Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Traian Grand Hotel 4 stars

Piata Unirii 1, 700056 Iaşi, Romania

#15 of 33 hotels in Iaşi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2075 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located and it was easy to access the main touristic places on foot. Parts of the property was a bit dated and needs some refreshing. Due to its historic background this could have easily been made into a 5 star property. The air conditioning was not very strong so in the summer, it might not be cold enough for some. Overall okay but a night’s stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge not working . Tired looking . Could improve furniture arrangement in rooms . Not possible to get an early packed breakfast ... even a simple one . Cars parked outside blocking the ramp entrance . City maps should be freely available .

    Spacious rooms Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing. While there were enough choices, everything that was supposed to be warm food (french fries, scrambled eggs, sausages, etc) was actually cold food as the heating system was not working. The potato& pickled onion salad, fish eggs salad (absolutely delicious and with a touch of spicy) and white beans & tomatoes spread were the ones that I appreciated most. The apple pie was also disappointing (lots of dough, little apple). Another minus would be the shower. The drain had some kind of blockage so the shower cabin tended to flood. I had to turn off the water from time to time while showering.

    This hotel is in a very lovely old building. The rooms are superb, nicely decorated, with french windows and last but not least, very comfortable. Also, it is really easy to reach the hotel as it is in the center of Iasi and quite close to all major attractions. I do recommend it. It's a good choice. Have breakfast somewhere else though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little bit outdated and old.

    Location is superb, very central and the exterior of the hotel is beautiful. It’s really nice to sleep in a hotel designed by Eiffel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 327 is not fit for purpose due to noise and vibrations from trams passing on the nearby road throughout the night. That makes sleeping in that room impossible. Staff were aware of the issue but didn't help with changing the room.I would rather like a refund.

    Nothing. I would like a refund.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the room furniture and carpets needs to be changed! Breakfast was not fresh and the waitress was busy outside for his smoking time rather than serving the costumers. Overall score can be 7/10

    I really enjoyed the view .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast wasn't at the expected level for 4*, in terms of food provided and the proper room for serving it.

    Good location, close to the center and no need for additional transportation to reach important objectives. Rooms were clean and large enough. The staff was very nice and had a good attitude. The parking slots are a few, but sufficient in our case - we found one free for each occasion needed. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Classic rooms, with all the needed amenities. Excellent staff, ready to help you in any moment. Very clean and with perfect location. Good breakfast. Very easy to reach by car, private parking, very close to almost all the attractions in Iasi. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Close to everything by foot, taxi, streetcar or bus.

    People who like the old style places might enjoy this one, but refresh is needed .....carpets, paint, beds, furniture. Old taste can be kept but updates are welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air condition was not working in the Hotel at all. It was awfully hot. The restaurant and the breakfast meny was poor with little to choose from. This hotel has been much better in the earlier years! If you get a room towards the road passing close to the hotel there is a lot of noise during the night

    Stylish old Hotel with an interesting history. Wery well placed at piata Unirii in the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although on booking.com it indicated we had booked an attic economy room, the hotel gave us ground floor room which looked out into a yatd with lots of industrial pipes. We asked if there was another room available and they did move us to a room on a higher floor. The hotel really needs to be refurbished as there is an old and musty smell in the corridors and bedrooms. The aircon and the fridge were both broken and did not work

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was advertised as a four star hotel, in the past I have been to three star hotels that were of a far better quality. My room's interior was depressing, the lighting poor. While laying in bed one could feel the springs. The shower cubicle had long term permanent stains, the bathroom floor tiles had grouting that had been missing for a long time. I could go on more, but I will end by saying that I have never ever complained about a hotel. I think the hotels four star rating should be investigated. Thank you.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is pretty unconfortable, to much empty space and less utility. You might loose a lot of time at the reception because things are going to slow and also it seems the rezervations are hard to be found sometimes. There are parties at the hotel restaurant (weddings I suppose) and if you have rooms with a back view the noise might stress you during the night. We tried to pay additionally to have the breakfast at the hotel but the meal options weren't the best so we decided to find something else; just a plain omlethe (without bacon or sausages) might be more on everyone's test.

    The location is very good, in the heart of the city, right in the middle of Unirii Square. I loved the vintage style of the hotel and the room size, it is really huge in my opinion. The bathroom is also very big but the space is nor really well used, the shower is very small even if the space would allow a bigger and more confortable one and also it is hard to find a place to put your necessary stuff. It's ok that there is a parking (outside but also a garagge) and even if it is crowded there are solution to let the car there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4 stars are way overboard. More like a 3 minus. Optional breakfast was truly awful (no coffee!!) and rude staff at the restaurant, which in fact is in another hotel. I had a problem with my luggage. One of the staff offered to come and fix it in the room, but never showed up.

    Very central, old-world hotel... but that's just about it. I was warned by friends and ignored their warnings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) They share breakfast facility with the nearby Hotel Astoria. The first day was a total mess, tables left unclean, lack of large cups for the coffee machine. They placed the toaster in a very awkard position where the plates and cutlery are stored and literally you need to ask people to move in order to get a fork or a plate. 2) WI-FI through the hotel very weak, thankfully I had the my own mobile broadband. 3) When I arrived first night the shower head was leaking. It was fixed the next day. 4) They have not replenished the coffee supplies in the room for day two.

    Location of the hotel is excellent, right in the Unirii Square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff unaware until I pointed it out that I had already paid. Only one hand towel in the bathroom - when I noticed this in the morning before a shower there were no housekeeping staff around to provide bath towels, and no phone in the room to request them from reception.

    Generously sized and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv and bathroom

    The bed hy steel ugly and the sheets hy was dyrty the fridge hy was a mess the chairs was dirty table have dust the wadrobe the same have dust

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i didn t like anything except breakfast that is average.

    only location and historic building totally destroyed by owners, employees. i likled nothing else, overall horrible experience, 0 customer care, the room is a dump, no towels provided book unirea next door if price is correct

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar did not cool.Staff promised to fix my suitcase but just forgot.No service in the morning in restaurant.Next door some food but NO COFFEE!! In the darn morning for Gods sake!!

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't work properly .The towels in the bathroom very old and when used come apart .Wi-Fi didn't work properly .I have complain to the reception but nobody come to investigate and solve the problem.

    The staff was friendly and they come to wait for me at the airport. The location is great but the hotel looks a bit dated .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The duvets in the room are very small and thin. Staff could be a bit more friendlier.

    The location is great. The room was very clean and so spacious. The bed was very comfortable and also the hotel has a great vibe and atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy because of the cars. You can’t sleep with the window open if you like it to be quite when you fall asleep.

    A really cozy and comfortable place. Really felt like a nobel in my own room. Everything was clean which I really appreciated. Brilliant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the reception were not polite, breakfast was horrible, all the options of the coffee machine were not available, the juice was watery and from concentrat which was not natural, bread to dry, etc. This hotel has no 4 stars!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite the excellent location, the room was cold and the maintenance guy eventually admitted that the room was cold because the bathroom heater wasn't working and wouldn't be repaired until renovations are made. So the room will stay cold, whatever complaints you would make. Furthermore, I was refused a room change. Completely unacceptable for a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating is done by a central air condition unit that blows air in the room, quiet noisy and not comfortable. The bath is looking like it is a 3 star motel.

    Excelent location, large room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toillet with urin traces, no light im floor in our room, shower not working properly, very loud nights with open window, remote control without batteries, not enough shower gel for 2

    Central, good looking, good price for low cost room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived we were hungry and went to the bar. They had no food and we needed to eat. We were directed to a "restaurant" - it was the breakfast place. Enormously hot. They gave us menus and we asked if we could eat in the bar because it was too hot. They said yes. When we went to order the kitchen was closed. ;-( Kinda strange experience. We had to go out and find somewhere to eat. More clarity would have helped. ALSO Rooms very hot. Always had the windows open which was noisy.

    I do like the grand scale of things. The large rooms. It does really need more care though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that they cannot provide a charger, or at least to leave my phone on the reception to charge for a while. Was no iron in my room, also was a problem with the toilet flashing was leaking all the time and made noise.

    The view, the room, I also liked the stuff. The room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking in front of the hotel, noisy rooms, breakfast was served in another restaurant/hotel. Oldy and dusty rooms which need some improvements.

    Very downtown.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine.

    It has brilliant location in the centre of the city, near to all main attractions. It felt that this building is built by Eiffel, living there was a nice cultural experience. They have a friendly and helpful staff, they are always ready to give useful info and answer on questions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    its tired, curtains are terrible in bedrooms, beds are uncomfortable and breakfast room is in an adjoining hotel

    very clean and warm, traditional. Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The administrator didn't speak much English and we had to pay twice. First time we said that the price is too low (different from booking.com), but she didn't underdstand. Next time she wanted extra money when we arrived at night, which was extra inconvenient. In addition there was broken glass under my bed and the room looked used, tired, could use maintenance.

    Good breakfast, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful

    Everything. Stayibg at Grand Hotel Traian is not only a pleasure but a cultural experience. I will be back for sure. The staff is very kind and everything is as it should be. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the check in, the lady in the reception did not speak English so we had hard time in understanding what she said. I think all hotel reception should speak English if they are serving international guests.

    The reception was very helpful, especially Cesar who helped us in our return tickets. We also liked the breakfast. The location of the hotel was brilliant, very close to everywhere you should see in Iasi. On one end of the long street there is Steafan Cel Mare's Palace, on the other side there is the hotel. We loved the view from the hotel window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's abandoned. The objects in the room and mostly in the bathroom are old, broke, un functional, with rust. Very nosy, the tram makes the room shake and hard to sleep because of the constant noise. The breakfast is poor, no basic stuff but some romanian oxidized salads, expensive

    That is an old building with nice architecture and best placed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tired and curtains hanging off and not wide enough to cover windows. Beds not comfortable or pillows and maintenance needed for shower and fixtures in bathroom

    Location, lovely and warm and plenty of hot water. Good wifi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Express Breakfast
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The present suffers .... You can see everywhere "cheap", corners cut, etc. If things like toilets, hot water would work properly, or even "at all" sometimes, the hotel would probably be a 3 stars one.

    Great history, Immense potential for a 5+ stars hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rust on the shower cabin. Dirt between floor tiles in the bathroom. Rust on the garbage bin in the bathroom. Cracked sink. No double cover just 2 single covers to a 2 person bed. Only 2 pillows to 4 star hotel. The shower pipe was leaking from the fuse. It should be a 2 star hotel, not 4.

    Good staff, large room, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't great for the price, there weren't many options and we didn't like the coffee.

    The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. There is a lot of light due to the big windows and the room size is large enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move the lamps around to the vanity. (I didn't have quite enough lighting to do my make up at the mirror) even with the curtains drawn and with natural lighting. Room service when up and running was good. But calling them did not work at first.

    Building and furniture was beautiful. The attached restaurants were delicious!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was nice, but not too helpful. We arrived on New Year's Day, which is a holiday, and the hotel had no restaurant open and we were told that everything in the entire city was closed...including shops. There was one restaurant that we were told was open that was stupid expensive. After we walked around on our own, there were about 4 restaurants within 50m of the hotel that were open! How could the staff not know this?? I found this interesting. We also asked for water, but that apparently was very difficult. There is water in the mini bar, and we asked if we could buy some more. They told us to go walk in the rain to the market down the road. After the incredulous look, they managed to get us two small water bottles. They were sweet people, just not set up to be helpful to tourists. We would stay here again, but we would not expect anything other than a room from the hotel.

    Our room was very beautiful and spacious. There was plenty of hot water. They took credit card. Great location, but limited parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since all the parking slots were taken I had to park on the basement and to carry my luggage through some narrow and dark stairs.

    Perfectly located in the center of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -The staff was so helpful, special thanks to "Radu" that was patient and helpful. - We asked to change the rooms to get a view to the square, the accept and changes 3 of our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the batroom looks like you are in a motel, it looks that they renew the room but not the bathroom, old carpet in the coridor.

    Large Room - center of the city, nice furniture and window curtains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Attic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old hotel, cheaply refurbished, ok for the night, but I wouldn't recommend this for romantic stay or for stay with the kid.

    place is excellent, everything is close, truly center of ancient Moldova

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked and recieved confirm for a pick up from the airport (service available according to Booking.com) but they forgot us at the airport at 2am in night. The answer is "don't know what to do....grab a cab and come here" ...no apologize or something... Breakfast is poor for a 4 stars service

    The position is very usefull to visit the city. The hotel is a historic building by Eiffel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Hotel with probably a glorious past, but a not so glorious present. An historic, impressive building, alone, does not make a 4 star hotel. Definitely NOT a 4 star standard. Depressing dim lights in the lobby and the corridors. Depressing dim lighting in the room. Reminded the communist era. Bare and empty corridors. No furniture, no flowers, no decoratios. Some notes in the impressive elevator, stuck to the wall, with cellotape. Bed cover with ripped seams. Some of the wall paper scratched, due to chairs backs, touching the walls. Stains of limescale (calc) accummulated on the bathroom floor. (Seems that the house maintenance have not heard of calc removers). Very thin stream of water in the sink faucet, due to limescale (calc) deposits in the faucet's filter.   (The maintenance guy did not have a replacement filter). Very meager supply of coffee and sweetener (2 of each), although a kettle for boiling water and cups were available. There was no electric socket for the water kettle, near the coffee table. One could either unplug the fridge, or use the kettle on the floor. Very unefficient service at breakfast: it was not clear if it was a buffet, or "a la carte".  (There were some remains of a buffet, but the waiter said it was "a la carte". The waiter could not clarify the diffeence between some choices on the menu. We took the "a la carte" menu, but the waiter did not bring any bread to the table. We used some bread from the buffet leftovers). The bathroom had no shelves to accommodate guest's toiletries. The towels' dryer did not warm up. It was there as a hanger only. When key card removed, to leave the room, all electric supply to the room is cut. (The fridge, minibar, connected to the same electric line, enabled by the key card, so when you return to the room, the minibar is not cold). We asked for a wake-up call, in the morning of our departure.

    Decent price, like for a 2 star hotel (now we understand why). Wonderful locaton. The building is really historic and impressive. Beautiful view from the room's window. The reception guys were helpful. Helped us with the luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing too important to mention it. Maybe the bed could be more comfortable. Also, the breakfast included in the price may be a suggestion.

    Generally speaking, good services, located in the center of the city so you will not depend on the car if you want to walk around or to go to the park, to the mall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise from the street and trams (slept 4h a night) bed would squeak every time I moved only lukewarm water, too cold / uncomfortable to shower old towels closet without shelves

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humidity in the room and low pressure in the shower.

    Very clean property with jungle aspect, lots of vegetation and quiet, plus very nice and careful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little more luxurious and immaginative. I felt that it was not to standard for a 4 star hotel. The lighting in the reception, in the common areas as well as in the rooms, could have been better studied to enrich the hotel with a more inviting atmosphere.

    A very comfortable hotel, well situated with clean rooms and a good overall service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4* hotel. The current prices are too high considering the quality of the services. Not very friendly staff. Stains on the carpets. The bathroom was small. The bathroom seemed that it has not been renovated in the past 25 years. No decent parking. I had to ask 3 times for an iron. I haven't received one.

    The architecture. Clean rooms. Central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Restaurant was closed before 2100hrs.

    I have stayed at the Hotel Traian on several previous occasions and like its overall standards in all respects. My favourite hotel in Iasi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed comfort needs improving. A decent size desk would be good. More modern looking furniture. Add red/white wine bottles to the mini-bar.

    Very good location, excellent price. The junior suite has plenty of space, too much really. Lots of very old fashioned furniture. Bed was very hard and not particularly comfortable. Mini-bar had various items except wine at very good prices. Bathroom good and modern. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not look like a 4-star hotel. It is a great historic building, but it could really use some serious restoration work. It has an overall sad atmosphere.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in which we were staying it was very loud from the street. The room is not isolated phonic. It was like we didn’t had windows at the room.

    The hotel is situated in the center of the city. It’s easy to get everywhere. The hotel is nice and vintage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very well maintained and clean. The furniture was of quality and you could see it deserves its stars. The online downside were the carpets . They smelled stale.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lied us that the room promised was in repair. This was only two days after they called us on phone and asked if we arrive or not. They offered, firstly, a room in another hotel, adjacent to Traian but only three stars. We did not accept because visiting the room we found it improper. Than, they offered another room in Traian. The room was good but the furniture quite old. At least the bed was OK. When we asked, after two days of stay, to see the room "in reparation" they said that the occupant will leave in two hours then we could see it. Therefore, there was no reparation but the room was actually given to somebody else!

    Breakfest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the parking place is small, you need to be lucky to find a free place. the breakfast is not i was expected for 4 stars hotel. The room is ok but the pictures create you some expectations that are not in the real-life.

    The location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor and the eggs were with meat. The shower doors didn't close correctly. The water pressure was low and I needed to get out of the shower in the middle because suddenly there were no hot water. We didn't have enough shower towels and we asked for more but we didn't get any because it was late the the lady already left.

    The receptionist was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs more maintenance (door handles were loose, furniture needs some small patching) it's a 4* hotel and though it has a lot of history behind, don't let it fall apart.

    Close to the center, accesible by any means of transportation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn off rooms, interior, carpets, furnitures You can not set properly the shower temperature! It's way to hot / or cold The air con is not working just making noise Smelly, tight and darkunderground garage You can not rinse your s**t because the flush is not working....

    Localisation Building outshape History Fair breakfast Big room Cheap minibar It's unusual!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was full of mosquitoes, and not properly cleaned for guests. Poor customer care. Average breakfast. Highly overrated.

    Great location closed to the palace of culture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowt.

    A grand hotel. Delightful staff. Shabby chic rooms at a great price. Close to main sights, bars, restaurants. A short walk to a very modern mall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needa renovation (the toilet is moving, the doora of the shower cabin don't close, so the water was leaking) When I tried to take a shower in the morning, hot water didn't flow, and when it started to flow it had low pressure (only for a short time because it stopped)

    Situated in city center, close to the Palace of culture and Palas Mall, the hotel has a nice view Cozy bed and very nice furniture Nice and friendly staff Gorgeus building and room The breakfast was good Close to public transportation (tram and bus)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything but the outside facade

    Bad air condition, poor rooms, poor public spaces, poor breakfast , poor in all aspects, I will give this hotel no more than 3 stars in a good day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room doors keep locking you out, you need to do a trick (get the metal tongue out without closing them) to keep them open if you want to visit the neighboring room often, without knocking on the doors perpetually.

    The breakfast was excellent, we enjoyed the food, the music and the ambient. Kids were extrahappy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a complaint as we had a wonderful time. We had booked a suite with a balcony back in April & it was confirmed. When we checked in we were told there was a "technicle hitch" what ever that means. Maybe someone else wanted the room. Anyway we couldn't have a suite with a balcony but they gave us another suite which was at the side & that was ok. Also on the confirmation I received it said that "a bottle of wine & fruit basket was provided on arrival". As this was a special occasion for my wife & I, I thought this was a nice bonus. When I asked reception about it a couple of hours after we had checked in they said it might be done or mightn't be done. Possibly there was a language problem. Anyway at the end of the day it was a totally enjoyable stay but possibly if Traian Hotel puts says things in their confirmation they should try adhere to what they say.

    We loved the atmosphere of the hotel & as we had booked a suite the extra space & furniture finished it all off. The breakfast was great & a lovely dinner menu. Extra comfy bed. A great stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a real piece of history being, is located in very heart of the city near to most of the places you don't want to miss in Iasi. We had lunch and dinner in the Traian restaurant and we found a Very good cooked meals. We strongly recommend the Bors moldovenesc and the pastrama de oaie. The stafff was very supportive to any of our request.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room right next to the ventilation vents outside. Really noisy. The girl at the front desk answered "Don't know. Never slept there. Will look into it" and that was the end of it

    Close to centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air condition is not so efficient but it was very warm outside during my stay.

    One of my favourite hotels in Romania and definitely the best hotel i Iasi. I have stayed here several times and I will come back! Beautiful building on the outside and inside. The suite is very comfortable. Very service minded staff in the reception and in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Express Breakfast
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not all of the employees are fully trained in customer service.

    There is no better location in all of Iasi. The hotel was built by Gustav Eiffel himself, of the Eiffel Tower fame.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is on the main square, and it IS grand. Lots of gilded dated furniture in a good sized (but odd shaped) room (the hotel is from the 1880s). It did not look like there was a lot of parking.....It was quiet and comfortable, with good wifi. The restaurant had a delicious salad of grilled duck and arugala. Breakfast was nice too. This was a good base to go see the UNESCO World Heritage frescoed monasteries in Bucovina--they were WONDERFUL!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night the air conditioners were annoying but the second night thumping music at 5.00am was deplorable. There was obviously a debs party with music and noise which is understandable but the low pitch beat at the end of the night was only designed to make sure everyone was awake. The staff obviously had quite s few complaints but dismissed ours with this is Romania comment. I am sure the hotel Traian was fantastic in its day but it seems now to poor imitation for something which could be much grander.

    The location and setting were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Attic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just not a 4 star hotel. The building and interior needs a lot of work to bring it back to life, the furniture in the room is very dated, the shower barely worked and the staff are indifferent. I'm confused as to why this has 4 stars.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Traian Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: