Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nevsky Grand Hotel 3 stars

Bolshaya Konushennaya Str., 10, Tsentralny district, 191186 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#740 of 1,049 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1530 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Quality three star with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for a 3 star the only problem was I was too close to reception so a bit noisy at times.

    Again. Three star hotel. As good as you can get for that. The bathroom was clean and convenient to use. It had very a very good built-in wardrobe for luggage. Location was probably as good as you can get for sightseeing and access to good food and coffee around the hermitage and nevsky prospect easily walkable to everywhere if it's not raining. Didn't have breakfast included in my stay but it looked and smelt good when a passed by the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    In a great location, very friendly hotel staff & in the restaurant too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately the lift broke for a few days during or stay.

    The staff was extremely helpful especially with arranging mini buses for my small group of friends to get out of the city to the palaces.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Had a great stay in the most beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small pancakes at breakfast on our first day were rock hard (definitely not the russian pancakes I am used to)

    Great location!!!! Room was small but clean and the beds were comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Food served for breakfast was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is too small for the amount of guests. It was difficult to find an empty table and the area with the buffet was really crowded

    Food served for breakfast was really good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location to travel around this lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stucked in the elevator about half an hour. Emergency button in the lift is just ring but you can't phone to any officers outside. We opened the inside door by our self (unfortunately outside door is too hard to open by hands) to find small hole for air and ask someone for help. Luckily, one guest passed when we'd tried to ask for help. I believe he helped us by telling the hotel officer. Thanks Mr.Smith ^^

    Great location to travel around this lovely city. Room in not the best but enough facilities for you to stay comfort.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very good windows with big and amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge, very small room, small bathroom

    Great location, very good windows with big and amazing window seal for romantic evening. Quite air conditioner. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean, location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lady was very rude and shouts at us for anything we ask. The others were very nice though.

    Clean, location is great!! Its right on the main street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Loved Saint Petersburg. So much to see and great atmosphere with FIFA ON.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, bed not very comfortable, but pillows very good.

    Best location, friendly staff, very clean. Unfortunately for my taste it was very basic and rooms very small, and I'd only give it a two star rating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of our room was very small. We had a room on the top floor, and it was really small. The room that our kids had, on a lower room was bigger, though.

    The location is excellent!!! You are just a few feet away from everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    Despite the good location of the Hotel, the noise in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are very unconfortable and the space in the room we got for a couple was awful. The carpet in the room was dirty, grubby and soiled. Also we could hear the talk and all sounds from the neighbor's rooms beside us. So if you look for privacy,

    Despite the good location of the Hotel, the noise in the streets because of the proximity to the Fan fest area /to the World Cup supporters has disturbed a lot. Lots of great restaurants aound.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was mostly out of order and we had a disabled person in our group but this hotel wasnt that appropriate for him since it had lots of stairs and the elevator as i said wasnt usable

    The location is awesome and right in the center, also the rooms were clean and the staff had a good attitude

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.3
    Poor staff and facility, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, particularly Vladislav, were extremely rude and unhelpful. They could not help even with simple questions, and while that is not a big deal, their attitude made us think not so welcomed. The elevator was not working for the whole time we were there and we had to go up and down 6 floors all the time and the staff didn't seem to care.

    Location was the only positive thing about this place. Otherwise, rude staff (particularly Vladislav), not so clean facility and horrible maintenance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Great location, the service needs to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small rooms, not the way they look in their ads. Unfriendly staff Terrible reception on a small TV The taxi driver recommended by them abuse us verbally, saying he has no change when we demand it.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    quite good hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room is small and facility is a bit old and lift is always not working, but not big deal.

    very good location, all kinds of restaurant and bar around, easy to get to the metro. Staff can speak good English and communicate freely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Location Location Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has very small tiny rooms should be a 1.5 or 2 stars. Bathroom is very small as well. I got the room very expensive probably because of the World Cup 2018 games period about 169$ per night which is not acceptable even if the period was a peak for them cause they don’t have anything to offer for that price.

    Location Location Location! Only book this if you found it for less than 80$ a night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well located but not the newest you could dream of. The curtains are not thick enough, so you get awake very early during the Summer. I stayed during the SPIEF so prices nearly quadrupled (131€ for a night stay). I didn't tried the breakfast, so I cannot tell you if it's worth it or not - it was not included in the price. All in all, I've deemed the hotel overpriced for its standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    A super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A super location. Hotel was clean, up to date and better than expected. Not anything wrong at all..in the best part of town. Almost cancelled and glad I didn’t..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is great providing multiple opportunities for...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continuing strong small of tabacco/cigarettes in the room over the whole stay. For a non-smoking hotel it is unappropriate :(((

    The location is great providing multiple opportunities for walk tours in the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Fresh and clean hotel with great location and helpful personnel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have spent here 3 nice days as location is great for a city visit. Extremely liked personnel helpfulness and freshness of the room (brand new furniture and room design). Variety of choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Incredibly fortunate with the weather, we enjoyed every minute of our stay in this fabuous city!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The limited space of the breakfast area: with bus loads of tourists meeting more or less at the same time prior to going off on their tours, it was a struggle to get the various ingredients... Considering the amount of rooms, an additional elevator would be a good thing!

    The proximity to all sightseeing was fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise isolation of rooms is non-existent, rooms are smaller than average. Breakfast is below par and can be improved upon.

    Clean, comfortable, great value for money. Awesome location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    I like brekfest and location of hotel was great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with the staff when I arrived at the hotel and did not register even though the amount I paid was preceded by the fact that we had to come

    I like brekfest and location of hotel was great!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not perfect room soundproofing (possible to hear noises from the near room).

    Perfect location: right in the center, 1min by walking from Nevsky Prospekt, Many bars/restaurants/shops all around. Staff very helpful. Room not so big but very comfortable. Quality/price ratio excellent. Hotel highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location, not wheelchair friendly contrary to claim
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast, unhelpful front desk staff, main entrance up a flight of stairs ... though they claimed to be wheelchair friendly because of the lift up from the second floor. The valet trolley on our floor effectively blocked my access to the room when it was left in the corridor.

    The sauna in our superior rooms and the location ... very central so lots of sites easily accessible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed in a hotel stay, very nice servis. The hotel is located at a place which is near by all attractive places. The bed was one thing that if I could take him home, I would have done. Hard in the right places and comfortable. Very rich and tasty breakfast, I found the best around. With each breakfast I became more spoiled.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    I wouldn't stay here again. People walking, talking loudly on the corridor and playing music late.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was charged by booking.com and then again upon arrival at the hotel. Booking.com failed to send the correct payment details to the hotel and as a consequence I had to pay 2 times. I am still waiting for a refund from booking.com. Very annoying and such lack of professinalism. The rooms were clean enough, but the carpets on the floor clearly haven't been clean in decades. if you walk on the carpets withouth shoes, the socks get so black from dirt. Very noisy guests who were having "a party with loud music on the corridor until very late at night. Men and women laughing and talking loudly on the corridors. I was afraid to leave my room.

    The location is great! very central to all historical places and restaurants. shops.. The breakfast was good, many choices from the buffet, but too much sugar in juices, no water... The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Was nice and cool spend time in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift didn't work for few day's and it was pity, the bed could be batter.,but in general good hotel

    ,Good location, beautiful hotel cool food in the morning, and nice people, v

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Location and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. First room we were give was a shoe box and no where for luggage but the lovely reception staff were able to find us something a larger. Good idea to put kettles in ALL Rooms not just executive or larger rooms.

    Great location food and shops nearby. All easy walking. Special surprise left foe me for my birthday. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location within minutes of Nevsky Prospekt and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike - functional room with bathroom to match. But it did the job !

    Fantastic location within minutes of Nevsky Prospekt and Blue Line Metro connections. HOT TIP .... save money and SKIP THE AIRPORT TAXI. Take the airport bus to Moskovskaya Metro and then 7 stops to Nevsky Prospekt. Total cost = 80 roubles. Taxi costs 1,200 plus ! Several excellent (cheap / quality) eateries nearby for breakfast. Jazz bar with good live music within 200 metres. What's NOT to like Oh yes .... Hermitage within 10 minutes walk if that interests

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great location, right next to Nevsky prospect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, right next to Nevsky prospect. All of the sightseeings are in a walkable distance. Friendly, welcoming stuff, taking care of all your requests on timely manner. Groceries store nearby that is open 24/7. Quite, clean rooms. So I'd definitely recommend this hotel to those who's interested.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    5.0
    Will not go there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paperthin walls! Neighbourg talked in phone until midnight and we had to listen her as if she was in our room! And the snoring!!! Restaurant was infernal, 2 TV with different program, music and the mashines - all loud. And we waited food for an hour, while being the only customers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location. Overall satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could improve, both in terms of food, as well as seating capacity. A bit noisy, especially from outside. Room was very small.

    Excellent location. Helpful staff members. Reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    1. slowly customer service at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. slowly customer service at the reception. 2. rate of room is very expensive since the room is unconformable and very very small. 3. there is no bell captain at the gate of hotel. 4. very very small room. 5. not recommended to book in this hotel again. 6. i had mentioned to them when i booked at this hotel that i want a master bad but they gave me a room with very two small beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, efficient service, not expensive but very small and tight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were very small. We took 2 rooms for 4 persons (one couple and one twin room) and it was no place to move inside the rooms. The decoration inside the rooms was very basic, sad and gloomy and it made me feel like in a priest convent. The employees at the reception were very efficient but very serious and not lovely and it was not always nice to to talk to them.

    The location of the hotel was very good! Inside the room there was everything we needed. It was very comfortable that it was possible to have breakfast in the same building. The breakfast was very good. Wi-fi worked very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.3
    First and last time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recep was rude, walls were so thin I could hear the neighbours having sex, bed was old and soft, toilet was smelly. Oh and forget this place if you have a heavy luggage as you have to climb a short flight of stairs to get to the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Very central location with super-helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one lift which broke down a few times so if you have problems with stairs I would book a lower floor room just in case. WiFi was a bit unreliable.

    Amazing location very near the main sights and on a lively street with a nice local feel too - a jazz club and a supermarket next door for instance. Staff are really helpful and efficient and provide really valuable help especially for a first time visitor. Room was comfortable and modern and very good value for money for such a central area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.0
    Small hotel for one night or two at most (for touristic weekend only, without heavy luggage)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy area The lift is always broken, under maintenance Very small rooms Pricey for what it is No service to bring up the luggage to the rooms (7 Floors building)

    The location is the only positive element at this establishment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to place the mattress on the floor because the bed did not offer enough support for my back.

    Staff were extremely helpful with things that were not associated with the hotel (flight bookings, instructions that were ONLY in Russian, directions around St Petersburg)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location but a smile would be great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was acceptable but not very friendly except for one girl who was on night duty. The other girl on night duty was very unfriendly and unhelpful.

    I love the location of the hotel - near to all the main attractions and food was easily accessible at all hours from nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.4
    Hotel is located just few minutes from Hermitage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room had strange smell that did not go away even after trying to change air in the room. Elevator was broken most of the time. Terrible food selection for eating breakfast. Sounds from other room can be hear easily.

    Hotel is located just few minutes from Hermitage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    good location, no "grand hotel".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don´t expect a "grand hotel", this is more like a high quality hostel. You pay for the location. the safe in the room is not trustworthy (the key like an old suitcase key). It is quite a bit noisy. The breakfast is served i a dark unattractive room, but there are lots of alternatives for good (and cheaper) breakfast nearby. The hotel corridors can be entered by anyone without passing the reception which doesn't feel really safe.

    the location is excellent, you are right in the middle of everything but in a quiet side street. Clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.4
    It's an old pension, barely an hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old pension, barely an hotel. The room was little more than the bed size. Everything looks old and the wifi is very poor. And it's not exactly cheap... Pity because the location is fantastic, the staff is nice and it could be a great place...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful place! Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift didn't work for 2 days and our room was on the 6th floor... I guess we had to burn some of the delicious Russian calories we'd been eating... ;)

    The hotel is very close to the main attractions and easy to access. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really tasty, even though there are plenty of other options around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    Not for light sleepers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is on a very noisy street, where musicians play, cars pass etc., so for light sleepers it is a bad choice. We had a Superior room on the second floor and the smell in the bathroom was very bad, the carpets were damaged. We were there during the confederations cup, so prices were high everywhere, but in this hotel value for money did not match at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly value for money unless you desperately want to be in the city centre. Breakfast could be better

    The location is hard to beat. This arguably is a compensation for modest and noisy rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Great location but staff needs training in service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not friendly.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic. Next to metro, hermitage and other key attractions. Plenty of food joints nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in bedrooms. Room could get a little too warm at times. Bathroom was a little small.

    Good choice of breakfast. Location is excellent. Reception staff very helpful & English speaking. Food and beverages available for purchase until late evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    St Petersburg ( excellent)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, only one comment: a hand rail would be most useful for senior people at the entrance to the hotel (steps)

    everything the staff were most helpful, the location was excellent. they organised the transport from the airport and return(they were very helpful in getting us back out to the airport earlier then we had booked )

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Fair to middling
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is the smallest I've had in St. Peter with very basic facilities such as a noisy fridge at the foot of the bed that had to be unplugged or it kept you awake. Paper thin walls, if you are a light sleeper even ear plugs won't help. At times it feels as if your neighbours are in the same room as you. The bed is not comfortable and the pillows offer no support. I have had better hotels in the same district for the same or less money.

    The staff are helpful and friendly which is always important. The room was clean and the bathroom was very useable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location, but not the most comfortable choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a rather strong smell of tobacco in the corridors, and the air in our room was not exactly fresh either. Our room could have been just a little cleaner. Some more sound proofing would have been nice.

    The location is excellent, and the basics were allright. The staff was nice and spoke good English.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made coffee at breakfast and there was no milk. There is a convenience shop 200m away they should have just gone and brought some.

    Fantastic location. Great breakfast pancakes with jam are the best.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.9
    It's okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. In room you can hear all people passing by outside your room. Breakfast was not included. Reception is on the second floor.

    Perfect location, friendly staff, clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Good value hotel in a fantastic location, but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As walked down the street outside the hotel on my way in from the airport, I was surrounded by four burly Chechens who attempted to rob me. When I reported to the receptionist, he chided me for interrupting me while he was dealing with another guest. Later he sanctimoniously said "that is why we ask our guests to leave their passports and money in the safes in the rooms". He refused point blank to call the police. The manager of the nearby O'Hooligan's Irish Bar kindly let me view the incident on its pin-sharp CCTV (at 17:22 on Thursday 9 February) but he also declined to call the police. The lesson is: consider taking a taxi in from the airport and don't expect sympathy from the hotel if something goes wrong

    It was a shame about the reaction of the receptionist to the mugging attempt, because this was my second visit in the space of six months and I like the Nevsky Grand a lot. It is a stone's throw both from the Hermitage and the Russian Museum. My double room was simply furnished, but clean and comfortable and the modern bathroom had underfloor heating. The included breakfast offered a range of Russian favourites (such as pancakes and cheesecake) and the staff were friendly and helpful. Above all it was very good value when I stayed in February.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Comfortable, best staff & location. Most 'must-see' spots in St. Petersburg are in walking-distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Grand Energy Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I don't like, indeed. However, I stayed at the Grand Energy Building. The rooms are on the fourth floor and there's no elevator. If you or your travel companion are elderly or physically weak. It's better to ask for a room in the front building. They have an elevator there.

    Everything! Staff is definitely the asset of the hotel; and I mean everyone I encountered with, from the manager, back office, front desk, restaurant staff, etc. Friendly, with good English, helpful, everything you can ask for. For foreigners who know that Russians don't smile very much, you'll find lots of smiles here. :D The room was not big, but I found it very comfortable and very clean. My friend and I traveled light, therefore, walking upstairs for 4 floors was fine for us. There's a very nice guy helping you with the luggage, don't worry. I also made reservations for airport transfers. The service were affordable, punctual, and with good services. If you need anything, they're ready to help. I got responses super fast, both via email and WhatsApp. All my requests were well-taken care of. I'll definitely stay at this hotel again if I have a chance to go back to St. Petersburg.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly located hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the gesture of having someone show you the room, displays so much professionalism that just wasn't there

    The pancakes at breakfast, every morning without fail

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.3
    Grand Hotel is not so grand :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Veeery small room. It is tiny! Bad smell in the bathroom, I guess, from the tubes, which goes to entire room. Thin walls, we could hear our neighbors perfectly, like they were in our room! We would like to have more privacy

    Great location, english speaking staff, drinking water (!!!) in the corridor. room cleaning every day

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.2
    My recent stay at Nevski Grand Hotel was an absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My recent stay at Nevski Grand Hotel was an absolutely fantastic experience. Its location is ideal for tourists visiting and keen on exploring Saint Petersburg. Moreover, the hotel staff was extremely hospitable and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel for a good price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have already stayed twice in this hotel. The location is perfect, the staff is very very nice and helpful (I have talked to 2 Victorias and both of them are very nice), the breakfast is great. Overall, I would always recommend this hotel to everyone. It will be always my choice when coming to St.Pete.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Come here of you're watching your pennies!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. My room was opposite the reception and could hear every singlefoot step. Thr baths are tiny! You have to sit with your legs arched to fit in them. I'm pretty sure some of the staff were talking about me to each other in russian whilst laughing but everyone else was pleasant.

    Very comfortable bed.loved my room and it's dead in the center of everything. Loved my room. Hotel staff were okay...I guess it's pretty standard for Russians to be sort of stand offish with people they don't know so don't expect service with a smlie! ;)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    A clean hotel, well located, and with a lift
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and don't have anything special but it did not matter to me. Thin walls. Avoid rooms over the restaurant on the 2nd floor with a permanent ventilation noise. But I mentioned it and was automatically given a different room on the 6th floor which was quiet.

    Location, cleanliness, good breakfast with bliny (although not included), lift, quiet if your room looks into the courtyard. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    Unpleasant surprise as to the price of our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of some impossibility to book the room for 2 grown ups and 1 child, upon arrival I had to pay 60 euros more for the room for 2 days! This was very unpleasant as I had already indicated in the comments (at the time I made the booking) that we have a child. If we knew the price beforehand, we would not have booked it. I have never had to pay more than the price indicated at the time of the booking. It is too expensive for what it was - it was supposed to be a superior room but the comfort was like in a normal room. Plus, it was facing a nosy street and there was an adjacent service room - so, nothing like a superior room in the end.

    Location is good and personnel is friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location, helpfull and friendly staff who spoke decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small room and very thin walls (i heared my neighbour snore one night)

    Great location, helpfull and friendly staff who spoke decent English. Nice breakfast buffet available from 7 till 12. The building is older, but has a lot of charm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.8
    We found the bathroom to be smelly and there was a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the bathroom to be smelly and there was a lot of mold. The bedroom was not well cleaned. Not nice at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    The location is super great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is super great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner did not work and no solution was made.

    Super location. Clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Good stay. I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was out of order for 3 days, and I was on the 6th floor! Room small

    Location, most of the staff, restaurant food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Location excellent as well as customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small, problems with WIFI

    Location excellent as well as customer service. Air conditioning worked

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location for a stay in an amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen wasn't available for one morning. Not a big problem though.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Perfect choice for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location . Pragmatic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of my room was incredibly Small

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Extremely rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff at the reception were very rude .

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Nevsky Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: