Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dostoevsky Hotel 4 stars

Vladimirsky Prospekt 19, Tsentralny district, 191002 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#912 of 1,049 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 446 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    I felt like a loser staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It gives hospitality a bad name!

    It was a terrible experience, I would never recommend anyone to stay at this property. The only reason I Ianded up here is that it was the only available hotel. You have to justify why you want an extra towel and if you ask for an adaptor to charge your phone one of the receptionist was extremely rude. But Aleksy was nice at the reception. If you want a piece of retro hell try this one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel within great location to relax and explore. Good location for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast didn't have an option for cooked eggs/omlette

    Spacious and comfortable room, clean and great location for all walking and metro needs. Having a supermarket linked to the Hotel was an advantage and close to some excellent restauarants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    not a four star category
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the facilities is very limited, staff not helpful, no AC ( there should be for a 4 star hotel). breakfast is very limited and the same everyday. business center is just a very old PC and a printer.

    the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Watch out for hotel staff that steal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Money was stolen from the room. One night my wife gave me some of her money from her purse to make a down-payment to the tour guide. We went back to bed that evening, and breakfast the next morning. After breakfast the cash was gone worth over US$100. The hotel staff did not much care (they said the asked the hotel and not one said they did it - what did you expect!!!!). The AC did not work, it was unusually hot. The breakfast food was awful. This is not a 4 star hotel by US, European, or Asian standards.

    Location was good. It was nice to have a gym even thought it was small and they were never there on time often 20 minutes late. It was reasonable clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Very economic alternative to stay in Saint Petersburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my opinion, it should not be considered a 4 stars hotel. The rooms are very small, and located in the last three floors of a building. It seems as we were in a ship with so many doors in a long, long hall. There was only one elevator working by the time we were at the hotel. The other one was in repair (during the three nights we stayed there).

    Location is fantastic, near Neva Prospekt, the main avenue, near metro station and many restaurants. Breakfast is good and the price for the room is very, very reasonable. Reception staff is very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Service was ignorant and unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service was ignorant and unhelpful. When we arrived to the hotel, the receptionist was making a personal call and didn't hang up while serving us. The toilet was broken in our first room and when we contacted the reception about this and asked for a new room, we were offered a smaller room than what we paid for. When we pointed this out to personnel, they started to argue that it's just four square meters smaller. The staff people "helping" us in room changing were clearly annoyed by the inconvenience and unhelpful in the process. When we got to the third room, there was smell of cigarette in the bathroom, but we didn't bother to try to change the room anymore. There was also a cockroach in the bathroom one day. This hotel is advertised as a four-star hotel, but is nowhere near that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic! Our stay at the Dostoevsky Hotel was one of the highlights of our trip to Russia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were extremely happy with everything.

    We were very impressed with our booking at this hotel. Firstly we contacted them for a letter of invitation for our visa application which we received within 24 hours. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel - they upgraded us to the lux suite which we loved and appreciated very much. The breakfast was outstanding and exceeded our expectations. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and booking.com. No problems at all. Thank you! Ian and Carolyn Henson Hamilton, New Zealand

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.4
    The staff at check in seemed to be not qualified and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at check in seemed to be not qualified and was working extremely slowly. The internet connection mostly didn't work in the room. Breakfast was below expectations for a hotel of this price category.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Ultimately, disappointing. I cannot recommend a place that isn't safe, no matter how attractive.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Security in the hotel is not good. I left early because a drunken client was admitted to the hotel, and to the room next to mine. He was loud, noisy, obnoxious and potentially dangerous. He fought with his girlfriend who kicked him out and he lay down in the hall way outside my room. There was nobody at the front desk to take care of the issue for nearly 1/5 hours in the early morning. When the young man arrived, he didn't seem to grasp the gravity of the issue, and also did not take appropriate measures to get rid of the client, who should not have been admitted for the night in the first place.

    The staff were cheerful. The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was stylish and very modern. The decor is neutral and in good taste.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.8
    Slippers for 200 rubles - ridiculous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slippers are not available in the room and can only be purchased for 200 rubles a pair, cheap hotel slippers that will be thrown away after use. For 200 rubles I can buy regular slippers that will last much longer than hotel ones and for the price of the room I'm sure they could afford to put a pair of slippers in the room.

    I stayed for one night only, it was okay, nothing was particularly good about my stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Within a walking distance to Nevsky prospect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi was a bit unstable and the breakfast wasn't super but doable.

    The location was prefect for my business meeting plus it was great to have a 24 hour super market quite literally underneath the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    6.3
    Non gorgious, good positioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No good security. Breakfast is sufficient (non gorgious). No real single queen size bed, but two single bed close. Clean enough Staff not so friendly and not so collaborative

    Good position.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Center of city, beside metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    if you stay here many days, breakfast may very boring. good food but same food everyday

    located center of the city and beside metro station. 24 hrs supermarket at basement

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    Air conditioning didn’t work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    WiFi was not well connected.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not well connected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    For me best hotel in St. Petersburg.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dostoevsky is my hotel always I have had visited in St. Petersburg. All is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    Not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude, noise coming from the mall nearby is very disturbing

    Very noisy, rude staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Amazing Saint Petersburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ...

    Good location, bad was confortable and personal great. Without any problems with WiFi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    So much to see at walking distance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was cutting off sometimes

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet room. Good breakfast. Clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    VERY RECCOMENDED HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    all ok

    Very good an comfortable hotel. centrally located. No cons . very recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.8
    Great Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location. Helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Good location, close to transport and tourist spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location, close to transport and tourist spots. Breakfast was different everyday, so not boring. And a great New Year dinner!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    5.4
    Great location, close to metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I doubt it's a four star hotel. Very long and confusing corridors, breakfast was underwhelming, room old and tired, no electricity plugs by the bed, no international TV channels, all in all I think booking this was a mistake, compared to nicer hotels offering a similar deal.

    Great location, close to metro.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It took 25 min to check-in (4 persons, 2 rooms) during arrival at night (@2AM). Quite old condition of equipment in the hotel.

    Good location - city centre, very close to Metro station. Clean rooms. Drinking water and ice availability on each floor. Quiet 5.floor. Secure parking in backyard for 600RUB / 24h.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    There are no water stations except in the restaurant (and the one in the gym was empty for the 3 days I was there). This is unusual in Russia. Usually you can get water both hot and cold from water stations (no kettle in the room either and St Petersberg's water is sometimes recommended not to drink). No wine in the bar, only beer.

    The location is great and there's a gym.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    7.1
    Location is really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was almost no internet on the 6th floor, breakfast was not looking good and was not very fresh.

    Location is really great! Stuff at reception is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.1
    location, near to Nevskii avenue, and 1/2 hr walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor internet connection sometimes; very primitive and over small gym facilities; typical apartmant St Pete hotel with rooms as a youth hostel

    location, near to Nevskii avenue, and 1/2 hr walk to center of attractions; just by the metro station; bed s very comfortable; breakfast is splendid with different veriaties

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    6.7
    The location is extremely convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The walls are thin so that there is noise from neighbouring rooms which disturbed me. The mattresses sag in the middle and should be replaced. An accessible power point at the desk would have been useful.

    The location is extremely convenient. The room and facilities are perfectly adequate. Good shower. Nice to have a little fridge. Wifi was a little slow but basically good. I was glad to have had a room at the back of the hotel so that I did not get street noise. Also, i had a window that could be opened which was very welcome. Not all the rooms have this. There is a good amount of space. The breakfasts are very good.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    4.6
    Decent enough location but still a ways out from the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Somewhat rude staff; cramped, dim rooms. TV barely worked. No clock in room. Internet connection awful - drops out every three minutes. Oddball layout and one set of lifts forcing you to walk forever to find anything. Business center charges for each printed page plus internet connection.

    Decent enough location but still a ways out from the main sights.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    7.5
    Except wi-fi everything is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WI-FI. It's not working. Absolutely!!! Forget about that. I think they force this way to use payable ADSL. WI-FI просто не работает. Никак. Иногда посреди ночи если повезет. Считайте, что его в отеле нет и все. Видимо таким образом вынуждают покупать платный ADSL.

    Except wi-fi everything is perfect. Кроме wi-fi все отлично.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    5.8
    Location and price are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi Is almost non-existant - and extremely slow (to log in and use - unavailable in room) - ended up using nearby Starbucks Free WiFi in Lobby for free! Breakfast food is awful - worst selection on entire trip.

    Location and price are good.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    6.7
    Excellent location, large clean rooms with comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We booked a room for two nights but had to change a hotel after first night because wifi was so poor - actually it worked only after midnight. This was a business trip and we couldn't work in the room. I recommend avoiding this hotel if you need internet or other business services.

    Excellent location, large clean rooms with comfortable beds. Stuff in the reception was helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    9.2
    Stuff is excellent, fast, helpful and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleaning stuff gets very noisy in the morning, shutting doors, etc.

    Stuff is excellent, fast, helpful and friendly! The room, the bedsheets, the towels are very clean. The location is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    5.0
    Central location, easy access to everything, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely lengthy registration process, it took them 30 minutes to sign me in two rooms. It was hot in the room, and no way to regulate the temperature, I had to open the window several times during the night. Water temperature jumped up and down in the shower.

    Central location, easy access to everything, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and attentive to all my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were dozens of groups of kids staying at the hotel over the Christmas holiday but in all fairness, they were well behaved. Wifi was very slow (probably due to excessive use of kids on their mobile devices). The rooms was way too hot but just ask staff and they will accommodate.

    The staff were very friendly and attentive to all my needs. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and an indoor entrance to the mall in the same building and to the grocery store on the ground floor so everything is in close range. Buffet was well stocked and had great variety. My only complaint is the lack of criossants on the buffet (my go to breakfast when traveling). The subway Vladimirskaya is across the street and less than a 10 minute walk to Nevsky Prospect, the main avenue in St. Petersburg.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The breakfast cold have been more varied. The waitresses could have been more often empty containers to fill.

    location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    6.7
    Student and school group no-frills hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Student and school group no-frills hotel. Well deserved 3 stars but no way 4 stars. Very good location with lots of eateries nearby.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was limited

    Excellent staff, clean room, easy walk through St Petersburg

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    Food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was not always warm.

    Food very good.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    7.1
    very good location
    • Solo traveller

    the room I occupied not worth 4 stars. breakfast is rich except choice of tea.

    very good location

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    7.9
    Peacefull and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rather hot room and the thermostate didn,t work

    Peacefull and comfortable room. Nice skybar.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.1
    good location great value for this price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom is bit unconfortable. Brakfast is zero value!!!!!

    good location great value for this price

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.9
    WiFi didn't work in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi didn't work in the room

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.9
    very central location, most staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no slippers, no dental kits until we asked for it

    very central location, most staff are friendly and helpful. breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    Comfort, convenience, location, friendly staff, very nice...
    • Solo traveller

    Comfort, convenience, location, friendly staff, very nice breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    6.3
    Good Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old furniture

    Good Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Wi-fi. Cold rooms. Design from USSR. Many old people. Felt like in retirement home.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    4.2
    Location is well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is well

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cleanness of the napkins at the breakfast tables

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    5.4
    wifi not working, staff reacting as if it was a problem with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi not working, staff reacting as if it was a problem with my computer

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    4.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely slow internet, beds too soft, hotel bar was out of beer for 3 days.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    6.3
    good location, easy to move around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi only works in the lobby. Security service not good enough

    good location, easy to move around. Facing tube station

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Dostoevsky Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: