Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petro Palace Hotel 5 stars

Ulitsa Malaya Morskaya 14, Admiralteyskiy, 190000 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#250 of 961 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2372 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Excellent receptionist and security staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband was pickpocketed on the street and thanks to the receptionist and the security manager we were able to make a claim in the police, which otherwise would have been impossible, we really appreciate their assistance and Professional manners! I highly recommend this hotel! Thanks guys! For your help!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Really well located hotel. Nice facilities, good price, good quality and a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym opens at 7:00. The Gym facilities are quite small, but apart from that, room was great, and the hotel was really good. Nothing to complain.

    Really nice hotel. Good facilities, amazing location, near to the main spots of the city. Very friendly staff. Food was good and the restaurant options are nice as well. Very close there is a Georgian-Armenian restaurant that you should try. The overall experience has been great. Walking distance from everywhere. Metro station right in the corner, close to the main avenue. Close to the port.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location, nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby does not meet expectations of a 5 star hotel and the bar food is mediocre.

    The cleanliness and the quality of sheets and towels. The swimming pool is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good facilities, clean, just the bar area needs some improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel bar wasn't inviting.

    Spacious room. Pool was great size for our little one. So close to all the attractions which was ideal as we didn't have long and didn't want to be paying for taxis or messing about with public transport. Hotel bar was very quiet but some options nearby. Try the Georgia and Uzbek restaurant up on the corner - was amazing, we went back! Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location with many cafes and restaurants around,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location with many cafes and restaurants around, modern room with large comfortable beds, no noise from the street. Professional and very accommodating reception staff. We had wonderful stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Most of the staff was not very friendly: only few of them smiled or greeted us when going in and out of hotel. The bathroom had same tiles in shower as the rest of bathroom, it looked awkward and cheap.

    The rooms was a nice size and the bed was quite comfortable. The internet access was free and quite fast. There was a nice size working desk. The staff in the breakfast room was quite efficient and the food was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, close to all tourist attractions🙌🏽
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet pictures very misleading Lobby stuffy and smells of cigarette smoke👎🏽 Bed covers clean but too small for the bed. They use a single bed cover on a double bed. 😰 Plastic shower curtains was the last straw 😞

    Great location, close to all tourist attractions🙌🏽

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Best Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was slow. Room was not cleaned properly- just VERY partially every day.

    The location was superb! Staff very helpful . Plenty of great restaurants around( Mansarda- best view ) Cococo-3 min away -very interesting kitchen and decor. Room was spacious. Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice right in the heart of the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bath tub was rather tall. For shorter or older people this could be tricky getting in and out of it. Shower cabins would be a better choice. The rates were high compared given that our package did not include breakfast.

    Spacious well lit room facing a quiet inner courtyard. Location was very convenient, central within very close walking distance to the main sights & close to many restaurants & shops. Bed was very comfortable, there are 2 lifts, 2 restaurants, 1 shop and a fitness centre and swimming pool. An ideal place to cater all kinds of guests. 2 mins walk from a metro station too. Housekeeping was excellent. The room was left spic and span each day. Staff at the breakfast room every morning was attentive, helpful, smiling and remembered our specific favourites. It was very thoughtful to offer 3 diff affordable breakfast options if your package did not include it. Concierge service was also very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    bad experience at petro palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel . dirty the rooms are not comfortable . i had to weakup 6 am from the sound of the plates and forks from people at the restaurant . the room smell is very bad . i was planning to stay for 4 nights i only stayed one night and transferred to another one . definitely its not 5 star hotel

    only the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel situated right next to St Isaac
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is big and you need sometime to be patient to get a lift.

    The efficient staff able to find a fully satisfying solution to compensate an overbooked room (the deluxe was not available). The Italian restaurant at the top with nice rooftop views. The very clean pool and jacuzzi. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall nice people and good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size for my parents was too small . The WiFi system was really Bad , They tired a lot but still couldn’t solve it .

    The staff was very helpful and cooperative.. The size of the room for 3 of us was good .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Step outside and you are in the heart of the city, just a few minutes walk to st Isaacs cathedral, cafe and bars. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfy and all amenities provided. Breakfast excellent but was not included in booking for us. A great place to stay if you want to soak in the atmosphere and culture of St Petersburg.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Best location, decent and correct hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff is professional. A bit too serious, but having been to other hotels in Russia, I think this is the norm in the country. You will have a hard time seeing smiles. Not a issue of the hotel, I would say.

    Location is fantastic, I think it is difficult to be better. Hotel is decent, things work properly, fitness center is good, room is good, according to expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is excellent with so great location, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect and fantastic.

    The hotel is excellent with so great location, very client-oriented staff and delicious food in all restaurants. This is the best hotel in Saint-Petersburg!!! I liked everything in it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    All round just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was one negative and that was when we arrived we were shown a very small room, after rejecting it, we were shown MUCH larger rooms on the seventh floor.

    Aside from that, all went smoothly. I would have preferred a rate available which included breakfast, but the breakfast was quite good, reasonably priced, and the staff attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location. But a 3-star hotel not 5 for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was helpful but not enough. The cleaners were inconsiderate. " Do Not Disturb" was always ignored. It's never a 5-star hotel. Perhaps it got this due to the swimming pool which was small and not very clean. Otherwise it's a 3-star or 4-star at the very best.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    This hotel has an excellent location. All the staff we dealt with were helpful and very nice. Their
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer in bathroom difficult to use. No convenient mirror in bedroom for doing make up. An adjustable shower head instead of a fixed one is more user friendly.

    Breakfast was good, staff all pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really - only niggle - Booking.com should advise that you have to pay additional local tax when you arrive (not a huge amount but still a bit annoying)

    Great location, spacious rooms and the swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, warm service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (Superior Suite) did not have a window opening to outdoors and this was not mentioned in the booking system, moreover it was not possible to upgrade (all rooms were sold out)... So no fresh air during our stay :(

    Perfect location, warm service...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel but some staff need a lesson on customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff seemed put out when we didn’t immediately understand the registration process. One bartender was practically hostile.

    Great breakfast. Nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Fab hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities were ok but jacuzzi and solarium were not working while we were there.

    Very comfortable bed and lovely spotless bathroom.....fab shower pressure! Housekeeping left us treats which was a lovely touch. Allowed to check in very early at no extra cost. Cheery and pleasant staff at reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    could have been a bit better if the A/c worked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we booked we were told that there was air conditioning in the room but they did not turn it on . i could not sleep for 2 nights until they moved me to a room with a window which I can open

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in very heart of St. Petersburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was polite but not friendly at all. Only one guy at check out was friendly and smiling. Spa opening hours are not convenient. Rooms are well decorated but a bit outdated.

    Perfect location for tourists: all major sights nearby. Many great restaurants and bars, including Cococo, are just few steps from the hotel. Free upgrade up to junior suite was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The location cannot have been better. The beds were comfortable and the amenities standard. It is a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While I had booked and executive room, I could not tell the difference between a superior room and and executive room.

    The location cannot have been better. The beds were comfortable and the amenities standard. It is a huge hotel so be prepared to traverse long corridors to get to your room. The staff were efficient and helpful. Heated bathroom floors were a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit too expensive for what you get.

    Excellent location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Spacious, clean rooms. Pool, sauna and jacuzzi are all clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    great hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was 25 degrees and despite asking at reception there was no way to make it cooler

    Location couldn't be better - five minutes walk from the metro, Nevsky Prospect, St Isaacs catherdral and The Hermitage. Room was spacious, clean and quiet, it had a powerful shower and comfy bed. The pool and jacuzzi were nice, and spotless. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke good english.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HUGE room. Location is close to all sightseeing (St. Isaac’s, Hermitage, Spilled Blood, Palace Square) and metro close by. Staff was friendly and helpful. The transfer service to and from airport was very convenient and easy to arrange. The ToNYc Bar has great food, and friendly wait staff-very convenient after a day of sightseeing. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was plentiful and had many choices. Also the lobby bar was good for if you prefer just a cappuccino and croissant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful. The location is perfect, only a minute's walk from St. Isaac's Cathedral and the Hop On Hop Off tour bus. Lovely coffee in the little restaurant. Room was huge and the bathroom was very spacious with a great power shower. Fridge also in room which was handy. Lots around the hotel, we didn't have to spend long walking around to find a shop/ nice restaurant etc. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was superb, helpful, going above and beyond to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not fully sound proof, I could hear my neighbors conversation.

    Staff was superb, helpful, going above and beyond to facilitate the visit. Many thanks to the nice lady at the concierge desk who arranged the almost impossible mission of getting a taxi waiting for me at the entrance of Mariinski theater when the performane ended. Location is convenient, close to main attractions and metro. Rooms are comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Really great hotel - thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent, the room was huge, the wifi was great and we got free champagne and cake as it was my husband's birthday - a really nice touch as we never mentioned it to them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    100% recommendable hotel for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In Booking.com it appears as a 5* hotel but it is a 4* in reality. Not bothered by that fact because the hotel exceeded our expectations but I think that this should be corrected in some way.

    I recommend this hotel to anybody travelling for leisure to St Petersburg. It is located right in the city centre, 3 min away from Hermitage and 1 min away from St Isaac's cathedral. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was available for 900 RUB and it was really worth it. Staff was friendly and able to speak English. The value for money was the best among the city, and specially compared to other 4/5 star hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    The room was very big and clean, swimming pool not big but nice and quiet. Food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to breakfast through the hallways, but it is okay since we all need more exercise;)

    Very big room, friendly staff, nice swimming pool, view to St. Isaac Cathedral, in the heart of the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    The location is beyond perfect, and the street is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I believe I was a bit unlucky with the staff, as I experienced them as rude and unbothered. The interior is a bit old fashioned and the lighting in the room is dark and yellow.

    The location is beyond perfect, and the street is beautiful. Very clean and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Definitely stay here. Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing that I didn't like.

    Room was huge, clean and the staff where helpful. I've stayed in worse places and paid more money than I did for the petro palace. Definitely value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    A smart hotel in a fantastic location. I wouldn't hesitate to return here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not sure if there was a language mix up but I was sure that I paid for the breakfast on checking in yet was charged again at breakfast.

    The room was spacious, clean, warm and comfortable.The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk from The Hermitage Museum and the Winter Palace with a multitude of shops, bars and restaurants close by. I would recommend the taxi service the hotel provides to and from the airport which can be booked online.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is located very close to the main tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In our particular case the climate control was broken in the room, that having said this would be the only remark.

    The hotel is located very close to the main tourist attractions which gives it a major advantage. The rooms were spacious and clean, the breakfast was ok but there are better and cheaper options nearby the hotel. The staff was friendly and were fluent in English which is rather an exception in Russia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    100 % recommendation - If I come to St. Petersburg in the future, i will go to this hotel again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We missed a propper light in the room, there are some local lamps, those light has low power. The breakfast was good, you have a huge choice, but for us it was a little bit expensive. In the hotel vicinity, there are a lot of coffe restaurants, where you can have cheaper breakfast.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic ! You can get most of sightseeings on walk. The room was enough big for 3 adults. The hotel staff was helpfull. We very appreciate the hotel wellness - the Sauna and Jakuzzi was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Best price and location but breakfast disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are ad thin as paper. So if you are lucky to have a silent neighbor it is great, if not you will share your night with them. Hotel is in general of a good level so when it comes to breakfast, you expect something of much higher quality. Dry bred, dry cheese, powder orange juice, can fruits,... Quite disappointed

    Rooms are clean and modern. Bed is very good. Moreover location is amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff at Reception were not friendly at all. There were no plugs in the bathroom basin.

    Excellent location. The rooms are spacious, well decorated, enough electric points and the beds very comfortable. Great WiFi and computer facilities. Great service to weigh luggage. The doorman was friendly and always willing to assist with a smile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    I would not book if I knew it’s average 4 stars, since overpriced for this level
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (a) A bit old facilities, strange smell in the room (although we booked best in the hotel Delux room); (b) mistake on Booking with stars (only 4 stars, not 5 stars) and rating (other sites rate this hotel as Very good, not excellent). (c) I read other guests review about breakfast and we had it at Буше caffe almost across the road. Amazing memories!

    Staff was super friendly, great hospitality. Great location in the middle of city center. Very close to amazing Zoom cafe and Буше caffe, and Teplo restaurant. Highly recommend to visit Буше bakery (for breakfast it’s just across the road) and Zoom/Teplo for breakfast or dinner (need to book table due to high demand). Teplo has a limitation with tables only for two...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    An excellent, comfortable hotel in a perfect location with delightful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More selection would be nice on the A la carte breakfast menu - ie fruit, boiled egg, yogurt. I had to ask for them let me have just fruit. None was available unless you had the buffet which I didn't want. However this was arranged and was just charged as a Continental breakfast.

    This is an excellent hotel. It is so conveniently placed - 2 mins walk from St Isaac's Catherdral and about 7 mins from the Hermitage Museum. It is immaculately clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff helpful and charming. Nothing is too much trouble. We used the hotel car to go to the Catherine Palace in Pushkin (1000 roubles per hr) and also to return to the airport. Excellent car on both occasions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    in total it was a great stay, thank you!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the floor in my room was a bit cold when I arrive and during the first night (it was December), but then it was fine. I would also propably change the taps in the bathroom for the new thermostatic ones, but that's just a nag to be honest :) you just expect everything to be perfect when you pay as much

    great location! just one minute away from Saint Isaac's Cathedral. and two minutes from the underground station. I love the Nevskiy street, which is also near enough to walk there. As for the service, personnel were kind and willing to help. I would stay one more time for sure

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, close to main attractions but bad smell in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a very bad smell of fresh glue/ paint. Probably it was renovated recently but we couldn’t bear the smell, it smelled toxic in the room from the walls.

    Great location and spacious room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice place in center of St Petersburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The minibar had expired items. Fixed shower on the wall which is very hard to adjust (its position) if you are short.

    Good location, nice comfortable rooms. Close to Hermitage. Plenty of restaurants and cafés nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Fine location. fine room. Clean shower and okay breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Routing to the room was not the best, ended up completely in the back of the hotel so had to walk al the way again and again for the elevator. the one on my side of the building ended up in the staff quarters?!?!

    Breakfast was fine although, the chef cannot make an omelet?!?! Just a flat piece of fried egg and that is definitely not an omelet!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Best City break ever, great city, location & will definitely be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked to have option to be able to book bed & breakfast & able to control the heating in the bedrooms or open a window as very warm during the night

    Great location, lovely helpful staff & extremely clean hotel & room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff. The support I received during my stay really made a difference. I want to thank in particular Mrs. Evgenia of the Front Desk and the entire Concierge staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Huge room, plenty of space for all three of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was poor but as was not included we were free to go out. Lots of places locally to get breakfast. Lobby bar lacked atmosphere and the ability to put charges on to room but was fine for a drink after a long day sightseeing.

    Huge room, plenty of space for all three of us. Fantastic location within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions. Complimentary champagne, fruit and cake on the birthday of one of the family

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly located to discover St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfectly located to discover St.Petersburg, most sights are walking distance and public transport connections are excellent, my lovely room was on the top floor with rooftop views of the city which was an additional plus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with super location, clean & comfortable room, and good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a female concierge who was a bit abrupt when I asked for a taxi to the train station. But otherwise the staff were all very nice.

    Coming from the Holiday Inn in Moscow, this hotel felt like a relief! The room was spacious (may have been for handicapped) and the location was perfect. I really enjoyed having a place to conveniently print out ticket to Hermitage, Summer Palace tour and my train ticket back. I would definitely select this hotel again if returning to St. Petersburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Russian 5 stars, 3 stars in the rest of the world.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms urgently need a makeover according to the category that claims to have the hotel.

    Location, location, location. When you arrive at a 5 star hotel you expect everything to be 5 star. Far away is this hotel to be. Old rooms, little comfort, can be accepted from a 3 star hotel but not from one of this category. It is very close to everything, it is really very convenient to visit the central points of interest of the city, but the photos on booking do not show how far to be comfortable the hotel is. The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel in the heart of St. Petersburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge, while helpfull, seemed not to appreciate her job at all. She could have been a bit friendlier.

    Wonderful room, neatly furnished, friendly staff. Walking distance to all main sights and to some great restaurants!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location for a weekend in Saint Petersburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast okay (a little noisy)

    Awesome location. Ideally positioned for a sight-seeing trip. Almost all highlights in walking distance. Great selection of restaurants, Hermitage around the corner. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect. I will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not applicable as everything was fine

    location in the centre. good restaurant. nice bar in the neighbourhood. fair rates. sauna and jacuzzi after excoursion (was already a bit wet and cold)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people at the front desk was a bit short of patience.

    Location was excellent. The hotel is good, I like it. No complaints but it is not cheap, therefore it has to be good in everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Not a 5 star, but an easy 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise. Not really street noise, but we could hear the lady in the room next door as she loudly enjoyed her partner very much; thankfully it was quick, not more than 15 seconds each time (twice).

    First of all, to get this out of the way, the hotel is not a 5 star hotel, it is a 4 star hotel, and it even shows it on its welcome mattress. Besides that, we had a nice stay at a perfectly located hotel. Location if perfect, right in the middle of everything. We could walk to everywhere, St Issac´s Cathedral (just around the corner), Hermitage museum, Savior on the Spilled Blood, Peter and Paul Fortress, Nevsky avenue and the canals. The hotel arranged to pick us up at the airport so it was easy to get there. We did not use the hotel restaurant much, but we did have one superb hamburger there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    The location of the Petro Palace was really excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was just OK and expensive for what was offered.

    The location of the Petro Palace was really excellent. We walked everywhere to all the sights and river and canals, and for my husband and I location is a top priority. The hotel was large and seem to cater for tourist groups. The room was a bit dated but comfortable and clean and fairly large. The breakfast wasn't included so we paid AUD $21 each to have a buffet style breakfast which was just OK but not worth the money. We stayed 6 nights so all the other mornings we ate out mostly at a gorgeous restaurant/cafe Teplo about a 5 or so minutes walk. The breakfast at Teplo was fantastic and much cheaper. Drinks at the bar at Petro were expensive if you didn't have beer so be careful as tips are included in the drink price. The concierge gave us lots of help with sight seeing tips, prices, directions etc. and was available from early in the morning until late in the evening. Overall we were happy with Petro especially the location and price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    A gem in the histoirical heart of St. Petersburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    1) Very helpful and efficient Concierge Services - for excursions planning and everything, before our arrival and throughout our stay. 2) Very comfortable bed. 3) Very helpful staff in general. 4) Close proximity to all main attractions in Central St. Petersburg.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    A little gem in the historical heart
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    1) The Concierge Services were invaluable, both before our arrival and throughout our stay. They could not have been more helpful and prompt in their reply. No question was too trivial and the advice was impartial. 2) We booked for three rooms, all the rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. 3) All the rooms had been updated since my last stay here in 2007, yet the current decoration was not shown in the photos shown in booking.com, which I believe does not do the hotel's contemporary decoration justice. 4) The proximity to the top attractions in St. Petersburg, all within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    N/A

    The customer services were very good. Especially at the concierge. Mr. Mikael ....., at the concierge went out of his way at times trying to accomodate our needs. He even suggested/volunteered to book our taxi, from the RR station, to the hotel that we were staying in our next destination - Moscow. We were impressed by their service. They would "bend backwards" to make the customer feel at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i had issues with making my deposit using credit card, also i used the card for taxi some minutes before.

    they have really big rooms with big bathrooms. and you can prepare your tea there as well. just, going to breakfas room is a bit surprising, and breakfast room is not a most charming room may i say.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay, in the city center at walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closes too early.

    Very comfortable stay, in the city center at walking distance to all major attractions. Breakfast was very good. We didn't use restaurant for other meals.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Visiting a surprisingly city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welness could be better and the bar closes early, however there is a bar next door which is open till 1.00 AM

    Perfect hospitality and also good rooms for handicaped people!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    In my opinione and esperienze not a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some men tryed to pick my wallet out of the Hotel and there was nobody to help me: the door man (boy) was playing on his smartphone. The swimmingpool is very little, not for swimming. The hotel staff, receptionist and concierge, is not kind.

    Good location close to Ermitage and Nevsky Prospect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant location for all the interesting places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dark - no frills at all. No bath, just a shower. Flat-screen TV, but only news programs. There is no lounge as such, just a couple of chairs in the entrance of the hotel. The bar closes at 23:00, although people are still eating dinner in the surrounding restaurants. There's a bar/restaurant on 8th floor, which is nearly always empty and lifeless.

    The location is top. Free wifi everywhere was constantly good. We get up late, and the chambermaids were ok with that because they work until 17:00 anyway. We didn't use the sauna, fitness etc, but it looked very good. There were usually concierges around. The tea/coffee-making facility was very good. The beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.3
    Bad stay at the hotel we were not willing to go to the hotel due to the above mentioned points,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good rooms to stay and should have friendly staff. Location is good. They should furnish and furbish the rooms.

    Bad decor and very rude staff. No foreign exchange facility. Very old rooms not furnished and smells very bad since the carpets are very old and the bed is not at all comfortable. Not good value for the price I paid. Please note its very bad property. Also do not show such photos were we had been excited to stay at the property because looking at the photos we were very excited.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    I called hotel from the train because there was no internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I called hotel from the train because there was no internet connection I had a reservation and requested they send a taxi or car they refused saying only by email, that stupid and uncurtious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mediocre breakfast; way overpriced and run out of croissants Noisy air conditioning Noise from other rooms Room was marked non-smoking but had not been treated as such

    Location Service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doonas are too hot - would be better to have a light blanket. English breakfast disappointing and coffee not good.

    Concierge service was excellent -good English, thorough knowledge of city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    If brown is your colour stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like brown then this hotel is for you. It really is in need of a makeover and the rooms lack any character or charm. They are just functional. The staff seemed to be generally overworked and tired.

    The location is excellent. Within walking distance of all the main city centre attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Good cost benefit hotel with a nice swimming pool close to the St. Isaac Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff attending breakfast were young and very inexperienced. The concierge was not very helpful nor happy to answer our questions. The rest of the staff was good enough.

    Good continental breakfast. Comfortable big room and bathroom. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Super stay at Petro Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too soft, could do with firmer mattresses.

    Fantastic location. Italian restaurant in the hotel has great views. Staff, food and Russian wine were all great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended hotel for all travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The toilets design is a little bit old. This part of the room needs some renovation.

    A great place to stay. Perfect location, close to the metro and nevskii prospekt (city center). A walking distance away from major touristic destinations. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    Look for better value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was ridiculously expensive for the facilities and comfort it provided. The shower was above the bath with plastic curtain. For 430 dollars per day without breakfast it was extremely poor value.

    Position

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Petro Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: