Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Casa cu Tei 4 stars

Amaradiei 4, 200134 Craiova, Romania

#35 of 40 hotels in Craiova

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.2
    Dirty is a no go
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness. Cleanliness. Cleanliness. The whole place looks like nobody cares about this (very important) aspect. It looks like a vacuum cleaner is an unknown machinery here...Also, the omnipresent spiderwebs were a testimony of the lack of care for keeping the place clean.

    This property has a true potential to actually become a hotel and not only a location almost fully dedicated to events (weddings etc). With little effort and attention to details, the garden as well as the whole property could be among the most preferred in Craiova.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel I have ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t cleaned even after I made a complaint. There was mold in the shower cabin and spider web on the windows. It is advertised as 4 stars hotel but when requested the hotel provided a certificate that showed they have only 3 stars. In reality is not even 1 star.

    Nothing good to say about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, a lot of green, nice terrace and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems that the property is not being properly maintained, some details are starting to show lack of interest. No airconditioning in the room.

    Beautiful location, a lot of green, nice terrace and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is an old 1900s restored house with a bohemian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs some maintanance (the cooling system smelled bad, the shower ventilation was loud, the shower cabin had some mold leftovers at the corners). The view could be better.

    The hotel is an old 1900s restored house with a bohemian vibe and a nice open air terrase. It's close to the city center, the Bothanical Garden and a great greek restaurant (Akropolis). The staff is helpfull and nice (although overworked during the vacations season).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice architecture of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was not welcoming. The photos in the presentation have been edited , so the rooms have a rather old air , not as nice as shown in the photos

    Nice architecture of the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    The house is old and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a blockage in the sewers, so the shower drain didn't function properly, not all bulbs are lightning, the air conditioner is noisy.

    The house is old and beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't recommend this location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked as though it wasn't cleaned in a long time, especially the bathroom. Even more, for a double room we had just one towel available.

    I really liked the location, an old building very close to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    2.5
    PLEASE​ DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY CONSIDERING THIS PLACE !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing , it was not really open , we were the only guests but we're told our preferred double bed was not available,we seemed a hinderens, the staff were unfriendly, on the morning of departure the receptionists was a sleep across two chairs behind the counter , obviously that was the reason we could not have breakfast until 8.00 a.m even though on the board it clearly stated 7.30 a.m , and the breakfast you would not feed a dog ! No orange juice , only apricot jam and we had to get our own plates while the girl server was playing on her mobile continually The place is dirty , dated and unkept !! I ONLY HOPE THE OWNERS , FUTURE GUESTS AND BOOKING .COM READ THIS AS IT WAS A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME INVOLVED HEADING HERE FOR OUR STAY

    Absolutely nothing , it was not really open , we were the only guests but we're told our preferred double bed was not available,we seemed a hinderens, the staff were unfriendly, on the morning of departure the receptionists was a sleep across two chairs behind the counter , obviously that was the reason we could not have breakfast until 8.00 a.m even though on the board it clearly stated 7.30 a.m , and the breakfast you would not feed a dog ! No orange juice , only apricot jam and we had to get our own plates while the girl server was playing on her mobile continually The place is dirty , dated and unkept !! I ONLY HOPE THE OWNERS , FUTURE GUESTS AND BOOKING .COM READ THIS AS IT WAS A TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME INVOLVED HEADING HERE FOR OUR STAY

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Decent little hotel for a good price, but check they are not having an event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work in the rooms, only downstairs (common areas). Our room had an awful smell of food the whole time, it didn't matter if you closed the window or not. The hotel didn't tell us that a wedding party was taking place at the hotel that same night: there was noise till early morning (4.30am) and the staff was completely absorbed by the huge task of the wedding reception and was therefore not present enough at reception.

    The patio garden is nice with roses and benches and we had breakfast there. It is at walking distance from the city center. The early check-in helped us with our day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Very nice building and pretty close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came the night before Easter and nobody announced us that there will be no breakfast. I don't understand why it has 4 stars considering that we didn't have phone in the room...

    Very nice building and pretty close to city center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    The location was good - it takes 10-15 mins to reach the...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was incredibly hot everywhere in the hotel. There was no way to regulate the temperature. Our room only had two tiny porthole windows high above, which meant that there was almost no daylight. There was no breakfast (perhaps it was possible to sit in the restaurant and order something from their menu, didn't try that). It's a good idea to check if there are any functions planned for the time of your stay because they often have parties at the weekend and those are generally late and noisy.

    The location was good - it takes 10-15 mins to reach the center of Craiova by foot. (The traffic outside can be somewhat noisy, especially if one is not used to that.) The building and the rooms have an interesting decor and atmosphere - it's an old building. The front desk is open 24 hours which is useful for late arrivals. The bathroom was clean and the shower good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    Very old and not clean at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and not clean at all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Amazing location , wonderful building and garden , great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location , wonderful building and garden , great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    The staff is absent - the hotel doesn’t offer any service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t go for breakfast at 7:30 don’t bother since its only one cold table that’s gone within 5 minutes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast. The quality is not good at whole .

    They don’t deserve 4*

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean enough and squeaky beds

    It was quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.1
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the staff were slightly unpredictable. Generally friendly but at times slightly uninterested. Expect there to be numerous parties until late. Join in the party or stay out as you won't get much sleep.

    The location is great. 10 minute walk to the centre of Craiova with good facilities close by. Breakfast was also good. The mini bar is also well stocked.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.1
    It is a relative small hotel (better to say a pension), in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the bath the shower sink was blocked. I told them in the morning to clean it - they did't - and what is worst, the room has not been cleaned at all. Breakfast was poor - no buffet, just from a menu-card.

    It is a relative small hotel (better to say a pension), in sommertime has a very nice garden. I was here in the winter - heating was more then perfect!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    - the ambiance was very nice;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the internet was down for a couple of days, otherwise it was excellent;

    - the ambiance was very nice; - good location; - nice terrace for breakfast; - friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.1
    Really beautiful building and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom smelled. Window was small. First we were given a room with a double bed that was nice in itself, but there were only two tiny little windows (from the Oeil de boeuf in the roof). We asked for another room with actual windows, but all they had was a separate bed room.

    Really beautiful building and well maintained. Beautiful garden terrasse, although we didn't have the chance to enjoy it. Rooms were also really nice, although pretty austere.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    7.5
    Lovely character hotel, Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a few minor negatives as hotel was great. Shower took nearly 10 mins for hot water to come through but was good once it did. Restaurant staff didn't speak any English but we got by. Pillows too thin against hard wooden headboards (unable to watch tv in bed comfortably).

    Lovely character hotel, Beautiful. Excellent food. Private parking. Good Wifi. Easy to find. Under 10 minute walk to main Centre.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    6.3
    - friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - great noise during an event taking place in the restaurant downstairs at night. Had to change rooms to get some sleep. - no cleaning during my three night stay, only towels were changed - carpet inside the room was discolored and old

    - friendly and helpful staff - good location - good room size - modern bathrooms - fair minibar prices - nice old building in good condition

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    Casa cu Tei is perfect place when we talk value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As a personal taste, the rooms are art nouveau style, and I would consider to add different bathroom arrangement. ( to add a bath tube for example ).Also, there are present of signs of time in the room... The terrace will need to be restored, the asphalt on it is not in the best shape.

    Casa cu Tei is perfect place when we talk value for money. But , without doubt they can do more than this. In this very moment is a very good 3 stars hotel, with friendly stuff , excellent dishes in restaurant and facilities as they are in description. I do not now how is is when the hotel is full, we had an excellent experience but it was probably 1/5 full.For sure we will re-book here. Also, the waiting time is restaurant is nothing, everything is served perfect.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of face clothes and extra towels in the room.

    Breakfast choices. The environment and decor.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    7.9
    Location, architecture, furniture.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The front rooms are noisy even sound proof windows are foreseen.

    Location, architecture, furniture.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    wonderfull hotel and personel
    • Business trip
    • Group

    wonderfull hotel and personel

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.1
    architecture and design of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    problem with AC

    architecture and design of the building

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Stunning hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Friendly staff,classic old style
    • Couple

    Friendly staff,classic old style

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff, the food and the whole experience.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    8.3
    Everyone at the hotel was very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Maybe the waiters should know better English

    Everyone at the hotel was very helpful

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: