Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa 4 stars

Nordatlanten 100, 41834 Gothenburg, Sweden

#46 of 70 hotels in Gothenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 471 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    We had a great time and would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a bit difficult to reach via public transportation. For some reason adding spa and restaurant reservation to the booking turned out to be complicated.

    Good room, very beautiful spa and hotel in general! The breakfast buffet is amazing. There were even some vegan options (vegan cheese and yoghurt) which I had not expected. The restaurant could also offer me a vegan alternative. (The pumpkin risotto was delicious! Big thank you to the chef!) Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    A disapointment throughout- Tired hotel with low service ambitions. SPA area the only and big plus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very low service ambitions - things missing from the room, waste basket not emptied from previous quest, wrong information given from receptionist, no directions to room (floor instructions missing), no one taking care of breakfast buffet when I was there, conference guests given priority attention at restaurant etc Low restaurant ambitions - ordered a main course - artichoke salad and the 4 artichokes delivered on top of the boring salad were half rotten (yellow). Gluten free bread extremely dry (not possible to eat), no butter or salt offered Old fashioned and tired interior design (minus SPA and lobby) - furniture/rugs/walls etc feels out of date

    SPA very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Maybe it's a good spa resort for locals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is dreadful, in the middle of the industrial port, with chemical facilities and logistics all around. The restaurant is terrible too, avoid it. The room was a bit small but ok but to get there you need to take two different lifts!

    The hotel has a decent gym and the overall internal ambience is fine, breakfast was pretty good. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views from the restaurant and the garden to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suited for tourist who want immediate proximity to the city. It has wonderful views but is located in an industrial zone, but this is not visible from the hotel.

    Beautiful views from the restaurant and the garden to the islands and the sea. Good restaurant and breakfast. Free coffee, pastries and fruit throughout the day. Free parking and electrical chargers for different brands including tesla wall chargers. Fast loading of around 60 km/h. Great wellness available too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Good space to be in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and no double bed was available, which was disappointing. Food at restaurant rather inconsistent with environment and food wasnt very good. I took the shrimp ceaser salad and some friends had the burger and shrimp sandwitch. Overpriced restaurant

    Good space to be in. Exceptional breakfast with varied choice of healthy food. .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Splendid scenery, especially from the Spa place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite isolated. Soundproof was not good. Woke up in the middle of the night several times because of the door banged shut in the corridor.

    Splendid scenery, especially from the Spa place. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    nice stay, but pity that no time to try the spa.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room is extremely small, not even able to open the luggage fully. let alone for filling 2 persons with luggages in a normal room . for 1 person, can barely " survive "

    the atmosphere that hotel created is really nice and cozy at the seaside ( in an industry area) , and the housekeeping with a name tag in each room makes guests feel warm and especially welcomed. That is something unique compared to average hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    My stay was relaxing. Truly enjoyable experience.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was more remote from my places of interest than I expected. But it wasn't much of a problem, it just cost a little bit more in taxi fare to move around.

    The staff were very courteous and flexible to my requests. The room was modern, clean and luxurious I would say. The breakfast was good with plenty of variety. The breakfast room was large and spacious adding to the great ambience of this hotel. I didn't use the parking myself so can't comment too much. But I could see that the space allocated to parking was quite large. I needed to wait after checkout at the lobby for a few hours until time for me to head to the airport and I must say it was the most relaxing wait I have had in a long time. The ambience in the lobby was most serene and tranquil. I will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again and I cannot recommend it enough. I didn't get to use the spa as my schedule in gothenburg was busy but judging by everything else, I definitely will next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Staff was great and the ambience of Lobby and interior fits...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well - we just missed the Swedish summer vacation by one day, therefore our boys (10 & 13y) were not allowed to use the pool (15y and oldr were allowed only) and consequently we did not used the pool area as on Family vacation you try to spend as much time together as possible. Another subject is the Location of the Hotel - it is situated in the middle of the industrial area next to the Cargo and Train section of the Harbour. You can't tell from the Pictures but you see it as soon as you leave the Hotel entrance. It's a Little bit bizarr to have a Spa Garden in such a surrounding. Furthermore the breakfast in variety and quality did not fit to such a place. It would be advisable to the managmenet to reconsider the entire breakfast room situation - the furnitures are conference room style as well as the entire interior decoration in this area - which does not fit to the overall appaerance of the entrance, Lobby, rooms and other areas of this Hotel. Classical Music as Background Music does not go along the idea of a Spa Hotel - Fusion, medidation or even piano Music would fit much better for such a place .....and finally Change the Quality of the coffee. Each coffee machines in the rooms brew a much better coffee than any other coffee coming from the coffee machines in the breakfast room. Sorry for being so open but it could be a much better place with some minor changes only ......

    Staff was great and the ambience of Lobby and interior fits very well. Staff was well prepared for guests with pets. Our Boys loved the pool billiard table as well as the hot chocolate and fruits for free

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    The Best hotel in Göteborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    great place with good view to the sea. Wonderfull garden. Delicious breakfast, room was very clean and comfortable. Excellent bathroom, very helpfull and pleasant staff. Quit far to the city center, but it isn`t problem if you travel by car. They have delicious chips (the best i have ever eat). This is the best place if you are looking for quiet and relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Top class hotel with kind personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position is good only if you have a car, otherwise getting there and traveling to the center and back could be hard, if not impossible. Also, while the inside of the structure is really really nice, the surroundings are rather dull: a large industrial area west of Goteborg. Finally, the above described value has a cost: maybe also due to a late reservation, the hotel was by no means cheap. Probably we would have opted for a cheaper solution, if it had been available.

    The building is beautiful, common spaces are magnificiently adorned by plants and pictures and the rooms are pretty as well. The personnel is super helpful and very kind, truly outstanding! Breakfast is very rich and served in a large and beautiful dining space. We had no time to test the spa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel with a good spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The surroundings of the hotel (industrial area) and therefore the view from the hotel and rooms. Room quite small.

    The SPA worth the visit! A lot of different areas, saunas, bathes... to enjoy and fill relax. The public areas are cosy and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    8.3
    - Scandinavian feeling and style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Low temperature in the room - Nobody personally checking the issues with the heating, which is to be expected from a hotel in this price range - Additional heater instead of a proper solution

    - Scandinavian feeling and style - Cosiness - Breakfast - Restaurant (dinner) - Conference rooms (well equipped)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant hotel with nice atmosphere, located approx 10 minute drive from the centre of Gothenburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The power outlets for electric cars were only standard 220 volt (besides the Tesla destination chargers). Hopefully next visit there will be more powerful (Type-2) chargers for EV:s other than Teslas.

    The standard, the gym, the atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    Super comfortable and magical place to stay, right in the Volvo heart!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Room a bit too small, especially sitting on the toilet - They should place more WiFi Access Points. I've only seen 1 Cisco AP for 1 entire hall (with toonns of rooms) - It's a bit too pricey for a hotel at this location (this industrial area should be relatively cheap compared to downtown hotels) - They couldn't deduct the VAT from my invoice, which is possible if you're charging other EU-member countries, they never heard of it

    - Perfect location for anything Volvo-related! I loved seeing all the Volvo things - Amazing ambience during Christmas time - Restaurant looked really nice - Free on-site parking - Quiet and comfortable room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice business hotel with stunning outside.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast good choice, but rather standard. Location in industrial surrounding

    Nice business hotel with stunning outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    It’s really a pleasure to go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really a pleasure to go there! So nice hotel and amazing staff! Tks you for an amazing stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Small single bedroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small single bedroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an industrial area. The spa was out of service

    Restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    None
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    The room was quite cold during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite cold during the night. There were no spare covers for the bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good value for money and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff & awesome breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    SPA perfect!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SPA perfect!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Great breakfast, great garden and outside restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleaqnliness of the bed, under the mattress was not very fresh

    Great breakfast, great garden and outside restaurant. Very nice staff and Amazing SPA.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant surprise in between the harbour area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    really nice hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good if you travel with children or want to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, distance to the town

    Comfy bed, great breakfast, amazing environment, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect breakfast and accomodating staff but get ready for extra expenses for spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra cost for spa. At least, the information over the cost would have been appreciated.

    THE staff and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    miew hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    expensive breakfast was okish location is 25 min away from city center bed linen was dirty very expensive for what it offered.

    scenery was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    4.2
    Unfriendly staff and room was not really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff and room was not really clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.1
    Good location for docks, Volvo Museum and Coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Swimming pool and health club were not free considering high cost for B&B. Bar closed early Staff were somewhat aloof

    Good location for docks, Volvo Museum and Coast. Excellent breakfast buffet Staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.0
    The hotel was a nice building and nice decorated inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and our room was not cleaned. The restaurants , the reception , the corridor etc. was full of dirty glasses, cups , dishes and so on. The hotel needs to hire more people or get better routines in order to clean and tidy up better.

    The hotel was a nice building and nice decorated inside. It was a restaurant outside with seaview.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.0
    Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet place, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet place, excellent breakfast. Be aware that sauna that is mentioned in description of hotel facilities, is not free. In general, very good place to stay, but only if you have a car (hotel is located far away from city center).

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.3
    child friendly hotel - the two playrooms very well equipped,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very small rooms. We could hardly find place to move around or to put/open our suitcases. Not acceptable for a 4 star hotel.

    child friendly hotel - the two playrooms very well equipped, free icecream. Nice breakfast. The free parking. Proximity to Volvo museum.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    5.5
    Free coffee/water and fruits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel insure is very dark. Internal design is not organized well. Many nice arts are just hidden next to water or coffee stands or between TV etc. play toom for small kids are not organized to be friendly and it very dark too. Bathrooms and room are out of date and not adjusted for disabled people.

    Free coffee/water and fruits.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    6.3
    Perfect stay when traveling with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Claustrofobic rooms. Hardy any space to move around. Not very clean upon arrival. Didn't make the bed between first and second night but after that they did and it was tidy.

    Perfect stay when traveling with kids. Fantastic playroom for the kids. Spacious and nice lobby.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    5.0
    Interior design and spa concept
    • Family with young children

    No breakfast- would not serve before 7.30am on weekend despite it saying this was possible in their information book and us giving warning there was a group of over 20 or us in need of an earlier breakfast. We were told to buy a baguette from the kiosk instead! Staff clearly did not want to feed our group. The restaurant was promoted to us at check in, but there was only one meal on offer on the Saturday night that was not child friendly. When we asked if we could order the kids pizza from a takeaway shop we were told 'no', we were not allowed to bring pizza into the hotel. Our group had to leave the hotel and take a drive with tired adults and kids to a burger place to get something to eat. When we returned to the hotel we found several groups of 8-10 customers eating a variety of dishes off a bar menu that was not offered to our group. The kids (and adults) were also very disappointed not able to use the pool for even 1hour. Not much for the kids to do.

    Interior design and spa concept

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly to help me solve the problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff is very friendly to help me solve the problem. The breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    5.0
    Pleasant lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Size of room. Lack of view. Lack of bathtub in four-star hotel

    Pleasant lobby

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast and nice hotel with a lot of activities, specially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was rude with me in the check-in.

    Breakfast and nice hotel with a lot of activities, specially for children.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    The spa and the staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not much to say

    The spa and the staf

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Arken Hotel & Art Garden Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: