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Good choices of items for breakfast- hot food such as bacon, sausages, eggs- they even had an omelette station on weekdays. Restaurant was very prettily decorated with hanging plants. Good location- about a 20 minute walk into Old Town Centre. Close to supermarket (Mega Image)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On arrival the bulkbed has not been properly clean which made a bad impression and there was dust on the tray where they put the glasses. The people in the breakfast area were completely unprofessional. They were spending most of their time playing with their sell phones. If you decide to have breakfast after 9 o'clock you will find almost no products left and what is more nobody bothers to refill the buffet. The complete disaster was on the last day of our stay when we got in the breakfast area at 9.15 only to find out there was nothing left , not even cuttlery and napkins.

    Spacious room , with comfortable bed. Quiet area , conveniently located ( walking distance to all main sites ). Breakfast of very good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was not responsive to our request to reuse towels and bathmat and picked up everything but did not replace the bathmat or handtowels not picked up the used glasses.

    The location was excellent although the street looked a little rundown.breakfast was outstanding and the breakfast room comfortable and well decorated.the room was spotless when we arrived and staff provided e t's blanket and pillow cases that were missing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are becoming old, bathroom was clean but there was some unpleasant smell time to time.

    location is very good. Breakfast is good. Wi-Fi is fine. restaurant is daylight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff was friendly they let us in early morning although check in was 2h pm. Room was nice, new and had all the amenities, bed was comfy, toiket was clean and big enough. Breakfast was nive also had all the choices between hot and cold and sweet and salty... The highlight was the breakfast sitting area with a skylight cealing and amazing art deco. Location was awesome not far from old town and a mini market just facing the hotel with an exchange office just around the corner. Finally price was amazingly cheap for this quality and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I received a room facing the back of the hotel, very noisy, the noise even more intense in the evening. It came from a generator in the neighbouring house and the problem was not new and very well known by the personnel. I got finally another one, but this should have been offered me from the beginning, as the hotel was not full with clients.

    The room and the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested quiet room but were told all rooms were quiet!but the room was facing the road and was quiet only wgen all windows were shut.The breakfast tables were far from the buffet area,coffee machines were not working properly,only one staff serving so overworked and rather indifferent,breakfast menu was not refilled unless told ,music in breakfast room not appropriate for morning.the room facilities eg soap,toilet paper was not refilled and we run out twice.view from hotel window terrible-derelict and very dangerous ready to collapse buildind,and all that opposite the hotel main entrance(photo can be provided)

    Breakfast staff Claudia was cheerful and helpful.thats about it really!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unprofessional. During the breakfast they were eating and drinking coffee, which was a surprise as they were supposedly working... The cleaning was disappointing. I realised that they didn't even straighten the sheets since I had accidentally left a piece of clothing under the covers and it stayed there for all of the nights that we stayed. The room had a funny smell probably because of the carpet, so we had to leave the window open...in general, not good value for money. It is too expensive for the service that it offers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant humming noise from the courtyard, not sure of it was related to the hotel, perhaps some construction works going on

    Location- close to everything, good breakfast, mini espresso machine in the room, clean and quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception service and assistance after we were mugged right outside the hotel refused to call the police and did not provide the minimum and human assistance after such a traumatic event.

    The breakfast was ok, the hostess were not nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    underground parking could be more spacious...it takes excellent driving and parking skills to make it there:)

    I asked for quiet room and i got it, so I had an excellent sleep:) they have very clean rooms, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent and with many options, i would definitely come back to this hotel if i get the chance;)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not over-friendly. The access to the hotel was not easy as you have to go down stairs with your luggage. The bellboy never came out to assist on my arrival :( The hotel corridors were not heated but the rooms and lobby were.

    The rooms were clean and not too small. The location is okay and about a 20 minute walk from the Old City where there is a huge range of pubs, restaurants etc. so rather convenient. Hotel lobby is clean and the breakfast was sufficient for the rate. I would say that it is good value for money overall. If you enjoy gambling, then there is a Casino within 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom small and little bit out dated. Dust in the room, not a 4* bed. Except from the breakfast staffmember not the most polite receptionstaff we met in Bucharest. For example, when we asked for a bottle of water after the bar was closed he would not help us. And when i passed by the reception sometimes the personnel does not said annything.

    Nice breakfast and superb location. Very good (lowseason) price compared to other 4* hotels in the area. Very good coffee in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent located hotel - pretty close to city center, and also close to a metro and a bus station, even to the station of the express bus to the airport. The staff is friendly and professional. The room was clean, very good and modern equipped. There is also a tea and coffee maker in the room. Wi-Fi access and speed was great. The breakfast was excellent – fresh and varied. An excellent value for money - will come back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not the hotel's fault but there were some roadworks in the evening and early night. The noise was heard in the room and it was not possible to fall asleep :( unlucky I was. Otherwise, everything was great!

    The room was very clean and tidy. Excellent service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's my 2nd time at the hotel. This time I came for business and the location of the hotel played a really important role in choosing it. It is situated very central and you can go by foot in many places around. The staff is very helpful and very eager to help. Also, I have to mention that I arrived early (like 8 a.m.) and even if normally the room is available after 12 p.m. they gave me a room with NO extra cost which was very convenient since I could rest till my meeting. Other plus: the breakfast - many things to choose for every taste. I will choose it again for my next trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not soundproof as advertised. Paper thin walls! Extremely noisy water pipes. Dirty coffee machine in the room.

    Central location, close to main attractions in Bucharest.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should lower their parking fee. Seen their p lots all empty.

    A very professional run business with attention to details. Well situated and very well balanced as price to comfort. Will probably go back if I need to work in the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is new but is so slow takes a lot of time to arrival and a guy in the dinning room Gigi so bad service from him! He doesnt have to enter to the things from the guests, doesnt like if i drink juice waiting my bread.. take the plates without asking or finishing

    Wonderful room, breakfast and the guys from reception, the lafy that clean the rooms so sweet...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i d like to have the ability to pay with american express.

    one of the best breakfasts i ve ever had with full menu combing romanian and american breakfast.clean and always cozy big rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not so delicious and various. Room wasn't very clean

    The bad was really extra comfortable! Also we like the hotel location. It was very close to the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were expecting restaurant to be opened for dinner on the first day of the year, but we were left dissapointed. Actually, entire city looked like taking rest for that important dinner :-)

    Excellent hotel placed in the heart of Bucharest, with friendly staff, excellent breakfast - in very interestingly designed hall - and great value for money. We will come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, the room was not amazingly clean. The amenities (espresso machine) was unplugged and didn't work properly as it was quite old. The TV was also an old one. Two things that I really disliked: no bottled water was offered complimentary (It is a four star hotel after all). The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbor having a phone conversation. Conversation, no loud voice, no shouting. Obviously, this is upsetting as a hotel should be able to provide a good night sleep. Also, in the bathroom, loads of shampoo, but no shower gel. The housekeeper knocked on the door giving me a beer to restock the mini bar. I don't mind these things, but it's the attention to details that makes the difference.

    The room is ok. Lacks in personality, but the basic 4-star amenities are there. The room was spacious, the bathroom was nice. Breakfast was decent, but the food was not refilled on time and the omelette took 20 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that it is a little bit uncomfortable is that we travel with our son who is 9 and we slept all together in a double bed. The truth is that we expected a bed for us and a single bed for the child.

    The location is absolutely great! The staff welcomed us really warm. We went for breakfast a little bit late (it was almost 10am) but they still served us and also told us that if we want something else to eat we can order. The room was clean, equipped with coffee maker and full mini bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a 3 nights stay at Berthelot hotel. Our room (on the 3rd floor) was spacious with a big window, comfortable beds and a big bathroom. We were provided daily with all the necessary bath products. The room was clean and bright. The area is central enough and not noisy at all. The staff is very helpful and polite. The breakfast was typical, not bad though. We had a great time and I definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionist are all very very nice and the rest of the staff as well. I could check in earlier than scheduled and received a room best suited for my needs. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received the smallest room available in the hotel, asking for a double room and guest traveling alone received one of the biggest room. If you want comfort, ask for a room not on the corner, especially if you are 2. Also, the complimentary coffee in the room was not refilled the second morning.

    Location, quiet room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient drawer space. Bar area very small and not very comfortable. Had lot of problems with air conditioning and room temperature but staff did well to adjust.

    Staff very good and mostly very friendly. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with vast choice of hot and cold food. Good to have range of toiletries

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had already changed to winter heating, so no cool air was available when spring-like temperatures appeared. This made the room uncomfortable.

    This hotel has an excellent location. The Reception staff was excellent. Breakfast was superior.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seemed they were a little understaffed so things took a while to get done (we had to wait a lot for food at their restaurant) but it didn't really affect my experience at all.

    Everything was great. The room was spacious enough (considering I took the cheapest one) the bed was super comfy and the toiletries were comprehensive, good quality and smelled amazing. The shower was great with good pressure and good temperature.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine in the room was broken, the aircondition did not always work and the staff was really impolite and not at all helpful

    The breakfast was good and the room was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room was absolutely sweltering. The previous week the hotel AC system had been set to 'winter' and only able to pump out heat and staff could do nothing to help despite 3 calls down to reception. It made for a VERY, VERY uncomfortable experience in the room and I did not sleep well at all. Tried opening windows as suggested by them but warm outside so not much use and also then lots of insects flying in; not good.

    Well located hotel, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The location is excellent and close to all amenities. Clean modern rooms with good room service. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet and the coffee were excellent, Overall a very pleasant experience. A great stay and a great price as well. Congratulations to the staff keeping the standard up !!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom. The breakfast is very expensive , at 11 Euros per person, with little choice. Try breakfast in one of the nearby cafes or restaurants if possible, far more exciting and cheaper. We had to have it in the hotel as our tours started very early in the morning and other places were closed. The walls are very thin and we couldn't sleep the first night as the next room guests were very noisy?

    Excellent location, very helpful and polite staff, clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i didn't like that they didn't change the sheets during my stay( 4 days)

    i liked the staff in reception, they were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was very nice .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the wifi went off.

    A very friendly place to stay. Clean, friendly staff, good location, comfort bed, coffee maker in the room! Very good air conditioning. Located in central yet quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Second time we arrive at Hotel Berthelot. everything is perfect! Location, staff, service is simply outstanding. Close to the center and Victoria Street with luxury stores. Close to the urban park with a lake - a very popular place of people. Heartily recommend the Berthelot Hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best value for accommodation in Bucharest. Comfortable room, very nice design, clean and cozy, quality toiletries, helpful and friendly staff. Very good breakfast. We highly recommend and for sure we'll return here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stuff was very helpful and nice, they returned the missing necklace to the original owner who left it in the room. They took care and even mailed the picture of the item to the owner to ask if it was his. Good breakfast, modern decorated restaurant looks beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees constantly after you to sell you package etc.I booked private taxi to Constanta via reception.she told Me the price of 250 and sine all their transaction in localley i said ok for one way.to much surprise the driver told me we mean 250 Euro.

    Room is fantastic and better than some 5 star hotel.Beside thisother facilities like reception restaurant bar very negligible and hardly much to say.Breakfast very complete and delicious.Everything you imagine were there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very rich breakfast. Kind, smiling and helpful staff. Comfortable bed. A/C works well. Safebox and minibar in the room. Coffee/Tea maker and free coffee/tea in the room. Free luggage storage option in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I noticed a light smell upon entering the room, but it was just noticeable and quickly forgotten. The bed was made up with the bed-sheets only. Although it was very hot outside I would prefer a light duvet when sleeping in an aircondioned room.

    Big room, excellent location, excellent breakfast. The staff was very helpful. They gave me very useful information for my trip. Good Price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, friendly staff, quiet and nice room with good bed and air condition, and good & all-round breakfast (especially on Sunday morning)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location was great and it had everything we needed! On our return to Bucharest we stayed at a different hotel (double the price) and not nearly as nice as the Berthelot, we wished we had stayed in the Berthelot again (and will do if we return to Bucharest)! Best breakfast of our 14 night trip!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    placed on the first floor while the was a "renovation " just out my bedroom. I was told that they will not make much noise. Wrong!!! I asked for smoking room. Didnt got it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet was a bit slow at our floor but did advise staff and they had to check it out.

    Visiting a new country I always look for reassurance, well Hotel Berthelot provided all that. Very good hotel, great location, wonderful staff, especially the ones at reception, good breakfast. Do have to make a comment here, Sunday, the lady doing fresh omelettes was not available BUT the omelette available was great. Do recommend to advise prior for non smoking room. Airport shuttle was booked from the hotel, worth it, having peace of mind of having someone waiting for you at the airport and taking you back. Location is just twenty minutes walk to Old City, just one straight road. Highly recommendable and good value for price paid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boutique Hotel Superior Design Central Location Comfortable Rooms Reception Staff Special thanks Receptionists Christina and the other receptionists The dining room staff are very amazing and I enjoyed and returned

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was one of the most amazing hotels I have ever stayed. The staff was truly attentive to every single subtle detail: at the reception, restaurant and room service. Thank you very much for providing an extra care for us. Late check out was also possible. Would definitely return to the same hotel. All the best to the owner and staff there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matrasses were a bit hard, but that is just personal preference.

    Personnel was very helpful, prior to our arrival we asked for transfer (30€) from the airport, which worked very well. The breakfast was very good and more than enough, they changed parts of the menue between the two days we stayed there. You can reach the old city centre within a 25 minutes walk, also the bus stop ( Piața Romană), where you can get a bus to the airport, is close by (5 - 10 Minutes). Our room was on the 5th floor and had a shared balcony with the neighbouring room. In general it was very calm and quiet. The air condition in the room worked very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room does not have proper lighting, because the windows are not that big and the bathroom was just a little bit small. Also there was no milk for the coffee in the room, but probably could have receieved it, if we wanted. Overall the hotel is quite good value.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, just a few meters away from Calea Victoriei, basically in the heart of the city. The rooms are not very big, but they are big enough, everything was very clean. The rooms are basic and meet all the requirements of 4* hotels. The breakfast is good, with a wide range of food, from several types of cheese, meats, full english breakfast, fruits, cereals, croissants and pastries. The coffee is also good. The parking at the hotel costs 10 EUR/day, but you can also park on the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The biggest thing was that there were steps and ramps from the entry to the elevator. e.g. at one pint on the way to the dining room there were two steps, on the way to the dining room. One was marked, the other wasn't. I stepped down HARD on the second step, spilling half my meal on the floor. All over it was posted that it was a four star hotel, but it was't. If you needed an extra towel you had to give one back, no wash clothes, snarky employees. (I asked if they had any hot chocolate and was told "We aren't a restaurant". We were watched everywhere. It was like being in a communist country.

    The property was well located, but hard to find, very clean, good included breakfast. Receptionists were sweet and helpful. Person who called the taxi made sure we were picked up by the right taxi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower floor was a bit slick when showering. A bath mat or non slip surface would help. The taxi that was arranged by the hotel to the train station....the driver did not use the meter and I didn't notice until we were a few minutes underway. I assumed since the hotel uses this company, it was an honest dealer. Fortunately, the person at the desk told me what the maximum should be. The driver asked for more, but settled for the amount informed by the hotel. I should have asked to see the meter, and pay him the amount which was shown, which was nothing.

    The bed was nice and firm. The hotel was very quiet. We were next to the elevator but we could barely hear it. The neighborhood was quiet and safe at night. The breakfast was outstanding. The person at reception provided some excellent tips on travel in Romania, and some words of caution. We took the 783 bus in to town from the airport, instead of taking a taxi, at the advice of a local who was on the flight. It was a short walk to the hotel from the bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice clean tidy room breakfast good plenty of choice staff great from chambermaid right up to front of house staffs specialmention to Christine who arrange for us a wee takeaway breakfast at 4,30am cheese woculd have no problem in recommending

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We sat at the hotel bar but none ever came to ask us what we would like to drink ...

    Pleasant, smiling and helpful staff. The rooms are very comfortable. Good breakfast. The hotel street is a off a bigger street, which makes it quite silent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were significantly overcharged the bill should have been 216.75 euros and we were charged 360 euros. Only just discovered this and are trying to rectify this. We may need your help with this!

    The beds and pillows were comfortable. The pancakes the first breakfast were delicious it was a shame they were not available on other days! The receptionists were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproofing isn't great but completely fine as long as your neighbour has their tv at a reasonable volume, and some of the staff are only just friendly and could be a little more receptive.

    Very clean, spacious bedrooms, quality breakfast and good location on a quiet street around 10 mins from the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed, very polite and helpful staff, good bathroom with everything that one can wish for. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choices. The hotel is located pretty close to city center and very close to a metro and a bus station. The room was very clean, the tea and coffee machine was very nice and the minibar was stacked. They also let as check-in earlier than normal. Even though it was pretty close to the city center, it was very quiet and you can relax and enjoy your stay. Very pleasant experience. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing...everything I asked was finally arranged

    everything was ok as always! everyday surprise at breakfast time. nice personnel makes you feel always welcome a quite hotel at safe central district, quite staff very close to everything with a lot of shops cozy coffee shops and bistro calea voctoriei (!!!) 1 minute, metro station (piata romana) 4 minutes away!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Advertised air con but not available. First night on top west facing floor was misery, not even a fan. Second night they moved us to second floor east side, big improvement. Good location for restaurants and shopping.

    Breakfast was good. We requested extra pillows and got them immediately. Staff tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a hotel for smokers, you can find ashtraies in rooms, at the restaurant. In the rooms there is a persistent smell of smoke. You fell like in a bar. We were given a room and change it because there was a smell of smoke, and given one with less smell, but still

    Hotel rooms are good in size

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with One-Way Airport Transfer
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The airport transfer was late and unfortunately it would have cost €30 extra to book a return transfer to the airport.

    Great location, good value for money and comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a very pleasant hotel, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and the staff polite and helpful. In my experience, the best hotel I have stayed in in Bucharest (out of four 4star central hotels I've used recently). I usually travel on my own and I feel safe and comfortable at Berthelot. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally felt that the guy who moved our bags inside our room wouldn't leave the room(he talked about what we could visit in Bucharest) until we gave him tips.I felt it was a bit too much as we had just checked in and we wanted our privacy. Rather than that,nothing.

    Plenty and great breakfast.A woman cooked omelette based on your tastes.Very nice location and staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a view but you don't really need one when you're in the middle of the city and a rather unusual entrance but all in all thumbs up for this one.

    City centre location, clean, big bed and nice staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from any bus station, but 20 min walk to city centre.

    Nice,clean and comfortable room. Breakfast had everything you need.(please add nutella!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food could be a bit fresher and the stuff a bit more friendly and enthusiastic.

    I like the location as it is central. The rooms are always nice, clean and comfortable with many facilities, this is why I always book the same hotel when I go to Bucharest.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was on and ridiculously hot. Staff told me that they could not change it and the room was uncomfortably warm all night. When I asked for a tour was recommended a "guide" who is essentially just a driver who barely speaks basic English - tour was overpriced way higher than other online options.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was v. good but buffet food wasn't replaced if you chose a later breakfast time (even if well within stated breakfast times)

    great bedroom facilities, balcony with view, most staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAFF, STAFF, STAFF. We were in Bucharest to celebrate New Year's Eve. Well. Staff is not rude. I would rather say they are just pretty cold and distant. Nobody was smiling at us during the stay, the only exception was the man at check-out. No offense, but greeting your guests with a smile or at least saying hello when they enter the reception area is a must in hospitality. It was hard to decide whether the staff was unhappy or simply arrogant. As I am working in a 5-star hotel, I have some experience to compare. If only I could say something positive about the breakfast staff, but it was the same. Last, but not least, I asked for some milk for coffee in my room, 109. The receptionist confirmed, even asked for the room number for 3 times and milk still arriving, I guess. I do not know, maybe poor English or lack of attentiopn. Finally, I expected a better choice from the breakfast. (A gym in the hotel would also have been nice, but anyways.) Overall, good hotel, with 4-star facilities but with 2-star staff attitude. That is the only reason why I would not return.

    Location was good, in the centre, 15 minutes by foot from the Old Town. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable. Wi-fi was okay.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Berthelot traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: