Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotell Strandporten

Strandgatan 13, 62156 Visby, Sweden

#6 of 47 hotels in Visby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 444 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything about Visby and our hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    We had great 3 night stay in this lovely boutique hotel. Everything about the hotel was of a high standard - staff, location, facilities and our room made the visit a delight. The breakfast was not over the top but perfect for our needs and the setting with indoor/outdoor option was great. We would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So pleased we stayed here. The staff went out of their way to help us. Cannot speak more highly of their kind assistance. Location was excellent, breakfast outstanding. Definitely a great choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Placed between narrow streets of old city, embankment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need details of decorations that can pop-up the place more and some times a white fresh paint, narrow shower, smells in corridors.

    Placed between narrow streets of old city, embankment followed by medieval town walls & shadows of botanical garden — the hotel is facing red roofs of the city from the strategic spot. As though countryside life should low your standards I consider the place one of the best in the city, comparing location, rooms, atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    I will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is not manned during the day or at night, which can be really inconvenient.

    The location was amazing and a central location.Iwas able to walk everywhere from this location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful spot !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not directly nearby but it is the nature of the old city and the hotel was just a short walk to a nice parking area. Not really a problem

    Beautiful property. Staff very helpful with questions. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast buffet with the waffles were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Families with prams shouldn't need to use then spiral staircase. Put families on the lower floors.

    The breakfast buffet with the waffles were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff, personal, clean and nicely decorated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is good to know that the reception is not open at the night time and the services are somewhat limited as this is a fairly small hotel. This, however, was not a problem at all for us.

    Great location, practically everything in Visby easily within walking distance. Rooms are personal (a lot of corners) and not very big, yet nicely decorated, very clean and convenient with all modern facilities. Not worn-out like most hotels in Visby. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything about it. The personnel were extremely welcoming and kind. The decor was done with so many thoughtful touches. Breakfast was really good and it is located just inside the town wall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    One of the best boutiqe hotels I have ever stayed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best boutiqe hotels I have ever stayed. Beautiful interior, brilliant location, nice price. Tea and coffee free of charge. Good breakfast included in room price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.3
    Noisy on the weekends because of loud music at the bar downstairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud, at the base level of hotel there is a sports bar - so you are not going to bed before after midnight on weekends. Loud music is playing at the bar downstairs. We specifically asked for quiet room, but did not get one.

    Clean, good service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in Visby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly helpful staff, lovely free breakfast every morning, big airy bright rooms and the best location in Visby - right inside the medieval town but moments away from the sea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Boutique hotel in centre of Visby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All pretty good. I would struggle to mentioned anything negative.

    This small boutique hotel is extremely well located in the old town and is centrally placed for all the facilities in Visby. The staff are very willing and extremely helpful. The breakfasts are lovely and food is fresh, varied and very well presented. One thing I especially liked was the tea and coffee available in the afternoon when returning from a day out - it was very welcome. (There is also a kettle, cups and tea bags in the room.) The hotel is modern and beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    6.3
    Friendly staff but basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was pretty pricey for what we got. The balcony was very small and didn't get any sun.

    Friendly staff, good location, rooms clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful cozy hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    All
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Edvin at the front desk was extra helpful with suggesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Edvin at the front desk was extra helpful with suggesting restaurants, places to see and arranging transport to get there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.0
    Terassen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    saknade scrambeld egg and bacon.....

    Terassen

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    The location was perfect;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room (140 cm Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect; the staff were so incredibly kind and helpful; and the beds were incredibly comfortable. I loved my stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff during night

    Breakfast staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly girl working as breakfast staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly girl working as breakfast staff. Fresh breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced, staffed only until 8 pm

    Nice facility in great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    fine hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some disturbing noises in the first night

    Very good breakfast + bed + location + lightning + air-conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel, staff and loation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, staff and loation. Good breakfast with awesome coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Perfect Stay in Visby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, Reception, tailor made Breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful winter stay in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is not a lot to improve on.

    Location. Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Breakfast. Room comfort.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    The staff were very friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and polite. Location was excelent. Beds were very good. Breakfast was delicious and very beautifully set up.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Location and nice Chinese art decoration inside and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and nice Chinese art decoration inside and lovely staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.3
    Quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat and size of room. No lift access to top floor Ionky a spiral staircase and difficult to get bag up

    Location and design

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location, stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room, no soap refill during our stay.

    The location. The balcony. The breakfast. The room size. The bathroom. The wireless boombox.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    Excellent location within the old town of Visby right next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing we can complain about, but note that elevators only go to the 2nd floor and rooms on the top floor can only be reached by a staircase.

    Excellent location within the old town of Visby right next to the medieval city wall, and about 1.5km from the ferry terminal. This modern, chic boutique hotel surpassed all my expectations. The hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean and respectable. Staff were always very courteous and helpful. Room was spacious enough with everything we needed. Slept really well and very comfortable. Wifi reception is excellent. This is real value for money - don't stay anywhere else in Visby; highest recommendation.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    10
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel was cozy and beautiful with the candles and interior design overall. I was very happy with my room and the cleaning.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    Almost everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes nobody was at the reception.

    Almost everything was good. This stylish and comfortable accommodation is located at a lovely plaza with a fountain, and directly connected via a charming porch to the park by the Baltic Sea. A good breakfast was served in a room with a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    All the staff are fabulous, happy to assist The little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff are fabulous, happy to assist The little touches add to the experience, E.G. candles lit, afternoon tea provided Location is great - especially being in the old town Special mention should be made of Josef who went above and beyond to assist us with our lost property

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    The friendliness of the entire staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all !!

    The friendliness of the entire staff. The location is great, right in the "Old town". The variety of foods at the breakfast (& complimentary afternoon tea.) was terrific. I particularly liked the big loaf of sourdough bread, fresh each morning.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    Staffs are all friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staffs are all friendly. A staff working at breakfast room was very hard working. She always put meal into empty plates on the bar. Good location to the seaside and city center.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    4.6
    Liked the afternoon tea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed two nights and the room wasn't cleaned. Told the receptionist who didn't really make an effort to do anything about it as the cleaning personnel was gone.. They were also extreme inflexibly about adding an additional person to the booking before our arrival. No professional handling ..

    Liked the afternoon tea

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Room with romantic sea view and right in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not any.

    Room with romantic sea view and right in city center. With lift, free minibar and comforting bed. And the staff are super kind and helpful! Should stay longer in this beautiful island!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning didn't work great at all.

    Perfect location! In town with access to everything, but on the outskirts of the business so you don't need to deal with that part.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Nice location, near to the seaside and inside the ancient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed is a bit small for us, probably 140cm in width.

    Nice location, near to the seaside and inside the ancient city wall. Very friendly staff at reception, tasty breakfast and GREAT afternoon tea!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Staff were amazing, answered all questions we had, helped us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were amazing, answered all questions we had, helped us rent a car by calling the agency. Very helpful as we were only English speaking.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Nice staffs, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staffs, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    hospitality, feeling of being welcomed, afternoon tea, clean...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The neighbouring O'Leary pub

    hospitality, feeling of being welcomed, afternoon tea, clean and hygienic

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    Appreciate the provided fruits as hospitality for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Appreciate the provided fruits as hospitality for our anniversary. It is small but feel the care from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    personal and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast little tight on bread at 09:30

    personal and location

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An important telephone message was left with the desk. Unfortunately, we didn't receive the message until we. checked out.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Absolutely excellent, all the way around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely excellent, all the way around. Best customer service I've experienced in all my Europe travels this summer.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Hotell Strandporten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: