Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Brothers Karamazov Hotel 4 stars

Ulitsa Sotsialisticheskaya 11A, Tsentralny district, 191119 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#355 of 1,043 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 569 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    FIFA WORLD CUP RUSSIA 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is fine, room and bathroom are standard. Breakfast is good, wifi is ok. Hotel is in central district and quiet zone, metro station is very near. Staff is kindly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is very clean the rooms are big and the beds are...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast did not have Mich varieties, yet good enough.

    The hotel is very clean the rooms are big and the beds are comfortable and the staff are super cool and very friendly and helpful especially the girls in the reception. Although the hotel is not in the center but it is easy to access the city center with a 5 minutes Walt to the metro station. There are many supermarkets and many great restaurants around the hotel. We liked the hotel and we strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff is friendly and greeted us every day we walked...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can consider having a bit more choices.

    The staff is friendly and greeted us every day we walked past the reception. The room is clean and big. Hotel is very responsive to query and provide accurate information. My friend left her watch during the stay and the hotel kept it for us and responded to us quickly. Worthy stay and good hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Will definitely stay here next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel, professionally run, with everything you need as a tourist. Hotel is in quiet location, 10min walk to metro station through a nice historical streets. Another nice thing is ligt proof windows curtains, a real rarity in SPb. Nice kettle with keep warm function.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The staff was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was amazing. They manage the transport for us the whole week. Taking care everything was on time. One of them even speaks Spanish. Absolutely recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Thanks for karamazov
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little options in the breakfast buffet.

    The service in the hotel was great, the wifi is really good in the room and the room itself is really clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    I visit Saint-Petersburg almost once a year in the last...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No safe in the room, so had to stash things in my suitcase with a lock, and the reception didn't feel secure enough to leave there my belongings. Also, the general interior looks like it can use some renovation, the wallpapers peel here and there, the furniture and bed is kinda old, the carpets have stains. It's still better than most of the places I've stayed, and it's not a big deal for me anyway, just don't expect to see shiny marble:)

    I visit Saint-Petersburg almost once a year in the last decade, and almost always the hotels are below the par for western visitors - they are mostly hidden in some creepy alley and almost always without any elevator. This time I can say that Karmazov Hotel is super friendly, it's location is perfect, and most important - it looks like an hotel, and you don't need to spend looking around the neighborhood to find it. You'll also find multiple good restaurants just a block or two away, you have 3 different 24-hours grocery stores just across it. Nearest metro station (Zvenigorodskaya) is about 10 minutes walk and you can use it to get to the interesting part of the city without line switches. WiFi was pretty good, and without hassles like "sign-in" landing pages. I was traveling with my Kodi streamer and I was able to connect it hassle-free to the internet. Also you have A/C in the room, admittedly I didn't try it since it was really cool weather and an open window was good enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Cheap place to stay in city centre. Don't expect any frills though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in was slow and tortuous. Our group had three rooms, and receptionist made me pay in 4 separate transactions: for each room and for extra bed in one room. In addition, each guest (!) had to sign a one-page "contract". Overall it took more than half an hour to check in. (To top it, on checkout I had to pay once more, because extra bed fee on checkin was charged only for the first night). Electronic room keys frequently went out of order, so we had to go to reception repeatedly. One of the rooms had unpleasant smell that didn't go away. Overall hotel interiors are tired.

    Location is quite good: short walk to different metro stations, not fat from Rubinstein street with its bars and restaurants; Bed was comfortable; Room was clean. Low price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great choice to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be a little better.

    Great location, close to metro (3min) and in a walking distance (15-20min) to mayor attractions. English speaking personal, very quiet and clean hotel, comfortable bed, new furniture in the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.5
    Can be much better than what they provide and better service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service can be better for being a four star hotel! Poor breakfast not much variety of foods, small television and more comfort bed, and why do they need to charge for coffee?! They should provide it to customers with bigger bottled water!

    Can be much better than what they provide and better service!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably priced - Very Quite Hotel located 15 minute walk away from City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel is located on a really isolated street which not many people know about. However, you can reach the famous Nevsky prospect by 15 minute walk. Within the vicinity of the hotel there is not much life and not much to do on the streets nearby.

    Staff is pretty helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    A very customer oriented hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom wasn't sealed enough - a lot of water was on the floor when you take a shower.

    Great value for the money you pay. Great location, just 5 min walk from Vladimirskaya metro station and a famous Rubinshteyn street full of bars and entertainment.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    History and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit far from many of the main sights but it gives you a chance to explore.

    There is a real sense of history while being a thoroughly modern and clean hotel. The staff were very welcoming. The room was more than quiet -- it was silent!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    6.7
    Good location, 5 minutes walk to a subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel declare itself as 4 stars, but it doesn't match it. Electronic lock didn't work propely, bed sheets are shabby.

    Good location, 5 minutes walk to a subway station. Pretty good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Location .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location . The hotel is very well managed!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.3
    Not a four stars hotel! It was like being punished without committing a crime.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family next door left their children unattended and they were screaming like crazy! The Managment refused to do anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean Looks old The breakfast is good but no variety

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    A good location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    A good location, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location,extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location,extremely friendly staff. They all spoke English Fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    they could add gluten-free foods to the restaurant menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    they could add gluten-free foods to the restaurant menu

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Breakfast pancakes were super delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast pancakes were super delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Helpful and polite staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful and polite staff. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Clean comfortable comely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough Dostoevsky related items

    Cleanliness and comfort and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Nice hotel !!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position and perfect staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Right hotel for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Right hotel for the price. Lots of cafes and restaurants around. Very friendly personal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and service. Metro is nearby. Prices are friendly. Rutger Hauer stayed also in this hotel (see photo in the bar).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Top hotel! Top staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! It was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value, friendly, helpful staff. Very good 4 star choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was hard.

    Good value. Quiet location. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was good. The coffee pot in the room and shower were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff at reception were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception were very helpful. The room was clean and sound proof enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Convenient location for price - 20 minute walk to the Nevsky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    Convenient location for price - 20 minute walk to the Nevsky Prospect (Main Street). Large room, modern bathroom and all amenities supplied i.e fridge etc. Very helpful and friendly staff. We liked the way they would order us a fixed price taxi and we could pre pay for it.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    the staff was extremely friendly and helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture is poor standard. Bed - instead of queen size bed, in superior room ('Aglaya') me and my partner had two single beds moved together, which is of course uncomfortable. Chairs are of low quality too - they are styled under art-deco ones, but give the feeling of very fragile ones, so I did afraid of sitting on them. Also, the smell on the 4th floor was a bit like in Soviet cafeteria ('Stolovaya') for unknown reason. The room was quite large, but I do not see the point in that size considering poor equipment of the space.

    the staff was extremely friendly and helpful; the location is very convenient too - on a quiter street but within walking distance from the sights and subway. Bathroom is fine and recently renovated.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Very helpful and friendly staff, good location, big room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps a little more soundproofing would be good if you are in one of the rooms right next to another, but this was a minor issue.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, good location, big room with big comfortable bed. The maid service is excellent. The free wifi is also very fast and reliable.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.2
    Staying second time here and writing my second review which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Few recommendations. First thing which is really disappointing when we just checked-in I smelled the dog fur in the bathroom. First of all it is not nice to smell it even though I guess housekeeping really tried hard to "hide" the smell under the perfume which is even more disgusting.. Next time just better leave the smell of the dog. We had to sleep with the open window. So our recommendations would be to leave special rooms ONLY for the guests with pets other wise it is a bit selfish for the guests who arrive without pet and moreover are allergic to the pets. My groom is! So we were really worried about his asthma. This is really serious thing for some guests, it is a threat to guest's health. Secondly the smell of smoking. If it is forbidden to smoke in your hotel then why all hotel smells like every single guest is smoking in the room? This is not fair firstly for non-smoking guests and for the guests(i.e. my mom who went outside to smoke). Maybe the hotel administration should be more strict for this kind of situations. Otherwise just be honest and write on your hotel web page that smoking is allowed in your hotel.

    Staying second time here and writing my second review which is not as good as my previous one. Going to stay third time and hope the things that disappointed us won't bother us anymore because we really enjoy staying at your hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    Absolutely amazing mini-hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Absolutely amazing mini-hotel. Very helpful and nice stuff on the reception. The room was perfect, nice and big bathroom. Comfy bed with a very nice modern TV in front of it. If you come by car they have really nice parking just in front of the hotel. Very cozy and comfortable hotel overall.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable and warm when it was -25C outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is ok, but not the best. Minibar looked like a safe and I found it only when checking out. Ventilation in the bathroom could be better.

    Comfortable and warm when it was -25C outside. Good breakfast, elevator, clean bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.3
    Location is perfect, the reception staff is nice and helpful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast is quite poor. Also, the buffet staff was not customer service oriented at all.

    Location is perfect, the reception staff is nice and helpful, everything was clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    Polite staff, big and comfortable rooms with cozy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Polite staff, big and comfortable rooms with cozy bed. Convenient late breakfast. Location is in the city center 5 min Walk from nearest metro station.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff. They were always so helpfull and kind! A surprisingly good breakfast. Oatmeal, blini, juice coffee cheese and ham. Clean and comfy rooms. Location is OK. Seven minutes from two metro stations. About half an hour to the Hermitage.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    5.0
    No iron in the room or even per request.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No iron in the room or even per request. In order to have my and my husband clothing ironed, I Had to go down from the end of the 3rd floor to the end of 1st floor and back with bunch of clothing in my hands. So inconvenient! For the first 3 days bedding was not changed; it was finally changed on the 4th day and only because I requested.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    1. It's very quiet and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. It's very quiet and peaceful. 2. The rooms are spacious, and very clean. 3. Location is central. 4. The receptionists are very charming, and friendly. 5. Breakfast is nice.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, relaxed, very clean, quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Interior is more basic than previous descriptions have implied.

    Very friendly staff, relaxed, very clean, quiet place. All the basics you need for a city trip. So quiet that you hear the air conditioning on top of neighboring buildings with open windows ...

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.9
    The staff were always helpful and friendly with a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have more variety, but enough to get one going for the day. Croissants were very yummy!

    The staff were always helpful and friendly with a good knowledge of English. Our room was a good size and always spotlessly clean and a pleasure to come back to after a day out. The free wi-fi was great!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Everything: big room, big bed, good wifi, nice bathroom with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast wasn't bad, just not as good as the rest of the hotel services. That coffee machine needs a replacement.

    Everything: big room, big bed, good wifi, nice bathroom with a good shower, good English speaking personnel, good surroundings of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    What I really like about this hotel, that its management and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was quite skeptical in the past (you can see it from my previous reviews), but this time I really liked everything.

    What I really like about this hotel, that its management and employees are constantly working on improvements and taking seriously feedback from their customers. Since my last stay in 2014 I noticed that breakfast quality and service in the restaurant have improved, new professional coffee machine has been installed there, toiletries in the room became better. We've got a nice family feeling, seeing people, who have been working in this hotel for the last several years. Special thanks for the strawberries in the room, that was so kind of you, dear girls! That was my 5th stay at Karamazov hotel and I will definitely recommend it to my friends and colleagues abroad.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    Nice little hotel, not near too many sites but close to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is plentiful but doesn't change much on a daily basis

    Nice little hotel, not near too many sites but close to a subway, with a great staff, and did I forget to say good looking, that takes care of everything that you need

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    6.7
    Reasonable price, if you pay below 70 usd per night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is poor. All the rest is just average.

    Reasonable price, if you pay below 70 usd per night. Staff is just ok.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Friendly personnel, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe box, please include.

    Friendly personnel, very good location.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was good, very nice staff, nice clean room, love...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Problem with shower

    Breakfast was good, very nice staff, nice clean room, love to have tea in room any time it's very good idea

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.8
    Very good food
    • Couple

    Very good food

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    early check-in, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too ambitiously positioned as 4*, bathroom is too small in a standard room

    early check-in, location

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.1
    Clean, AC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Location: a bit far from usual tourist destinationa - breakfast is too modest

    Clean, AC

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    before the trip: visa support, taxi booking,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing really

    before the trip: visa support, taxi booking, during the trip: discussions at the lobby to organize the next day

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    5.0
    Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception girl( particular one) was extremely negative.. İ wont go there again as long as she will be there..

    Wifi Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    L'emplacement (3 stations de métro à moins de 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    L'emplacement (3 stations de métro à moins de 10 minutes) et le calme (chambres bien insonorisées).

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: