Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonne 2 stars

Stefan cel Mare 47, 550283 Sibiu, Romania

#18 of 29 hotels in Sibiu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not wifi, but the info indicated that it is. The refrigerator worked badly. No tea is available at breakfast.

    Very responsive administrator. Convenient location - 20 minutes on foot. Free parking is available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some things were out of order in the room, old equipment, nothing around except petrol station and restaurant being the part of hotel, weak wifi signal,

    parking space, easy to find, 15 minutes to old town, close to motorway, clean room with fair space, quiet area, , good value for money, recommended for one night in this pretty town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The entire staff was most helpful with giving us driving directions, and when we later ran into some minor issues with our rental car, they went out of their way to assist us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a little confusion when booking in over the number of guests in each room. The manager came out, and was very helpful, when we went for dinner there, we were complimented some lovely cognac, which was appreciated. The food was lovely & great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sibiu is better reachable by car.

    Comfortable and super clean. Decent breakfast and nice staff who was very kind providing some extra food for my children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding party in the hotel's restaurant, was a bit noisy in the evening. Parking is on the sidewalk in front of the hotel, better not to leave anything valuable in the car.

    Close to city center, about 10 min walk. Nice Italian restaurant is just 200 m away. Gas station is across the street. Room was clean, cozy and big enough. Delicious breakfast. Staff speaks English. Value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding the previous evening. Went on until next morning meaning staff arrived late next day. Breakfast was due at 08:00. Staff arrived at 08:15 and we received breakfast at 08:45. We went to Sibiu as tourists. Time was of essence.

    Good location 20 minutes walk to centre. Easy to reach in car. Room clean and bed very comfy. Had a great sleep. Cooked breakfast very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked for 3 nights. On the second day, I was in the room and I suddenly hear a key turn. The next thing I know the housekeeper is standing in the middle of the room. No knocking. Nothing. I was quite surprised to see her, as I'm sure she was to me. It was a little..alarming, to say the least. She exited immediatley. She was really nice, so I didn't think anything of it. I have worked in hotels for years, so I know that expecting no mistakes ever to happen is unreasonable. No need to go down to the front desk to make sure it doesn't happen again. Then the next day, I hear them working ouside. I didn't think it would happen a second time. Then, to my disbelief, I hear keys going to unlock my door (you have got to be kidding me!) No knocking beforehand, no announcement.. nothing. (it was 11:37 a.m. If checkout is at noon, why are you coming in the room in the first place? If you are cleaning it as a stayover where there's a higher probablity of someone being in the room, why aren't you knocking????) The worst part was, I was in the bathroom. I had the water running which she could have heard, as the walls are paper thin anyway. Before I know it, there's the housekeeper, barging into the bathroom! I nearly had a heart attack and yelled out in surprise. Luckily, I was just standing in front of the sink getting ready for the day. Could have been a lot worse. Needless to say, going to this place to "relax" for a few days was quite the opposite, and I was on edge for the rest of the stay. (which luckily was only until the next morning. I actually left an hour and a half earlier ..just in case)

    Well, I booked this place to relax from the traveling/hostels/always on the go. Check in was..adequate. I don't speak Romanian too well, and I'm in Romania, so it was understandable that the gentleman checking me in would only say but 3 words to me. The room itself was alright. I expected worse from the reviews about things being broken. (for me it was just the shower head holder, and the lid to the trash can, and the sink handle kept coming off) But the beds were extremely comfortable and soft. It has a fridge. The free breakfast was not bad, actually. I really liked the neighborhood it was in. Further away from the Old City/main tourst area. But still close enough if you want to visit. About 15-20 min. walk to train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best times of this facility are over, slight renovation and new mattress would be nice.

    Nice hotel near the city centre (15 min walk). Very reasonable price, the hotels in Sibiu downtown are usually full and expensive. Helpful staff and spacious rooms. Good breakfast for that price range.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night we arrived there was a rumanian wedding, which is of course a great thing but also noisy. So if you stay here for the weekend, better bring your earplugs.

    Nice breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning. Breakfast included food from the wedding that took place one day before, which is kind of cheap. The parking space was quite small, but we were lucky to travel with a small car. The shower needs to be repaired.

    Room is big and clean. Free parking, in front of the hotel. Good location: city center is reachable by walking, there is a market near the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaking water from the shower, air conditioning missing

    Big room, quite nice, near city center, available restaurant, fridge in room, shop next to hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A slight smell of mold and old TV does not produce the best impression. Lack of mirror in my room and the need for a small table between beds (for a book, watch, etc.)

    The kindness of the staff in general, the inner peace and the very discreet presence of the cleaning staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will not complain about anything, bottle water would be a detail

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel is basic and you can't complain if you pay the fairest price for it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A proper shower holder would have been useful

    Good comfortable room with a handy fridge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a perfect hotel. The staff is responsive and smiling. I will come back here again when I travel through Romania.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were nobody at the front desk almost all the time, during our stay there was a major noisy event...

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not thrilling, but considering the stars rating, it's ok.

    The host was very nice to wait for my late arrival (00:34 at night)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more variation at breakfast, fruit and cerials.

    Value for money the food was good, the bed comfortable and the room clean and practical.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    all is ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly clean and the staff was very kind

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The head shower must be change. To warm in the room.

    Very good breakfast. Confortable bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated atmosphere. Hospital specific smell and hospital specific beds, furniture.

    Cheap price. Good option for those who want to save money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult steps

    cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and breakfest was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was broken

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, good food at reasonable price in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning.

    Fresh juice for breakfast. Huge dining room. Staff could speak English. :) Free car park right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - we were unable to pay with a card, they would only accept cash - no air conditioning, no TV, no mini fridge in the room - after taking a shower, the bathroom was full with water, there was some kind of leak - in one of the rooms the hair dryer was broken and wires were exposed - breakfast was average, seemed to include the cheapest ingredients available

    - the rooms were clean - the location is close to the town center - the hotel is rather quiet, on a not so busy street

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A party downstairs with really loud music till midnight. Radiators not vented. Poor breakfast.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good food (dinner served in the room), clean and cozy.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit old fashioned hotel. Some items in the rooms (furniture, shower head, etc.) should be repaired.

    Clean and cheap with correct breakfast. Its good enough for a 2 stars hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The included breakfast was not worth the money.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very noisy if youre room will face the street

    Great breakfast,good value for the money

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food from the wedding from the earlier night for breakfast.

    The staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very uncomfortable mattres. No option to pay by card.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: