Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nevsky Aster 3 stars

Ulitsa Bolshaya Konyushennaya 25, Tsentralny district, 191186 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#490 of 961 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 574 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would be a great addition to the room. That’s the only improvement I would suggest.

    Brilliant location! Really good wifi & the staff speak English very well. If they install air conditioning I would be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel in the center; beautiful old building with a very friendly staff and personal. Still working on the building for improvements. Good breakfast...Comfortable room with airco .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well of course the rooms are not fresh equipped. i could hear the grannies chatting next door at 7 am morning :)

    perfect location, right in the city center. if you are travelling for work, and use the hotel just to sleep at night, it's a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -Very noisy building works in the corridor outside our room (we were not warned about the building works going on at the time of booking). -Building works outside hotel. -Amount of Shampoo and shower gel provided not very generous.

    +Excellent location, in the centre, close to Nevsky Prospect. +Breakfast ok. +Staff friendly and helpful. +Check-in swift and efficient. +Free drinking water provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    place were under renovation and not suitable. TV not working wifi inconsistent internet none no kettle and complementary coffee & Tea wateer available through water dispenser in the corridor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely small, the shower is small, there is no space for nothing, even don't have enough place for suitcase.

    Only one good thing is a location, everything else is worse than can be

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an unpleasant smell every time you flushed the toilet.

    Free water tanks around the hotel were really useful. Room very simple but all we needed. Very good heating, although sometimes a little too hot!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employee at reception with little hair and dressed in light purple wool coat and jeans on Oct.11th, I checked on the website provided by the hotel, the ticket of Ballet Swan Lake that night is 5500roubles/person, but I failed to book it on the website, then I asked reception if they can help to buy it, then he said it is 7500rubles and it is their fixed price, I bought it in the end, as I understood the hotel needs to make some commissions. It rains that day and very cold, I asked for the help from the hotel to order a taxi for me to the concert hall, when the taxi arrived ,the same reception told me 1000roubles, the same price or even more to the airport, really could not imagined it. When I got on the taxi, the driver told me he can pick me up with 500roubles when the ballet was ended, something stange, then I searched on Internet to download a local taxi order APPs, and I paid 165roubles from the concert hall to the hotel. I really could understand that sometimes it is fine to make some money from such things, however, from my side I could not accept the cheating behavior, it is too too too disappointing. If you do not want to be cheated, then do not believe this man I mentioned, he will suggest you take the most expensive way for anything you asked. But the other staffs of hotel are really good and helpful. For the breakfast, nothing suitable for vegetarian, I simply skipped it every morning, and just had some coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there was not many electricity sockets in the room ,only 3 ,which 2 were in use for tv and fridge.

    the room was clean and comfortable ,also the bathroom was clean.Had clean towels everyday.Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No elevator (Although this is common on this type of building )

    The location is Excellent, the entrance is not too difficult to find. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When we checked in, the receptionist Alexei put us in an economy room, which was horrible even thought we had booked a standard room. He assured us when we inquired politely about the facilities in the original room, even after we showed the photos on your website, that there are no economy rooms in the Nevsky Aster Hotel. After begging, we were moved to the Standard room as per our booking, on the 2nd day of our Stay. The male staff were sullen and poorly informed. the female staff were more pleasant, but had no command of English. No English TV channel was available

    The location of the hotel, and the bath in the room we had booked which was only available to us for the second night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The walls were a little bit thin, we could hear other people when they were noisy.

    If you want a luxurious hotel, don´t go there. If you want a clean, comfortable place in the centre of the city for good price, this is the hotel for you. The beds were very comfortable. The room and the bathroom were very clean, the towels were changed daily. The staff was really nice. They even printed our boarding passes, which was very helpful. We loved the breakfast, there was a variety of choice and a plenty of everything even when we came after 9 o´clock. There was a safe in the room, where we could store our valuables. I would recommend this hotel to other guests.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, the room given for me, was smaller than in the pictures. There was no free plugs to charge your phone or computer. There was just one plug for the fridge and then another for tv high on the wall, so it was not too convenient to charge your gadgets. No renovations made for long time. Screw holes on the wall, smudge on wall paperi and even on the ceiling. Wonder from where the good valuations / feedback is given. The location though was very good and low price. Not my choice anymore.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no elevators in the hotel. We had to walk to the 4th floor !

    The breakfast is excellent with all food needed. There is water refill near our rooms !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most guests piled to the dining room for 8 am opening so there wasn't enough table room for all. The facility has no elevators so be minful of your knees and heavy suitcases. There is no coffee or tea facility other than at breakfast but it's not far to get one from the street. Remember to place a sign on door or room will not get serviced.

    Nevsky Aster is in a fantastic location, central to axtivities in St Peterburg. Staff at desk are helpful, mini bus driver first class in driving, manners and attitude. Lady preparing breakfast was always cheery and with a smile.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extrem small, could not walk in the room with suitcase open !

    Very central, clean, my iphone charger disapeared but they give me a charger (looked like from a collection of chargers other travelers left) to save the holiday !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an awful smell from the toilet that they couldn't fix. Nobody from the staff seemed to care too much, so we were 5 days living with the smell in the room. They didn't accept to change the room. If you have heavy luggage there is no elevator and you can get a room in 4th floor.

    Good location Good breakfast Good internet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate luggage room.

    Excellent location. Very close to all sightseengs. Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We changed room 3 times to get that room what we paid. Building works.

    Good location. Friendly personal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location , friendly reception and good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at the reception was very impolite.

    Very good breakfast, very good location near all the major sights, clean room and friendly hotel maids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator

    value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can hear other rooms

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was extremely helpful, nice and cooperative. Everything was nice, clean, comfortable. Location is perfect (center itself). Food is okay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets in the corridors of the Hotel are smelly.

    Excellent position, friendly stuff, very big bathroom with a sauna.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location! WiFi connection worked perfectly; breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything is good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was all right but not great.

    Staff spoke good english at the reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Very nice location and the stuff is kind, good breakfast, quiet comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of bugs in the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle in the room, water dispencer and tea bags ran out on our last morning

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator; some rooms are small

    good location for this hotel close to Hermitage... Quiet place, clean roooms. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was fine

    Good location, friendly english speaking personal, safe parking for car, wide choose of breakfast, clean. Anyway for this money this place is perfect if you just want a simple and comfortable place to sleep or rest after tour in town.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is as convenient as one can find in St Petersburg. Hotel offers basic facilities but is well run. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is adequate and offers a reasonable choice. Good wifi. This hotel is good value for money for a budget hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Wifi access in my room was abysmal. Sometimes it worked but was very troublesome.

    Comfortable beds, good service and a great location. My room was so quiet I didn't even need earplugs.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can hear continuosly the corridoor buzzer in your room if the room is next to this door. That is very loud and disturbing.

    The location with modest price.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very cramped room and the earlier occupant had left over some garbage that was not cleaned properly. Plus the room's furniture layout somehow did not sit pat on. Just outside the room door the hotel kept its stack of cushions, sheets, towels that was a huge put off. squeezing in and out everytime.

    The location was great. The breakfast was adequate but the front office staff were fab.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are 2 buildings in the hotel. If you get a room in the main building where the reception and the breakfast room are then it is ok, if in the neighbouring building the rooms are on the ground floor facing the courtyard so there are always people smoking and laughing especially at might which makes you feel uncomfortable. в гостинице два корпуса. Если вы получите номер в главном корпусе, где ресепшн и завтрак, то хорошо. А если во втором корпусе, ваш номер будет на первом этаже с окнами во внутренний двор, где всегда будут люди, которые вышли покурить и посмеяться, особенно поздно вечером. Не совсем комфортно. Бронируйте номер в главном корпусе!

    Location is very good - walking distance to all main attractions. Breakfast is substantial and of a good quality. Ovetall it is a good small hotel. Хорошее месторасположение отеля. Шаговая доступность до основных достопримечательностей. Плотный завтрак хорошего качества. В основном это хороший отель.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There's no lift (but staff helped us with heavy luggage). Cleaning service could be more precise.

    Perfect localisation in the heart of city center in combination with good price and nice value. Staff is friendly and helpfull. I reccomend to ask them for a transport from/to the airport (it's really cheap). Tasty breakfast with real coffee and nice atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location- 5 minutes walk from the Hermitage. Clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff who speak good English. Helpful with early check-in and arranging taxi to airport. Luggage room available (though it is tiny). Typical city centre hotel, smallish rooms, relatively thin walls in historic building, fine overall. Breakfast room fine, decent choice. Inclined to trust a hotel with hot porridge available at breakfast.... No lift.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall attitude of the staff is really poor. One guy - apparently the security guard, or just a similar looking thug - would refuse to help us with the luggage unless asked (no lift in the hotel, folks), and even after being asked, he would have a sarcastic semi-smile in his face and carry only one bag. Front desk people were also rude. Only the manager - her name was Tatiana I believe - knew how to handle guests.

    Great location, decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Receptionnist could have been more helpful with regard to questions about transportation. No secured bagage lock room as rooms were not available early. Room was very small, cramped.

    The basics were covered with a good, hot shower, comfortable bed and little noise. Besides, it is very centrally located.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no Internet in the fourth floor, limited chouce in the breakfast, and same breakfast every day.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful, polite and professional. Hotel location is very close from the attraction places, i did have to take any transportation.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi signal is weak in some rooms, depending on your smartphone's antena you may need to stay in a specific place in the room to get a good signal.

    It is in the heart of the city, you can walk to almost anyplace you want. The rooms are quiet. The staff is always willing to help with anything they can.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no elevator

    great location - very reasonably price - free breakfast good -

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice reception, good location, good room, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was good.

    Really nice hotel at the center of the city. A lot of good places to eat out around. Great stuff, good breakfasts, nice big room.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Location

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator

    Very good location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sound insulation was awful - I could hear everything from room nest to mine.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was a bit poor when you arrive after 9

    The location of the hotel. The verry friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift

    Location is excellent and can't beat the free breakfast menu loved it

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very clean, perfect location, easy to find, friendly staff, close to everything you need

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfort of bed.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No window in the single room.

    Great location, kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpets are old.

    Located in the center, no need for transportation. The room had a great sauna and jacussi. The staff were very nice.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Nevsky Aster traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: