Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Maxima Zarya Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gostinichnaya Street 4/9, Marfino, 127106 Moscow, Russia

#361 of 925 hotels in Moscow

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 832 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    3.8
    Place is to far from tourist center.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much really..

    Place is to far from tourist center.. staff are indifferent with your needs,.they don't take messages for guess or if you received a phone call..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.3
    Quiet suburban location, close to underground
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit smaller than expected, with some silverfish problems in the bathroom, and inaccessible power sockets. Also, for some reason, male staff were extremely rude.

    Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I forgot a gift for my wife in the room. They returned the package but the dress was replaced. Instead of a red silky one, there was a white cheap dress. Now, I'm trying to get it back by escalating and writing emails.

    Good location, clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Great Value Hotel 35 minutes North of Downtown Moscow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nonworking AC units.

    Location. Great restaurant with lots of options. Very clean and they accept all major credit cards including American Express, Mastercard, etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower cabin got full of water and the curtain splashed the water around. In the end it was very slippery.

    Good value for money. Very good connection with Moscow City centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    2.9
    The hotel receptionist would not accept our booking. He was very rude and he upset my wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel receptionist was very rude and I have already sent a complaint to Booking.com . I am waiting for a reply. There was also no soap or toiletries in our room. Also, the room was cold. Will never stay again!!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facilities are minimal. There is no mini-fridge or a coffee maker. The buffet costs too much. Setting up the hotel WiFi needs some knowledge and efforts.

    The hotel is situated among a peaceful green neighborhood. It is at a convenient walking distance from the nearest metro. There is also a grocery shop near the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    7.1
    Good location but with minimal room facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room facilities are minimal. One would like to have a coffee maker and a mini fridge to store things. It is not too easy to configure the WiFi.

    The hotel is located amidst green surroundings and quiet as well as peaceful. It is a short walking distance from the nearest metro station. The WiFi connection is good provided one knows how to register.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    7.1
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not have a coffee maker or a mini fridge. It would have been more convenient to have a bath soap apart from having bath soap liquid in a container.

    Good and peaceful location among greenery and friendly and helpful staff. Check in went off smoothly. Room was big and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.9
    a fine hotel in a quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a non airconditioned room which can be quit hot in summer.

    Very clean and spacious double family room. Good shower and fine but bit hard beds. Very convenient shop around the corner. Open till 23.00 hrs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    10
    Reasonable prices in hotel restaurants for very good food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reasonable prices in hotel restaurants for very good food and service. Hotel was ideally located for our purposes as we needed to go to Sheremetyevo airport the next day. Receptionist arranged taxi for a very reasonable price. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    6.7
    So so. Would recommend it, also in combination with the distance from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No ventillation in rooms. This made at least our room at quite fusty and pretty hot.

    Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good and lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    8.8
    Absolutely worth its cost.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stuff is very friendly. Rooms are always good prepared before visit as well as all invoices/other documents are printed prior to arrival which saves a lot of time when check-in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    5.0
    Polite, helpful and english speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No power outlet in the room to charge your device. I was traveling alone and highly dependent on my mobile phone and it was bizzare and surprising not to find any outlet to charge my device.

    Polite, helpful and english speaking staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    7.9
    it was clean and the price ok for the services offered.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet didnt work - my phones never managed to connect to the internet provided.

    it was clean and the price ok for the services offered. Nice staff and good kitchen. Clean room and comfortable bed. Good price for the service!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    8.3
    Worth consideration.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found tea, coffee and cusps in the room, but there was not any electric kettle. Electric sockets placed in heavy accessible places.

    Very friendly staff, green and quite surrounding. Clean rooms. Tasty breakfast, different everyday in some positions.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2017

    6.3
    Wasn't a pleasant experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I can't say it was a bad experience, though there's a whole room for improvement for the rooms: while I was in there it has been triggered some kind of allergy so my eyes were red so I constantly used these japanese-made eye-drops so my eyes won't hurt that much. I guess it was the carpet or some other stuff yhey used to clean the rooms. Never happened before anywhere so far. Still, it was 6 nights and was in there mostly at night so I managed to bear with it. What's next. In my particular room they didn't have wall sockets. Like at all. So you couldn't even charge that laptop or phone. Well, I found my power after awhile: it took to move the desk and here we go, my phone is not dying here. What was more inconvenient is loud high-frequency noise from the room lightning while it was off(!). That was you must turn on the lights so they don't squeaking at night. Horrible, if you ask me. Noise-cancelling headphones would be your best friend there, though I didn't had mine in there which was bad. More to list: they didn't have kettles onsite, even though it was advertised here on booking. This might be crucial for those making their own tea with their own water, for example. And it worth to mention that windows not soundproof, and if you staying there in cold winter, thick blinds won't help: cold wind is safely passing trough the windows right to youself, there's no way to make temperature comfortable, even with heater on max. Windows must be properly insulated for the winter. So it goes for the bathroom: when you take a shower, water sometimes passing through the wall(!) on the carpet in the room - another insulation issue in the same room. All of the cons here marks this place for me as 'Never again'. That's why I strongly don't recommend it.

    Staff is actually doing their best and they are very polite in general. Somehow it's a bit rare for small hotel chains here, even in Moscow. What was also good enough to mention is here - the location: it's somewhere in between two metro stations, and it's relatively quiet around, so your hard day's night won't be interrupted with street's noise (even though their windows are not sound-proof at all).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, reasonable money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In some rooms there is problem with access to power sockets. I had to move some furniture (desk) and plug in on my knees.

    Quiet surrounding, good breakfast at that price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2016

    10
    Excellent 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom has a hot drying rack which was nice to dry some cloths but we learned very quickly to keep that door shut because it did make the bed room hot. Wish the maid would have left it closed during the day.

    Zarya Hotel is a very nice hotel. No real complaints. The only negative comment was it did not have AC. But, the August nights were cool enough with the window open. --They had a very nice hot breakfast, eggs, sausage, cold cuts, all a person needs to start a day of touring. that was a BIG plus cause then we were able to skip lunch. --It was conveniently located for us. A subway was only a short walk which made it easy to get to all the major sites. Now that walk is not through a rose garden, but not bad, just down one short back street before you cross under the road and in to the housing area. --There was a small grocery store just around the corner. That was very handy. Yes I would stay there again. It was a good value hotel. As a result, tour groups stay there so Breakfast room was crowded. Need to be there at 7AM. Clean rooms, nice facility, friendly staff, We did not have any problems. I recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    8.3
    Nice Value 4 Money hotel outside of centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is basic, very basic and not all rooms are equipped with air conditioner, hence check carefully when booking. The restaurant and breakfast staff is ok, but doesn't have the same service level as the hotel as such.

    Value for money. The rooms are clean and everything is in order, but simple. I like the location 15 minutes by metro outside of hectic Moscow centre. Nonetheless the hotel is quietly and conveniently located only 5-6 minutes by foot from metro station along a green, quiet boulevard. The neighboured, huge botanic garden invites for a stroll after a hectic business day. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful and speaks English, if required. I stayed here several times so far and was never disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel in Moscow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water mixer in the bathroom has been given almost only hot or cold water at the same time so it's mostly impossible to take a shower. The remoute control for the TV did not operate.

    The level of the hotel generally is rather high. Situated in the zone with a lot of hotels not very far from the Ostankinskiy TV-center. Good private parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    6.7
    Helpful staff, very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needed air conditioning in the room to help sleep during such a hot summer.

    Helpful staff, very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, conveniently located close to a metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean, conveniently located close to a metro station. Rooms are big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    6.7
    near to subway station, very nice receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no AC in room, very quiet and dark area

    near to subway station, very nice receptionist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of air conditioning making it difficult to sleep in this hot and humid summer

    Helpful staff and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms very small

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    6.7
    I just rated to thank Fraid in reception office for his...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I just rated to thank Fraid in reception office for his cooperation to solve an issue that I got stuck on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could speak better english.

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    6.7
    Good if rates are cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is far from city, no AC

    Bedding quality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.5
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    near 2 metro line station and 1 central circle line station, quite neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    6.3
    Nothing was in the room - no soap, toothpaste, toothbrush,...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was in the room - no soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, kettle, water. Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    7.5
    Nice breakfast and excellent WiFi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Central heating

    Nice breakfast and excellent WiFi. Good connection to public transport (Metro / Train) to city center and exhibition center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    6.3
    Thin walls between bedrooms, noise heard from other rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thin walls between bedrooms, noise heard from other rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2017

    6.7
    Staff are nice hotel is below standard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very noisy people talking loud laughing loud you can hear everything lt's not nice, if you want to sleep do not stay here

    It was Cheap

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2016

    5.0
    location is not easy to get there , the hotel it self its an...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    location is not easy to get there , the hotel it self its an old soviet time apartment converted to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    7.1
    Nice and friendly stuff, big and clear room
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom and toilet sizes are very small

    Nice and friendly stuff, big and clear room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    10
    Excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    6.3
    Clean and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not very helpful.

    Very clean and comfortable. Good value.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    3.8
    I pre-pay the room fee, when I check in the room, the lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I pre-pay the room fee, when I check in the room, the lady staff refuse to accept because I can not present the credit card, even I show her my passport match with the booking and the credit card payment are the same person. Luckly, I can show out my bank statement which debit my account for their hotel charge. The lady staff instruct me must bring along the credit card and show to her next time, it is exceptional case to offer me the room, it make me "embrass" in front of my wife. What wrong of me? I pay in advance of my booking many time from booking.com or other agents, it is the first time for me must show out the credit card. My passport is the legal document to identify who I am but just reject by a hotel staff ! If I can not show out my bank statement and luckly accept by this hotel staff, sure I need to go to another hotel for the night. Booking.com do not instruct me must show out the credit card. In case, if I lost my credit card during the trip, how I can check in the room in future? or if I pay for the room in advance to my relative/friends, how I can pass my credit card to them for identify. I have no more confident to this hotel's management and how booking.com can protect their client in pre-payment. Two more comments: I pay more to book the superior double bed room, but my room seems like standard room, it's small and very basic, sure the same cost can stay in a better room from other hotels. Or it just a standard room but over charge to me. This hotel is 550M from metro, far away if you bring along with luggages, also very silent and dark at night time when you back hotel, couples or lady need very special care

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2016

    8.3
    Quite comfortable (in that price category) and clean hotel,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Almost the same breakfast menu all the time.

    Quite comfortable (in that price category) and clean hotel, in quiet and green district. Very helpful and friendly staff. Tasty breakfast. Metro station in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2015

    8.8
    Very, very, very clean hotel, I insist but since I am coming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reqtaurant : twice I took pasta : with sea food and carbonara. First too salted and secdon too fat. Thay nee to have another chef because when you don't know how to do this simple things, it means that another is needed to take his place. Buffet breakfast as well need to be changed time to time, since three years no changes at all.

    Very, very, very clean hotel, I insist but since I am coming here I noticed this improvement. The staf is OK some they just need to pratice english more and that will be perfect. Room 320 taken we were three and the volume is good enough. Access to the train station and metro close. Except some points, with a bit of effort theay can get a new star ! A special thank to Munisa from the housekeeping ... helpfull nice and doing well her job

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When I arrived at the Metro Petrovsko-razumovskaya, I asked a few people about direction to the Hotel but they had no idea about it. I even showed them the map. Be careful when crossing the railway. Some local people just walked through even it's red light.

    I had a family room, it's big and clean. Free drinking water. The price is good. A friend left her glasses, and it was kept god until we got it back. The staffs are helpful. I'm very satisfied staying at Maxima Zarya

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    an average 3 star hotel with materass to be replaced, OK but low choice breakfast and lobby bar staff to learn basic English at least

    good shops in the vicinity, 24hrs reception

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2015

    8.3
    This hotel is clean, and has good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no air con, and our room on the top floor was always hot. The towel rail heater was always on, which didn`t help. In addition there are no tea/coffee making facilities en-suite.

    This hotel is clean, and has good facilities. It is based roughly halfway between 2 metro stations, and whilst it is a 15-20 minute easy walk to either station, it would be wise to use a taxi if you are with heavy luggage.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    5.0
    soviet style building, an interesting experience for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor Service - only a few attendant can speak English and even less can treat you with kindness Little comfortable - small hard beds make the night an unpleasant experience A bit dusty - an old dusty moldy carpet might put any asthmatic in trouble

    soviet style building, an interesting experience for westerns Close to the beautiful botanic garden

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2015

    9.2
    Well maintained hotel and rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room was too warm and no obvious means of controlling temp. But very minor issue. Not obvious whether the tap water is potable, so drank bottle from mini bar.

    Well maintained hotel and rooms. Location and helpful reception staff helped new person in Moscow get up and running on metro etc. Good number of sockets in room for laptop etc.

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    10
    Staff there are very nice and willing to help!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Staff there are very nice and willing to help!!!, especially Andrey and Victoria!!! Thanks again!!

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2015

    9.6
    Very clean, close to the subway and very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very clean, close to the subway and very good price.

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2015

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    7.9
    Clean rooms, quiet location and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good but almost the same food for breakfast since long time.

    Clean rooms, quiet location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    nothing

    coziness

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly and flexible staff, cleanses hotel, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    10
    Location was great, it was close to station and some other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You can hear other people while you are in your room.

    Location was great, it was close to station and some other shops.

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2015

    7.5
    Nice staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Soviet building , far away from metro station

    Nice staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2015

    6.7
    reasonably close to metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    very tired building, urgently needs repair, grey dirty floor in the out out of rooms space, brrr.

    reasonably close to metro.

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    5.4
    staff was friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    the room was too far from the elevator, but I booked the room near...

    staff was friendly

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: