Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herzen House 3 stars

Ulitsa Bolshaya Morskaya 25, Admiralteyskiy, 190000 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#204 of 961 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 540 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed longer!

    Excelent location! Close to all major sights. Many 24/7 shops around. Metro station is very close - Admiraleyskaya. Hotel was very well heated, felt like home! The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast was very good and plenty of variety. Friendly and helpful staff!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was more than awful (even in comparison with the really bad russian cuisine). WiFi was not strong enough to reach our room Only one single power plug in the room, of course not close to bed The heating was extreme, we could switch off one heater but the other not. When we asked the hotel to switch the second heater, they didn't help and proposed to switch on the aircondition in cooler mode (January in St Petersburg)!!! We kept sweating through the night, every night. Staff (except one) did not speak any or just broken english (as did most Russian staff in restaurants, cafes, metro stations, museums etc) Totally NOT worth the money we paid

    Location is great, just around the corner to the centre There was a complimentary bottle of cheap champagne waiting us on New Year's Eve

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was toooooo hooot in the room with the strange smell. When I close the central heating the water start to drain out of it. Breakfast could be better. They could add some plain yogurt and full grain bread.

    These is my favourite location in Peterburg. I was many time in this hotel and I will come again two times in decembre. Friendly staff. Quick ckeck in and out. Clean and confort room. You can drink tea or coffe with some sweets all over the day. In my room was wellcome greatings and a flag of mx country - lovely. Location is perfect - in the middle of the town center with all attraction in a walking distance from the hotel and a lot of nice and good restaurants near.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could be more substantial although the Russian salad was excellent, almost as good as my mum's :)

    The hotel is centrally located in a beautiful area near St. Isaac's. My room looked on the courtyard so it was very quiet at night. The staff was very friendly and the check-in was fast (I arrived around midnight). The room was clean and everything necessary was in place. I only stayed for one night but I enjoyed my stay. I would book it again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In principal I have no special things that I do not like. I am satisfied.

    Nice small hotel in the heart of the city. 10-15 minutes from the Nevsky street, Dvorcovay ploschad, Hermitazh and many other attraction you must see. Nice breakfast. OK should be a little more choices, especially for guests who need low sugar meal. Stuff is friendly, speaking english and very polite. If you needs are not very high that is a choice for you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In order to make it more family friendly, would be a good idea to fit an small fridge or minibar (our room did not have one) and also add at least one English channels to the television service, it would help visitors to relax after a long day out in the city.

    Great location, right at the heart of the city. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quilts on the beds are quite small...

    BEST STAFF EVER !!!! The people there are so nice and helpful, the location is more than ideal and the shower is hands down the best shower I ever had in my life (very specific review but you'll understand when you come over)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are bare and minimal. The main problem is that there are no curtains on the windows. During White Nights it is difficult to sleep. When I mentioned this to the staff, they said it was a common complaint and that they are working on it. For how long? They gave me a sleep-mask. I could not sleep the first night, since the light woke me at 3 AM. I used the sleep-mask after that and slept better

    Hotel Herzen's best feature is its location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was basic at best. Toast was usually the best option for me.

    Location cannot be beat. Great restaurants within walking distance. 2 blocks from the Hermitage & Admiralty. Nice, clean but basic rooms, comfy beds. Reception staff speak very good English, windows double glazed for quiet nights. individual air conditioning units in rooms worked well. Great water pressure in shower! Really nice having coffee, tea, filtered water and biscuits available 24/7.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is more than poor. The smell from the kitchen in the courtyard (from the restaurant at the ground floor) was disgusting, even in our room on the 4th floor

    the location and the friedlyness of the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    .Construction in the front of Hotel made entrance dangerous.

    I stay in your place all the time and I am happy with all services you provide. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location for all major attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff. We were particularly impressed with the knowledge and help provided by receptionist, Irina.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extrem friendly service, personalized greetings and even a little free give-away from st. Petersburg. Free coffee, tea and cookies all day long and a nice included breakfast. Best location in town a lot to discover in the sourounding plus a very close metro station. Just perfect!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    I was at first adamant about this trip since several hotels I have inquired about it didnt know what I was talking about while others cancelled my booking when they learned that I am coming thru the 72 hour Visa Free program. When I saw this hotel and how they had great reviews I went ahead and booked it and emailed them. They replied right away, within an hour. Irina (the one who replied to my inquiry) put my mind to rest and assured me that its going to be alright. On the day that we arrived, we got off our City Bus at Isaacs Square and 7 mins. walk we were at the front door. The hotel is on the 4th floor but there is an elevator. We came in at 10am and the 2 receptionists greeted us with wide smiles and Victoria told us that since check in is at 2pm, we can just leave our bags at their luggage room so we can go ahead and explore the city. She even called a taxi for us since we were going to Pushkin. When we came back our room was ready. IT was VERY CLEAN and everything needed was thought of. And another plus is, they have coffee/ tea and biscuits available all day long. Which was beneficial since it was cold, rainy and we walked all over this beautiful city. I highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean (take it from me- I am OCD when it comes to cleanliness). The staff is very helpful and professional. The location is A+++. Its about 10 mins. walk to Nevsky Prospekt, 15-20 to Mariinsky Theater.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a little small, good shower but no bath or toiletries, rooms a little shabby, but still good value for money though not a place where you would seek to spend extra time. hotel is on the 4th floor, with a good lift but might be an issue for some. Curtains are not light proof, there is considerable light from the street (if this is an issue for sleeping)

    Competent staff, perfect English, great location for walking to many major sites nearby (including the Hermitage) and easy access to public transport for those further away. Free Hot water/tea/coffee access 24 hours a day in dining area very much appreciated. Breakfast is varied and competent, with cooked goods as well as fruit etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the hotel from 18 to 20 Sept in superior room. As soon as we checked in we realised the shower was broken ( actually it was a flood in the bathroom), then we have to wait for another room, so we have to leave and came back about 10 pm to the hotel. Due to that issue I asked the receptionists to extend the hours for checkout, but unfortunately they made up so many reasons to say no. The hotel wasn't fully booked it was a lot of available rooms ( I've checked through the website), but the receptionist continued to argue that they don't have rooms or they couldn't change the checkout hours for us. The only fair way to solve that issue it would be refund money for unused hours as you didn't provide the service for what I paid. Btw the breakfast wasn't good neither (poor variety).

    good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The receptionists were so good.helped me with alot.super friendly.made my stay there great.the breakfast was great.loved the tea at night in the breakfast room.loved my tour to catherines palace,and maria booking the show for me at the last minute,and giving me a ride,and arrainging my taxi home.my whole experience in your city, and hotel was great.thank you.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm travelling a lot but I have never met so wonderful stuff. OMG! Have no words :) Special thanks to Irina. Thank you so much for such nice stay! <3

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It was wonderful and I hope to go back some day soon.

    Everything was amazing. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was great. They even had cold, clean water for us to drink in the cafeteria that we could access at all times of the night or day. The laundry service was extremely affordable and very quick. I loved everything about this hotel. The desk clerks made some wonderful recommendations for places to eat and things to see.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but the fact that I had to leave

    I like everything- very helpful and friendly staff, nice location, clean and cozy room. The breakfast was nice - porridges of all kind were great. The nice feature of this place - they always have free tea and coffee with some cookies available for day and night. It's my second time in this hotel, first time I choose it becouse of good price, in my second time I choose this hotel intentionally. Had a nice time there along with my daughter:)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    poor breakfast

    Good location, clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matrass bed was too thin

    The staff was nice and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To hot rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    lack of hygienic appliences in the bathroom

    Staff attention and care, cleanness, coffee, hot water, cookies round the clock, comfort, location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast

    That I got fresh eggs for breakfast when I asked for it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security for hotel was complicated and the breakfast very limited.

    Great location and very clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains did not prevent the white light from filtering through.

    Unlimited access to tea coffee and cookies in the breakfast area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access a bit complicated, but secure,

    Great location, facilities good, secure, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location, friendly staff. I would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average

    Excellentlocation; bed comfy; staff very helpful;

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very helpful, even from before we arrive. They get high marks for their attention to detail for every guest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and helpfull staff at The reception.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Завтрак

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cosy hotel. Location and breakfast are perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath supplies and breakfast could be a bit better (cold blue omelette)

    Location and staff is very nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got pleasure from nice staff,cleaan and surprise taxi to airport from administration.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound isolation in the room, poor breakfast.

    Stuff / reception

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, nice staff. good value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception was very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are quite thin walls between the rooms, which might be a bit inconvenient (mainly in case of louder neighbours).

    Very nice and clean rooms with helpful staff. The hotel is perfectly located (right in the center og the city).

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A very good location for all of the major attractions. The staff at the front desk were excellent, especially Victoria, with all their help and advise.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor issue: one of the heater was cold when we arrived. It turned out that the valve was shut. So it took a little while for the room to get warm. But overall I have nothing to complain.

    1. You can't beat the location. All the famous places of interests are within walking distance to the hotel - Hermitage, Mariinsky Theatre, Russian Art Museum, Kazan Cathedral, even Peter and Paul fortress. And loads of good restaurants, bars and cafes in the area. 2. Staff speaks good English and was very helpful and responsive to our problem with the heater. 3. The place is easy to find. It is located on the 4th floor of that building. 4. Breakfast is ok.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None whatsoever!

    This is like a first class western hotel in a perfect location. Modern, clean and new, the breakfast is excellent, staff speak perfect English and very helpful. I loved this place!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only serious drawback was the quality of the complimentary breakfast.

    The staff was excellent. Friendly, courteous, and helpful. Clean, quiet rooms close to everything. A great place for a budget conscious traveller.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Firstly the location of the hotel is excellent, you're within the walking distance of the main attractions (St Isaac's, Winter Palace).This is one of the smaller hotels (it only covers 1 floor) and so it creates a cozy atmosphere, I even got a magnet as a welcoming gift. It's situated on the top floor (4th) and my room (412) faced onto the main road, but I must say that it was quiet and you couldn't really hear the traffic outside. The room was spacious (as was the bathroom). I also loved the fact that it had one of those fancy air conditioners that regulates the temperature and airflow. I visited in October so it was cold outside but sometimes with all the heating it got a little bit stuffy inside the room, so aircon was a lifesaver. Breakfast was good but I noticed that if you got there at 9am it's pretty packed but at 10 am there's hardly anyone there but the food gets topped up (and they can make things for you if you ask). The staff at the reception were welcoming, showed me around the hotel and helped out whenever I needed.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very comfortable and cozy deluxe room. It's a corner one with 4 big windows, and a window in a bathroom. A great view, plenty of nice cafes and restos close by. And only 5-10' of walk to Palace square, Hermitage, Alexandre's Garden and many other sightseeings. A very good location. Nice and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls are paper thin and you - or your neighbors can hear everything. Not good for trying to sleep. Located on fourth (top) floor but has an elevator.

    Excellent location. Close to Metro(about 5 minutes) many restaurants close by. Rooms are small but adequate for singles.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    good soundproofing from the ouside but relly bad inside, very thin walls, I could hear my neighbours having sex all the time... NO slippers, you get the bathrobe but no slippers at all. They are available for additional cost:( For the rest the hotel is really good for it's price

    Perfect location, you are 5 min away from Nevskiy and Palace Square, about 7 min from metro; everywhere around hotel you find 24H grocery stores, cafes, restaurants etc. 3th floor of the building but there is an elevator. Booking has offered me an upgrade few days before check-in from standard double room to "Comfort" for a little extra. it's worth it. Big, bright room with elegant functional furnishings, comfortable bed, bathrobe, fridge etc. Friendly and helpful staff. THANK YOU very much for the welcome letter and souvenir magnet Very good wi-fi signal. Great idea to have the 24h access to the breakfast room where you can have a cup of tea or coffee, there some cookies as well. Every Wednesday they cook good pancakes that you can enjoy at the evening.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was uninspired and unvarying Cold meats, cheese, yogurt, sometimes rice with boiled weiners, toast, same salad every day

    Location is excellent, staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walls are not so soundproof so you do get neighbour coming and going and TV noise.

    Herzen House is a modest hotel with very friendly helpful staff who speak English. No bells and whistles but clean comfortable rooms. Your room will have your home country flag and there will be a St Petersburg key ring memento. Nice touches. Continental type breakfast buffet. Coffee and tea available 24/7. Hotel is very well located for visiting The Hermitage, St Isaac's, Church of the Spilled Blood, canal boat trips, Main Street Nevsky Prospektand many other tourist sights. Many restaurants nearby. Very good value and great staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious, quiet room with many counters to work on. Breakfast room open even when not serving. Free bottled water from a dispenser. ATM in hotel. Terrific value.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We appreciated the location it is perfect if you do not have too much time to visit the city. It is really close to the major attractions. The staff is great, they booked cabs for us restaurants, they were always there for us. We also appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel everything was great !

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is superb.The staff is very helpful and friendly. The included breakfast is quite decent. Overall, excellent value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a bit small.

    Breakfast was good!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and elegant rooms. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No TV channels in English

    The location was excellent and the room was very comfortable. Excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A fine place, all around.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast does not have many options, but is ok.

    Friendly, very well located, confortable room.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Brekfest

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too thin wall that we hear the next room watching TV.

    location, value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, great location, not so luxury but comfortable equipments.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast wasn't great.

    Comfortable, plain rooms; lots of hot water; fantastic location. The staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff were wonderfully helpful. They could not have done more for us.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast can be improved.

    Personnel is very helpful, good wi-fi connection, in the center of all touristic locations.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    So nice staff, they speak English

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit poor breakfast!

    Девочки, спасибо за гостиприимство! Great location! Good value!!

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Herzen House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: