Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taleon Imperial Hotel 5 stars

Nab.Reki Moyki 59, Tsentralny district, 191186 Saint Petersburg, Russia

#207 of 961 hotels in Saint Petersburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 882 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is too much arrogant. You realy do not feel welcome. No guests. Empty toraly. I saw only one guest during my stay and it was at brekfast

    Location is perfect. Brekfast is outstanding. Building is like a imperial palace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is realy bad. You dont feel welcome. No tea or coffe facilities at the room. I did wake up early and ask the front desk about coffe or tea. The answer was: no coffe. I decided to buy tea at a market, but they took the water boiler from the room. No welcome drinks. There was a message when i arrived saing i have got a welcome gift. I am still waiting for that. I did not see not even 1 guest during my stay. Hotel was empty. One guest at brekfast.

    Building is like a imperial palace. Realy magnific. Excelent location. Perfect brekfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    If You want to enjoy the luxury of St. Petersburg, You should go to the hotel "Taleon Imperial". The old mansion, antique interiors and the highest level of service - you will find it all in this hotel. And if you think that the prices are too high, believe me - they justify themselves. Be sure to ask to arrange a tour of the halls of the "Renaissance era" to get an idea of the living conditions of the "elite" of the society of that time. Take a look at the unique aelen parquet, which is not even in the Hermitage. And be sure to look in the antique mirror of Venetian glass and make a wish. The Butler of the hotel assures that it will be definitely fulfilled. Enjoy your time in the wonderful hotel " Talion Imperial"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is nothing.

    For sure one of the best Hotels in the World for people that like living in a Palace - here in St. Petersburg´s historical heart. The interiour is amazing, the house itself a demonstration of Russian noblest style. Completely quiet from out and inside. Breakfast and the restaurants with Rusian and interntional Cuisine a super option. Excellent spa. Any service can be expected to be prompt delivered on highest level. This category and a family owned a real star - something seldom can be found.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast according to german taste too scarce in the selection.

    The hotel mirrors the ambiance of the city. I booked the Imperior suite with view to the lake - it´s worth the money. And finally the hotel is really central to the main attractions of the city, e.g. you can walk to Ermitage in 5 minutes. The staff was always friendly and hotel and rooms clean. A highlight is also the Spa at top of the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey, but if you want to have a wonderful vacation you go for it :)

    We loved staying here for 4 days! Our executive suite had two beautifully decorated rooms. Bathroom was huge with heated floors and very nice amenities. The pool was amazing!! It has a sky roof over the pool so you can see your own reflection while swimming late in the evening. Saunas were very nice as well. Breakfast were tasty, big choice, we loved the omelet station (still felt like dining in the palace). Pancakes with red caviar, vegetables, fruit, desserts. Palace Square is in 5 minutes walk so are the other main sites and restaurants of St. Petersburg. The buy of the hotel is a historical building, started by Elizabeth of Russia (we read the history, very interesting!). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great stay. Great memory about St.Petersburg!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is far far overpriced

    All good, nothing to complain about. Excellent bathroom. Very helpful staff. The rooms are somewhat overpriced, the breakfast seriously so, but you find plenty of good (really so) and cheap small coffee-shops just outside the door (walk to the left, towards Nevsky, and then left again). Don't go though to the Literaturnoe Cafe - awful disgusting smell and very 'special' service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety of breakfast would be better.

    The hotel itself is very nicely decorated. The location is superb. It’s a walking distance to Hermitage, shopping malls and metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a 4 day trip to St Petersburg after the wedding. We chose this hotel because we wanted to stay in a historical building which Taleon Imperial was. They upgraded our room and served us a bottle of champagne as a gift. It was a nice gesture. Breakfast was good, you had everything you needed. Furniture was comfortable, but it wasn't as new as you see in a modern type of hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has a very strange layout and the original palatial architecture has been totally spoilt by conversion into a hotel, so this is not the grand former palace we were expecting to find but a rabbit warren of poorly designed rooms and corridors without natural light. The bar and restaurant have no ambience and our room was very dark and often cold.

    Location was excellent- everything we needed within short walking distance. Breakfasts very good and our room (at the back of the hotel facing the side street) was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most Staff wouldn't speak English, and strangely the incharge of concierge was off for two days & no one else could help with regards to city activities or arranging tours. There was no Tea/Coffee in the room! Which is strange for a 5 star hotel. And coffee got already cold before gets to you! And the restaurant at the roof was no good!

    The hotel was nice, and location is excellent. That's about it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, just a few minutes walk from The Hermitage, St. Isaacs Cathedral and the Church on Spilled Blood. My room was upgraded to a suite with fabulous views. The staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was very secure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little expensive, there are lots of places near by to eat.

    This hotel is amazing! The location, the building, the staff are all excellent. We cannot recommend this hotel enough, it is beautiful. The hotel offers airport transfers which are brilliant and reasonable. They also offer the Tourist visa letter which is needed to visit Russia. The Hermitage is 5 minutes away, book a 2 day ticket in advance and come and go as you please. The Faberge museum is lovely and around 10 minutes walk. The city sightseeing bus is a must and gives you an idea of where you are and how everything is so close by. Get a 2 day hop on hop off ticket is around £20 and worth it. St. Petersburg is one special place and I cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The communal areas converted from the original palace were tasteless and over decorated, resulting in a lack of atmosphere. The staff were generally surly, unhelpful and supercilious. The room was dated, tired and stuffy. Many of the so called "features" like the jacuzzi shower didn't work properly, plugs and bulbs were missing and the mattress was worn. The breakfast was average, and for £47 per person it should have been exceptional. Overall this is not a 5 star hotel.

    The location is good - central, near most tourist spots and the metro. The swimming pool on the roof was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely fit for a czarina! I cannot wait to go back to St. Petersburg just to stay in this hotel. The staff was lovely, helpful and spoke English. The room was amazing in every way. The bathroom floor we heated as were the towels. Every night there is a turn-down service- they also put slippers next to your bed! While you are there remember to look at the carpet in the elevator every day of your stay :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The charges for breakfast and the spa/pool area are ludicrous. c£36pp for breakfast?! And a swim even more than that - about £45 we reckoned?!!! If they reduced them then they would get many more taking up the options. Cutting off their nose to spite their face here, I would say.

    Location and ambience were both excellent. Staff very courteous and helpful. Room 416 was magnificent - circular with a view right along Nevsky prospekt.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a suite, surprised there was no coffee or hot water maker or cups (asked for this and was delivered); small refrigerator that was already full of snacks to purchase but I want to store some cold water; issue with lack of heat in room (in Jan) which was finally resolved after much effort. If you have a choice of rooms, have a look - I looked at 2 rooms and 1 of them (I didn't pick) had a long maze-like walk from the lobby to the room.

    Front desk and concierge personnel are friendly and helpful; location is very central to many sights and activities; ate at Taleon restaurant on 3 nights and service and food were excellent; had suite with separate entry/closet area, separate living and bedroom areas and large bathroom with tub.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer could be upgraded in line with the luxury of the hotel. The current ones are more IBIS standard.

    The staff were really nice and helpful. All the facilities were excellent. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some room have no exterior view Breakfast room fully interior atrium (did not take breakfast) Somewhat strange floor plan, which comes with the history Pool area nice but normally separate fee for use.

    Spacious and rich decorated rooms Connecting rooms available Responsive management Pool/sauna (infra red) area in top floor with view over St Petersburg. Tea served at Pool area. This pool area stays exclusive due to separate fee charged.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel and all facilities were just unbelievable!!! The feeling is that you are in a palace. And the location, a walking distance from major attractions in the city, we could not have expected anything better. It was a fantastic experience altogether.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the bed was very comfortable, the pillows are too soft. Would like a firmer option.

    The hotel is located in an ideal location to explore the "old" St Petersburg. Make sure you've got good walking shoes. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I choose the hotel based on the photos of the pool only to find out after booking that you could only use the facilities if you paid an extra £25 each a session.

    Great location and staff were really pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would increase the amount of cash you can get from the money machine in the hall. I would have appreciated a room including breakfast. It's always annoying to add it separately.

    The hotel is in a strategic position for tourists. It is very comfortable and the staff has a solution for any problem you might have. The Taleon Restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    unpleasant staff in the connected restaurant "gastronomique Bar". No view from superior room with balcony on 5th floor,there is the high wall of the balcony so...no view from the balcony/window !!!

    The location and style/tradition of decoration. Wide rooms pleasant atmosphere, nice swimming pool on the roof.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and everyone was great,except two members of the staff... cold and abrupt.(front desk and lobby bar)

    Fabulous location, historic hotel and surrounding

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big screen TV in breakfast room. It clashed terribly with overall decor of the hotel. Nobody was even watching it!

    Building was beautiful! Full of character and history!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel receptionist could have been a little more helpful when ordering us taxis.

    The hotel, room and spa was lovely. We really enjoyed our meal in the Victoria restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location of the Hotel in St Petersburg could not be better. The Hotel itself really is palatial, the room was perfect, the breakfast and breakfast room a dream, the Spa on the 6th floor is very special. The service could not be better.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problem with the visa-free provision when visiting by cruise ship - the hotel didn't recognise this despite it being legally allowed, (double check before booking if use are staying on this basis!). They were initially unwilling to help until I called the ferry company and got them to explain that we didn't need visas. There was another couple who were also turned away for the same reason. In the end the staff did help us, and admitted it happens all the time. The communication was poor, so I still don't know what the issue was, but eventually (after a couple of hours) we were allowed to stay, so they get some credit for sorting it out with the authorities.

    Large room and bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Rooftop pool. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was with my 3 youngs and were planning to go to swimming pool. The first day they told me that children below 16 years old are not allowed to use the swimming pool , ( but ) if I can come with kids early morning till 12:00 noon it is possible to use the swimming pool as not many guests will be using the swimming pool at that time. Next day I went with kids at 10:00 am to the swimming pool however the SPA lady refused to let us use the swimming pool eventhough I have explained to her what her colleague told us the day before. SHe totally refused with sharp answers. I explained to the manager of duty the full case and she replied that they do not have safeguard in the swimming pool to save kids also she said that kids might make some noise in the swimming pool. I really do not understand how 5 stars hotel does not have safeguards in swimming pool!!! Or they do not allow kids to go to swimming pool because of the noise!!! Does not make any sense. So if you have kids and are welling to use the swimming pool , my advice is DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. Thanks

    Location , view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could have been more helpful. Concierge more interested in promoting own restaurant rather than giving good local suggestions.

    Old world charm, great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe face without smiles here is a normal thing....after I adjusted myself to this and checked out from the hotel, I realized I left a painting on the desk which was bought from a local artist with his kind words and signature on the back...As this has great sentimental value to me, I wrote to the hotel but got a response "the following day" saying no one had found it!!! I wrote back again asking if they could kindly check again, then again the "next day" they replied with the same answer...I was so shocked this could have happened in a 5-star hotel!!!! Neither that they couldn't find my painting nor their slow response was unacceptable! After 3 days I returned to St Petersburg from Helsinki, I made a trip to Taleon. The poker-faced reception lady firmly refused me and said they didn't see any painting of mine, and acted like it was my own problem...I asked to speak to her manager, and then a lady called Anna came out and said she would help to check again for me....At the same day around 11pm, I got the email from her saying my painting was found, and asked me to make a trip to the hotel again with my passport to get it..... What can I say for the hotel? What's the standard for a 5-star hotel here?

    Location. The building itself is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent.The restaurant on the Sixth Floor is open in the summer and has a great outdoor terrace.The swimming pool and spa on the top floor is great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A huge disappointment was the price of swimming pool. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and swimming pool is always free. Unfortunately despite the website of this hotel states that guests can use swimming pool and sauna without restrictions I have been told on the entrance to spa area that it cost 250. When I finished my 15min long swim I have been issued with Bill for 5000 (was two of us). I have no words to describe my feelings about it. Even dinner in their posh restaurant would cost less. But as I can not prove that lady said 250 instead of 2500 in the beginning I have nothing else left that just pay this ridiculous price. Hopefully they won't charge me for opening mini bar. As only from other customer reviews I have found out that if you touch anything in mini bar they will charge you. BTW a five star hotel without tea making facilities? This is first time in my life. So overall hotel is posh and gorgeous but our first visit to Russia and honeymoon was affected by this unpleasant surprise of 5000 rubles for simple swim.

    I liked the hotel and location. Rooms are gorgeous and everything was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Once we arrived there was a big fly in the room which bothered me early in the morning next day. So had to hunt it at 4 a.m. to continue my sleep.

    My 5-year old son chose this place saying that he wants to stay "in the palace". It's one of the most beautiful hotels we have seen/stayed at. Location is perfect, interior is superior, personnel is very friendly. Gym is good and empty; swimming pool is nice. Perfect stay for couple of days to better feel old Spb spirit.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 days of rain. But nothing the hotel could do...

    Great hotel. Great stay. The hotel got us a visa and priority access to the Hermitage, a most necessary service and very appreciated in view of the very large queues at the museum.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms 501-509 are really isolated, be aware that you would take at least 5-10min to get to your room or leave. You should also change elevators to get in there and be prepared to get lost a few times - the Hotel looks more like a labyrinth. We arrived at noon and we couldn't early check in. That is Ok, not really a problem. We went walking around the city and then we came back at 14h. When we finally get to our room, it had a problem with the blackout curtains - two of them did not close properly - which is an issue considering it was summer. They had to call someone to fix it, which took around 40min - we were really tired by then, considering we had a long flight. We asked to change rooms, but the answer was that it was impossible because the hotel was "fully booked". The funny thing was that I've searched online and there was still a few rooms available... Also, we arranged in advance to late checkout on the last day. Besides sending an e-mail and getting a confirmation, we also re-confirmed it once we checked in. When we arrived on the last day to pack our things and leave, the keys couldn't open our door. We had to go to the reception again to ask for the keys to be fixed - remember that from rooms 501-509 it takes around 5-10min to get to the reception. The shower either gets too hot or too cold. Be careful when you open it. The hotel restaurants are not particularly impressive. The lobby bar was nothing more than OK and Victoria Restaurant, although having a great service, is a bit too pretentious for what delivers. Also, after a long day of sightseeing we got at the hotel at night around 23h and wanted to know what was going on on the streets - they were reeeeally crowded, it looked like a festival all over. We asked the only person from the staff that was at the lobby and the answer was a rude: "I DON'T SPEAK ENGLISH!". Afterall we found out that it was the last day of the white nights' festivity.

    The bed is comfortable and the location is central - close to almost every sightseeing spot in St. Petersburg. The bathrooms are spacious and the pool is also nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous interior, great location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water from the roof, noise of rooms around and many more

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A full days tour, the subway, plenty of cafes & restaurants & bars

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely the worst breakfast I have ever had. Rude and unhelpful staff Very expensive for what it is. Avoid

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Great hotel in the heart of the city. The best one. Interiors, comfort, food, service are absolutely superb)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no coffe or teamaker in the room.

    The superior Suite was very big and clean. The Hotel is in a very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee facilities in the room would have been a nice extra

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    All was the best !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location and nice well mannered staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast specially for vegetarians was bad.Nothing to eat.

    rooms are very spacious & comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed way too soft, staff need better service, elevator kept breaking

    The location and the style of the room and the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    spa stuff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was very good and the roof top restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In spa some products payed by cash only

    Rooms and hotel is really great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel but I didn't like the style. Also, breakfast and spa were both at additional costs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine, but so old Tsar time fashion

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Got upgrade to large room on 4th floor. Chef in main restaurant very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, palatial suite style bedroom, swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, beautiful building (old palace), spacious room, nice & smooth service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Suite with Spa and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, food And spa

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    was brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Suite with Spa and Lounge Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited room service menu

    Personalized service, fantastic concierge

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    I have been coming to Russia for over 30 years and was glad to stay in your hotel. It is well located, comfortable, luxurious, well run and friendly. I love the pool. After jet lag from California, that helped. It was quiet - good for sleeping. Black out curtains were great in May! I loved showing friends your palace rooms. I would like to come back with my spouse some day. You are lucky to have a very experienced, personable and smart manager, Victoria Kondratieva. She is just wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and almost regal surroundings and rooms.

    Wonderful surroundings and great location for those that would like to feel they are living back in the day of imperial Petersburg.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive breakfast

    Very good location. close to most tourist attractions and many restaurants in walking distance. old building in great shape. good service. we had a huge bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our only slight criticism is the limited and rather uninviting bar

    The Taleon is well located within easy walking distance of many major attractions and right on the main shopping street. Comfortable rooms and a decent spa and a wonderful dining room, delicious breakfast and very decent value

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Only in bathroom we saw old shabby ceramic tile and water on the floor, need to check joint sealing in room 408

    Everything is excellent Historic very expensive Design Perfect location Very tasty coffee in volkonsky near hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked a kettle in the room but otherwise the whole experience was perfect.

    Excellent swimming pool, great location close to all of the main sites.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bubble bath in our room did not work and the cleaners did not refill the basic necessities, like toilet paper and cotton pads.

    The room was spacious, with ekstravagante decor. The location in the middle of Nevsky Prospekt could not have been better.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bar prices are high so I, and I suspect other guests, drink elsewhere. Bar was not well attended.

    Excellent room size. Bathroom with large bath and separate shower cubicle. Excellent location - 5 minutes walk to Winter Palace and Hermitage; almost all interesting sites could be reached in a 30 minute walk. Friendly reception and excellent concierges who gave very good advice on restaurants and jazz clubs, and made bookings.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel old and dilapidated : curtain blocked, broken and some curtains blind missing ! No help or any change of room after we mentioned the problem. Staff just polite

    Hotel very close to the Ermitage and refined

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, the hotel is a real palace, more beautiful than in the pictures. They have a ballroom, i recommend make a tour and see all the hotel. I liked absolutely everything: friendly staff, good breakfasts, everyday i visited fitness club, sauna and swimming pool, very quiet and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Température in the room was a little bit high for us

    Perfect location, friendly staff providing excellent service and a very clean hotel with a fantastic shower and free wifi

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet in Atrium was not impressive and not worth the price. Not much help if you have food allergies, i.e. no lactose free dairy products, no gluten free cereal / bread, etc. Instead go just outside on the corner at the café / bakery or 100 meters down Nevsky P. for great value at Biblioteka. No perfume free alternatives in the bathroom; bring your own.

    Incredible souroundings in a beautiful building. Location: 200 meters from the winter palace, 500 meters from the savior on the spilled blood church, 500 meters from the Isac cathedral, 1 km from the Peter-Paul fortress. Basically all major sights within walking distance. Great evening dinner in both the Taleon restaurant and the gastropub, both on sight. Value for money indeed! Transportation to and from the airport was affordable and quiet luxurious.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Heating in the room is 24 degrees: too much even with -21 outside.

    I have traveled a lot in my life and have a certain idea of luxury. Luxury is not a jacuzzi in the room: luxury is feeling alone in a huge hotel although all rooms are occupied. Luxury is a Villeroy & Boch bathroom; spotless clean (I am the master of germ-freaks: I control every inch of a toilet before using it and this one was perfectly clean to the eye). Carpets and blankets were not dusty and seemed clean (which is like a miracle). Bed sheets were white and crispy. Rooms are very quiet. Doorman was adorable; staff very nice (they reply to emails within minutes); the spa is majestic, with a huge swimming pool on the top floor, very quiet and chic; nice sauna and plenty of towels. On overall this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Was incredibly cheap for what you get. I have stayed in 5stars hotels in London and they were filthy; I did 5stars in USA and Germany and can honestly say that nobody beats the chic atmosphere of the Taleon. Those who say that the place is empty and ghostly are probably trashy people used to holidays in Vegas. Me love the Taleon. Only downside is the heating: the whole place is hot as hell even with -21 outside. Still perfect, tho.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found concierge, whose job it was to advise on sight seeing, to be rather brusque. 50% mark up on price of ballet tickets seemed excessive for 'administration'

    Beautiful decor. Lovely view of canal.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi is variable at best on an ipad and I often had to go to the lobby to get a connection.

    We were upgraded to a beautiful suite for our original ,very reasonable, rate. The location was perfect for walking to the hermitage and other sights. The food at the Taleon restaurant was very good with the best Blinis that we had in our 8 day stay in Russia. We were there in the middle of winter so there were few tourists around so we felt very well looked after.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Taleon Imperial Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: