Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensiunea Ambient 3 stars

62 Iuliu Maniu St., 500091 Braşov, Romania

#75 of 106 B&Bs and Inns in Braşov

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is around 25 minutes walk from city center, which may require travelling by bus or by car there. This does not seem to be a major problem, though. There are few parking lots owned by hotel, which makes you look for alternative places to park your car, if the hotel if full. However, the hotel stuff offers compensation for parking you car elsewhere.

    Nice room with a lot of space for everyone, good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room - Hotel Ambient
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A non-smoking room at the first floor will be close to stairs and much noise of guests going up and down.

    It's in the city center and the bed is very comfortable and everything was pretty clean and well prepared.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra bed (required by me) is just impossible to sleep in. Rooms are kinda small (some of them). No balcony

    Host allowed us to use the breakfast room in the evening for a drink and chat with friends, even if we got a bit noisy sometimes. Location is good and parking is free. 20 mins walk from Old Town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wasn't aware of (probably my fault) that the hotel has no elevator. They split our two rooms between different floors. Our family, with two small children, was allocated to the third floor (again - no elevator). The other couple, with no children, were on the first floor. However, the staff helped us by advising to move to the first floor. We could do it only in the next day, as the suitable room on the first floor was already taken, and with an extra charge (as the room was more expensive). Again - not the hotel's fault, but families should be aware of this issue.

    The stuff was very nice and helpful with our issues (see above). In addition, when we had trouble with parking they answered the phone immediately, went out and helped us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift, therefore abit difficult to carry a large heavy luggage over the narrow stairs. otherwise nothing!

    comfy beds, effective sound proof windows, clean, within walking distance of the city centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some kitchen smell in the morning (room on the first floor). The breakfast is decent, but we don't recommend it.

    Spacious and clean rooms. Even though the windows were facing the street, we have not been bothered by the street noise. You can easily go to the city centre by walking. (15-20 min)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    weak wifi signal on the first floor, the windows faced the wall of a neighbouring house

    Friendly staff, always ready to help. Awesome breakfasts =) quite comfortable rooms and settings in general.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double room located at the ground floor and it was pretty noisy. There were people smoking outside and the smoke could easily enter the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The mattresses, pillows and comforter are old and not very comfortable - It is definitely time for new ones. I think fresh orange juice and fruit salads should be included in the breakfast menu.

    The staff was really nice and accommodating. Great location, not too far from old Brasov city and we had a great view of the Tampa mountain from the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very very small room, bathroom without any window or ventilation, a lot of dust everywhere, very noisy.

    Excellent location, great breakfast, very nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room - Hotel Ambient
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night there were some laud noises coming from other rooms. They were stopped in 20 minutes.

    Great breakfast; good location; pretty close to city center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to my mind :)

    The property is situated close to the city center, the rooms are large, the property is very clean, quiet (even if it is situated near a quite crowded street), breakfast offers a nice variety of choices, the staff has a very adequate professional conduct, responsive to the customer's needs. It was the second time for me in this property, I totally recommend it as I will gladly come back there anytime.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was travelling by car so the place is easy to get to, also it has free of charge parking just next to the building.Not too far from the historical centre. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road outside is busy. Sometimes a bit noisy. The location is about 10 minutes walk to the pedestrianised Street (Republicii)

    Room was very nice. Large bathroom with shower. Private.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place, wonderful staff, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are big,no noise coming from outside. Heating is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    temperatura in camera, 08/09.12.2017

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite dark, very small windows. The beds are also quite small.

    Good breakfast and overall location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff great accommodations and breakfast, well done!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Micul frigider nu a functionat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff doesnt speak English. Breakfast was just OK.

    Rooms are spacious and confortable. We had a balcony as well. Receptionists were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom issues: defective things

    friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with great rooms and employees

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm temperature in the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The bed was not so comfy;

    + Spacious shower with very good water pressure; + Clean; + Good location;

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room - Hotel Ambient
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy "duplex" room, gorgeous panoramic view, glass elevator with stars, superb breakfast... one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very limited. No A/C but there was a fan.

    Nice clean place for the price. Large bathrooms and decent beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy

    It was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very closed to the main street and it was noisy. No air conditioning.

    staff was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room - Hotel Ambient
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    Reasonable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like that there was a bag of trash forgotten on the balcony by the cleaning lady. Also, I didn't see a price list of the mini bar.

    Loved the location and the room. I booked a normal room but the staff really surprised me with an upgrade to an apartment. The location was quiet and the view to the mountain was amazing. I will sure come back again soon.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture is a bit outdated but functional. When we entered the building there was smell of cigarette smoke.

    The location is good within walking distance of the city center. The room is quite big and even so the room was well heated for a freezing winter day.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mind a point which create confusion amongst the guests: We didn't stay at Pensiunea Ambient but at hotel ambient which is definitively better as location as well as hotel because it us brand new and very well managed

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is big enough, clean, but little bit old fashioned Don´t go late for breakfast - if you come ten minutes to final, there´s so many things you will not find

    Nice breakfast - not a great choice, but OK for small pension - BUT they serve something special, very tasty home-made spreads, if you are travelling a lot, it´s great to see something different than every morning in all hotels around the world

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is little to none noice isolation, so you hear literally everything from the outside and the adjacent rooms. The room could have been cleaner. Breakfast was not very rich, but it was sufficient.

    Nice big rooms and bathroom, separete bedroom with door that can be closed. The sofa was arranged for our kid, all sheets were set up. There were flat screen TVs in each separate room, extra blankets, etc. everything you would need. I'm happy with the option to park my car in the back yard. I felt relaxed and safe.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    they sent us for "Pensiunea Ambient" to "Hotel Ambient", because the reservation on Booking was a mistake, so we have to check in to hotel Ambient... not so great to unload you're car, go to reception, then load you're bags back in the car and move forward ! Also a little expensive for what they offer !

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Öld furniture.hard to find the location of the room.expensive you can stay 3 days in Hilton cluj-napaco instead of 2 days with the same money

    Clean.location.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wall are quite thin. Plumbing is quite loud in the rooms. No lift.

    We had a great view over the mountain on the last floor. The staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast not good, thin walls so loud. Very hot in the spring/summer with no air conditioning. Building is on a main street that's more like a highway so busy and unpleasant. Good for a functional business stop, not so pleasant for tourists.

    Clean and newer facilities.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffi noise, simple breakfast and location.

    The room was extremely cozy but at the front of the hotel overlooking a very busy road. It was a little noisy at night with the traffic but the rooms on the other side would be better. Distance to the old town was about 25mins on foot so a little far.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They tried to split up a group of 11, occupying 6 rooms via 2 separate Booking reservations, claiming that one of the reservations was for a 3* wing of the Hotel Ambient, 600m away down the street. A wing which they had transformed from a warehouse, that couldnt attract tourists on its own and that, during our stay, we've seen many people complained about at the front desk of the Pension. This feels like a scam because the location was clearly indicated in the booking, yet at location they tried to hoard us elsewhere. I stood my ground and demanded accomodation with the rest of the group, therefore the Pension superviser gave us a bad attitude for the rest of our stay, closing the bar early (12am on New Year's Eve) when we wanted to sit and chat - even though there wasnt any displayed schedule and we've noticed other groups were able to stay past this hour. We didnt feel welcome at all, service was not that good either with rooms being cleaned every 3 days (actually during our 4-day stay nobody came to clean our rooms), with a HORRIBLE smell in most rooms occupied by our group (something between rotten carpet and cat piss) and with an incontrolable COLD especially at night time when the staff could not be persuaded to turn on the heat. Overall I would definitely avoid staying there in the future, much better accomodation can be found in Brasov in this price range (oh, and we found that walk-in fees were lower than Booking fees, probably because they wanted us to cover the Booking commission for them. Romanian hospitality at its best!

    Varied breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Initially suggested room was a joke - small, no light, no view, no balcony. The entire stay the heating only worked from time to time, while outside was -15 ⁰C. I am now sick. Poor breakfast, poor Wi-Fi, poor bedding sets.

    The location is OK. The receptionist agreed to change our room... eventually. But how did they managed to get an 8.2 average is a mystery to me.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it does not have a restaurant, you can eat in the hotel only breakfast

    best location, central but quiet

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    this time the room was not properly cleaned. sheets not entirely white; crumbles on the floor, bathroom shower not cleaned in corners

    parking staff

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I've been here three times and I have only best words for this location! Thanks.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms and common areas are all smoking areas. Room size was small, insufficient for even moving inside room comfortably.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location 10/15min walking from the center, good price for the serviço, people, room

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff foarte prietenos, camera curata, locatie excelenta (foarte aproape de centru)

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For tourists, a bit away from the old town.

    Friendly stuff, clean rooms, quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was so-so.

    Good service, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was all great, breakfast was standard (no fruit).

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    spacious, clean room, good value for money, it seems more like a 4 star hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, good and efficient staff, parking, great wifi, good breakfast, great room. Recommended!

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: