Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Author Boutique Hotel (ex Golden Garden Boutique Hotel) 5 stars

Vladimirsky Prospekt 9, Tsentralny district, 191025 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#306 of 961 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 637 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine.

    The hotel is great, staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is great, near the Nevski Prospekt and near a metro station which is a very good thing, beacause the city is huge. Also breakfast is great and the rooms are very nice, spacious and quiet, because the hotel has double windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is worn out. Had to change room as bed in first room was broken. Second room was quite ok but not exactly spotless. E.g. found some chewing gum in the sink. Maybe bad luck, but overall experience was not what I expected for this price range in SpB. Breakfast was ok but not great: porridge and salmon fresh, other food not so much.

    Room 401 was quiet to sleep in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no coffee, tea facilities in the room; little single duvets; heating by air conditioner

    breakfast is excellent, staff is great, location is very good, room noise isolation is great too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside I can think about is that the room might have been a tad dark, and one of the key cards didn't work. But those nuisances are very marginal.

    The beds were extremely comfortable, albeit a bit short. The Breakfast was nice, not extraordinary but the food was good. Internet connection was stable. Rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was good, only a couple of steps away from the Nevsky Prospekt.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really elegant hotel, in a perfect position in the city center, very close with the central station. Staff always available, they did everything to make me at my ease. They offer you also a welcoming champagne and the quality/price is really good. Absolutely recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However we arrived with a driver, if we would have come with a car, parking would have been a problem.

    The staff was nice and helpful, especially the guys in the restaurant. The building itself is a bit old and used, but it has a very interesting lobby area: next to the reception there are some comfortable sofas, a bar, and some shops - along with an artifical waterfall. I would highlight the quality of the food in the restaurant. We tried plenty of things, all of them has been excellent! The hotel is in a walking distance from some of the most popular places in St Petersburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One could not estimate the property size. Our room was with three ventilator type windows without any outside view .

    Very good breakfast with Caviar with sparkling wine. Staff was English speaking and well versed. Plenty of shops and restaurant nearby. Centrally located and walking distance to Valdimirsky Metro station and city bus stops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and their English was good as well. It was very easy to get help with booking taxis and get advice on where to go for food. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated room, no fitness, high price

    Great breakfast with champagne, very good service, close to the city center, excellent restaurant of Russian cuisine with great service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small, no bath, very small bathroom. I don't think 5* hotel can have the rooms like this. I usually stay at this hotel and recommend it to others, but next time I'll try another 5* hotel.

    Very nice and cozy hotel, I like it generally.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changing name of hotel - they have the old name still prevalent. That will come soon I think.

    What a gem! Great location. Just around the corner is a wonderful selection of great restaurants. The hotel restaurant itself is very good. The breakfast was exceptional. Cozy little place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing. As frequent travelers myself and my family staid in many places for short and long stay in different countries but in this hotel I deliberately tried to find anything that I wont be happy with . Seriously, nothing.

    Location, breakfast, room quality and soundproof, staff, room-service, room cleanness, hotel building exterior and interior, lobby, restaurant, food. Felt that you are welcomed followed us all the time. Unbelievable hospitality.... What else? I don't know- best hotel we ever stay. Thank you for making our stay in St.Petersburg so unforgettable especially for my husband who was first time in Russia.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow breakfest and not so friendly stuff, uncommonly for 5 stars hotels

    Great large room with 2 bedrooms, good location near metro station and Nevsi prospect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night we got a very niosy room above the gallery=enterance to lobby.the room was changed the next day.goof quiet room no 403 Breakfast is o.k if you come for 2/3 nights Every day- the same.

    Location.room Staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the junior suit!!! We were greeted with complimentary champaign upon arrival. Hotel driver picked us up from the train station, holding a sign with our name. Every day complementary chocolate was given in the room. Breakfast has all you can expect + champaign and caviar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy rooms (I heard a baby screaming during the nights). Breakfast extremely poor. The place would pass for an ok 3-star hotel, and should market itself as such.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    window a bit too high in my room (starts almost at my shoulders). Once the service woman entered without warning.

    very helpful service, at the counter, in the restaurant. One of the best breakfasts I ever had!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My only criticism is lack of a decent cup of tea with milk.

    Let's cut to the chase, a week in Russia was unlike any holiday I have ever experienced before and I was a little anxious. The Golden Garden was an absolute haven after many full on days walking, sightseeing and experiencing this amazing city, Comfortable, relaxed and attentive. I was delighted with my choice of St Petersburg hotel and it was excellent value. The restaurant is of the highest international standard and the evening cabaret added an extra dimension to our trip.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice clean hotel a little walk from the center But you can walk or take a 🚕 taxi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was supposed to be a 5 star hotel, and the price was actually for 5 star, but everything else - the room, service etc. hardly reach 4 stars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    very quite , service super, room very clean bed quality excellent , water high quality, Ac is working excellent, breakfast very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren’t made up until 5pm. Nil acknowledgement or explanation by staff had to sit in lobby for over an hour.

    Location, breakfast, large rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms have no lift access. Windows could not be opened in my room.

    Nice place to stay. Good location. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the bathroom

    Excellent location. Very friendly staff. Great value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very clean,personnel in reception excellent and helpfull and good location. Very good breakfast .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, comfortable bed, excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel, excellent breakfast and kind service. Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel with great staff - perfect location for exploring the beautiful city :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation

    Very good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was awful in my suite at forth floor

    Breakfast, staff cordiality, services

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room's lighting.

    Impressive breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel with 3+ stars maximum.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was more like 4 star rather 5 stars.

    Nice place for breakfast, Lobby was cozy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no view from the room but it's not a problem for 1 night stay.

    Location, silence in the room, breakfast with Champaign! Friendly stuff.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Bed and bathroom and the breakfast were really good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was wonderful. Good location. Comfy rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bathroom was the smell of cigarette.

    Very good location, comfortable, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cosey, silent, good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ventilation in the room was noisy.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Double or Twin bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very nice and clean room, breakfast is excellent. Location is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast at 10 is getting poor... More fruits and kinds of breads will have been welcome... Unfortunately, there is no fitness room!

    I did like the kindness of the staff especially at reception desk. They helped me even, without asking ....

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our trip was too short...

    We really liked the look of the whole hotel. We faced very friendly staff all the time, they were helpful. The location is very good, you can find a lot of good sights, restaurants, wine bars, places of interests nearby, but we had the best dishes in the hotel's restaurant on our trip. You can have smoked salmon for hotel's breakfast (was great by the way) which is above a level where a good breakfast starts for me. Beside this you can find many kind of food and they serve scrambled eggs if you want. We visited this hotel because I suprised my love. They were so mindful that she was given a little bithday cake in the hotel room...:) I think it is good choice if you want to wisit this fantastic city.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was perfect.

    Yana and Svetlana and the girls at reception were ever so helpful. The dining and breakfast management awesome. Perfect location. It's perfect location wise. Breakfast is amazing. Staff are all awesome. Best hotel in St Petersburg and we've stayed in quite a few.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Windows could be cleaned regularly, breakfast is good, but you have to wait for about 20 minutes to get your selection ready. They keep you waiting at check-out until they make sure you did not take extras from the mini bar. This is weird.

    Good property overall, location is great.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too soft. It sometimes not so good for the spine. The water in the bathroom changes temperature unexpectedly and can suddenly become very hot. The windows in our room turned out to be very small. But these are minor problems that haven`t spoiled our stay and we believe the hotel deserves the rating of 10.0

    The hotel is very beautiful. The staff was extremely hospitable. The food in the restaurant was delicious, and compliments kept coming surprisingly often. Breakfasts are great too.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower conditions (you always have to regulate water temperature manually cause it changes every 5seconds A/c didn't work properly Choosing the right light switchers position was really a challenge

    Location and common area facilities

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We ordered dinner at the restaurant to have it delivered to our room - as were told "in 20 minutes". 50 minutes later we were told to wait 10 minutes more so we had to cancel to get some sleep. The bedsheets seemed to be dirty or even toxic because I got a rash on my arm and leg on the side that I slept on. (My girlfriend was smarter and slept in a pajama). Tiny windows located right under the ceiling made it feel like you are in some kind of bunker.

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water preasure in the shower was very bad. Water temperature flactuated during the shower. No active air circulation in the bathroom, smells lingured.

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are not as beautiful as they looks like in photos. Windows are very high located, no view. They forced us to pay extra money without bill. Never trust them.

    Location is the only one good side of it.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no such thing!

    Great location, very comfortable room, fully equipped with all necessary things. Very helpful staff. Generally, absolutely good choice!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. We liked the quality of our room very much. The staff was very kind and helpful. They are smiling all the time. The wifi was very good. We liked the breakfast very much too. And finally, the location of the hotel is very central. If anybody choose to stay in this hotel, I am sure they will not regret

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing!

    A lot of Russian friends told me that the service in Russia is usually bad, but in this hotel the staff changed my mind. The staff working at reception, the smiling face who met me at breakfast (i don't know her name but she was very nice:)), everyone were wonderful. Although i let them after 14,00 they always cleaned my room and made me little suprises:) the location was perfect! You can also go to stockhman and galeria (two big avm in spb) and also u ll not need to use metro to reach touristic places. But if u need, mayakovsky station is also very close. And also i could find the hotel easily when i came from airport. The street infront of the hotel is a very safe street. By the way you can reach lots of clubs and bars by walking. Thank you very much for everything, hope to see you in summer again!!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Couple

    Poor wifi in the room, lack of tv-channels, not very comfy beds, strange sounds of the piping system in the bedroom in the early morning (could not sleep)

    Fancy interior of the room, lobby and restaurant. Well breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has a superior standard however with regards to West European standards by far not a 5 star hotel. We were missing a kettle at least in the common area, mirrors and sufficient lighting in the room, the hotel guide is scarce. Some personnel is really good, some are a bit helpless.

    The hotel is in a central location ( 2 mins from Newsky Prospect) with a very representative entreé and common area. The receptionists are friendly, bilingual and they handle with requests. The breakfast is rich with a good variety of healthy and tasty food.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was just above the function room and there was the noisiest disco I have ever heard in my life going on, our room was shaking it might as well been held in our room, When I complained they told me it would be finished for 11pm and did go on till about 20 past. When I complained the next morning they offered us 25% off the restaurant and the restaurant was not even open that evening??

    Good location Clean nice rooms although there were no towels on arrival

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We really liked the breakfast and the people working there were very nice and helpful! Would definitely recommend!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room decorations. Welcoming cake.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    so good

    oure

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast

    Location. Staff. Clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No termostat in shower

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cheap rooms are very spoiled.

    Good hotel, with good location offering good discounts on staying. Great breakfast with champaign.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - splendid breakfast with champagne and caviar - location is within one block from Nevsky prospekt - great staff

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, just 3 minutes walk from Nevsky Prospect. Helpful and efficient personnel. Very good breakfast with a broad choice. Soft beds.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy ventilation which disturb to sleep. Cold in the room, only barely hot water in the shower. I've never been in so bad 4-star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is very nice stuff was very nice and helping

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    be careful about extra charges they charge some extras also room are very small

    only personal is ok

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No vew outside the hotel

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i cannot think of any thing that i did not like

    the great hotel room and the frienly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is very helpful-especislly Galina. Everything was great, location is a plus.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good breakfast. Convinient location. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    quality of receptionTV

    personal

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I like the location of hotel and morning breakfast

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Author Boutique Hotel (ex Golden Garden Boutique Hotel) traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: