Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Esplanada 4 stars

Str. Portului 1, 820242 Tulcea, Romania

#3 of 17 hotels in Tulcea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 311 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dinner possible due to a wedding which created late music. Wifi was very poor. Staff were helpful when encouraged.

    The location is good to select boat trip options and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odor during the night. Might have been from air conditioner vents. Common area carpets need cleaning. Room furniture needs cleaning • smells like body odor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot bedrooms and the air con was not working! We stayed for four nights and it was so hot neither of us got much sleep! We had to keep the window open and we were just bitten by very large mosquitos! So not a comfortable stay.

    Excellent view. Friendly staff. I would like to thank the lady who did our washing and for the excellent ironing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the restaurant, the food at dinner and the breakfast are not at the same level with the hotel. Especially at breakfast it's visible that's an obligation and it's not prepared with passion: no orange juice, no croissant, cheap coffee...

    The location and the rooms are great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi wasnt working at 6 th floor

    the rooms are looking good, clean, warm in winter, good view over Tulcea harbor. Breakfast was strange because we had to say to the waiter what would we want like a guess. Not being many people in the hotel, actually less than 10 they do not prepare a bufet for breakfast . But i write this at positive things because anything we wanted the waiter brought us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in hotel is not great but there is a very nice fish restaurant about 100 metres away on the Esplanade which I would recommend.

    The staff were incredibly helpful, parking is easy and the location is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is decidedly dogy. But then if you are from the US, all of the food in Romania is "different"

    This is the nicest hotel in Tulcea, however its Tulcea, so this isn't saying much. Having said that the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is decent WiFi. It's better than the Delta.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad restaurant (food and personell). Room cleaning very unprofessional. Many problems that I had to communicate to the reception (they were eventually fixed). Bad phonic isolation.

    Confortable bed. Large room. Nice view from the window to the boats on the Danube.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast with very little choices. The hotel rooms need improvements and the ventilation system definitely needs to be upgraded.

    A very good location with a wonderful view over the Danube.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had on the 1st night was no good - the bathroom floor is like flooding after bath, and the wifi simply could not connect. After our complaint, the room we got on the 2nd night was much better.

    The room has excellent view of the Danube and the promenade below. The hotel itself is at a very convenient location, just next to the train station and the main ferry. There are many restaurants with good fish soup in the Danube region, but here the price is competitive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showering amenities could be better.

    Good hotel in Tulcea just a few minutes walk from the train station. Great views from the room and it has amazing spacious breakfast balcony. Lots of restaurants around. Would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As so often in Romania, a potentially excellent hotel falls short because of neglect and no attention to detail. The lady at reception made the impression that guests were an unpleasant chore. My gf said the room and carpet had a bad smell. I did not notice it so much. The bath tub is lowest quality you can find. Thin material - you feel like walking on a trampoline. The windows in the guest rooms were very dirty. This could be a wonderful place, if they tried a little harder

    The location on the waterfront is unbeatable. The room was spacious. The decor is attractive, including the lobby area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extremely helpfull and friendly. I had a lot of questions and the reception staff was always there for me. The location is very good, right by the Danube. I got a very nice quiet room with a beautiful view. Money well spent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass in which my beer was served still had lipstick on it. I was given a clean glass and a new beer. Although it's a 4 star hotel the curtains were torn and the in room safe was not attached to the cupboard - it could be picked up and easily carried away. For a 4 star hotel breakfast was way below standard!

    The size of the room was excellent. The beer was cold. The parking was perfect - directly behind the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful breakfast - not worth the effort of going into the large restaurant area - in bar area by reception we asked for food menu at lunch time... Don't do food! Reception talked through whole check in on her mobile - not to us. No-one to help with luggage.

    Location perfect for stopover going into the delta

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were excellent especially those on reception who could not have been more helpful. We are already planning a further trip to explore the delta more fully and will certainly being staying at this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow was a bit flat, but managed to use a cushion to ease it.

    The unobstructed view from the room, it was impressive! Very helpful staff within the hotel in all areas.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the breakfast a bit spartan compared to the rest of the facility. This hotel commits the typical cardinal sin of many Romanian upper scale hotels, that try to wow with their overall appearance, but then leave things lacking in the details. For instance, as often in Romania, stepping into the bathtub feels like walking in the Dead Sea mud - squishy and unstable - because they use the cheapest materials and have them installed by amateurs. Without that deficit, I could have given full 10 points.

    The location on the river promenade and river view are unbeatable. The staff are friendly and made a great recommendation for an excursion into the Danube delta. Sitting on the outside terrace, sipping on a cocktail, and watching life on the river and the promenade is the stuff that dreams are made of.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located on the Danube amazing views, Suite fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful, I would certainly recommend this hotel in this amazing area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    .Mattress needs to be changed. Internet was a little agravating at times.

    We very much enjoyed the view from the large room - 5th floor on the corner. Service was excellent and staff very helpful when we asked for extra pillows. Breakfast selection and quality was wonderful. Would stay again if in Tulcea.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safe in the room was not attached to the wall, it was just placed in the closet like a box, so we could not use it.

    Good breakfast. Great location near the port from which the boat travels to the Danube Delta exit. The hotel restaurant is very recommended for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff chiuld be more cherry

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast

    the view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real complaints -- the property is slightly fatigued, but fine.

    Hotel is right on the waterfront, and the staff were fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    Nice view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think the quality of the food served in the restaurant could be improved, breakfast was good.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sunset over the Danube from the restaurant at the mezanine level.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst breakfast ever!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant should be upgraded. It has somehow the outlook of a restaurant of former times and the breakfast buffet can much better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi does not work in rooms. Got sick on the fish dish

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was poor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast, bad chemical juices

    Staff attitude (care), speed of service, superb view from room & restaurant windows

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not sure if bath was clean, loud wedding party

    good breakfest, helpfull recpetion

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for the price . Enjoyed our stay in hotel and Tulcea. Nice 4 star hotel close to railway and bus station .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have a balcony.

    Very clean room with partial view to Danube.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a weird smell, but it was clean. No balcony. No wifi in the room.

    The view was nice. Big room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have to pay extra for a coffee without cofeine at breakfast. The moquette in the rooms.

    Good location, helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower-head broke the last day.

    The view from the room and breakfast cafe was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor breakfast

    wonderful view of the Danube from the room, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel on the banks of the Danube perfectly placed for a boat trip on the Delta. The reception organised a trip for us.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was not working, furniture and decoration look like they are from the 80's and hotel is just 9 year old. Very poor breakfast.

    View was amazing. Receptionist was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    As a genius customer I was not welcomed with complementary drink as it was specified in the confirmation. The reception desk do not have an envelope to insert the bill even you paid 110 Euros per night.

    Great location, great staff on restaurant. Dinner and breakfast was a delight.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    early at 8:00, though, there were no dishes on the service table at the restaurant . They cooked for each of us a huge sunny-side-up and hot coffee.こんヴぇにえん

    very friendly and helpful sta

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found a hair in my food(it wasn't mine). Food was not tasty. Service and selection at breakfast rather lousy. TV in room did not work but lady from reception desk managed to fix it. Internet did not work during our stay but no apologies, no discount offered.

    If you like cities, it is a good location to hire boats or motorboats or take an excursion to the Delta. Two ladies at Reception desk were kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unpleasant smell on room floor hallway. I guess dirty vacuum cleaner.

    Exceptional restaurant and view.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    head rest in bath was under the taps

    room with a good view over the river

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything....from "A" to "Z" was almost perfect. Thanks and keep up!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A/C didnt work Breakfast is not 4 star Matress was horrible bedsheets are not fixed to matress The whole floor stinks, literally (5th floor)

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything.

    Excellent location, perfect room. Very nice view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great hotel all round!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good modern hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed is a little too hard. Breakfast is not that good. Airco was leaking but has been fixed quickly.

    Location. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet connection very slow.

    The staff was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice young lady at the front desk was proactive and got us on a Delta cruise just a couple of hours after we checked in

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Hotel Esplanada traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: