Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Tropical 3 stars

Ion Luca Caragiale 39, 220019 Drobeta-Turnu Severin, Romania

Review score

Based on 87 hostel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked it all. Position wise it's a bit far... but the city is small, so far is relative.

    The inside courtyard is gorgeous and the staff made everything possible to make me feel more than great. The food seamed really good and the free breakfast was delicious and filling. They even ironed my shirts for free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No such thing there...

    Always a pleasure to stay overnight at Tropical! The owner and the staff got me as customer for life, since first met, through his politeness, discretion and high quality common sens!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - I booked 5 rooms and I got 3 double rooms and an apartment - The breakfast was poor (10 lei/day) - In one of the bathrooms there were some drainage problems

    - Nice facilities (AC, fridge, bathroom) - Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel needs renovation, yet the rooms aren't very bad. The personnel seemed confused, especially in the morning at breakfast. Overall we were not impressed by this place.

    The room was OK, decent enough. The location is accessible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV had only Romanian programmes, but for the price this is not very important.

    I arrived very late night and was able to get checked in within 2 min. The room was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spent one weekend there. Despite the fact that booking has been done for 2 adults and one child, they gave us a room with only one bad and offered to charge for an extra room. They organized big parties on Saturday night, so I been able to go to sleep late in the night. Food was poor (no fish!!!!). Waiters were quite bad - late in action, mistakes on orders... small and uncomfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Although the site said it has Parking place, in fact I had to park in the street. * We had to wait a long time until the food was brought to the table at the restaurant. * The walls in the room were not so clean * The shower was broken and after using it, the floor was full of water * The personnel was not so friendly * THE MOST IMPORTANT: we did not get to sleep at all. The hotel had a wedding party that was over after 5 AM which was extremly noisy. Overall, this was the worst night at a hotel I have ever had.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice garden, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower leaked.

    Food was very good and all the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cc payment method,cold room, no heating, door could not.be closed. I strongly do not recommend

    Nothing positive pops up

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Desi eram doi, ne-au pus o singura perna. Usa de la baie si chiuveta sparte. Aspect general sarac si prafuit

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean Modern

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    best location to explore Cazanele Dunarii, very comfy beds, clean, extremely friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurand was a shady business.

    The interior garden might actually be nice, during the warm seasons.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: