Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Topaz Boutique Hotel 3 stars

10 Septimiu Albini St., 400457 Cluj-Napoca, Romania

#41 of 64 hotels in Cluj-Napoca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 384 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    overall the venue is looking good but not customer oriented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you plan to go with your pet, be ready to pay the highest fee in Europe , 15€ per night, not communicated anywhere, just at the reception desk; stuff inflexible but polite, if you would like a late check out, forget it ..., overall the venue is looking good but not customer oriented.Expect to be rejected at any request

    Cute room, clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Ok
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't like that much the shower,the parking is a bit small,a bit noisei from the airport and didn't have slipper's in the room.

    Near the town center, comfortable bed,good tv,wifi works, overall good for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff let me into my room early so I could change, this was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower didn't have a proper bracket so sprayed above my head on to the wall. Loo was tiny and in a very strange location.

    Staff let me into my room early so I could change, this was greatly appreciated. Attached bar food fine and nice terrace to site out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and cozy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some rooms are situated right above the restaurant terrace and it can get noisy during the evening.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are very spacious with walk in shower. It is 15 minutes walk from the city center, in a quiet area. The beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    A gem in the heart of Cluj
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, comfortable and stylish. Helpful staff, secure parking, quiet location few minutes drive from the airport and walking distance from town centre. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not applicable.

    A 10 experience overall. Firstly, I booked a junior suite and I got a free upgrade as they didn't have the junior available when I checked-in. Secondly, as I couldn't get proper wi-fi in my room, I went to the receptionist to inform her and I was surprised that she offered me my own mobile internet wi-fi which worked absolutely fantastic. The hygiene was absolutely perfect - although I was in a hotel I felt that I was at home. The staff were really nice and greeted me every time I walked by - regardless of the fact that it was 5 in the morning or 5 in the afternoon - always with a smile on their faces. Also, since I've checked in, I requested an iron and a table to iron my shirts. They offered me one straight away and left it in my room for the entire booking period (4 days). I couldn't be happier with Topaz Hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    It's ok but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a very tiny bathroom and questionably maintained. We did not trust the bedcover - it had a strange smell and it didn't really seem clean. We connected to the wifi from the hotel next door because it was much more stable.

    It matters in which room you are being placed. Our room, at first-floor, was nice and cozy and well heated in a really freezing weather outside. The minibar has a decent selection of snacks and drinks at relatively reasonable prices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    Not my best experience but I still like the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hot water in the bathroom (second floor). And the internet speed was incredibly unstable. I am a frequent guest at the hotel and I was surprised by this. Also, I didn't appreciate to be asked to pay upfront (the first time it happened).

    Most of the staff (one exception) is really friendly and helpful. The restaurant downstairs is really nice and they have a happy hour in which you receive a free desert matched with a glass of wine. Unfortunately, it is closed on Sundays.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Very nice furniture, very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a towl hanger broken. Should be fixed. There is no sign for the minibar. You have to search each closet...

    Very nice furniture, very clean. Large room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Best travel experience. BEAUTIFUL Hotel and super cozy rooms.The experience was first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All is perfect!

    Best travel experience. BEAUTIFUL Hotel, great staff, and super cozy rooms.The experience was first class. I highly recommend this hotel honestly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    The design of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some plumbing issues, there was water on the bathroom floor and some on the carpet in front of the bathroom. Apparently the issue was known before our arrival and they believed they fixed it. Also the lack of slippers did not help in this situation. Unfortunately there was also dust in the bathroom and on the TV stand. Even if we stayed for 2 days they should have changed the room from the beginning. They said they will send someone to check thw following day, but no one came. They communicated at the end of our stay that the manager approved the change of room but the receptionist of the following day did not know us and therefore did not notify us.

    The design of the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice high ceiling with cool and stylish wooden beams.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes sewerage smell bad, so we even closed the door to the bathroom in order to do not smell it. Also seems our towels were not changed at all for all our stay (5 nights), cleaning service is not good. There were no slippers, however, the room had carpet.

    Nice high ceiling with cool and stylish wooden beams. Small but very cozy and stylish cafe in the hotel, nice and handy chairs, new tables, the food was good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.8
    choose another hotel if you have a choice
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had a small discussion with the receptionist, when we arrived, she charged us 15 eur for pet (dog) and on booking.com, it was mention as pet friendly with no extra charges... Booking client service was very friendly, return us the 15 eur and contact the property.

    clean and nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Excelenet place, if you visit this part of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In winter months you have to use also air-con to heath this large room sufficiently.

    I booked suite and the room was really nice. The hotel is not directly in the city centre, but very close to FSPAC Faculty of the University - in such case, the location is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    It was very confortable and practice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small fridge inside the room doesn't work properly.

    The receptionist was very kind and gave all the information that wee need. Very Nice and gently!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Great time in a quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundary sercive I find it too expensive

    The hotel has very friendly staff and has many useful facilities. Prices are affordable and is great value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.7
    Quiet location, rooms were clean and oddly decorated to look...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixtures (shower, sink, light) were improperly installed and not securely fastened. Chairs (had no seat cushion, only cover.) and couches were not too comfortable.

    Quiet location, rooms were clean and oddly decorated to look fancy. Comfortable bed and clean sheets. Nice bathroom with standing shower. It's like staying on the set of a weird period film.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay and would recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we had luggage, it was inconvenient to not have a lift, as all the rooms where upstairs.

    It was clean, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Good menu choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.3
    The rooms are clean and nice but would need to be renovated...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are clean and nice but would need to be renovated a bit. When locking the door to the room it didn't feel safe. Better ways of locking when both leaving the room and when inside would be good. The breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    New Year in Cluj-Napoca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant downstairs was closed during first days of the year.

    We came to Cluj-Napoca for New Year and stayed at this hotel. Everything was very nice - room is big and stylish (old-fashion style is the reason why I book that hotel). On the day of leaving we asked to order taxi for us - and when we get out it was waiting for us already.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    OK location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no "genius traveler" advantages on the spot as apparently you have to request them when you make the booking ( late check-out) Smelly( sewage like) bathroom every now and again

    OK location Confy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    I would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room, decorated in an interesting style. Near the center, 10 minutes' walk. Very tasty breakfast. Super place to park the motorcycle. Behind the hotel, a closed square, close to the entrance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    Cozy retro decor space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and very clean. I liked the design of the hotel and the location was perfect, in the center of the city. Staff very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.2
    The room is large and the furniture is fantastic (massive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not available during our stay, but they warned us beforehand.

    The room is large and the furniture is fantastic (massive wood). The location is quite good, not very far from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.3
    Cluj-Napoca boutique hotel at reasonable prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location little off, plus the room had an ugly yellow carpet on the floor, which also happened to have a stain on it.

    Nice hotel with large beds, rooms fully equipped with beautiful furniture, and a spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced for services and facilities they offer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is old. Shower cabin door broken. Waiting 20 min for hot water in bathroom. Light with sensors in coridors is so poor....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    pleasant and relaxing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sound of planes heading towards the nearby airport

    The feel of the room and the comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    the location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Very good accomodations, favorite place to stay at in Clun
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very good accomodations, favorite place to stay at in Clun

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Super friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise

    Super friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Suites are really huge at a very decent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suites are really huge at a very decent value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Review
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ok

    It was om

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    the hotel is clean, good location, rooms with character
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pressure of the shower was very low.

    the hotel is clean, good location, rooms with character

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast! Super-friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Wifi slow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi slow

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Great job, keep going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Like the last time, everything was above the classification of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Small toilet, electric relay sounds quite loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small toilet, electric relay sounds quite loud

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Good place for business trip in Cluj.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place for business trip in Cluj. Close to center city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Like 5star
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like 5star

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Excellent staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was the smallest I've ever seen.

    Big room, very clean, bathroom well equipped

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Just cozy
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A renovation for brighter and fresher

    Wonderful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    -
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets not changed and room not cleaned

    -

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Although free parking without reservation was mentioned...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although free parking without reservation was mentioned there was no place for the car in the hotel parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast vas very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restroom is to small

    The breakfast vas very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, parking on the spot, nice bistro at ground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, parking on the spot, nice bistro at ground floor. Nice room, maybe a bit small, but well organized and with a comfy bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Recommended it!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location, cleanliness, parking, design of the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    The rooms are specious, very clean, the beds are comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are specious, very clean, the beds are comfy. Walking distance (ca. 20 min) to the town center and to a big shopping Mall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Perfect rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel near by city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.

    Hotel was nice, near by city center and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Same good services
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro is closed Sunday

    Good location and friendly staff also. I got a comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    Terrible smell in the bathroom, despite this everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible smell in the bathroom, despite this everything was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Really cool place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent! Looked really cool and was comfortable. The staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Cosy and comfortable stay in a quiet part of the town, close to the center of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro is closed on Sunday

    Quietness and large comfortable room, with a great bistro near

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.2
    Pat confortabil, mic dejun excelent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pat confortabil, mic dejun excelent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.9
    cooking smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cooking smell

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Friendly staff, nice rooms, parking space. 5 minutes by car to old town center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    4.2
    Poor experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast Bad smell in the room Price

    Location Bar

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Room was very quiet and clean and staff was super friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very quiet and clean and staff was super friendly and thoughtful. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Romantic Gem in Cluj
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tres-chic design. Unique and romantic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    3.3
    a hotel which shouldn't be on any online hotel site in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no breakfast facilities and no bar open staff directed guests t the hotel next door for breakfast and a drink

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    Excellent service in the reception upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some smell on the stairs. Wifi was mediocre.

    Excellent service in the reception upon arrival. Nice design room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    6.7
    Old furniture and facility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Old furniture and facility

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.6
    Full recommendation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complains.

    Big, nice and comfortable room. Quiet location. Nice people at the Registration desk. A nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our concierge "Chip" was amazing. He went above and beyond for us. Many thanks to him. The hotel was lovely and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    5.4
    Practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too little for the forniture. The treatment was cold.

    The parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.1
    Old fashioned a bit crazy room 100% decoration, see pictures.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The were playing the same song all the time in the lobby and eating room. Weird!

    Old fashioned a bit crazy room 100% decoration, see pictures. We liked it ;-)

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.1
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived around 8:00 P.M., outside temperature was 3 degrees and the heaters were off, we turned them on, but for 2 hours it was a bit cold. The bed is not comfortable.

    Clean room

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Even if we haven't got the chance to stay overnight, in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we did not had the chance to stay overnight :)

    Even if we haven't got the chance to stay overnight, in the few hour we spent in the hotel we felt really good. The room was clean and very beautiful decorated. The receptionist was very friendly. The place is easy to find and there in a safe interior parking lot.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Big rooms of around 40 sqm with nice furniture which create...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big rooms of around 40 sqm with nice furniture which create a good atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is at 15 minutes walking from the city center and its position is very good. I think that the hotel should have 4 stars.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.7
    Despite arriving very late after a flight from the UK...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite arriving very late after a flight from the UK (23:45) the night porter did his best to sort us out only there was some confusion over which rooms were available!! Rooms were spacious and plenty of hot water. Recently done up in a boutique style. Reasonable spread for breakfast despite there being only a few guests in the hotel but breakfast was very over priced and doubled the cost of our stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    5.8
    Cheap accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are advertised as non-smoking but there are ashtrays is every room which encourages smoking. I had 2 rooms over the duration of my stay and both smell heavily of smoke. When I raised the issue with reception, i have been told that 'some people do smoke against the hotel policy' . I wonder - if the hotel has a non-smoking policy - why do they have ashtrays is the rooms? Also there was no reception staff during night times and as i had to leave at 4am in the morning there was no one available to hand over the room. If reception is not covered over night, there should be clear information available for customers so arrangements could be made in advance to hand over rooms at night. I have stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and have been very happy then with the facilities then. I can genuinely say that the standards of this hotel have slipped considerably since then and personally I won't be considering staying here in the future.

    Cheap accomodation

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    4.6
    not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i didn't get the room id booked , got a room above the bar over looking the busy road and construction site oppsit . no maid for 3 days , i had to ask for more toilet paper , and big shower but tiny broken shower head .

    not much

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    7.9
    We arrived around 8 p.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't think that suite gets booked often though - the phone didn't work, there was a broken shade on one window, and none at all on a second window. However, I informed Maria and I bet the property will fix all that soon.

    We arrived around 8 p.m. on the night before Easter - and unfortunately, all the restaurants nearby had closed down for the holiday; including the one at the hotel. The very friendly and accommodating desk clerk Maria called around trying to find a pizza place to deliver; she opened the restaurant and sold us a bottle of wine, and was generally just wonderful. Owners, you should give her a raise! :) The room was beautiful; a suite with lovely old furniture, etc. The staff prepared a nice breakfast the next day with cooked eggs, along with the usual meats, cheeses and bread.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.9
    The staff are friendly, the room was beautiful and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is a 20 minute walk from the centre. Breakfast had plenty to offer but wasn't well attended so some items had run out. One of our TVs didn't work and there were some receipts from previous guests in the drawers.

    The staff are friendly, the room was beautiful and very spacious. We had a suit which is great value for money. Breakfast was good but could be great with more work.

There are also 74 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Topaz Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: