Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metropol 5 stars

Teatralny Proezd 2, Tverskoy, 109012 Moscow, Russia

#96 of 925 hotels in Moscow

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2655 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was perfect, walking distance to all major tourist attractions. The service provided by Concierge was outstanding: in organising tour guide, booking concert tickets, and travel arrangements. The breakfast buffet was of a high standard and staff were both courteous and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Due to the size of the hotel it did not feel quite as warm and friendly as others we stayed in on this trip.

    Excellent location close to pedestrian only thoroughfare, the Kremlin and public transportation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After I booked a hotel I found the price in fliggy only cost ¥800+ less than Booking.com over$20

    Loacation is great !near the metro only need take 3mins to get there,You can walk to the red square,Moscow Theater , many shopping mall near around . Easy to see

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to like about Metropol.

    The Metropol is just perfect! I stayed there several times and loved every minute of it. It is a historic landmark right across the Bolshoi theater and five minute walk from Kremiln and the Red Square. Nearby Nikolskaya street is pedestrian and full of restaurants, several pharmacies and, of course, the central department store GUM is right there. Lively place with music and people. The Metropol is absolutely comfortable in every way. Now there are some renovations ongoing and only one entrance available, but it really did not affect our stay. The room we stayed this time was one recently renovated. It has all modern amenities, but still the historic feel. Every detail is very well thought out - from the coffee/tea bar where one can drink it from the Imperial China set to the super large shower and TV in the bathroom mirror. One can enjoy the stain glass windows made at the time of Tiffany by Russian artists and historic photos of the famous guests. It is just a lovely hotel. The staff was super friendly and professional. The bar is awesome and one can have a nice drink or a high tea. I would highly recomment breakfast - it is served in a huge ballroom with stained glass ceiling several stories high. The food is served in a adjusent room where one can find everything from champagne and caviar to yogurt. Live unintrusive music - harpist is fantastic! - sets the mood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    more space to hang up clothes.

    not enough room to hang clothes up and very little coat hangers available. also treated very badly when walking across reception as their was an important guest just arriving back and I was pushed out of the way, no curtesy whatsoever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is a classic. A sightseeing landmark in its own right. Superb location in the very heart of Moscow. Absolutely professional five-star service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel deserves a bespoke bar in a proper room, not in the lobby or stuck to the corner of it. Opening up the main restaurant on a more regular basis and allowing better access to have dinner and enjoy the wonderful glass mosaic ceiling - as per the Paris Ritz - would be a big improvement. It is an under-utilized treasure.

    The Savva restaurant is especially good for Russian Cuisine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and in-room dining. Quality is very average, prices are too high. You also can’t charge your meal to your room if you didn’t leave a deposit when checked in or ran out of deposit. Not very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot believe my eyes and senses. My stay at the Hotel Metropol has been overwhelming. You cross the entrance and immediately one finds him/herself a century behind. It is as pleasurable being inside the premises, or simply in your room, as it is spending the day in Moscow. There's a little vintage touch, which for me can only be a plus. I think I found the cream of the cream in Moscow, a city where I have been dozens of times. This is a place of immense personality, beauty and history. A must...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entry, welcome and overall handling of our arrival and departure. Room was very old, very old features, outdated facilities and could have been cleaner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it needs to be renovated, though the overall experience was good and met the expectations. In years haven’t been to the place and would assume it would be renovated. But no...

    Location is perfect, the staff werehelpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pot in my room was broken. I explained the situation to the customer service. then room service staff came who speak only Russian. Therefore, I needed to explain again, in Russian.

    historical hotel. the room and the breakfast hall is very classic and it is really beautiful and romantic. worth staying.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They blocked the amount of the cost of my room and once I did check out they charged the amount. Therefore they have took twice the amount. Now I need to wait until they unblock and bank refund me the money and as all you know it can take long.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More local dairy products as well as home made jams should be on the menu for breakfast. A tour of the hotel would be great.

    We got a very nice deal on the booking.com several days before the date we wanted to come. Therefore I managed to book rooms for my family who live in Moscow as well to spend a night and have breakfast together.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every evening private functions were held in the Metropol hall downstairs with loud music being heard up in the rooms until late at night.

    Beautiful historic hotel. Excellent location within easy walking distance to Red Square, St. Basil's Cathedral, Kremlin and metro stations. Stayed in a superior room overlooking Revolution Square. Breakfast very good but rather costly. Good restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm inside the room. It's not accetable that in a 5 star hotel during the breakfast they ask you to pay the bill for the breakfast when you have not even finish it. Very unpolite

    Very Central, good value for the money the standard room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect rooms,nice personal,fantastic food/breakfest,very good restaurant,close to red square and kremlin,close to best shopping areas,wery safe,beautiful old building .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we disliked during our stay. We will come back for sure!

    This was my third stay in Hotel Metropol and it was great as always. The bed and pillows in Metropol Hotel are so comfy. I would love to have them at home. The room service did a great job cleaning our room. The staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There's no good communication between the staff from the different rotas

    Great accommodation and facilities. Clean, comfortable and great place. Perfect location for tourists

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel felt like it lacked soul. Very large floor lobbies, rooms, corridors etc made it feel like a hospital and the furniture in the room was very old along with the tiny TV, which had no English channels or movies.

    Perfect location for NYE festivities and the hotel was able to assist with securing tickets to the TV concert held in Red Square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting time in the coffee/bar much too long. Payment at front desk troublesome. Taxi trip too long time.

    The view of the room was amazing over the square. The classic design and standard of the hotel was great. Close to the Bolsoj Theatre!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be tough to do, but keep the history and still do a refresh of the decor. Hardly worth mentioning, but they asked for a downside too.

    Impeccable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security guards attitude can be improved. Hallway where our room was smelled cigarette smoke like hell - the hotel is supposed to be non smoking!!!

    Decor, staff,location-excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After upgrade the hotel wanted to move us out of the upgraded room after 2 days again. Only Julia Sergeeva the Customer Service Manager was professional in this hotel. Also there was on booking.com no information that the “free parking” was not available during our booked Periode.(free parking Was one of the reasons why I booked this hotel)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at the Hotel Metropol You must do this once. A magnificent room that has remained original. The best breakfast in 2 months of travelling, with eggs, anyway you like, made to order; enhanced by a woman playing the harp. The staff were attentive and engaging.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit small bathroom. Taxi booked via Hotel reception proved to be more than three time expensive compared to that called by my friends by their phones at other taxi stations. Cheeses selection was too poor and taste of cheeses available was not good, in particular, compared to other stuff available at the breakfast.

    Nice location in the center of Moscow. Excellent Breakfast, polite staff. Clean room, opportunity to read every day newspapers in Russian and other languages. Good restaurants in the vicinity of the Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Reception and Concierge staff were not great. We were sent to a restaurant which was EMPTY - he described it as very popular, need to book etc The hotel dining room is used as a ball room too - unfortunately the interior rooms look over it and having rock pounding out so much that the glasses on the bedside shook is not great at midnight

    great location, very attractive hotel of 1912. comfortable beds and great hot water

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms were a little tired but to be honest the location was the key and it was superb so anything else was of minor irritance

    location location location - staff were great too

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the views from the rooms were overlooking neon lights in a well, and the room was sooo outdated, and the bathroom was very small, and old.

    Perfect location, helpful staff. within minutes walk to the most important sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all

    The location, in the heart of Moscow, very close to the Red Square, the shopping center and plenty of good restaurants. The breakfast was excellent. The staff is very pollite. Many thanks for the nice surprise for the collegue's birthday!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer was a typical pipe and on the wall unit which is not the best when wanting to style hair. But was powerful enough to dry long hair

    Beautiful hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. Savva Restaurant was fabulous A small cake and card was left in our room for my birthday even though I didn’t inform them of the occasion, lovely guesture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No.

    Second time to live here. Metropol is a such a famous hotel in the city center of Moscow, which was built in 1905, and many famous people have lived here. Really good location, just next to Red Square and Kremlin, and so close to the subway station (including three lines). Staff here are professional and helpful, some can even speak a little Chinese, that gave guests a comfortable feeling. It is such a hotel that deserves the Five Star level. Both the decoration and the facilities in each room has almost no disadvantage. Maybe I'll book this hotel again next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't have any big complains.

    It is luxurious property which still have historical spirit. I am visiting approximately for 28 years. Fantastic location and possibly the most unique breakfast experience in the world with live arch music in huge art noveau ball hall. Many good restaurants around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Receptionists were snooty. Bags were not sent up, we had to go and ask where it was 3 hours later despite being promised at check in that it would be sent up. We were told our room had a lovely view, but it was a wall?? not the revolution square and not the Bolshoi. :D right at the back of the hotel, no other travellers near us, check the photo for yourself. ( and we weren't rude even though they weren't nice) The bed was saggy, but we were told it was new. I will stay elsewhere when in Moscow again, despite the great location, beautiful hotel interior and breakfast.

    The location was wonderful. Right in the middle of all the tourist attractions. The hotel itself was lovely with stained glass windows and colourful carpets, the breakfast room marvellous and the staff there great. The harp was a lovely addition to breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old rooms with small bathrooms. This hotel has a great "decadent" atmosphere but defenetely it needs some update.

    Location, location, location (and Breakfast). It is located in the very heart of Moscow. Walking distance from red square. The breakfast is amazing and the saloon takes you back to begining of 20th century. Really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a room with a city view and were given one with interior view, small and when we asked for a room change they treated us lousy. Staff unfriendly and rude EVERY TIME we contact them, except one guy from the concierge who help us with the transfer, the rest should be kinder. That kind of treatment is unacceptable in a hotel that claims to be top notch.

    Location and the history of the hotel, the art deco architecture is really beautiful. The mistreatment made the rest forgettable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent Hotel, great location, staff were all fantastic and couldn't help enough. Room was excellent. We had a fantastic stay and will be going back one day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the room one month before I went to Moscow,i spent about one hour to arrive this hotel,and thought i can have a good rest that night. But I realise it is nightmare one hour later. The staff gave me the long key card to open the door,when i open the door,i saw a girl wear underwear inside,maybe i have to say i am so lucky not a boy wear like that inside. Because there r many doors of this hotel,and i take one about 20kg cases to arrive the room(no staff provide service),and then i went to the frontdesk again,they even told me they r right,i share this room with my friend. Later they told me it is the system mistake,and gave me a new card,i really dont know what the hells they r working,i booked the king size room,but give me twin bed room. I cant believe one 5star hotel made these kind of mistakes again and again. During this things happened,i did not see their lobby manager,and i have to go up and down by myself as well. I am here to enjoy my trip rather than waste time on testing whether the hotel give me the right room!!!

    the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much

    Old style 5 stars hotel. Very convenient, 5 min walk to major sites including the red square and kreml, and 3 min walk to subway line 2 . Historical hotel that opened in early 20th century with a lot of politicians and celebrities ever stayed at the hotel before. Facilities are not modern style but in good shape.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not ask for a better hotel, this is the most luxurious hotel that we have stayed in during our travels.

    Our stay was to celebrate our wedding so we wanted something that we wouldn't normally experience and this hotel certainly exceeded all expectations, absolutely oozing with charm and charisma! From the moment you arrive, you are met and treated like royalty with staff that are warm and welcoming giving you the impression they really want to make your stay memorable. The room was clean and comfortable with a bed that you wont want to leave. The restaurant on the ground floor compliments the hotel with food to rival the service. If i could pick one word to describe this hotel it would be "Magnificent".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower head in bathroom wouldnt stay up high. you could only have a shower if you were warwick davis

    good security, light, airy, clean, rooms good size, bathroom spotless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though all staff were friendly, amicable and approachable, we did not appreciate the attitude of the bellboy George. He always seemed very rude and curt and I did not enjoy dealing with him at all. Maybe some lessons on good manners perhaps?

    We always love a hotel with a story and the Metropol with it 100 year history wooed us from the beginning. The property was located right in front of the Revolution Square and our room had beautiful views of the Russian State museum and the square. Don't miss out it's gorgeous breakfast hall - it looked like a grand ballroom right out of the Tsar's palace and served excellent breakfast with caviar and champagne (yes you read that right). Staff were brilliant, spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. Special thanks to the Alexandra at the reception for providing us with an excellent room and all the lovely staff at breakfast. Oh did I mention the melodious harpist who entertained us at breakfast?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completion of room make up spotty. Did not bring water or enough towels or even make up the room on one day.

    Breakfast and dining room with harp music were the best ever, complete with caviar and champagne everyday + the best brioche.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked more milk pots in the room on arrival for tea (we are British afterall!)

    Lovely stay, the beds were ridiculously comfortable that we had the best nights sleep of the whole holiday in this hotel. Room was large, clean, easily adjusted temperature. Robes and matching slippers in the bathroom. Location was PERFECT, walk 7 mins to red square, 3 mins to the Bolshoi, 10 mins to Kremlin entrance, about 3 metros within 5 min walking distance. We didn't eat here (though do try the Pushkin cafe - 15 min walk). Would highly recommend this hotel. Staff were super helpful, everything you would expect for a 5 star.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    The variety of choices!! Salmon, salad, dessert as well as regular breakfast items. Also enjoyed chatting w our waiter about life in Moscow. Really enjoyed drinks at the bar and first night dinner at Savva. Best dinner in Moscow during our trip!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating system is a bit old, we felt a bit cold in the night with the air conditioner. The wall of room was thin.

    Its classy, historical, antique style.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facility is old. My room air condithioner was broken. I asked for 1st floor man's staff but he told me that you tell central staff. I didnt know . This was Russian service. In Japan,My room will change other room and discount. I experienced Russia. break fast service is not good. I asked for pot for tea for hotel staff because there were no pot in food place. But he ignored my request.:( This was Russian service.

    Breakfast is good!! staff is friendly. location is perfect. this hotel is near gum and tum. I could buy foods and drinks and souvenirs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ambiance and facilities of this hotel are incredible - especially if you appreciate Art Nouveau style. You will be stunned by the gorgeous grand dining hall. Be sure to enjoy brunch. The elevators are beautiful but don't skip the walk up the stairs - the stained glass bay windows are incredible!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The taxis will always take advantage of the tourists without knowing that they are the ambassadors of their country in the image.

    The location, the beauty of the hotel and it s history. The fact that I had a good service for an emergency with a dentist. And the staff being nice and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a pricey but irresistible to eat in the gorgeous room with stained glass ceiling, fountain and live harp music

    Location perfect for tourists. Oysters in restaurant best I had in a long time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best location n Moscow. Nothing to complain. The rate we got was good. So we were able to afford it. Thanks again, Booking.com. Except for one representative who was rude beyond word. still, over all a good experience..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightning in the room, the art niuveau lamps are not the best for reading in bed.

    Excellent location in front of the Bolshoi and at 300 meters of the Red Square, very near many important and beautiful Moscow attractions. Shopping malls and Metro stations just around the corner. Very confortable ved and pillows, friendly staff and the most complete breakfast with fresh friut and juices, all kind of pastries and even caviar and champagne served in a beautiful hall .Beautiful historical art nouveau building , its a piece of Moscow history.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Location just quick walk to Red Square. Luxurious 1930's hotel with modern rooms. Most impressive architecture. Staff very helpful. Ability to leave luggage securely before and after check in/check out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff kept asking me if I took anything from the mini bar during check out. I felt like she wanted me to say, "Yes"! A bit annoying.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Metropol hotel is a part of Moscow history and is beautiful and comfortable; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Apart from the fact that the location was great and the room was clean, what really made our stay so enjoyable was the wonderful staff - such friendly, kind people - especially at the hotel bar! Fantastic cocktails and excellent conversation - loved every minute and will visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything

    The location is amazing right near Red Square. Although a big hotel the Metropol has bags of character. The Concierge were out of this world. The team made our stay very enjoyable even getting us excellent tickets for the Bolshoi Ballet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some construction was going on at the sidewalk right under our bedroom window, but they were considerate enough as not to start working until 10am. Much appreciated!

    Location is great and the hotel itself is fabulous. We loved the long history behind it and the hall of fame. Our room had a beautiful view of the Bolshoi theater and any closer we would be living inside the Kremlin itself. The breakfast room was fantastic and the choices were varied and plentiful. Even caviar and champagne! And the literal cherry on the cake was the beautiful birthday cake and lovely card they presented me with. Such a lovely touch, spasiba!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quality differs. I had to change 3 rooms before check-out. The staff at the reception is NOT very professional. Not an international quality level of service. I am disappointed.

    Excellent location but that's all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the hotel rooms needs renovation it's really old but clean and nice

    - amazing location you don't need a car in Moscow if u stay in metropol - staff were really kind and friendly - Olga in the concierge helped us a lot - the breakfast ballroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The courtesy room. Having offered hotel services during the wait.

    The history of the hotel. The architecture of the breaksfast space. Amazing. The bed. The best cleaning service of the world.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise ! but who can turn such a old establishement into a modern one ?

    Metropol is an afordable palace - regarding facilities ! - in the very center of Moscow. With the whole range of modern services, and respectfulling the russian legacy (decoration, musique...) Staff is perfect. Room also (but it is an old builing, do not await to hear any noise). Possible to stay only for the breakfast and the spa ! :-) and of course because you feel like sleeping on the Red Square. Everything you ever think to ask is provide. (But ask gently please, to be consider as a VIP not as a bad occidental tourist !)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Over priced and poorly prepared breakfast well below expectation in quality. It is unacceptable that a A$50 breakfast does not include barista coffee, the fruit selection is poor and the fresh cooked is often precooked, just to suggest a few.

    Great location and with genuine style and history, excellent staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive option for a "2 stars looks like room". We expected the room and service to be similar than in National Hotel where we had stayed last year. We were highly disappointed. We arrived around 23 pm, no one even opened the door for us, there was a security guard that just looked at us and did not help at all, my wife is russian so she talked to him in a very polite way asking if someone could come to help us with the luggages, (as the entrancy has a stair and we had 2 heavy LUGGAGES) but he just ignored her so she finally went to the lobby in order to ask if someone could support with the luggages while I stayed outside with the luggages. In a 5 stars hotel this is something that is always available by default. We were also surprised and disappointed when we entered to the room, it was very small, with old non stylish bad quality furnitures, an indoor window with no view at all, a small bathroom and no evidence of a wordclass hotel at all, ugly option for that price. We booked a standard room but in a 5 stars hotel this room is simply not acceptable. We travel very often and in other hotels with 2/3 stars you can easily stay in a similar room. Our advice: If you are looking for a wordclass 5 stars hotel do not hesitate and book in National Hotel just in front of Kremlin and only blocks away from Metropol. No comparison between one hotel and the other. If you want to stay in a very comfortable room in a nice and good located hotel with a really good price for what they offer stay in Budapest hotel, a 4 stars hotel 3 blocks away from Bolshoi in a very nice area and for half the price than METROPOL. We have stayed there before and we found it great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is AMAZING....faciliites are great, but the concierge, Krillin was the BEST part of staying at the Metropol. He can organize tours, taxis, tickets to shows. Overall the best most professional staffer at ANY HOTEL we've ever stayed at. Krillin is the BEST reason to pick the Metropol Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are outdated. Air-conditioning not operatable and windows are all closed and you cannot open them. We were missing some fresh air.

    The location is great, staff was really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and pillows were super comfortable and the service was amazing especially the concierge. They went out of their way to help us with what to see, where to go and where to eat, Just amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    m m m ... I think nothing. If I have to pick something to say, ... everytime we enter the hotel, we have to pass the security checking gate. It was a little bit uncomfortable.

    Location. The Staffs. The service. The Food(Breakfast) & Everything of the Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    None

    The breakfast is as said one of the best in Europe! The hotel is very very big and there are many many rooms, but they manage to maintain all the facilities so well! They offer room service twice a day, and the evening one is so considerate that if they see you've finished your free bottles, they will provide new ones and put one especially at the bedside where you will be sleeping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little dated and the bathtub is very slippery due to its oddly curved design.

    The location is unbeatable! Its very convenient and close to everything you need to see in Moscow. Literally, GUM, Red Square, Bolshoi Theatre, the metro is within 5 mins walking distance. Even the money changer was really close and had excellent rates. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't use the main entrance because the elevator was in the back work room hallway.

    Concierge was excellent. He arranged many things at the last minute for us and it all worked out great. Hotel room was very wheelchair friendly. I loved the big room. The in-room dining was really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom of my room definitely needs touching up.

    Extraordinary location, across the street from the Bolshoi and a 2 minute walk to the Red Square. Excellent staff at reception, in particular Sasha and Anna R. The view of the Red Square and the Kremlin from my room was a bonus!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the introduction to the hotel's book states, this is more than a hotel and more than an open-air museum. It is the brain-child of restless polymath Savva Mamontov, who had originally envisaged designing a theatre. This did not happen, and the historic breakfast room, a spectacular expose of art deco laying under a glass dome, bears testimonial to Mamontov's frustrated intentions. Many artists from the time, including Mikhail Vrubel, Alexander Golovin, Nikolai Andreev, have left their mark on the hotel. And yet, the locals have managed to balance the flamboyance of the artistic features with a sparseness and space that seem almost soviet in essence. There will be a stretch of 100m2, and two 19th century armchairs to occupy it. My room, which was a standard single, was equally majestic, square in shape and with the high ceilings of the time. It might sound pompous to state that the Metropol hotel brought me happiness, but it did. One cannot help but feel uplifted walking through those great Russian halls.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in a non-smoking room and generally appeared to be a non-smoking section of the hotel, yet on the second morning, the corridor outside our room absolutely stank of cigarette smoke. Not a problem in the room, but not something you expect these days. Maybe a ventilation problem, or maybe housekeeping smoke in a store room close by. Just a surprise really, not anything that would spoil the visit.

    We had two rooms. A junior suite (me and wife) and a deluxe double (sister-in-law and niece). Both rooms period decorated, yet not lacking in modern conveniences. Enough sockets. Enough space to store things. Iron and ironing board available on request. Rooms had paintings and antique fittings that are the real deal, so it's like staying in a museum/gallery. Location is excellent if you are visiting the Bolshoi Theatre (we were) or planning on visiting the sights around Red Square. However, it's not quite as fun or lively an area as other places a block or two away. The Savva restaurant is very impressive to look at, but Moscow has sooo many good (expensive) places to eat, that you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i booked the room with breakfast on booking.com, but the hotel reception shown my booking without breakfast and can't confirm to booking.com. the hotel didn't agree with my reservation details from booking.com when i shown my reservation which was printed out from booking.com. however, i contacted booking.com. booking.com help me argue to the hotel immediately and succeffully to confirm my reservation with breakfast already.

    typical classic decroration, prety resturant of breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel has a great history and character , very attentive and polite staff and absoloutly tasty food both in the lounge and the Sava restaurant and the location is within a 10 min walk to the red sq or Kremlin also Tsum shopping center and the Bolshoi theatre are closeby .

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metropol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: